The Rugby World Cup Thread

Rugby died a long time ago when the object of the game moved from scoring tries to getting field position to kick gals. Penalities should not be 3 points.

At least Sth Africa are scoring tried today

Rugby died a long time ago when the object of the game moved from scoring tries to getting field position to kick gals. Penalities should not be 3 points.

At least Sth Africa are scoring tried today

You do know the original point of the games was to score points through the sticks... in fact before you didn't even get points for going over the line it just allowed you a TRY at goal. So your argument there is defunct as this is proper union code rugby

As an outsider looking in it doesn't seem to me that Australia really cares all that much about union. I just figure that if we as a nation cared to any great extent we'd be flogging the shitters out of everyone just like we do in every other sport we take seriously. So I'm assuming....we don't. :D :thumbsu:

I hope South Africa win now - at least they play attack and try to score a try, not relying on goal kicks to win

As an outsider looking in it doesn't seem to me that Australia really cares all that much about union. I just figure that if we as a nation cared to any great extent we'd be flogging the shitters out of everyone just like we do in every other sport we take seriously. So I'm assuming....we don't. :D :thumbsu:

Nothing like a bit of modesty is there.

Other than Cricket, who else do you "flog the shitters" out of? Soccer, atheltics, F1, Tennis, Golf? Do enlighten me

Nothing like a bit of modesty is there.

Other than Cricket, who else do you "flog the shitters" out of? Soccer, atheltics, F1, Tennis, Golf? Do enlighten me

Hey, you forget netball (except for New Zealand).

We win all the Commonwealth sports, except rugby.

D23

Well on the rugby front we own league. :thumbsu:

I think we'd all agree though that by and large our best sporting talent is in the AFL.
i wouldn't say that its only because were the only country that play that sport there is no other real competition to test us, id have to say cricket on a world front we are clearly the best in the world and have been for a long time

Hockey: Regularly win the Olympic and World Cups in both mens and women events.

Swimming: While having been in a lull the last year or 2, we are still easily the second best team in the world behind the yanks.

Cricket: We havent lost a world cup match (the real one anyway) in the last 29 matches. Also very rarely lose a test series, the last English soil Ashes we were 2 runs away from a 1-1 draw, 3 runs from winning the series 2-1.

Netball: 2nd only to the Kiwis at the moment

Aussie Rules: :D

The best way to sum it up is the Olympic Games. We have finished in the top 4 the last 2 Olympics with 16 golds in Sydney and 17 golds in Athens. I predict about 13-15 golds in Beijing, which will keep us in the top 5.

And by the way, our cyclists dont need drugs, unlike a certain David Millar IIRC. Go the Saffirs

Hockey: Regularly win the Olympic and World Cups in both mens and women events.

Swimming: While having been in a lull the last year or 2, we are still easily the second best team in the world behind the yanks.

Cricket: We havent lost a world cup match (the real one anyway) in the last 29 matches. Also very rarely lose a test series, the last English soil Ashes we were 2 runs away from a 1-1 draw, 3 runs from winning the series 2-1.

Netball: 2nd only to the Kiwis at the moment

Aussie Rules: :D

The best way to sum it up is the Olympic Games. We have finished in the top 4 the last 2 Olympics with 16 golds in Sydney and 17 golds in Athens. I predict about 13-15 golds in Beijing, which will keep us in the top 5.

And by the way, our cyclists dont need drugs, unlike a certain David Millar IIRC. Go the Saffirs

I think most people recognise how good Aussies are at sport, especially we English :D

You have great Government investment and a perfect environment to produce sporting champs.

All I was saying was that guy who said "if we were bothered we would flog everyone" comes acros as a bit OTT. Obviously you would be better at Union if you didn't bother with Rugby League, which to 95% of rugby players/supporters around the world, is seen by far as an inferior brand.

I think most people recognise how good Aussies are at sport, especially we English :D

You have great Government investment and a perfect environment to produce sporting champs.

All I was saying was that guy who said "if we were bothered we would flog everyone" comes acros as a bit OTT. Obviously you would be better at Union if you didn't bother with Rugby League, which to 95% of rugby players/supporters around the world, is seen by far as an inferior brand.

Fair call

At the moment I think we struggle with rugby union. Its not an attractive sport, few kids would want to take part because of the possible injury factor and rugby league is better marketed in Australia.

Sport is generally the Australians way of saying we actually exist, as apart from sport we generally dont in the main news unless a dingo steals our baby.

Its not often we lose to the English, so we have to get in as much whinging as possible before the next Motherland/Colonial battle, where we take the spoils and world order is restored :D

"that guy" was looking to stir up the few poms lurking on here and did exactly that. :p

$10 on england at 41-1. Hows that for a bet :D.

Go england!

** lost quite a bit on Argentina unfortunately :(. Choked badly.

GREAT bet mate!!! Even if they don't win you certainly got your money's worth!!

can't say i'm hoping you win :p but if the poms happen to win, it'll be some consolation knowing that you won 4 hungy :thumbsu:

GREAT bet mate!!! Even if they don't win you certainly got your money's worth!!

can't say i'm hoping you win :p but if the poms happen to win, it'll be some consolation knowing that you won 4 hungy :thumbsu:

The bookie's over here are absolutely bricking it for this weekend. England started at 33-1 and went out to 80-1 after their last South Africa game, so masses of people that don't normally bet put a patriotic punt on England. If England wins the RWC and Hamilton wins Formula 1, this will be the most expensive weekend for British bookmakers in history, and by quite a margin.

well i guess there is at least one bright side if the poms win then

the bookies have quite a bit of my hard earned, so i don't mind them taking a pasting here and there :)

Ah well.

I can't get too upset, given expectations. Not even any of the Safas I found at the O2 thought that was a try, and it would have been nice to see how that game would have turned out had it been given, but then it would also have been nice to see how the tournament would have turned out had NZ won their quarter-final.

But it was still very tough to come home from, and, as any finalist, I'll long be thinking of what might have been.

Boring final.......it would been good to see ONE try. Oh well, happy South Africa won. Besides the final, they actually played attacking rugby. Best team in the comp won it so well done to them.

I reckon New Zealand were the best team in the competition, and at least played attacking rugby. Would have preffered the boys from Sheep Shaggers Land to have brought the trophy home.

The Rugby World Cup Thread