The Laidley files...

This thread is a f*cking disgrace. Like him or loathe him, Laidley is a premiership player and has been a loyal servant to the club during his time as coach and deserves some respect.

To dedicate a thread purely to dragging up past mistakes is low.

Oh yeah, Laidley showed the club real loyalty when he went off and applied for the St Kilda and Melboure coaching jobs whilst under contract!

What a larf.

Was in the toilets with him once at a function, he washed his hands after a pee but didnt use soap. DIGUSTING!!!!

I find it really funny that numchucks can continue to blame the bad players at the club on Laidley but the good players on Nev.

And mate, if you were coaching our team, a supporter approached you at a function and asked about a player do you give the guy a rap or do you tell the supporter he is a hack?

And lastly for now, if you are going to hang a guy on his recruiting and then mention these two hacks Hurn and McInley as the players that got away from us, give me a spell, they cant even get a kick for a team lower on the ladder than we are this year.

Unhygienic aswell. Sounds like we've found the source of the gastro outbreak:thumbsdown:

And lastly for now, if you are going to hang a guy on his recruiting and then mention these two hacks Hurn and McInley as the players that got away from us, give me a spell, they cant even get a kick for a team lower on the ladder than we are this year.

Hurn is far from a hack and Mcinley is handy player.

Everyone only wants the best for the NMFC............and we express it different ways..

If JYD does go then lets hope it is managed properly....that he is recognised and we dont have bad sentiment.....

This is my personal favourite. Half-way thru 2004 when Aaron Davey had just exploded onto the scene, it was revealed that Nev Stibbard had paid for davey to move to victoria out of his own pocket. He had played an excitingly promising season for Port Melbourne(our affiliate at the time - so right under the noses of the match committe).
When asked why North had elected to pass on Davey, laidey said "well, we've got Shane harvey and Jeremy clayton, so we felt we had enough of those kind of players." Classic!
I thought at the time,"what a buffoon!"
My view hasn't changed since then.
On the hand, withn Laidley as his coach, Davey may have been as disappointing as Wells.

Guys this is a depressive thread to read.:thumbsdown:

I would like you guys to just get rid of your negative attitudes and get excited just like Dean Laidleys did after a 70 odd point thumping against the Cats at Buddy Hale Stadium a month or so back.:thumbsu:

I'm on the fence as far as his future goes - there are some aspects of Laidley's coaching/performance that have been very frustrating/disappointing and at other times he proves himself to be an excellent coach. I certainly think it's time for a proper review of Dean's performance/future and time to assess exactly what we want from a coach - if there are candidates out there who are better suited then go for it but if not then he should get another year.

Whether he stays or goes he still deserves recognition and respect for the service he has done as both player and coach.

excellent post... except if he stays he needs more then one year... in for a penny in for a pound I say... if it is decided it is time to part company fair enough... but no more one year contracts... the club either has some faith or finds an alternative...

Guys this is a depressive thread to read.:thumbsdown:

I would like you guys to just get rid of your negative attitudes and get excited just like Dean Laidleys did after a 70 odd point thumping against the Cats at Buddy Hale Stadium a month or so back.:thumbsu:

I'm hearing ya mate.

The truth must not be told on here, it's a seriously delusional thing to do. :thumbsdown:

*Chucks on Haleing goals tube vid*

excellent post... except if he stays he needs more then one year... in for a penny in for a pound I say... if it is decided it is time to part company fair enough... but no more one year contracts... the club either has some faith or finds an alternative...

We haven't given him any one year contracts ??

What a joke that would be anyway... TWO extra years on top of 7 years of sh**.

The only reason he should be getting a contract extension (1 year) should be because Euge and the board don't think there is the best replacement currently out there. They need to be sure they can nail the next appointment.

This is my personal favourite. Half-way thru 2004 when Aaron Davey had just exploded onto the scene, it was revealed that Nev Stibbard had paid for davey to move to victoria out of his own pocket. He had played an excitingly promising season for Port Melbourne(our affiliate at the time - so right under the noses of the match committe).
When asked why North had elected to pass on Davey, laidey said "well, we've got Shane harvey and Jeremy clayton, so we felt we had enough of those kind of players." Classic!
I thought at the time,"what a buffoon!"
My view hasn't changed since then.
On the hand, withn Laidley as his coach, Davey may have been as disappointing as Wells.

