• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Top Prospects from Tasmania

The Mercury pretty much gave away the Tassie invites last week:

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/08/03/250515_afl.html

I believe those 10 all got an invite to some form of draft testing.

Would be interesting to see the break down of the draftees and state testing boys. Still a great effort with 10 boys in the mix.

Tall defenders out tomorrow so I expect Mihocek and Schade to be among the 15 boys listed nationally.

Interested to hear thoughts on these 2 boys and their chances in the draft.

Would be interesting to see the break down of the draftees and state testing boys. Still a great effort with 10 boys in the mix.

Tall defenders out tomorrow so I expect Mihocek and Schade to be among the 15 boys listed nationally.

Interested to hear thoughts on these 2 boys and their chances in the draft.

I saw 3 guys on the weekend who would fit real well into the AFL system.
The 3 umpires at NH v Lauderdale on saturday put on a real exhibition for the TV viewers, all trying to out umpire each other. That would fit into the AFL just about right. All showing off & blowing the pea out of the whistle to out technical umpire each other.
Silly me for thinking that on a wet slushy day you would show some sense & let the ticky touchwood decisions go & pay a free for the more obvious interference. But no, they had to put on a show. Who cares as long as those guys drew the attention & enjoyed themselves.:D
Isnt that what the games all about now days:eek:

I saw 3 guys on the weekend who would fit real well into the AFL system.
The 3 umpires at NH v Lauderdale on saturday put on a real exhibition for the TV viewers, all trying to out umpire each other. That would fit into the AFL just about right. All showing off & blowing the pea out of the whistle to out technical umpire each other.
Silly me for thinking that on a wet slushy day you would show some sense & let the ticky touchwood decisions go & pay a free for the more obvious interference. But no, they had to put on a show. Who cares as long as those guys drew the attention & enjoyed themselves.:D
Isnt that what the games all about now days:eek:
I bet Tassie's version of Razor Ray, Ray Donaghue was in the stands giving them pointers as well:)

Saw some of the game on ABC and it appears to me that regardless of what level the game is played at and regardless of the conditions the rule book is pulled out for almost every contest. I actually saw in the AFL on the weekend 2 ruckmen lock arms and a free was awarded for holding, when questioned by said player the umpire stated " you locked arms first" give me a break 2 blokes 196cm+ and 100kgs, what else are they supposed to do, open doors for each other? Umpiring has lost control as it DOES now effect the outcome of games!

And for the record Rexy was unlucky not to be drafted, talent ended up being his downfall! he just didn't have any! Good call Duff

I bet Tassie's version of Razor Ray, Ray Donaghue was in the stands giving them pointers as well:)

Saw some of the game on ABC and it appears to me that regardless of what level the game is played at and regardless of the conditions the rule book is pulled out for almost every contest. I actually saw in the AFL on the weekend 2 ruckmen lock arms and a free was awarded for holding, when questioned by said player the umpire stated " you locked arms first" give me a break 2 blokes 196cm+ and 100kgs, what else are they supposed to do, open doors for each other? Umpiring has lost control as it DOES now effect the outcome of games!

And for the record Rexy was unlucky not to be drafted, talent ended up being his downfall! he just didn't have any! Good call Duff

To be fair some of the rules themselves are silly. But still the umpires are taught to be officious to the point of ruining the game, arrogant to the point of arrogance:D & prance about the field to the audience to the point of embarrassing themselves.
The game use to be about watching the game & players, umpires were respected when not arrogant & not seen. Now we are told me have to respect them. NO, I respect the job they have to do but I will decide which ones I respect depending their conduct on the field. Respect is earned, you cant demand it.
To be honest I dont mind Ray Donoghue:eek: I know he has his moments;) but I think he tries to be firm & fair, not young & dumb like a lot of them. Umpires are part of the game, not THE game, so shouldnt be stuck on some kind of pedestal. they just end up with big pumkin heads & dont see how stupid they really look to the public.

Lauderdale game at NH should have been transferred ..... no skill involved in winning that one !!!

