Secondary Thinking about becoming a teacher

Sounds like my life. Looking to go into professional sports coaching but would like to do private school PE teaching so that I can have the opportunity to work with elite-level kids; that's where my passion is at, elite level sports.

Haha, very similar outlook to me mate. I want to get into tennis coaching and hopefully start my own business in a year or so. I've been waiting to start a Junior Development course with Tennis Australia, but they am still waiting for them to confirm a start date. The aim is to supplement by income doing coaching on weekends and after school while still teaching fulltime or 3/4 days per week. Im currently teaching at a specialist tennis school and am helping out with their coaching programs in the morning.

I know a lot of people think relief work sucks, but it fits in nicely with my life. You dont get worn out and bored teaching the same subjects to the same kids at the same school. If I get sick of teaching at a school, I simply say Im not available and work somewhere else. There are no emails to answer, usually little planning to do except for long term stints, and the pay is good. The only issue for me is getting ongoing work. Ive been lucky cos since Ive started teaching that a day hasn't gone by where I haven't been asked to work somewhere. But you got to do the hard work and build your contacts - email and visit schools individually, be contactable, reply straight away, work hard when you're at the schools and generally don't screw them over.

Having no pay during holidays is an issue, so you got to be prepared to work in another field over the holidays. I want to do coaching, but if that doesnt work Ill go back into casual retail or something.

Currently studying Criminology, I am not liking it as much as I once did. Getting sick of Essay after Essay research after research, I am thinking of studying Primary School teaching. My question is, are there many essays? I am fine with them but having 3 due in the same week almost monthly hurts. And my final question, my maths is horrible. I was the worst student. What is the maths side of things like?

Any help would be fantastic.

What about finishing criminology and doing a masters in education - that might make you eligible to teach SOSE and forensic science at highs schools

Sounds like my life. Looking to go into professional sports coaching but would like to do private school PE teaching so that I can have the opportunity to work with elite-level kids; that's where my passion is at, elite level sports.

Although students at private schools are more conditioned to care about their education, what makes you think that they are "elite"? The private system contains a mixture of both those who struggle and those who naturally excel (even at the top schools), as you'd find teaching in the public system. The difference lies in the standards set and in the additional support/resources available to those wishing to succeed, not necessarily in the ability of students.

Engaging less capable students is inherently more difficult, but a massive part of the job. It's what unearths the ability of those who are naturally talented but perhaps lack the drive and environment to succeed, and is absolutely necessary wherever/whatever you teach.

Although students at private schools are more conditioned to care about their education, what makes you think that they are "elite"? The private system contains a mixture of both those who struggle and those who naturally excel (even at the top schools), as you'd find teaching in the public system. The difference lies in the standards set and in the additional support/resources available to those wishing to succeed, not necessarily in the ability of students.

Engaging less capable students is inherently more difficult, but a massive part of the job. It's what unearths the ability of those who are naturally talented but perhaps lack the drive and environment to succeed, and is absolutely necessary wherever/whatever you teach.
Certainly not in the context of private = elite. In the context of private school sports = elite kids, eg. Scotts, Xavier etc. if I were to go into teaching.

I have my first teaching prac starting tomorrow and to say I'm nervous is an understatement.

Good luck and don't stress out. Teaching obviously relies a lot on the ability to impart knowledge and engage others, so it's far easier when you feel assured and confident. Will become thoroughly rewarding if you stick with it. :thumbsu:

Certainly not in the context of private = elite. In the context of private school sports = elite kids, eg. Scotts, Xavier etc. if I were to go into teaching.

Never taught at a private school of that ilk other than some relief work at Geelong Grammar, but what I said still holds true. You will get the chance to work with elite students (in Years 10-12), but don't expect that this is the job in its entirety. It inevitably involves engaging less capable students regardless of the environment you choose to teach in.

Haven't read the thread and so I'm unsure of your background in teaching, but working with more talented students also presents its own challenges. They'll seek feedback more than others that you might be pressed to provide, can be rigorous to manage, and may still be lacking in terms of maturity and drive to succeed (we're talking about teenagers, after all).

Haha, very similar outlook to me mate. I want to get into tennis coaching and hopefully start my own business in a year or so. I've been waiting to start a Junior Development course with Tennis Australia, but they am still waiting for them to confirm a start date. The aim is to supplement by income doing coaching on weekends and after school while still teaching fulltime or 3/4 days per week. Im currently teaching at a specialist tennis school and am helping out with their coaching programs in the morning.
Did you do any teaching education? Or did you just put yourself out there as a relief teacher and schools started making use of your many talents?

Um, I thought this would be basic knowledge but to teach in any school in Australia you need to have some form of teaching qualification, whether that be a bachelor of education or an undergraduate degree with a diploma or masters in education. Then there is professional registration with the relevant state teachers board, documenting and maintaining professional development, criminal screening and working with children checks. I have a bachelor of science and a post grad diploma of education.

Its not like putting your name down for a few nightfill shifts at coles.

