Top Prospects from Tasmania

Re: Top Prospects from Tasmania for Draft/Rookie 2011

Where is Hall???

My gut feel is Hall will not be rookied this year. If he does play in the VFL (as stated) and play well then 2013 might be his year.

Hopefully I am 100% wrong and he gets drafted/rookied this year!

Always happy to see Tassie boys get picked up!:)

My gut feel is Hall will not be rookied this year. If he does play in the VFL (as stated) and play well then 2013 might be his year.

Hopefully I am 100% wrong and he gets drafted/rookied this year!

Always happy to see Tassie boys get picked up!:)

gotassieboys may be on to something here guys, draftable players will be rare with GWS and GC getting the lion's share of the talent so maybe some clubs may take a punt on many of these guys however based on this list Hall would have to go as he is apart from Schade the most likely to play next season if drafted

Phelen's fantasy draft has five Tasmanians going, starting from pick 42 (Schade).

His order is:

1. Schade (Saints Pick 42)
2. Webster (Bulldogs 49)
3. Dobosz (Collingwood 50)
4. Mihocek (Collingwood 65)
5. Brown (GWS 87)

That would be a great return. A pity that it looks as though we won't have a first rounder this year, but that is probably to be expected for the most part when our talent has to showcase itself mostly in the TSL. It would be an injustice if MacKenzie isn't recruited, at the very least in the rookie draft.

Anyone got info on Henry Schade? I've seen champs footage, read phantom draft write-ups and that seems pretty favourable to his chances. I haven't really read or seen anything bad about him, seems pretty quick for his size, decent grab, clean foot skills, good pressure. Plus he conceded just 2 goals at the champs. I like him at Brisbane's pick 30 if he wants to move up here (we have a few Tassie boys already that should help him settle). So does he have any glaring weaknesses?

Phelen's fantasy draft has five Tasmanians going, starting from pick 42 (Schade).

His order is:

2. Webster (Bulldogs 49)
5. Brown (GWS 87)

That would be a great return. A pity that it looks as though we won't have a first rounder this year, but that is probably to be expected for the most part when our talent has to showcase itself mostly in the TSL. It would be an injustice if MacKenzie isn't recruited, at the very least in the rookie draft.
S. Darley would have been a first round pick. I don't think it matters what comp you play in to go first round but you do need a fair bit of talent. An injustice to mackenzie? No offence but he probably would not have been picked in any of the div 1 teams A or B sides

mackenzie's height is the only issue... he is just ''another'' midfield magnet. he has all the attributes but will miss senior draft because he doesnt really have any outstanding qualities some of the interstate rovers do

His order is:

2. Webster (Bulldogs 49)
5. Brown (GWS 87)

I highly doubt Dobosz will slip down to 50, he has freakish abilities that other forwards don't and a big pre-season under his belt he will be worth the gamble. Will be surprised if he doesn't go first round.
Good to see Schade being regarded that high, could surprise a few and be the first tassie boy selected tonight!

Anyone got info on Henry Schade? I've seen champs footage, read phantom draft write-ups and that seems pretty favourable to his chances. I haven't really read or seen anything bad about him, seems pretty quick for his size, decent grab, clean foot skills, good pressure. Plus he conceded just 2 goals at the champs. I like him at Brisbane's pick 30 if he wants to move up here (we have a few Tassie boys already that should help him settle). So does he have any glaring weaknesses?

I agree with the consensus of 4-5 boys being picked out of Tassie in tonights draft (I hope all 10 draft/state screening boys go!), with a couple to get rookied.

Obviously the recruiters are the only ones that have a handle on who sits where in the draft order. Mock drafts are fantastic (lots of handwork put in), however they are slightly orientated in favour of the Victorian boys which I fully understand, as that is where the majority of the boys originate from and are easily sighted over the season.

Now from a Tassie bias yet again. Schade conceded 5 goals in the carnival, which included WA & VIC Country.

My only negative if you could call it that, is as a 18 year old he needs to add around 7-10 kilograms on his frame. Which at 196cm, would be what AFL clubs would expect from a 18 year old.

Probably needs to be a little more selfish and back himself to go for contested marks. However my mail is that he feels that at fullback there is no room for error and team rules are to kill the ball when in dispute. Have seen him take some beautiful marks and under the full time training of the AFL system can only improve.

I genuinely believe this kid has all the tools to make it at the top level. If he stays injury free, he is the sort of player a AFL senior team could build their defence around.

Although a booming left foot, he genuinely can go on the right side by foot (and hand) without the slightest hint of which side is his preferred option. Gets him out of a lot of tight spots.

Excellent closing speed, long limbs and has the ability to jump high (heard in the top 10% for 5 metre preferred leg jump) and get a fist on the ball.

Also appears to play team structures well and actually this season gone, consistently ran lines and hit targets inside the 50 metre range.

