No Oppo Supporters The TAN 84 - NO yank politics.Brand names with a dash of groupthink

I disagree that she didn't give her best. I think that she tried to play to her strengths (creativity) and didn't realise that the moves would look daggy (her mistake).

I don’t think anyone would argue she didn’t try her best. But she had no business being there in the first place and only through some weird quirk in the system does a 36 year old “athlete” make it into an Olympic squad.

She should have known better. Absolutely delusional to think she could take it up to the opposition that was on display.

She won the qualification tournament. Isn't that enough?

I have to say that, regardless as to whether you think she should have been there or not, the worldwide reaction to her performance has been nothing short of cruel. It has honestly reinforced in me a belief that people are very often nasty, cruel, and just outright horrible. It actually makes me feel embarassed to be a human knowing we treat each other this way.

Yeah I don’t think the qualification rounds in this “sport” really fulfilled its purpose. It’s a joke and no wonder it’s dumped from the next olympics.

Don’t agree with the pile on but she knew what she was doing and how to get qualified. No way she could possibly think she had a chance given her background and academic standing.

If she did well done I wish I had that confidence. Impressive.

I disagree that she didn't give her best. I think that she tried to play to her strengths (creativity) and didn't realise that the moves would look daggy (her mistake).
She knew she was no chance at a medal. If she did an ok routine and came 10th or whatever nobody would be talking about her

Now she’s front page news and got $$ coming left right and centre from those looking to cash in on what everyone’s talking about

She knew exactly what she was doing with that ridiculous routine and how it would all play out online. Wake up

I completely disagree. Her interview explaining how devastating the cruel feedback has been to her also supports this.
Sad Money GIF by G2 Esports

Also her

Disagree entirely. I can't even imagine how soul destroying it would be to have a good portion of the world make fun of you while you follow your passion. This is something she has pursued for decades and even written a PhD about. And people have callously mocked her on a global scale for doing her best.
in reality, it wasn't her best at all.

Her qualifying routine or what ever it was, was much better. No one forced her to do the routine she did, and if she couldn't see the potential blow back from it, then she should keep working on that PhD.

I completely disagree. Her interview explaining how devastating the cruel feedback has been to her also supports this.
She scored ZERO, aka wasn’t even breakdancing

And this is a person with a PHD in it. You’re insulting her intelligence saying she went there and gave it her all with a routine she thought would be competitive

The hate she’s copping is from people who see it all for what it is. Again insulting her intelligence thinking she didn’t know this is the sort of thing that would come of it

What happened right after she gave that teary interview? She made an appearance at the Logies getting paid bulk LOL

Not the actions of someone who’s distraught. You got some misguided twitter type outrage going on here, waay off the mark

She scored ZERO, aka wasn’t even breakdancing

And this is a person with a PHD in it. You’re insulting her intelligence saying she went there and gave it her all with a routine she thought would be competitive

The hate she’s copping is from people who see it all for what it is. Again insulting her intelligence thinking she didn’t know this is the sort of thing that would come of it

What happened right after she gave that teary interview? She made an appearance at the Logies getting paid bulk LOL

Not the actions of someone who’s distraught. You got some misguided twitter type outrage going on here, waay off the mark
I can't believe she got this far in life pursuing a "sport" and no one told her she's not very good.

But participating in a sport isn't about being 'good'. It's about enjoying it and socialising. Very few of us are 'good' at an elite level. It doesn't mean that we should be mocked for it.
No worries, you gonna pay for me to go to Paris for a couple of weeks all expenses paid so I can participate in the 100m sprint?

Another day another 'Wage Gap' article, this one stating that women need to work 50 days per year more than men to earn the same.

Sounds about right when Men work on average 7 hours more per week. Which is 1 day.

50 week work year, makes it 50 days.

Want equal pay? Work equal hours...

Another day another 'Wage Gap' article, this one stating that women need to work 50 days per year more than men to earn the same.

Sounds about right when Men work on average 7 hours more per week. Which is 1 day.

I completely disagree and am outraged over these facts

This is probably correct if you look at society averages as a whole, but it doesn’t explain findings that women earn less than male counterparts in similar positions, with similar experience and education.

Re Raygun - Criticism is warranted but man we are brutal as Nation, the memes are still going.
I disagree. But even if she chose the wrong strategy for the day, does she deserve to be mocked on the level she has? It's downright disgusting. It's human beings tearing others down coupled with misogyny.

I reckon a male in her position would be criticised just as much.

We are a pretty brutal country when it comes to how we treat our Athletes (Using this term very loosely here) that is for sure, especially online.

No Oppo Supporters The TAN 84 - NO yank politics.Brand names with a dash of groupthink