Player Watch Tom Langdon (Retired 2020)

I think his improvement as a 'true defender' is more a reflection of his role change with the loss of Dunn. In the past he has some scope to peel off his man and go third up to kill contest or take intercept mark.

Now is role is 'true defender' first. It is the role of others to be the third man up. I suspect when Dunn returns (or others) his role will revert.
Yes, and till this year I was unconvinced that Langdon could ever play as a "true defender". He is doing desperate subtle and smart defensive stuff I din't think he was capable of tbh. He has always had value as an intercept defender (except for his habit of stuffing up the rebound). Now he has both and can play tall or small and he is hugely valuable to us going forward. I really hope we don't try and lowball him and lose him.
I am not buying the argument that he was always projecting to be the player we have now. To me and many others he was projecting to be an upgraded Simon Buckley. Some players just can't ever learn the subtleties of the game and their role, which often makes all the difference; and I feared Langdon was one of them. Glad to be proven wrong.

When unhyped youngsters break into the team early and play a fair bit of senior footy, we seem to forget that they are developing youngsters who will improve. Langdons reputation on this board suffered from this.

Langdon has been one of the whipping boys for a couple of years. He's always had potential but his bravery and demeanour under pressure left much to be desired. Boy has he turned that around this year. When the pressure has been on this year - he's one of the guys that constantly stepped up. He has had to not only play on some of the best defenders in the league, he's had to play on them while being significantly shorter. Then throw on top of that - that he was basically backline captain for a chunk of the season.

Hats off to him. He's had a ripper and he deserves recognition and plaudits because if he had a bad year we wouldn't hear the end of it.

Langdon has been one of the whipping boys for a couple of years. He's always had potential but his bravery and demeanour under pressure left much to be desired. Boy has he turned that around this year. When the pressure has been on this year - he's one of the guys that constantly stepped up. He has had to not only play on some of the best defenders in the league, he's had to play on them while being significantly shorter. Then throw on top of that - that he was basically backline captain for a chunk of the season.

Hats off to him. He's had a ripper and he deserves recognition and plaudits because if he had a bad year we wouldn't hear the end of it.
Great post. Without Langdon, there's no way we would be where we are now.

Guessing you mean forwards?

Not disputing he hasn't improved this year but the improvement is on the trajectory I would have anticipated. I think the faults you list above were always overstated. Still these are only opinions and I rated him much more highly than most previously hence less surprised he is playing at the level he is this year.

I think people forget that he's still got less than 100 games under his belt, his last 2 seasons largely derailed by injury, and at 24 is only now on the cusp of what should be his prime years. Hopefully he signs and remains a key component of our D50 for years to come.

We really cant afford to let him go can we. Himself and Maynard are future locks for that back six , we need to keep both

True. The whole team has made an obvious effort to move the ball fast and take first options this year. I don't think he is doing the same thing though. Langdon is no longer the stop and prop, ignore 3 good options, then take the wrong option player he used to be. He's changed man!

But he was never that player either despite your assertions to the contrary.

Yes, and till this year I was unconvinced that Langdon could ever play as a "true defender". He is doing desperate subtle and smart defensive stuff I din't think he was capable of tbh. He has always had value as an intercept defender (except for his habit of stuffing up the rebound). Now he has both and can play tall or small and he is hugely valuable to us going forward. I really hope we don't try and lowball him and lose him.

Says more about your assessment skills than it does about Langdon.

We really cant afford to let him go can we. Himself and Maynard are future locks for that back six , we need to keep both

I'd add Crisp to that grouping and I'm really optimistic about what Appleby will offer longer term. Just need Moore to grab a KPD position by the scruff of the neck and find another longer term KPD and we can be confident in our defence beyond this year.

I've got faith that he will still be on our list next year and beyond. Has become a very important part of our back 6.

Seems strange that an important member of our best 22 (who has played 21 games this year) is still not signed up. I'm going to assume that we've given him an informal undertaking we will reward him with a new deal on good money but the Lynch (now May)/Moore landscape needs to be sorted out first.

He has been great this season and outstanding for 6 to 8 weeks and I cannot see h[m leaving,you only have to see Buck,s and him together to know it is very unlikely he would leave.
When he first played in 2014 I thought he was a 200 game player for us and on his present form I am more certain than ever this is the case.

When unhyped youngsters break into the team early and play a fair bit of senior footy, we seem to forget that they are developing youngsters who will improve. Langdons reputation on this board suffered from this.
To some extent. I also think the lethargic way he moves created a perception problem for him early days too.
But he was never that player either despite your assertions to the contrary.
yes he was

So you reckon they're about on par with your Tom Phillips assessment skills then;)
Langdon and Phillips have both been in the same boat. Despite attributes that are extremely obvious, for some reason many viewed them as finished articles in their early twenties without the potential to improve on their exaggerated weaknesses. I put it down to a combination of fans assuming that Draft pick number is an accurate measure of ability and also them not being the physical brutes that are much more popular with fans.

Great post. Without Langdon, there's no way we would be where we are now.
That's a bingo.

He has that stability we require.

I've no doubt part of why he copped it, is because he comes across as a bit sleepy in demeanour.

I've actually liked it, cool, calm, sleepy and that silly hair bun thing. Love it!

Laconic play style is so misunderstood. Just because someone isn't frantic doesn't mean they aren't giving their all.
I like his sleepy vibe. It's kind of cool.
Goes with the man bun.

Glad he's ours.
Can't wait till my special Berger boy returns to become our great backline twins.

Player Watch Tom Langdon (Retired 2020)