My top pick as best Tas potential - Sam O'Byrne (L'dale) - a regualr consistent performwer at Senior level. Has slipped under the radar. The only 16 year old to have palyed every Senior TSL game this year. Kicked 5 goals 2 pts by half time a few weeks ago against NH in a pressure game - one from 45m out on teh boundary on his left foot (right footed by the way). Used to play state basketball with great ball skills. Looks a bit like Nicky Dal (St kilda) - all the time in the world !!!

Dropped from teh early Mariners squad at beginning of the year - has proven that they made a mistake.

Lauderdale game at NH should have been transferred ..... no skill involved in winning that one !!!

My top pick as best Tas potential - Sam O'Byrne (L'dale) - a regualr consistent performwer at Senior level. Has slipped under the radar. The only 16 year old to have palyed every Senior TSL game this year. Kicked 5 goals 2 pts by half time a few weeks ago against NH in a pressure game - one from 45m out on teh boundary on his left foot (right footed by the way). Used to play state basketball with great ball skills. Looks a bit like Nicky Dal (St kilda) - all the time in the world !!!

Dropped from teh early Mariners squad at beginning of the year - has proven that they made a mistake.

Would be interested to know his height and weight, as he sounds a potential Mariner for 2012.

With all due respect I think it would be difficult to go past Jesse Lonnergan from Devonport F.C. Would think he would be a monty for the Tasmanian nomination for the AIS scholarship squad for 2012.

He is 16 years old and is in his 2nd season of senior football and played as an under age player with the Mariners this year. Was named best player for Tasmania when they were belted by WA.

With all due respect I think it would be difficult to go past Jesse Lonnergan from Devonport F.C. Would think he would be a monty for the Tasmanian nomination for the AIS scholarship squad for 2012.
Launceston FC for Lonergan, looks the goods.

Fair point about O'Byrne (6/6/94, 181cm, 79kg). Remember seeing him play very well against Clarence earlier in the year on a wing.

Could argue a few of the Lauderdale kids were stiff not to get a chance with the Mariners this year, but guys like O'Byrne, Sam Siggins and Bryce Walsh should get their chance in 2012. Ryan Wiggins too coming up from the Mariners U16s program. Good group of youngsters down there.

Fair point about O'Byrne (6/6/94, 181cm, 79kg). Remember seeing him play very well against Clarence earlier in the year on a wing.

Could argue a few of the Lauderdale kids were stiff not to get a chance with the Mariners this year, but guys like O'Byrne, Sam Siggins and Bryce Walsh should get their chance in 2012. Ryan Wiggins too coming up from the Mariners U16s program. Good group of youngsters down there.

A credit that Walsh, Siggins, Hibberd and Boscott were in the Mariners squad as under age players.

The exposure and training these boys have had in 2011 stands them in a great position for 2012, which is when it matters.

Probably difficult to question Armstrong's decisions when you consider how many boys were asked to the Draft/State try outs and they won the Division 2 championships.

Hibberd played well in Mariners games, Boscott played in a TAC game and as a over age player in the U/16's and the other boys were probably a bit stiff.

However Lauderdale will supply these boys and possibly Wiggins and O'Byrne to Mariners sqaud in 2012. Fantastic effort from 1 club.

Yep agree. Will wait and see about O'Byrne but I reckon he's second only to Ryan Wiggins.
Also .... spot on about Lauderdale's contribution to the state talent pool. For a "country club" new on the TSL block it puts a few others to shame .... did I mention Clarence !!

Yep agree. Will wait and see about O'Byrne but I reckon he's second only to Ryan Wiggins.
Also .... spot on about Lauderdale's contribution to the state talent pool. For a "country club" new on the TSL block it puts a few others to shame .... did I mention Clarence !!

Hope all the boys get in the Mariners squad for 2012 and all get drafted!

However if I had to nominate 1 player it would be Siggins. He is a good height and takes a good mark. Reckon if he puts in a big pre-season he is a chance to get drafted next year.

Its not a country club. It is an outer suburban club in a growth area. Its no more country than Kingston or Launceston out at Riverside.

Are you his mum? Good prospect, no doubt...but you have talked him up a treat and seem to know a lot about him.

