"The home of football"

Yes, but all the players know how to play the G. It's a very neutral ground, unlike kardinia, the SCG, subiaco, etc.

But this is my last post in here, I can feel myself getting dumber reading this thread.

Except for the players that only play there 2-3 times a year right? The Eagles played a whooping 2 games at the MCG this year.

Ludicrous thread. There is no such thing as a home ground advantage for Victorian teams bar Geelong. Plus it's the grand final! The ground won't affect anything, and anyway, those win/loss stats posted on the first page say a lot

mate you can fit franklin and tippet in your salary cap, stop having a cry but in saying that..yes your right hawthorn do have the advantage because it's like their second home ground.

So you're telling me that if the Swans were offered the chance to play the Grand Final at ANZ Stadium they would say no?

Are you ******ed?

I'm not sure they would say yes, winning a premiership at ANZ rather than the MCG wouldn't have the same feel to it.

Would your premiership wins in 2005 and 2012 be remembered as fondly by your players and supporters if you won them at ANZ stadium? I doubt it.

Not so sure it's completely neutral if one of the teams has already played 10+ games there that season with the other side only having played there once, the crowd alone isn't the only thing that determines how "neutral" a venue is. I do agree this is a silly sook thread and the MCG is the best possible venue for the GF though.

In 2010 Collingwood played their last 8 games or so at the MCG and then played all their finals there too, for about 3 months they played all their games at their home ground and never travelled while St Kilda would've travelled interstate a few times over that time.

It was a big advantage and it's no wonder they were fresher in the GF replay, although we really should've won the first GF when we had our chances.

It's obviously an advantage for teams that play at the MCG more often but if you're good enough you should be able to win there regardless, plenty of interstate sides have done it.

Do you think it's fair that Sydney have to play the Grand Final at Hawthorn's home ground despite the fact they finished first and Hawthorn finished second?

Come on mate. Not only is it fair given the equal number of tickets allocated but it's awesome too.

Ludicrous thread. There is no such thing as a home ground advantage for Victorian teams bar Geelong.

What? So when Collingwood play an interstate side at the MCG they don't have the home ground advantage?

Plus it's the grand final! The ground won't affect anything, and anyway, those win/loss stats posted on the first page say a lot

What? Those win/loss stats don't mean that there isn't an advantage for Victorian sides. Sydney have a winning record over Hawthron in Tasmania. Does that mean if the game was played there, that they wouldn't have an advantage?

I'm not sure they would say yes, winning a premiership at ANZ rather than the MCG wouldn't have the same feel to it.

Would your premiership wins in 2005 and 2012 be remembered as fondly by your players and supporters if you won them at ANZ stadium? I doubt it.

Winning a premiership is winning a premiership. Doesn't matter where you win it.

It's obviously an advantage for teams that play at the MCG more often but if you're good enough you should be able to win there regardless, plenty of interstate sides have done it.

Why should you have to overcome extra adversity if you have finished first? You shouldn't have to be good enough to win it at a foreign ground, you just have to be good enough to win it at your home ground.

Because the AFL would lose money at a smaller venue and the AFL is all about maximizing revenue, the GF at the MCG is a huge money spinner for them.

versus no 30,000 seats for MCC members, AFL members & say the NSW Govt kicking in $mils as the Vic Govt does to get an Origin game - dont buy the AFL losing revenue. The loser would be Vic tourism.

Lets play the grand final in Sydney when they can't even sell out a prelim. The g is the biggest and best stadium in the country and you are guaranteed 100k turn up no matter who plays can you say the same for a bulldogs north Melbourne granny in Sydney? Hell no

Why would a Bulldogs/North Melbourne grand final be played in Sydney?

Nothing against interstate clubs, it's just that Victoria is more important than your state. :)

The GF attracts the event set even in Melbourne - I'd back it in, footy fans might be able to get a seat, you know ordinary footy fans.

How many were there last night? 70K odd?

I'm all for the GF at the MCG every year.

I just don't think it would be viable playing at the higher ranked teams ground. Requires a lot of organisation. There are some sports which do this in America, but mostly the world over finals are played at a venue that is either set in (virtual) perpetuity or is rotated and known well in advance like the Super Bowl.

IF it were to move from the G I think it would only be viable on a rotational basis. What could be pretty cool is if each of the clubs got to "host" a grand final and that host club had something like a 10% allocation on tickets which would give interstate fans a greater chance to experience a GF.

But it's all moot - current contract is till 2037 so nothing will change to then.

Why would a Bulldogs/North Melbourne grand final be played in Sydney?
It would be announced before the season starts. Grand final is too big to organize in a week

Other codes do it. Why can't the AFL?
What codes? Nrl is at anz every year,champions league is picked months in advance. Same with the FA cup. You have to hire hotels,catering,security entertainers and more you can't do it in a week

"The home of football"