thousands of empty seats expected at the grand final - u mad ?

No he doesnt you dumb arse. The 91 Grand Final was played at Waverly because of the construction going on at the G".......... Waverly only had a capacity of 77000 people, so was pretty much full on the day.
You dont seem to know much about your clubs history floggo......................are you one of those bandwagonners I keep hearing about?

And any empty seats you could see on the day can be explained by this

No he doesnt you dumb arse. The 91 Grand Final was played at Waverly because of the construction going on at the G".......... Waverly only had a capacity of 77000 people, so was pretty much full on the day.
You dont seem to know much about your clubs history floggo......................are you one of those bandwagonners I keep hearing about?

Yes You possibly the most intelligent poster on Big Footy

Your sarcasm detector is working oh so well

I have never attended a Grand Final and never went to Waverley.

Why don't you do some research while you're at it on the last time the Swans played the Blues in a Grand Final?

Well perhaps you should review your post than, flog?

I really, really hope the Blooze can readdress the debt...perhaps it's time to severe ties with the shut-up money fund...
Haha I love how mad you get you angry midget :D

Let me guess, you are not going to turn up to the grand final because you can't decide whether to bring yourself or your pet bird to the game :D

Haha I love how mad you get you angry midget :D

Let me guess, you are not going to turn up to the grand final because you can't decide whether to bring yourself or your pet bird to the game :D

Already organised..can't decide whether I want to take my reserved seats (next to the interchange bench) or try and take a punt on the second or third levels.

The advantages of being an MCC member, I guess.

On an unrelated note, 67k to 70k was about the mark at the Preliminary Final wasn't it, peasant flog?

Already organised..can't decide whether I want to take my reserved seats (next to the interchange bench) or try and take a punt on the second or third levels.

The advantages of being an MCC member, I guess.

On an unrelated note, 67k to 70k was about the mark at the Preliminary Final wasn't it, peasant flog?
Oh wow, was about to reply to how we were going to get at least 25k members now that we are absolute certainty for the finals next year, quick ninja edit I see. :rolleyes:

Congrats for 70,000. 25,000 Crow's fans + 5,000 neutrals made the trip to the MCG and I don't think anyone really expected this. If the usual 5-10k Adelaide supporters turned up, well there is your 50,000 crowd.

Then again, how many dogs and cats did you bring to try and inflate the figure?

Oh wow, was about to reply to how we were going to get at least 25k members now that we are absolute certainty for the finals next year, quick ninja edit I see. :rolleyes:

No malice in the edit whatsoever, I really hope the Brions can lift their membership to 25,000. The strength of the AFL (as compared to the NRL) is the strength of the minnow clubs, with the Brions being the AFL equivalent to the Sharks in the NRL, we need our weakest clubs strong :)

Congrats for 70,000. 25,000 Crow's fans + 5,000 neutrals made the trip to the MCG and I don't think anyone really expected this. If the usual 5-10k Adelaide supporters turned up, well there is your 50,000 crowd.

Or not? You really think the Crows could draw 25,000 fans to a game in Melbourne (more fans than the Brions have in the country) when only 30,000 could be ****ed rocking up in Adelaide? Really???

I suspect you were at the game, I also suspect you saw the bays and bays of empty seats in the AFL members...who would turn up to a neutral game if you've got to play $110 for the joys of Q level seat?

Fact is flog, you stated quite categorically that just 55,000 would rock up to the game (ala Geelong-West Coast last year) which was only 15,000 give or take, out :)

Then again, how many dogs and cats did you bring to try and inflate the figure?

We’ll never know the split but we do know that the game was the 2nd highest drawing final of the finals series.

Hawthorn V Collingwood – 85,639
Hawthorn V Adelaide – 69,126
Collingwood V West Coast – 65,486
Sydney V Collingwood – 57,156
Adelaide V Sydney – 44,849
Geelong V Fremantle – 44,460
West Coast V Nth Melbourne – 41,790
Adelaide V Fremantle – 31,742

But hey if you think only 25,000 Hawks fans rocked up (when we drew 50,000 to the Eagles game in round 23 – almost as many as what the Brions drew across the season) well, I’ll leave that in your hands.

