News Time to weed out the disability rorters: Crackdown on $16 billion welfare scheme

Yeah it will be harsh for some people, especially for people with complex illnesses or disabilities that a ignorant doctor wouldn't be able to pick up (or understand) straight away.

But there is a definite rorting of the system going on that they have to crack down on, you just hope that they have the right balance, and people that legitimately need help are getting it.

Yeah it will be harsh for some people, especially for people with complex illnesses or disabilities that a ignorant doctor wouldn't be able to pick up (or understand) straight away.

But there is a definite rorting of the system going on that they have to crack down on, you just hope that they have the right balance, and people that legitimately need help are getting it.

I agree there is Defiant people rotting the system but there are some hard to work out Problems that the GP’s might just have no understanding of

Good, there's plenty of people that could be doing some kind of part time work or study that choose to sit on their ass and collect the pension. Only those that truly deserve it should get it.

Do you have any data to support your statement or is it a case of "I know plenty of blokes . . ."?

What is this a courtroom? Don't get your DSP paid for panties in a twist.

P.S Since July there have been 8,000 people transferred to Newstart for fraudulently claiming the DSP, I think, just maybe, that is "data"

youll find from now on most cases of people losing or changing pensions will be via eligibility changes as its becoming too costly to investigate every dob in, apart from the more publicised ones (current affairs type exposure).

in some respects it will probably become easier to commit welfare fraud.

What is this a courtroom? Don't get your DSP paid for panties in a twist

No, it's not a courtroom, but your belligerent post, particularly this juicy morsel:

choose to sit on their ass and collect the pension

suggests to me that you have an inherent bias against welfare recipients, therefore I was only requesting that you provide some evidence to support your beliefs.

P.S Since July there have been 8,000 people transferred to Newstart for fraudulently claiming the DSP, I think, just maybe, that is "data"

Well researched (BTW, the article in the OP, which I assume is where you gathered your info does not mention fraudulently obtaining DSP).

The new rules relating to applying for the DSP is nothing but this government's blatant attempts to paint DSP recipients as work shy bludgers, and deny them benefits.

This scheme (government appointed medical officers) has been trialled in Britain and was an abject failure.

This from a rehabilitation physician,

Currently, obtaining a DSP is not a straightforward process. Applicants are required to obtain reports at their own expense from the GP plus any treating specialist. I do a couple of these most weeks. The reports are assessed by Centrelink and a decision is made. Contrary to what appears a widespread belief among politicians and talkback radio callers, these people are financially and socially desperate. They will have exhausted any available resources including superannuation, friends, family and insurance before applying. If they have been working steadily before they became injured or sick, they are usually in the process of losing their house or flat. Their world is contracting to be able to manage with capabilities that are a fraction of what they previously were. It is not an easy time for anyone. Do we really want to add insult to disadvantage by demanding that they undergo a demeaning kangaroo court to parade their disability on demand in order to keep the meagre resources they have left?
Those who have been on DSP for some time, particularly the age group identified by Minister Andrews for extra resources, have a combination of physical and mental health issues which render them uncompetitive in the job market. I would have concerns about any process which placed greater weight on an independent medical examination than reports from GPs and specialists who know the applicant well and have primary responsibility for managing their care. Asking a doctor who is unfamiliar with their case to make a definitive judgement regarding work readiness borders on the unethical when you consider how useless such assessments generally are. The ability of even a highly standardised functional capacity evaluation in predicting successful return to work is poor. It is only really worthwhile as part of a wider rehabilitation effort, not as a binding decision-making tool with major financial and social consequences.

http://theconversation.com/people-o...ike-the-politicians-who-stigmatise-them-25810

If the government were fair dinkum about addressing this issue they'd increase Newstart to a liveable wage and increase funding to organisations that provide individual, targeted interventions for those under 35 and on the DSP.

I work with many people on the DSP, and by far the majority would dearly love to work. Unfortunately the jobs aren't there and employers are generally unwilling to take them on.