And if we pick up Davey, Brent Harvey would be running around in a Carlton guernsey. I know which player i would rather have.

The only reason he should be getting a contract extension (1 year) should be because Euge and the board don't think there is the best replacement currently out there. They need to be sure they can nail the next appointment.

Yeah that PF appearance in 2007 really was a shit year. :rolleyes:

I apologise.

6 years of shit and 1 year of decent.

Finals in 2005 and 2008?

If you think we have been shitful ask a Richmond supporter if he would swap their record for ours.

What does the r in r_boy stand for? Revisionist perhaps?

lol... you sound like the sort of bloke that holds onto a girlfriend because nothing better is on offer... and then gets pissed cause the girlfriend works it out and leaves you... really soft mate... I hope our club has a bit more integrity then that...

so review is done and if the club is unhappy see you later Laids but if the club is happy with the direction we are heading then two years at least... and remember in Euge we trust... :D:D

So you were satisfied with 2005 and 2008?

If we could have done better we would have done better. i have never seen a team win a flag by finishing outside of the 8. Have you?

Thats the point brainiac.

Justin Murphy
David Haynes
Ben Finnin
Mitchell White
Kane Tenace
Dare I say it, Scott Thompson

I'll say this now, if we'd had a Matthew Scarlett equivalent - ie a 21-year old gun full-back - when Laidley came on board we'd at the very least made a GF in the past seven years. Throw in a fit Jesse Smith and we may have gone even further.

If your aunty had whiskers.
How is Scott Thompson a **** up? Geelong would have picked up Thompson for certain had we not beaten them to the punch in the draft. Kudos to our recruiting department.:thumbsu:

Mitchell White was a player at the West Coast and just didn't work out.

The others were duds but that was early doors in Thompson's coaching career. Hasn't continued to make the same mistakes that Laidleys has. Sam Powers and Ben Davies were only picked up 2 years ago with Davies already gone.

Thompson > Laidleys. That's how history will view the 2.

It's what you do in life windsock that counts. Not what might have been.

Laidleys Piles far outweighs Thompsons.:(

If you were taking your approach, you could easily say that persisting with Tom Lonergan cost Geelong a flag. In other words, Mark Thompson cost Geelong a flag because he couldn't develop a forward good enough to take his chances when it mattered.

Is that how you see it?
You're just clutching at staws now windsock.

What a rubbish post.

You make no sense. What are you thinking?

Geelong lost the 2008 Grand Final via poor conversion and some guys being poor on the day. Ottens springs to mind immediately. His 2007 GF was far superior to his 2008 GF.

Thompson can't be blamed for the 2008 GF loss just like Dangles couldn't be blamed for the 1998 GF loss.

I reckon that Geelong will redeem themselves this year just like we did in 1999.

Hi all,

With the news of the review into Dean Laidley's coaching tenure, I thought we could all help the panel out by filing all of Dean's mistakes into the one big mega thread:thumbsu:

Great work numchuks. You've probably nailed one of Laidley's BIG faults - he loves making BIG calls & opens himself up to be proven wrong.
He painted himself into a corner when he said "Nah. Shannon Grant won't play reserves while I'm coach." Why say that?
Claiming that Watt only struggled against the second-tier forwards. I remember Lloyd, Fevola, Gehrig etc. all carving us up several times over the last 10 years.

And to intimate that Harding & S Harvey would be better long-term prospects than Aaron Davey was a bit silly I thought.

But to come out with "I've never been so excited" after we lost by 12 goals to Geel recently topped it off.

Personally, I rate the following as his BIGGEST deficiencies while at NM which may/will prove to be his downfall:

1. Drafting so many Mr Averages - smallish, slow, mid-skilled midfielders such as Picioane, Power, McConnell, Davies, Green etc. All these guys achieved was holding up the progress of a developing youngster while keeping NMFC `competitive'. Really, if a moron such as myself can see that the aforementioned guys aren't going to take us to the next level, surely a coach of an AFL side should be able to see that!!!!!! And the persistence to pump games into these guys just to prove they were `good pick-ups' has irritated me to no end.