Um, I thought this would be basic knowledge but to teach in any school in Australia you need to have some form of teaching qualification, whether that be a bachelor of education or an undergraduate degree with a diploma or masters in education. Then there is professional registration with the relevant state teachers board, documenting and maintaining professional development, criminal screening and working with children checks. I have a bachelor of science and a post grad diploma of education.

Its not like putting your name down for a few nightfill shifts at coles.

Well of course, but there are different pathways to getting the necessary accreditation.

There are a couple of avenues, but basically if you want to actually teach in schools, you will need to do some tertiary study. At the very least, a postgraduate programme.

Alternatively, you could look into doing after school hours care for a couple of years and get it credited towards a degree before doing education as an undergrad, but basically there really isn't any way to become a teacher without studying.

Anyone done any teaching overseas? I graduate at the end of this year, but understand it is extremely difficult to land a job as a graduate teacher in Australia. So I am putting in place a few back up plans to ensure I don't waste a year with applying and looking for jobs. One of these plans is teaching in the UK, as there is a demand for teachers. I was just wondering if anyone had any tips?
Pros and cons?
Should I go through and agency? If so, what are the best agencies?
Or should I organise it all myself?

Thanks
Cut you teeth in Australia first. The UK chews up and spits out many inexperienced (and experienced) teachers, even locals. You May hate teaching before You be even had a good go at it. Work rate and expectations are much higher in the UK.
Agencies are worse than real estate agents in London. Its all about the commish. Umbrella companies, much the same.
If you're he'll bent on getting to the UK, get a job direct through a local council. Although it may be tough as a grad

Reading through this thread and seeing so many interesting and different perspectives of teaching, what it takes to teach and what advice people are given.

I reckon you can tell which teachers are gonna go higher up (admin spots, year level and house coordinator and asst principal.)
If they're apologists, regularly speaking at assemblies or constantly talking about school rules and policies, they're a shoo in for those spots.
Also, they have a particular vibe and aura.
"Refugees of the classroom" those types.

Anyone done any teaching overseas? I graduate at the end of this year, but understand it is extremely difficult to land a job as a graduate teacher in Australia. So I am putting in place a few back up plans to ensure I don't waste a year with applying and looking for jobs. One of these plans is teaching in the UK, as there is a demand for teachers. I was just wondering if anyone had any tips?
Pros and cons?
Should I go through and agency? If so, what are the best agencies?
Or should I organise it all myself?

Thanks

Teaching Years 9-10 in NZ until the end of this year, but not sure how you'd go about doing it through an agency. Missus is a Kiwi with a number of contacts within the teaching industry and so I was able to organise everything myself. This definitely gives you more flexibility in terms of where/what you want to teach and is less paperwork + hassle, but might not be a good idea unless you've built up contacts in the UK (don't imagine this is the case considering you're only a grad).

An agency would be better equipped to guide you in the right direction, otherwise I'd be talking to others who have previously taught overseas and seeking out possible contacts who have worked with said people.

How about now...?

Not too bad. I had a class of year 10s who don't even behave for my mentor teacher. By that I mean they don't shut up or do the work. They listened in some spots but in others it was a struggle to get them to listen. There was always one or two groups who constantly talked but it was a full class today so I had no way to split them up. In terms of content my mentor teacher said before hand it may be a little advanced for them and I'd need to spend a bit more time explaining which was exactly the case. The timings I set out on my lesson plan were pretty much spot on which I was pleased about although I would have liked to get a bit more in.

I walked out of there thinking I did okay and more importantly, despite the trouble I had getting them to listen, I walked out thinking "I really enjoyed that." I'm glad that happened since before hand I was questioning whether I had made the right choice. I was that nervous at one point this morning I didn't know whether I was about to pass out, vomit or both but as soon as I started talking all nerves vanished. I said that to my mentor teacher afterwards when we were discussing my lesson and she said she couldn't tell. She said I projected well and had a nice clear voice. Afterwards she sent me her observation notes and she said at the end "Overall, a pretty good first lesson. Well done!" which is pretty much all I can ask for at this stage.

Good stuff. Grade ten is a very volatile one, and I'd even go so far as to say they vary from state to state (up here they're even worse versions of year 9, with even the best ones being as lazy as f###, but in Tassie, where high schools finish at Grade ten and you have to go to a separate college for Y11-12, they're relatively more mature because they're the seniors of the school - not sure how WA works).

I've used a line in the past, something like: "I'm moving a few of you guys around today before we start, because we know you'll talk. You haven't done anything wrong today, but I'm making sure we don't get to that in any case. You know it and I know it!". This one is good if you don't have spare seats in the room. You can even give them the choice - if they own part of the decision, they can find a way to make themselves look cool while being disciplined, which is always a winner with kids: "You four - one of you in each of the four corners of the room, please!". Our school actually dictates to teachers that they must have a designed seating plan for all junior school classes, but kids change friends and alliances pretty easily, and the worst kids either have no problem shouting across a room or don't care who they talk to in the next seat...you're always updating it...

And if it's any help, Tony Lockett said he kept a bucket in the change rooms because he too often felt like a good nervous chuck before a game...!

Secondary Thinking about becoming a teacher