The tips we were taught as juniors don't exist anymore...

Coin_Toss

Apr 2, 2005
Did everyone get taught the simple procedure of having a shot at goal?

Take the mark, Steady, Walk back but don't look back. The '30 second rule' has stuffed this up, too. The AFL are ruining our great game, and I bloody hate it!

Who's on the AFL rules committee again?

Re: The tips we got taught as juniors don't exist anymore...

The 30 second rule does nothing but rush the player. As a result we're going to see less long distance goals this season. Just how does this make the game more exciting?

Also as a defender we are taught to take the arm if se can't take the ball, can't do that anymore either.

my dad use to make elastic garters to keep my socks up. so many players run around with their socks down these days. how does this make the game exciting?

Kooley said:
my dad use to make elastic garters to keep my socks up. so many players run around with their socks down these days. how does this make the game exciting?

I wear my socks down, always have.

i was taught that if a team mate is being wrestled behind play to go help him out, cant do that now either, how does this make the game exciting?

Once the kick in rule was changed to allow players to immediately kick the ball in then you must also limit the time allowed for shots on goal or players would be taking longer than ever. There is no advantage with the new kick-in rule for a team to ever take the shot quickly because if they miss they'd be at a strategic disadvantage with the ball coming straight back out. The 30 sec rule is there to give the umpires a mechanism to stop teams holding up the play, not to rush players into having a shot. It is why we don't need a shot clock any more than we need a "possession clock" for players elsewhere on the ground. Players might get 25 secs, they might get 35 secs, does it matter provided the rule is applied to prevent what otherwise will happen - players taking more time than is needed simply so their team-mates can get in position if they miss. It is also why at the end of a quater a player can take as long as they want. They aren't holding up play to gain a strategic advantage.

It staggers me how many people miss the point of the 30 sec rule.

Kooley said:
well if you can't play like a footballer at least look like one. lift your act mate!

Good thing i can play like a footballer then.

And we shouldn't need a shot clock for the umpires to realise when a player is taking to long, they should take the initiative and make a decision. Was it brought in because the umpires are to scared to make the decision and call play on? The rule was already there it just was umpired properly.

If the 'shot clock' becomes a part of our game we may aswell start watching basketball because thats what footy will become, the tribunal is already making sure we have less body contact than f****** netball.

i was taught that if i'm being picked on by a bigger kid to kick him in the nuts. , cant do that now either, how does this make the game exciting?

Kooley said:
well if you can't play like a footballer at least look like one. lift your act mate!

Since when does what you wear make you a footballer. Personally im a guernsey out socks down sort of player. Ill run out socks up guernsey in but as soon as we start it all comes out. Why be uncomfortable with your guernsey in and socks up. Besides you look like a prat. Some of the best players to play the game have been socks down guernsey out.

JeffDunne said:
Once the kick in rule was changed to allow players to immediately kick the ball in then you must also limit the time allowed for shots on goal or players would be taking longer than ever. There is no advantage with the new kick-in rule for a team to ever take the shot quickly because if they miss they'd be at a strategic disadvantage with the ball coming straight back out. The 30 sec rule is there to give the umpires a mechanism to stop teams holding up the play, not to rush players into having a shot. It is why we don't need a shot clock any more than we need a "possession clock" for players elsewhere on the ground. Players might get 25 secs, they might get 35 secs, does it matter provided the rule is applied to prevent what otherwise will happen - players taking more time than is needed simply so their team-mates can get in position if they miss. It is also why at the end of a quater a player can take as long as they want. They aren't holding up play to gain a strategic advantage.

Cool. Bring in a stupid rule because we brought in a stupid rule.

scooter600x said:
You think allowing players to immediately bring the ball in is a bad idea?

On the thread title - there are heaps of things my coaches used to say that are long gone now:

* "If in doubt hit it out"
* "If you can't spoil the ball, take his arms"
* "If you can't reach his arms, whack him in the ear and make him earn it"
* "Never leave the goal square empty"
* "On a kick out bang it long to the ruckman"
* "Get in and under - umpires pay the man in front"
* "Kick it to the sh**house up tha guts" - one of my junior coaches favourites
* "The back 6 should never be more than 5 yards from their man" - is there a back 6 anymore?

TigerCraig said:
On the thread title - there are heaps of things my coaches used to say that are long gone now:

* "If you can't spoil the ball, take his arms"
* "If you can't reach his arms, whack him in the ear and make him earn it"
* "The back 6 should never be more than 5 yards from their man" - is there a back 6 anymore?

One of the more concerning ones is the man in front, always told the umpires look after the man with the ball or in front, not any more they don't.

JeffDunne said:

You do have a point.

But you're also missing the point (maybe) that much of the debate about forwards taking too long to have their shot was the contradiction of players kicking in being told to hurry up by the umpire or have the ball taken off them and bounced at the top of the square. This debate was going on in past years, well before the new kick in rule was implemented.

scooter600x said:

Mushashi.

The 30 second rule has been brought in to "speed up play". Play is getting bogged down in dead ball situations. Thats because umpires keep blowing their whistles to enforce some rule.

In the last 30 years they have tripled the number of field umpires, doubled the number of boundary umpires, added an emergency umpire who can report people, they change the rules yearly without consulting the coaches or players and they have a director of umpiring who issues new rule interpretations WHILE THE SEASON IS IN PROGRESS.

Play is being held up, in part by the number of umpires and they bring in a new rule for the umpires to think about, something that will be unenforcable at the grass roots level. Does manangatang seconds have a shot clock at their ground? AFL is ceasing to be Aussie rules as it is played elsewhere in Australia.

The idiocy of having a "shot clock" in a game of football is appalling.

sedders said:
i was taught that if i'm being picked on by a bigger kid to kick him in the nuts. , cant do that now either, how does this make the game exciting?
no , but apparently you can punch someone in the goolies twice and get away with it in the AFL!

TuskenRaider said:
You do have a point.

But you're also missing the point (maybe) that much of the debate about forwards taking too long to have their shot was the contradiction of players kicking in being told to hurry up by the umpire or have the ball taken off them and bounced at the top of the square. This debate was going on in past years, well before the new kick in rule was implemented.
I agree - but once the kick-in rule was changed then IMO they had no choice but to bring in the 30sec rule.

I find it rather ironic also that nobody (like coaches) ever complained about the inconsistencies in the time players had to kick out. We didn't need a "kick-in" clock so why the need for a shot clock?

I remember when you could have nails as sprigs to allow for extra grip on your opponent's leg....they've change that rule too!

TigerCraig said:

* "If you can't spoil the ball, take his arms"* "If you can't reach his arms, whack him in the ear and make him earn it"
That one's the worst IMO.

I was predominantly a Full-Forward, but even I concede not being able to chop the arms is ridiculous. Dragging someone down out of the contest is different, but punching the arm when out of position or on a taller opponent is part of footy. WTF are you meant to do if you're playing on someone a foot taller?

The tips we were taught as juniors don't exist anymore...