2. Persistence with Shannon Watt at full-back. I have maintained for 10 years that Watt NEVER showed any glimpse that he could become a reliable full-back. And Laidley must've sacrificed 100 games into him at full-back I reckon. Scott Thompson should've been full-back all of last year & by now, he'd be 20 games ahead of where he is now.

3. Inability to get the best out of the playing list. IMO, the only players who have reached their full potential under Dean are Harvey, Simpson, Rawlings & Harding. And you may include McIntosh in that group. Over a 7 year period, that simply ain't good enough. And it seems that any guy with match-winning prowess (other than Harvey) has struggled to flourish under Dean, ie. Wells, Jones, Grant etc. And honestly, guys like Petrie & Firrito have had their careers hampered by being played in every role imagineable.

4. The Negative game-plan. As a struggling club, if we're not gonna make top 4, we may as well play exciting footy to entice supporters to get to the games. The slowed-tempo rubbish we have dished out under Dean has seen a lot of NM supporters lose interest in turning up to games. And to instill a possession-based game-plan in 2006 when we had so many guys with poor disposal was idiotic. And still is!
And his insistence that players at 50-55m out NOT have a shot for goal & look for a short pass instead, has upset me from day one. We have turned the ball over 100's of times under Dean's reign in the search for a leading forward when often the kick has been poor or the forward simply not good enough to capitalise.
How many times has Wells streamed to 55m & instead of running to 50m & have a shot, he has looked to handball or find a short target?????

In the end, I realise Dean bleeds blue & white & is passionate about NMFC but I think 7 years is long enough for any coach, particulalry if his team is still at least 3-4 years away from being a serious finals contender.
And I think Dean realises this, which is why he has persisted with harping on the difficulties NMFC has faced this year with injury, chicken-gate etc. He wants the football world to think/know that he is a quality coach & the fact NMFC is failing this season has little, if anything, to do with his coaching. It will be interesting to see if he gets a job elsewhere.........

I agree with all of that. Even the rubbish post bit.

That just makes me ask you and your type why take so much pleasure in lambasting our bloke when he makes similar mistakes? Why is he blamed for our inept performances in finals when the same bloke coached the same team to wins or a draw against at least one of our finals opponents during the H&A season in each of the years we made finals (ie we beat Port in 2005, Geelong in 2007 and drew with the Swans in 2008)?

Why is he blamed when Hale is shit in 2009 after doing so well in exactly the same role at the end of 2008?

Why doesn't he get kudos when Brent Harvey goes from being a good player to being a multiple All-Australian after his arrival?

Or for his persistence in Drew Petrie when everyone was ready to arseh*le him?

Or for seeing something in Scotty McMahon when no one else could?

Or for putting a midfielder at full back in 2007 when no else would have even contemplated it?

Mate the guy frustrates me to the bejesus at times. I don't get the recruitment of Sam Power after so many similar experiments have done nothing for our long-term development.

I didn't like the Ben Davies recruitment much but Thompson used a similar pick with Sam Hunt. Did that really hurt them? Does he get a whack for that?

I just wanted to highlight how winning a flag doesn't make everything you've done turn to gold just as much as coaching a team to a few finals drubbings doesn't automatically make you a 'brainiac'.
Firstly this is a good post.:thumbsu:

windsock I want what you and every other poster on here wants. A successful NMFC. It is just my opinion that Laidleys hasn't been the answer for a while now. To many mistakes. The way he has handled certain players. Team Selections. Game Style. The recruitment of ordinary players. Distorting the truth to suit his own agenda. Yeah sure I make fun of Deans and posters that may not share my point of view. Do I get a laugh out of it? At times I do. It doesn't mean I'm happy when the NMFC losses or when Dean Laidleys ****s up. What you must remember is that I'm NMFC thru and thru. I love the club. I want us to win premierships and be successful for our long term future.