All I know is that I’m enjoying Grand Final week, admittedly my work productivity has gone through the floor, but I’m relishing the chance to watch my club live for a 3rd time in a Grand Final (’91, ’08 and ’12) chasing its 11th flag (making it six successive decades of flags)

…6 successive decades of flags without the benefits of salary cap concessions :)

I suspect you're probably a Cat behind a Lions alias, I know the Cats are small fry, but the Lions? Really?

No malice in the edit whatsoever, I really hope the Brions can lift their membership to 25,000. The strength of the AFL (as compared to the NRL) is the strength of the minnow clubs, with the Brions being the AFL equivalent to the Sharks in the NRL, we need our weakest clubs strong :)

Or not? You really think the Crows could draw 25,000 fans to a game in Melbourne (more fans than the Brions have in the country) when only 30,000 could be screwed rocking up in Adelaide? Really???

I suspect you were at the game, I also suspect you saw the bays and bays of empty seats in the AFL members...who would turn up to a neutral game if you've got to play $110 for the joys of Q level seat?

Fact is flog, you stated quite categorically that just 55,000 would rock up to the game (ala Geelong-West Coast last year) which was only 15,000 give or take, out :)

We’ll never know the split but we do know that the game was the 2nd highest drawing final of the finals series.

Hawthorn V Collingwood – 85,639
Hawthorn V Adelaide – 69,126
Collingwood V West Coast – 65,486
Sydney V Collingwood – 57,156
Adelaide V Sydney – 44,849
Geelong V Fremantle – 44,460
West Coast V Nth Melbourne – 41,790
Adelaide V Fremantle – 31,742

But hey if you think only 25,000 Hawks fans rocked up (when we drew 50,000 to the Eagles game in round 23 – almost as many as what the Brions drew across the season) well, I’ll leave that in your hands.

All I know is that I’m enjoying Grand Final week, admittedly my work productivity has gone through the floor, but I’m relishing the chance to watch my club live for a 3rd time in a Grand Final (’91, ’08 and ’12) chasing its 11th flag (making it six successive decades of flags)

…6 successive decades of flags without the benefits of salary cap concessions :)

I suspect you're probably a Cat behind a Lions alias, I know the Cats are small fry, but the Lions? Really?
Yes you got me there I am a Geelong supporter, I am PoidaCat. Well done.

Weak? Again how many times do I have to own you that the Lions are killing it in revenue. $42 million compared to your Dogs and Tassie Bogan club of $49 million, we will be fine. I'm sure you don't understand the basics of accounting so I'll just say that your 40,000 extra pets and Tassie homosexuals don't contribute as much as you would of hoped. (Good work selling 1/3 of your soul to Tassie for some dole)

Yes 70,000 is a great effort from the two clubs but I would of figured that there were only 40-45,000 Hawthorn supporters. Not good enough for a club with 60,000 members and wanting to be part of this 'big 4' club :rolleyes:

Nice too see you go with the concession excuse, I guess Sydney and Brisbane just need extra money to deny Victorian flogs flags? Wrong.

The rules were fair. if a certain % of your list was interstate you got the concessions.
Still not enough? Sydney and Brisbane did not have home grown talent in their own areas at that time nor did they have any major sponsors to help promote the sport in QLD and NSW. FACT is that we were at a major disadvantage at that time; why would someone want to play in QLD and Sydney when they could get all the attention they dreamed off in Victoria? Buckley was a fine example of this - He literally protested not to play with the Bears because Victoria held most of the sport/AFL culture and were likely to be winning premierships than the Northern states.

I'm sorry to hear that McDonalds is calling you for extra shifts btw :D

Pwned bitch!

