The density rule.

It's simple - but incredibly hard to adjudicate.

As the impact is generally very minor - why not simplify it?

The rule is fine. It rewards clean marks. And punishes players for not cleanly marking the ball if they are near to the boundary line as they collect the ball. Never had a problem with it. Sure there's a few iffy decisions on it now and again, but it's not prolific like the HTB / incorrect disposal / prior opportunity / holding the man shit show from last night. They paid HTB when players had no prior, they paid holding the man instead of HTB or incorrect disposal when players were tackled with the ball and had prior. It's just a mess as to how each contest is going to be adjudicated, whereas it's very clear how a juggled mark is adjudicated.

Technically, because its a kick out not a stoppage, it could have happened (assuming "starting positions" won't be applied to kick ins)

BUT

The key is how are they going to police the starting positions? If you need two players back in the 50 arc within 5 seconds of a ball up being called or the other team gets a set shot at goal than you would think some players would need to stay pretty close to the attacking 50 arc at all times. If it's a case of the umpire doesn't restart until two players from each team are in the opposite 50 arc than.....well it could easily still happen but that will be almost comically asking for trouble

For mine, that is forced zoning by a certain ruling as you've explained here.

For everyone out there I'll say that word again - zoning!

For everyone out there I'll ask this.

In what year do you reckon we'll introduce clash bibs?:think:

...or is it rugby...or basketball....or soccer..?

I thought rugby was the state of the game whingers sport of choice nowadays?

You only support the current rubbish because it suits your current list and its playing style (something shared with Richmond supporters).

You don't actually give two stuffs about the integrity of the game.

You are suggesting we remove the tactical side of the game. That’s simply ridiculous. By making it all about skill, you basically make it an individual sport. Win the most one on ones and you win the game. For me that’s missing something. There’s a lot of beauty in 22 players all completely synchronised, and it’s no easy feat like it’s suggested.

In any case, removing coach contact during the game won’t do much. Players aren’t being guided on where to run. They know their system. The only way to stop that would be dictating training. There’s a great chapter in Konrad Marshall’s book about our 2017 season where he sits in our coaches box for the Anzac Day eve game. A lot was going wrong and a lot was happening but the messages out of the box to the players were simple.
“Raise the fight”
“Tell them to kick it”
“Lift.. surge.. hunt.. win”
There’s a couple of player movements but they don’t really change the way the game is played, and there’s only 1 actual tactical piece of advice - getting our players to flood back in the last minute. That night, the only thing that would have broken down without coaching is our offence - gifting Melbourne’s - wait for it - DEFENCE a win.
If you remove those things, the style of game is honestly not going to change.
Totally, respectfully disagree.

It took Richmond nigh on 7 years to get their defence right.

Many coaches (Roos, Thompson etc.) have publicly stated that without runners, there would be blowouts because young teams need to be coached on game day to hold their structures defensively.

And I'm not saying to remove tactics completely. There have been tactics happening on game day for over 50 years. But they supported the basic concept of guys playing football - rather than having the sole aim of preventing guys from playing football.

Many coaches (Roos, Thompson etc.) have publicly stated that without runners, there would be blowouts because young teams need to be coached on game day to hold their structures defensively.

And I'm not saying to remove tactics completely. There have been tactics happening on game day for over 50 years. But they supported the basic concept of guys playing football - rather than having the sole aim of preventing guys from playing football.
So the only teams it will heavily affect are bottom teams. The bottom teams either have to ditch structure or watch it fall apart while top teams who can hold it beat up on them? Hey look since that’s gonna hold bottom teams at the bottom while Richmond are up top, I’m fine with it, but I really don’t think that’s good for the game.

And saying it took 7 years to get our defence right is a furphy. It took us 4 or 5, but by then our offence had fallen to pieces. Surprise, surprise, we fixed that and won the flag. Lesson? Offence still wins games.

Hardwick was quoted as saying he picks guys that can tackle well, over guys that can kick well.

End. Of. Story.

You can't tackle a goal.
Tackles are a brilliant skill.
There’s hundreds of kicks every game, the odd one stands out but mostly they are the same. Some kicks lead to goals.
There’s a bit over a hundred tackles every game. Some are ineffective, some are very effective. Those very effective tackles create a change in the game. Something exciting. It’s a turnover so many players are out of position. This results in a fast break with open space and they also sometimes lead to goals.
In any case, a tackle is far more exciting than a kick.

Did you miss last nights exhibition of keepings off?

So now you're not happy about one team transitioning the footy successfully against an opposition. Would you rather we have 120 mins of stacks on the mill as 1 poster has over exaggerated?

In either case neither transition footy or congested rugby maul stoppage is anything like netball.

If we bring in zoning it'll be more like netball.

Legitimate question, would you rather AFLX?

A stupid unrelated question from someone that has little concept of the fundamental integrity of the game.

I'll treat it with the contempt it deserves.

A stupid unrelated question from someone that has little concept of the fundamental integrity of the game.

I'll treat it with the contempt it deserves.

No it's legitimate, by just calling it stupid shows you have no answer.

If you want to start zoning you want to take away stoppages - a unique part of our game. Stoppages aren't the problem it's the length of time they're allowed to continue that is the real issue.

If you want to start zoning you want to add something this game has never had (apart from under 8's) - unique to our game.

If you want to start zoning you will have to have some way to identify which players are in which starting positions............. otherwise the coaches will find a way to exploit it.

If you want bruise free zone footy go watch AFLX.

If you want to start zoning you want to take away stoppages - a unique part of our game. Stoppages aren't the problem it's the length of time they're allowed to continue that is the real issue.

If you want to start zoning you want to add something this game has never had (apart from under 8's) - unique to our game.

If you want to start zoning you will have to have some way to identify which players are in which starting positions............. otherwise the coaches will find a way to exploit it.

You're the footballing equivalent of an SJW.

It doesn't matter which players are in the zone, just as long as each team has the minimum amount in there.

What happens when a coach with a star forward wants to reintroduce Pagan's paddock with quick kicks to counter zones? With this rule it's impossible, so the rule seems too limiting.

I think the game will self-correct without rule changes. Zones are very agressive and high now, but this may change when a good counter tactic is developed.

The density rule.