Lauderdale will have 8-12 in the Mariners squad next year. Good bunch of kids. Little wisper in the big smoke about Kane Waller at the moment, stay tuned.....

Are you his mum? Good prospect, no doubt...but you have talked him up a treat and seem to know a lot about him.

Obviously these kids are front runners for the 2012 Mariners, however a pre-season is a long time.

We all know the parent/supporter who states this 15/16 year old is a champion and is a walk up start to get drafted. The reality is that at each major hurdle many fall.

Any kid that makes the U/18 Mariners is a very good footballer. The question is can they move up to the elite level.

Smaller players need to bring the complete package to the table as the competition is hot on a national level.

Bigger blokes get a bit of leniency with their short comings.

Probably why I think Sam Siggins, Josh Grant and Jackson Thurlow have a huge opportunity to go to the next level.

Callan Jeffery is another kid who shows enormous potential.

Thought I would stick to the Mariners as they probably have the best odds for this years draft.

1. McKenzie
2. Mihocek
3. Dobosz
4. Joseph
5. Schade
6. Brown
7. Webster
8. Owen
9. Riley

Didn't list Musicka at the time of my picks because he suspended by the Mariners due to attitude which included being caught for drink driving. It will be interesting if this imapcts on his chances of being drafted/rookied.

Interested on anyone elses thoughts on these 10 boys and if they will be drafted or rookied and their order.

A credit that Walsh, Siggins, Hibberd and Boscott were in the Mariners squad as under age players.

The exposure and training these boys have had in 2011 stands them in a great position for 2012, which is when it matters.

Probably difficult to question Armstrong's decisions when you consider how many boys were asked to the Draft/State try outs and they won the Division 2 championships.

Hibberd played well in Mariners games, Boscott played in a TAC game and as a over age player in the U/16's and the other boys were probably a bit stiff.

However Lauderdale will supply these boys and possibly Wiggins and O'Byrne to Mariners sqaud in 2012. Fantastic effort from 1 club.

Great to see Walsh get a BOG this weekend. A big fan of the kid. He is hard at the ball and it now seems he has taken his game to the next level.

The remainder of his season (however long that is) hopefully will be as productive as yesterday and give him a good base for the Mariners pre-season and the Carnival games in 2012.

If he can rack up numbers (including goals & gut running) as he did on the weekend he might be in the mix next year for the draft/rookie spots.

Great to see Walsh get a BOG this weekend. A big fan of the kid. He is hard at the ball and it now seems he has taken his game to the next level.

The remainder of his season (however long that is) hopefully will be as productive as yesterday and give him a good base for the Mariners pre-season and the Carnival games in 2012.

If he can rack up numbers (including goals & gut running) as he did on the weekend he might be in the mix next year for the draft/rookie spots.

Agree with you with Walsh, has shown a lot of ability at senior level this year and is a great prospect for the Mariners next season. Walsh and Hibbered are the only players that i believe will attract interest if their form continues next season. Siggins is another but has yet to show consistency and O'Byrne is too slow and nothing special to his game and thats the main reason he got cut from the mariners this season.

The 10 main players to watch out for in next years mariners side:
1. Jesse Lonergan (Launceston)
2. Jackson Thurlow (Launceston)
3. Bryce Walsh (Lauderdale)
4. Josh Grant (Glenorchy)
5. Calen Jeffrey (Hobart)
6. Jarrod Hibbered (Lauderdale)
7. Sam Siggins (Lauderdale)
8. Ryan Wiggins (Lauderdale)
9. Brendan Kendall (Devonport)
10. Zac Webster (Glenorchy)

Agree with you with Walsh, has shown a lot of ability at senior level this year and is a great prospect for the Mariners next season. Walsh and Hibbered are the only players that i believe will attract interest if their form continues next season. Siggins is another but has yet to show consistency and O'Byrne is too slow and nothing special to his game and thats the main reason he got cut from the mariners this season.

Reckon your list is spot on. Not sure how old Zac Webster is, but he may still be eligible for the u/16 Mariners. From good stock!!

Very, very good list :thumbsu:

I think Jesse Lonergan would be a good bet for Mariners captain in 2012, plus the Tasmanian to be nominated for the AFL AIS squad.

