• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Thirds 2013

Good on'em...Hope they enjoy the DVD! We got together at Chrissy last year and watched ours together. Then after the last game this year. It's a great initiative from the SFL.

Change of Coaches at CHFC in the 3rds for next year. After 4 years, 3 Granny's and 2 premierships, yours truly out and club legend and for SFL league B&F David "Gooba" Cross In!

Awesome to get him back to the club.

well it good to see more clubs putting in a thirds this year it helps the club s get stronger now there is 14 teams fixture is out at game tonite at springvale

Really disappointed that we had to pull out of the 3's comp this year. We've had a very successful 4 years but with so many retiring or moving on, we just couldn't commit to fielding a full side every week.

Good luck to all the other sides, it's a great comp.

Really disappointed that we had to pull out of the 3's comp this year. We've had a very successful 4 years but with so many retiring or moving on, we just couldn't commit to fielding a full side every week.

Good luck to all the other sides, it's a great comp.

Yeah our club had a good rivalry with you guys over the years!
unfortunate you guys won't be there again...

Hi everyone/anyone, me and a mate are keen on having a kick. Any clubs that are struggling and need a couple of extra numbers for their thirds or ressies... If you could point me in the right direction? Thanks
We're always welcoming to new players down at Moorabbin. If you're interested feel free to message me. We have thirds as well.

Last couple of seasons it's been pretty evenly matched with the mixture of all Div 1,2,3 teams. There's always going to be sides that struggle, and just because your senior squads are in a certain Division doesn't really give your team any real advantage.
End of the day it's still a competition and the end result is what everyone wants - so good luck to all.

Any news on how teams are going for numbers this year?
I know Hallam and Doveton are running low on players.
South Yarra seem to be stronger this year and I've heard their list has had a boost with new blokes.

Reckon the league stuffed this one up with how it split the thirds. Should have a Div 1 & Div 2 divisions with a promotion/relegation and then you would have a much more even competition. Teams struggling would be able to have more competitive games and I can see struggling teams/players dropping out with a lot more forfeits to come throughout the year.

That's a pretty good point and a pretty devestating reality.
Spose it made more sense on paper than how it actually is. You'd think that a Div 1 team that fields a Thirds side would be pretty strong (eg Dingley) but you look at how Mordi are going so far...
They'd have to see how many Thirds teams they'll have next year before deciding how to split it up and make sure they have an even amount of teams in each if they consider changing it.

Cerberus should have always been a Reserves team in either Div 2 or 3. I don't know why their only team was put into the Thirds? Good club, could definitely compete in the upper echelon.

That's a pretty good point and a pretty devestating reality.
Spose it made more sense on paper than how it actually is. You'd think that a Div 1 team that fields a Thirds side would be pretty strong (eg Dingley) but you look at how Mordi are going so far...
They'd have to see how many Thirds teams they'll have next year before deciding how to split it up and make sure they have an even amount of teams in each if they consider changing it.

Cerberus should have always been a Reserves team in either Div 2 or 3. I don't know why their only team was put into the Thirds? Good club, could definitely compete in the upper echelon.
Because when they were they were routinely getting done by 200+ points week in week out.

Putting them in a div with only 1 team completely throws out the fixture.

Any news on how teams are going for numbers this year?
I know Hallam and Doveton are running low on players.
South Yarra seem to be stronger this year and I've heard their list has had a boost with new blokes.

we have 12 new senior players so it all filters down through 2's and 3rds so we are definitely but like the 2's who pretty go as good as the 1's, the 3rds will go as good as the 2's from stealing players each week so hopefully you're lucky to have a healthy 2's and 1's tram when you play the top clubs

That's good news!

Thirds 2013