No Oppo Supporters The Positivity Thread

I'm cheating here but maybe I can be excused.
Melbourne - playing good-looking footy as I wish we could and maybe next year we will - defeated WCE this arvo on home turf.
O joy o rapture.
And I reckon Angus Brayshaw would be doubly pleased

West Coast have a bigger loss than the one listed two places above ours, but it was a year before those records when the competition was still known as the VFL. Essendon 25:10 vs WC 1:12 142 points.

Their 135 point loss was at Subiaco.

Had a feeling we might get done by Geelong and was offered a bonus bet. Geelong needed to win by 99 points or more. Cashed out $2250.

Banged up young team. Brayshaw emotional response hangover. Out of the public eye in Geelong. Geelong has the capability of winning big and they probably feel we have done them over in the past, so they are going to crush us if possible. When that hail started it was like the universe wanted to break our spirits.

Am thinking of backing Brisbane this weekend. Maybe them to win by 40+

showoff.PNG

Positive: Didn't see the game. Finally removed 6 bougainvillea plants. Garden's coming together nicely after the extra time on the weekend this season. Though my arms look like those of a fifteen year old girl that cuts herself.

By the sounds of it, Shane Woewoedin 'minority reported' it. To add to that, we only had 2 of our first 7 defenders playing. If Blakely, Shill, Hamling, Ryan, and Logue (MJ is one game from retirement) were fit, healthy, and assisting Wilson and APearce, I feel like the scoreline would have looked quite different.

We have 196 points up our sleeves, to give away to Collingwood this weekend to better our 'points against' from the last three seasons.

However, we'll have to score 119 to beat our 'points for' in that same period.

If we lose (119 - 195) it will prove the rebuild is working.

Well i can add something positive to this thread...Just found out that I'll be adding another one to the purple army.

That'll be 3 under 4 years old...Is that a positive? Haha
congratulations! sure it's a positive when they're all asleep at the same time :p

22Under22_Final-Team_2018_1920x1080.jpg

In other news Darcy / Langdon both made the 22 Under 22.

I know these things are a bit of a novelty but whatever! Luke Ryan stiff for not even making the squad. Darcy probs lucky there aren't many up and coming ruckmen right now but well done anyway. Ed Langdon thoroughly deserves his spot after a really great season.

This isn't really being positive but realistically Langdon is a midfielder not a defender and I don't think he would have displaced any of the midfielders currently in the team. But anyway great work regardless and good for Darcy as well, should have made it last year.

I know these things are a bit of a novelty but whatever! Luke Ryan stiff for not even making the squad. Darcy probs lucky there aren't many up and coming ruckmen right now but well done anyway. Ed Langdon thoroughly deserves his spot after a really great season.
I thought ryans season was better last year

Dug this bad boy up because I want to leave the melt thread for the melters.

I am still surprised that many believe that West Coast have success because 'they don't accept mediocrity'. They have rebuilt twice - both of their premierships this century have essentially come from rebuilds. Judd was a priority pick, and they are still reaping the rewards of that with JJK. Luke Shuey was a priority pick. They have adapted very well to the loss of some key players this year and brought through some youth quite well. However at its core it is still an experienced team, many of the key pieces of which have been picked up in some lean years.

Collingwood are also interesting in that they committed to a coach and a deliberate rebuilding approach that copped them a hell of a lot of flak and here they are losing a GF by **** all.

I am very much agnostic on the coaching front and I don't particularly want to bring that into yet another thread. But I look at our team and how it is really bloody young and inexperienced, and the potential opportunities we have to add more talent this off-season - it makes me pretty optimistic really. Especially in the context of a where teams like Richmond and Collingwood have come from recently.

Dug this bad boy up because I want to leave the melt thread for the melters.

I am still surprised that many believe that West Coast have success because 'they don't accept mediocrity'. They have rebuilt twice - both of their premierships this century have essentially come from rebuilds. Judd was a priority pick, and they are still reaping the rewards of that with JJK. Luke Shuey was a priority pick. They have adapted very well to the loss of some key players this year and brought through some youth quite well. However at its core it is still an experienced team, many of the key pieces of which have been picked up in some lean years.

Collingwood are also interesting in that they committed to a coach and a deliberate rebuilding approach that copped them a hell of a lot of flak and here they are losing a GF by **** all.

I am very much agnostic on the coaching front and I don't particularly want to bring that into yet another thread. But I look at our team and how it is really bloody young and inexperienced, and the potential opportunities we have to add more talent this off-season - it makes me pretty optimistic really. Especially in the context of a where teams like Richmond and Collingwood have come from recently.

More or less my thoughts too. I think that a change of the guard with the list management and footy manager will bring a fresh set of eyes and fresh energy to the club. I do hope that we review our strength and conditioning and assistant coaching positions - but so much of it depends on what they assess and whether there are better options out there. I don't like strategies of 'change for the sake of change' in the same way that I don't like trading an elite player for a bunch of picks and 'potential'.

I think the two things the club needs are stability in leadership (including with our players) to give them a framework of what we're working towards, and a culture of continuous improvement. I think we're treading a line in ensuring we have stability with the older players being kept around while exposing the young players. It's a fine line though - and we crossed it a few too many times this season by circumstance (Tabs injured, Darcy injured, Sandi, Fyfe, etc) that caused a lot of flux in the team and exposed us a bit.

Overall though - i'm comfortable with the direction of the club, slightly concerned with losing Neale but if we can address our midfield and get Hoges - bring on the new season.

No Oppo Supporters The Positivity Thread