Weak? Again how many times do I have to own you that the Lions are killing it in revenue. $42 million compared to your Dogs and Tassie Bogan club of $49 million, we will be fine. I'm sure you don't understand the basics of accounting so I'll just say that your 40,000 extra pets and Tassie homosexuals don't contribute as much as you would of hoped. (Good work selling 1/3 of your soul to Tassie for some dole)

So in other words Hawthorn generate a further $7m in revenue per season despite getting far less support from the AFL with regards to distribution of television money, those are massive numbers!

...and we didn't even need to relocate to Springwood, which for the benefit of the majority of Bigfooty who has NFI where Springwood is, it’s the equivalent of Frankston.

But hey, even allowing for the enormous discrepancy in revenue generated between the clubs, surely a better constructed argument would have been to identify the discrepancy in revenue generated across football and non football related streams?

What I'm really interested in knowing is that, 10 years after winning first of the Lions three peat why does membership and attendance today sit behind attendance and membership in 1999 and 2000?

Clearly the rort, and subsequent three peat was a complete wasted exercise by the AFL...

Nice too see you go with the concession excuse, I guess Sydney and Brisbane just need extra money to deny Victorian flogs flags? Wrong.
The rules were fair. if a certain % of your list was interstate you got the concessions.
Still not enough? Sydney and Brisbane did not have home grown talent in their own areas at that time nor did they have any major sponsors to help promote the sport in QLD and NSW. FACT is that we were at a major disadvantage at that time; why would someone want to play in QLD and Sydney when they could get all the attention they dreamed off in Victoria? Buckley was a fine example of this - He literally protested not to play with the Bears because Victoria held most of the sport/AFL culture and were likely to be winning premierships than the Northern states.

I think its fair to say that there is a strong correlation between the concessions, allowances and the like given to the Lions, and the lack of success experienced by the Brions since the concessions were scaled back.

I'm sorry to hear that McDonalds is calling you for extra shifts btw

Why get personnel?

I'm not sure it really matters what my occupation is, but it’s fair to say it doesn't involve shift work...

To be honest, Im just thankful my occupation allows me to spend as much time as possible away from the baron cultural wasteland that is 'BRIS VEGAS'

Yes 70,000 is a great effort from the two clubs but I would of figured that there were only 40-45,000 Hawthorn supporters. Not good enough for a club with 60,000 members and wanting to be part of this 'big 4' club :rolleyes:

So in the space of three posts you've gone from stating that 50,000 in attendance were neutrals to now stating that the crowd was 'a good crowd'...go figure

Perhaps Collingwood, with their 71,000 members and status as the biggest club in Australia should be disappointed with the 65,000 that went through the turnstilles against the Eagles?

How many other codes in the world could draw 65k-70k to a Semi Final not involving two clubs from the same city???

http://www.theage.com.au/environment/weather/soggy-forecast-for-grand-final-20120924-26g65.html

its all there in the link folks - a wet granny. with one interstate side in action, and a very much fair weather one at that, it will confirm yet again that the ticketing process for the grand final is a joke, with once a year ****wits given priority over every other true footy fan. not that the AFL gives a rats arse, considering all the big business friends who get to pocket the dollars of those corporates etc who buy this one ticket of the year. then of course those once-a-year types will look out of their stkilda rd & docklands apartment windows and say "oh dear its raining, im not going out in that."

R U MAD ?

Take your grandmother fetishes somplace else!

Trolling aside, the Pies and Hawks are the only clubs to have played in 15 Grand Finals over the past 50 years

Massive respect

Seriously??? Don't really know about the respect part. In the past 50 yrs we won 10 and Pies only 2. I think we deserve more respect. Plus I f*****ing hate Collingwood. Their colours remind me of the bird shit I found on my car this morning. Biggest f****ing grand final chokers the game has ever seen since the inception of the VFL.

thousands of empty seats expected at the grand final - u mad ?