Jesse Lonergan was named in the 17yr old AIS/AFL intake Yesterday, and I will say he is in very good company, the 17 yr old group are outstanding.

Also, Eli Templeton (Burnie) was named in the 16yr old AIS / AFL intake.

Good work boys.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Jesse Lonergan was named in the 17yr old AIS/AFL intake Yesterday, and I will say he is in very good company, the 17 yr old group are outstanding.

Also, Eli Templeton (Burnie) was named in the 16yr old AIS / AFL intake.

Good work boys.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Fantastic effort Eli Templeton!

Don't know much about the kid other than what I have read recently about his father being a very good footballer. Would love some more information on this kid.

Well done to Jesse Lonergan. If he keeps his head in the right spot and has a bit of luck with injury, this boy will be the number 1 draft out of Tassie next year.:footy:

U/16 & U18 Mariners 2012!

Would be interested to get the low down on the invitees for pre-season for the Mariners program for the U/16 & U/18 for the 2012 season.

Makes it a bit easier to track who might be an upcoming chance to be drafted.

I know 2011 has not finished but I am sure people out "there" have an idea who can play and have heard whispers!!!!

Re: U/16 & U18 Mariners 2012!

Would be interested to get the low down on the invitees for pre-season for the Mariners program for the U/16 & U/18 for the 2012 season.

Makes it a bit easier to track who might be an upcoming chance to be drafted.

I know 2011 has not finished but I am sure people out "there" have an idea who can play and have heard whispers!!!!

Best starting point, go to this year's U18 list and look at the 17 year olds:

3 Bryce WALSH 4 May 94 177 77 Lauderdale
8 Jesse LONERGAN 14 Nov 94 180 83 Launceston
13 Brennon KENDALL 11 May 94 182 74 Devonport
15 Thor BOSCOTT 25 Dec 94 177 78 Lauderdale
19 Claude ALCORSO 14 Jul 94 178 72 Hobart
20 Calen JEFFERY 2 Dec 94 182 74 Hobart
26 Jarrod HIBBERD 4 Sep 94 187 89 Lauderdale
27 Jackson THURLOW 28 Mar 94 188 72 Launceston
33 Sam SIGGINS 20 Mar 94 192 81 Lauderdale
36 Josh GRANT 1 Mar 94 195 83 Glenorchy
40 Rohan BONES 30 Dec 94 200 90 Hobart

And then the U16 list:

1 Ben KILLALEA 27 Jan 95 173 62 Launceston
2 Brendan HAY 7 Jul 95 167 70 Clarence
3 Alex PAYNE 26 Jan 95 172 71 Launceston
4 Daniel WITHERS 30 Apr 95 180 60 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
5 Tim CLEAVER 14 Aug 95 175 73 Lauderdale
6 Zac WEBSTER 11 Aug 95 180 71 Glenorchy/Brighton JFC
7 Daniel BLAZELY 20 Feb 95 174 65 Clarence/Lindisfarne JFC
8 Bradley RAYNER 21 Jan 95 174 61 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
9 Thor BOSCOTT 25 Dec 94 178 78 Lauderdale
10 Jayke MURRAY 14 Aug 95 181 73 Clarence
11 Jake SMITH 25 Feb 95 181 75 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
12 Joshua YOUD 14 Feb 95 178 66 Launceston
13 Kody RIDDLE 4 Mar 95 182 68 South Launceston
14 Eli TEMPLETON 19 Aug 95 181 68 Burnie Dockers
15 Mackenzie WILLIS 7 Aug 95 181 77 Hobart
16 Ryan WIGGINS 13 Apr 95 188 82 Lauderdale
17 Kade KOLODJASHNIJ 9 Aug 95 185 68 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
18 Jake KOLODJASHNIJ 9 Aug 95 188 78 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
19 Jake MURPHY 23 Mar 95 189 88 Clarence/Lindisfarne JFC
20 Rohan SERGEANT 4 Oct 95 186 75 Launceston
21 Marcus LEE 7 Dec 94 187 75 South Launceston
22 Dylan VISSER 28 Mar 95 193 90 South Launceston
23 Aden JOHNSTON 31 Dec 94 193 72 Lauderdale
24 Alex LEE 28 Aug 95 195 82 Devonport
25 Rohan BONES 30 Dec 94 200 90 Hobart/Kingborough JFC
26 Perry MANNERING 31 May 95 170 62 Hobart/Kingborough JFC
27 Dylan GRANT 2 Sep 95 172 62 Glenorchy
28 Brodie DEVERALL 25 Mar 95 176 70 Devonport
29 Braden VAN BUUREN 27 Oct 95 182 70 Devonport
30 Hamish ROBERTSON 15 Mar 95 183 78 North Hobart

