The Footy Show (30/4/09)

Why do they have to say South Australians regarding low crowds, why not just say Port Power supporters. Frustrates me.

Because Crows supporters haven't been turning up either. What did you get to the Geelong game? 32ish on a Saturday night? Pretty poor.

(Yes, I realise i'm a North Supporter and we get shit crowds. Save it :p)

I reckon Sewell's a champion bloke now after seeing him on the panel - haven't seen him do any media before tonight, but he seems well at ease in front of the camera. Get him and Cooney on more often and the show will kicketh much arse.

They should have told Bonds/Pacific Brands to go f*ck themselves though...

Probably the Freo Sydney crowd on the weekend.
W.A LOVE THEIR FOOTY
Its time for your state not team or teams to blame each others support base but just turn up to watch the game!
DISREGARD the Dees at the 'G' on the twilight last week of course:D

I reckon Sewell's a champion bloke now after seeing him on the panel - haven't seen him do any media before tonight, but he seems well at ease in front of the camera. Get him and Cooney on more often and the show will kicketh much arse.

I agree with that, he really was fine with the camera in his face, he didn't seem nervous, but I think that might have had something to do with having a former team mate sitting next to him for morale support.

Fairly entertaining show tonight, they didn't touch on the umpires again as much as I thought that they were going to but all around it was decent.

Loved the 3rd entry for Almost Footy Legends as well, gave that bloke a nice kiss right on the nose. :D

That 'Britains Got Talent' spoof that Gary did has been done to death. Saw Jay Lenos version about five times during the week. Think they could be a little more original.

What have the ratings been like? Used to like the Footy Show but dont see it lasting out the year..

If it wasn't for Sam being a smartass all the time and actually providing a bit of entertainment, I wouldn't watch the show anymore.

Crawf brings a bit of life to the panel too, but I just don't enjoy it as much as I used to, but I think it will last out a few more seasons.

Because Crows supporters haven't been turning up either. What did you get to the Geelong game? 32ish on a Saturday night? Pretty poor.

40418 to the Geelong game.
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/tg-adelaide-crows

41k to our only other home game so far this season, so I'm not really sure how Sammy's rant applies to the Crows.
Maybe he didn't do any research and shot his mouth off! :eek:

A good first half of the show tonight. Quite funny.
The only complaint I have is the stupid system where Crawf and Billy swap half way through the show. It ruins the flow of the show. Why not have Crawf on one week and BIlly the next. Rotating like this would allow for better participation from both of them. Billy adds nothing really so when Crawf is on I don't need the rude shock of Billy's face half way through.

Yea. Crawf is such an "enigma".Best of luck with his acting career tho. Sunday footy show crawf- attempted serious analyst. Thursday nite footy show crawf- rainman ******* unfunny tool.What a difference a few days and the disparity in audience makes.:thumbsdown:

A good first half of the show tonight. Quite funny.
The only complaint I have is the stupid system where Crawf and Billy swap half way through the show. It ruins the flow of the show. Why not have Crawf on one week and BIlly the next. Rotating like this would allow for better participation from both of them. Billy adds nothing really so when Crawf is on I don't need the rude shock of Billy's face half way through.
I'd much prefer not to have one of them every single week. Have them on a rotational basis with them being on every couple of weeks like all the other panelists.

Is Cain Ackland to biggest douche to have played football at any level?

short answer: yes

but that mark was the greatest thing he has ever done...then he absolutely ruined it, typical ackland

and i agree with damochandler, stop the gary lookalikes! and stop having akka on the show, it's painful to look at his face...i quite like the shane and billy switch up though

What exactly was Ackland's issue there? The guy he threw the ball at didn't hit him in the marking contest or anything, so I don't get it. If he was trying to shove it in his face in an arrogant "How do you like that one eh?" kind of way, he made an ass of himself by dropping the ball while doing it :p

Silly comment, they always get 40k+ at the showdown. Really, it is only Port that struggle with the crowds, Adelaides are normally always up...aren't they??

They haven't drawn 40,000+ with Port as the home team since 2006.

Last three showdowns with Port as the home team...

Round 16, 2008: 31,662
Round 3, 2007: 36,959
Round 21, 2006: 41,549

Sam may come out on top with this one.

Um... 40,418 was the attendance...;)
Crows supporters aren't turning up in the numbers they used to, but its really Port games where people turn the TV on and make note of the low numbers.

Hmm wonder if they will get the 40k tomorrow... Port supporters will be beside themselves having that many people at a game.

i'm confused. i watched the footy show and got up this morning thinking "hmm, should check out that jack watts broke his leg at school story". now i see it was sam blease, and a couple of people on bigfooty's melbourne demons board are saying that's what was reported on the footy show. i'm not crazy am i? that goon hutchison said it was jack watts, didn't he? did anyone else hear it?
by the way cheeseman are you shane crawford?

i'm confused. i watched the footy show and got up this morning thinking "hmm, should check out that jack watts broke his leg at school story". now i see it was sam blease, and a couple of people on bigfooty's melbourne demons board are saying that's what was reported on the footy show. i'm not crazy am i? that goon hutchison said it was jack watts, didn't he? did anyone else hear it?
by the way cheeseman are you shane crawford?

Pretty sure Hutchy said Blease.

Hutchy definitely said Jack Watts, and mentioned that he was set to make his debut for Casey this week. He said the injury was done while he was playing footy at school during lunchtime.

Is Sam Blease still at school (like Watts is) too?

Nah. He said Blease.

He obviously should have said Blease, but I know I definitely heard Watts. He even mentioned that Watts was making his debut for Casey this weekend, which he did do.

You'd think he would have double-checked before he said that, because while Sam Blease is obviously an important youngster for the Demons, Jack Watts going down would be a much bigger deal. I doubt it would have even got mentioned in that situation if he realised it was Blease, as he's not as known as the #1 pick.

The Footy Show (30/4/09)