anti dukes
This mornings paper said that the tigers were interested in Ed Cowen
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Are you living under a rock? It only takes the Tassie newspapers 1 week to print stuff not 10 days!Confirmation - http://content.cricinfo.com/australia/content/story/396797.html - that Marsh is going to play on but George Bailey will take over as captain.
Are you living under a rock? It only takes the Tassie newspapers 1 week to print stuff not 10 days!
Thats allright. I probably over reacted a little bit.My apologies. Had not seen it posted anywhere and thought it was relevant to the thread.
Travis birt doesn't deserve to be in the pura cup top 6 at the moment.Interesting quotes from Coyle in today's Mecrcury (http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2009/04/21/68215_cricket.html):
"Obviously at the end of the season we recognised, as most people did, our batting was disappointing and has been for a few years," Coyle said.
"We were keen to recruit a suitable batsman and Ed was the person most suited to our needs.
"He has been a little bit frustrated in NSW because of their depth . . . he is also a left-hander which we don't have in our top six and I believe that is very important."
Travis Birt ring any bells COYLE!
Yeah when I first read those comments my initial thoughts were that it sounded like a bit of a cheap shot at Birt. Thought maybe a coach shouldn't be saying that but then again maybe he's trying to give Birt a rocket. (or of course maybe he just forgot lol)Travis birt doesn't deserve to be in the pura cup top 6 at the moment.
Yes he has been killing it and playing awesome in the onedayers (would be close to a game for Australia) but he averaged less than Hilfy last season. He hasn't scored a ton in 3 seasons......
Does that sound like a pura cup top 6 batsman?
You can't be a top 6 batsman on potential because that is what Trav Birt does have lots of. But he is lacking performances
i think this constant importation of players/discussion of importantion of players by the tigers raises an interesting discussion point.
is state cricket about a state winning titles? or is it about developing players for the baggy green?
as thrilled as i have been over the past few years at the tigers winning 2 one day titles and 1 four day title - i don't think those results would mean anywhere near as much to me as it would've if it were full of interstate players like we were in the 90s.
i think the tasmanian team should not be so much about trying to win trophies, as it should be about developing future australian players.
i don't care about krejza - i'd rather see doherty playing because he's a genuine shot at the australian one-day team (and because i played against him as a kid and carted him ) i do care about ponting, hilf and geeves because they are genuine tasmanians. i don't care about birt, but i do care about bailey. and i won't care about cowan where i do care about lockyear or dane-o (massive soft spot for him after i played against him a few years ago in junior competition and he just smashed us all over the park. i reckon his 150 came in about 60 balls. twas a good view as a wicket keeper)
so we shouldn't be going for anyone. we should be looking at the players we have. i haven't lived in tassie for a couple of years - but my sources down there tell me that dane is still killing it in local cricket, and battle, mccormack and jeremy smith are all very young kids killing it who should be getting a chance before interstaters desperate for a game.
Strange comments, as a West Coast supporter do you only care about the players from Perth?i think this constant importation of players/discussion of importantion of players by the tigers raises an interesting discussion point.
is state cricket about a state winning titles? or is it about developing players for the baggy green?
as thrilled as i have been over the past few years at the tigers winning 2 one day titles and 1 four day title - i don't think those results would mean anywhere near as much to me as it would've if it were full of interstate players like we were in the 90s.
i think the tasmanian team should not be so much about trying to win trophies, as it should be about developing future australian players.
i don't care about krejza - i'd rather see doherty playing because he's a genuine shot at the australian one-day team (and because i played against him as a kid and carted him ) i do care about ponting, hilf and geeves because they are genuine tasmanians. i don't care about birt, but i do care about bailey. and i won't care about cowan where i do care about lockyear or dane-o (massive soft spot for him after i played against him a few years ago in junior competition and he just smashed us all over the park. i reckon his 150 came in about 60 balls. twas a good view as a wicket keeper)
so we shouldn't be going for anyone. we should be looking at the players we have. i haven't lived in tassie for a couple of years - but my sources down there tell me that dane is still killing it in local cricket, and battle, mccormack and jeremy smith are all very young kids killing it who should be getting a chance before interstaters desperate for a game.
Well I would argue against that. State side are just as keen as AFL sides to win the 'Premiership'. They are both well paid professional sporting organisations. The fact that we derive a National cricket side from these State sides is irrelevant... do we not do the same in AFL?what a silly comment... you've clearly missed the entire premise of what i'm saying.
AFL is the top level. it is all about winning premierhsips. on top of that, footy teams have not really represented their region since the draft came in
what i'm suggesting is that state cricket is about development. so i'd rather see players from that state being developed
where i do care about lockyear.
HaHa
lockyear is not Tasmanian mate, he moved there from NSW (i think it was) to get better oppurtunities.