Re: U/16 & U18 Mariners 2012!

Best starting point, go to this year's U18 list and look at the 17 year olds:

3 Bryce WALSH 4 May 94 177 77 Lauderdale
8 Jesse LONERGAN 14 Nov 94 180 83 Launceston
13 Brennon KENDALL 11 May 94 182 74 Devonport
15 Thor BOSCOTT 25 Dec 94 177 78 Lauderdale
19 Claude ALCORSO 14 Jul 94 178 72 Hobart
20 Calen JEFFERY 2 Dec 94 182 74 Hobart
26 Jarrod HIBBERD 4 Sep 94 187 89 Lauderdale
27 Jackson THURLOW 28 Mar 94 188 72 Launceston
33 Sam SIGGINS 20 Mar 94 192 81 Lauderdale
36 Josh GRANT 1 Mar 94 195 83 Glenorchy
40 Rohan BONES 30 Dec 94 200 90 Hobart

And then the U16 list:

1 Ben KILLALEA 27 Jan 95 173 62 Launceston
2 Brendan HAY 7 Jul 95 167 70 Clarence
3 Alex PAYNE 26 Jan 95 172 71 Launceston
4 Daniel WITHERS 30 Apr 95 180 60 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
5 Tim CLEAVER 14 Aug 95 175 73 Lauderdale
6 Zac WEBSTER 11 Aug 95 180 71 Glenorchy/Brighton JFC
7 Daniel BLAZELY 20 Feb 95 174 65 Clarence/Lindisfarne JFC
8 Bradley RAYNER 21 Jan 95 174 61 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
9 Thor BOSCOTT 25 Dec 94 178 78 Lauderdale
10 Jayke MURRAY 14 Aug 95 181 73 Clarence
11 Jake SMITH 25 Feb 95 181 75 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
12 Joshua YOUD 14 Feb 95 178 66 Launceston
13 Kody RIDDLE 4 Mar 95 182 68 South Launceston
14 Eli TEMPLETON 19 Aug 95 181 68 Burnie Dockers
15 Mackenzie WILLIS 7 Aug 95 181 77 Hobart
16 Ryan WIGGINS 13 Apr 95 188 82 Lauderdale
17 Kade KOLODJASHNIJ 9 Aug 95 185 68 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
18 Jake KOLODJASHNIJ 9 Aug 95 188 78 Launceston/Prospect Hawks JFC
19 Jake MURPHY 23 Mar 95 189 88 Clarence/Lindisfarne JFC
20 Rohan SERGEANT 4 Oct 95 186 75 Launceston
21 Marcus LEE 7 Dec 94 187 75 South Launceston
22 Dylan VISSER 28 Mar 95 193 90 South Launceston
23 Aden JOHNSTON 31 Dec 94 193 72 Lauderdale
24 Alex LEE 28 Aug 95 195 82 Devonport
25 Rohan BONES 30 Dec 94 200 90 Hobart/Kingborough JFC
26 Perry MANNERING 31 May 95 170 62 Hobart/Kingborough JFC
27 Dylan GRANT 2 Sep 95 172 62 Glenorchy
28 Brodie DEVERALL 25 Mar 95 176 70 Devonport
29 Braden VAN BUUREN 27 Oct 95 182 70 Devonport
30 Hamish ROBERTSON 15 Mar 95 183 78 North Hobart

Thanks for posting, appreciate the effort.

Reckon the mix of 40 player squad will be about 28 senior kids and 12 underagers.

Will watch in anticipation!!

Top Prospects from Tasmania