As for Hales, I'm sick of Laidleys picking him in the seniors week in, week out when Hales is obviously out of form. Laidleys is to blame for that.

I personally never doubted Petrie to the point that others did.

Scotty McMahon is one of Dean Laidleys' sucesses.:thumbsu:

I think we have picked up many more duds over Laidleys tenure then Thompson has over his at Geelong. We actually took one off their hands in Thurley.

Look in essence I hear ye yah windsock about that other coaches **** up as well. The bottom line is that I'm interested in the NMFC and our coach. IMO he has just made too many mistakes over his tenure and that we should be looking at all available alternatives at the minute for the benefit of the NMFC.

Great work numchuks. You've probably nailed one of Laidley's BIG faults - he loves making BIG calls & opens himself up to be proven wrong.
He painted himself into a corner when he said "Nah. Shannon Grant won't play reserves while I'm coach." Why say that?
Claiming that Watt only struggled against the second-tier forwards. I remember Lloyd, Fevola, Gehrig etc. all carving us up several times over the last 10 years.

And to intimate that Harding & S Harvey would be better long-term prospects than Aaron Davey was a bit silly I thought.

But to come out with "I've never been so excited" after we lost by 12 goals to Geel recently topped it off.

Personally, I rate the following as his BIGGEST deficiencies while at NM which may/will prove to be his downfall:

1. Drafting so many Mr Averages - smallish, slow, mid-skilled midfielders such as Picioane, Power, McConnell, Davies, Green etc. All these guys achieved was holding up the progress of a developing youngster while keeping NMFC `competitive'. Really, if a moron such as myself can see that the aforementioned guys aren't going to take us to the next level, surely a coach of an AFL side should be able to see that!!!!!! And the persistence to pump games into these guys just to prove they were `good pick-ups' has irritated me to no end.

2. Persistence with Shannon Watt at full-back. I have maintained for 10 years that Watt NEVER showed any glimpse that he could become a reliable full-back. And Laidley must've sacrificed 100 games into him at full-back I reckon. Scott Thompson should've been full-back all of last year & by now, he'd be 20 games ahead of where he is now.

3. Inability to get the best out of the playing list. IMO, the only players who have reached their full potential under Dean are Harvey, Simpson, Rawlings & Harding. And you may include McIntosh in that group. Over a 7 year period, that simply ain't good enough. And it seems that any guy with match-winning prowess (other than Harvey) has struggled to flourish under Dean, ie. Wells, Jones, Grant etc. And honestly, guys like Petrie & Firrito have had their careers hampered by being played in every role imagineable.

4. The Negative game-plan. As a struggling club, if we're not gonna make top 4, we may as well play exciting footy to entice supporters to get to the games. The slowed-tempo rubbish we have dished out under Dean has seen a lot of NM supporters lose interest in turning up to games. And to instill a possession-based game-plan in 2006 when we had so many guys with poor disposal was idiotic. And still is!
And his insistence that players at 50-55m out NOT have a shot for goal & look for a short pass instead, has upset me from day one. We have turned the ball over 100's of times under Dean's reign in the search for a leading forward when often the kick has been poor or the forward simply not good enough to capitalise.
How many times has Wells streamed to 55m & instead of running to 50m & have a shot, he has looked to handball or find a short target?????

In the end, I realise Dean bleeds blue & white & is passionate about NMFC but I think 7 years is long enough for any coach, particulalry if his team is still at least 3-4 years away from being a serious finals contender.
And I think Dean realises this, which is why he has persisted with harping on the difficulties NMFC has faced this year with injury, chicken-gate etc. He wants the football world to think/know that he is a quality coach & the fact NMFC is failing this season has little, if anything, to do with his coaching. It will be interesting to see if he gets a job elsewhere.........
:thumbsu::thumbsu: agree with most of this post but i reckon he will get another senior job,maybe richmond lol:D

DF your lack of understanding of what's been going on is frightening. Your first point was about the only thing that made any sense at all.

As meatloaf didn't say, 'one out of four is shithouse'.

I think DF deserves some credit for a pretty decent summation despite the bullet points that didn't serve the argument nearly so well.

The Laidley files...