Also has a bit of pig in him which does not go astray in a game of footy!

My belief is that is he is the 2nd best tall tall defender in draft behind Tomlison.

I have no doubt he will be the first Tassie boy to be picked up (irrelevant anyway) due to his upside.

I highly doubt he would be AFL ready for at least 12 months, but who really knows.

If I was being conservative I would say 25-45 would be the range he will go, with a side bet of 20-35, and a longer chance at 15-25.

He doesn't have any injury issues and he is a beautifully balanced 196cm footballer. I cannot think of 1 logical reason why this kid will not be picked.

I shall be an expert after tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

Would be perfect in a succession plan for Merrett (likes to spoil). Talk he could be headed to Gold Coast at pick 24. Excellent write up by the way, if his only real downside is his weight, I'm sold on him. The five players mentioned earlier should all be selected.

I agree with the consensus of 4-5 boys being picked out of Tassie in tonights draft (I hope all 10 draft/state screening boys go!), with a couple to get rookied.

Obviously the recruiters are the only ones that have a handle on who sits where in the draft order. Mock drafts are fantastic (lots of handwork put in), however they are slightly orientated in favour of the Victorian boys which I fully understand, as that is where the majority of the boys originate from and are easily sighted over the season.

Now from a Tassie bias yet again. Schade conceded 5 goals in the carnival, which included WA & VIC Country.

My only negative if you could call it that, is as a 18 year old he needs to add around 7-10 kilograms on his frame. Which at 196cm, would be what AFL clubs would expect from a 18 year old.

Probably needs to be a little more selfish and back himself to go for contested marks. However my mail is that he feels that at fullback there is no room for error and team rules are to kill the ball when in dispute. Have seen him take some beautiful marks and under the full time training of the AFL system can only improve.

I genuinely believe this kid has all the tools to make it at the top level. If he stays injury free, he is the sort of player a AFL senior team could build their defence around.

Although a booming left foot, he genuinely can go on the right side by foot (and hand) without the slightest hint of which side is his preferred option. Gets him out of a lot of tight spots.

Excellent closing speed, long limbs and has the ability to jump high (heard in the top 10% for 5 metre preferred leg jump) and get a fist on the ball.

Also appears to play team structures well and actually this season gone, consistently ran lines and hit targets inside the 50 metre range.

Also has a bit of pig in him which does not go astray in a game of footy!

My belief is that is he is the 2nd best tall tall defender in draft behind Tomlison.

I have no doubt he will be the first Tassie boy to be picked up (irrelevant anyway) due to his upside.

I highly doubt he would be AFL ready for at least 12 months, but who really knows.

If I was being conservative I would say 25-45 would be the range he will go, with a side bet of 20-35, and a longer chance at 15-25.

He doesn't have any injury issues and he is a beautifully balanced 196cm footballer. I cannot think of 1 logical reason why this kid will not be picked.

I shall be an expert after tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:
Excellent summary.

Probably a bit disappointing to only have two players picked, but no doubt 3 or 4 should get a chance through the rookie draft.

Excellent summary.

Probably a bit disappointing to only have two players picked, but no doubt 3 or 4 should get a chance through the rookie draft.

Was a bit. Dobosz was robbed. I am sure he will get a rookie draft. Delighted to see Schade go as a first rounder.

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/11/25/279461_afl.html

I find it very interesting in the above article that Nick Probert says that NO players were taken from NSW, NT and QLD. That comment is not correct.

He was happy to refer to Darley as taken from Tassie, but he wasn't happy to include the boys (and plenty of them too )from other states who have already been pre selected or zoned to GWS or GC, or passed on to other clubs, ie Peter. Yagmoor (QLD) to Collingwood .

You can't have your cake and eat it too Nick!! Stop trying to make excuses.:( Many of the Tassie boys performed poorly at Draft testing, were underdone in regards to speed/fitness etc. :thumbsdown:

In saying that a massive well done to Henry and Jimmy. Both these boys tested well and had the attributes to play AFL.:):thumbsu:

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/11/25/279461_afl.html

You can't have your cake and eat it too Nick!! Stop trying to make excuses.:( Many of the Tassie boys performed poorly at Draft testing, were underdone in regards to speed/fitness etc. :thumbsdown:

Three, including Darley (four if you include Mohr), is a decent effort, and I would imagine we will get some go through next month as well. When you consider Tassie only constitues ~2.5% of the total population of Australia, and our leagues down here aren't up to the standard they are elsewhere, three is pretty good.

I am disappointed that both our Under-18's all-Australians were not selected and I was certain Dobosz would go. Good luck to the boys next month though.

Time to hand my football prediction badge back in!

Really disappointed that only 2 boys were drafted from Tassie.

Congratulations to Schade and Webster on being drafted.

Very sad to see Dobosz & Mihocek miss out. They must be gutted after all the hype.

Hopefully 2-4 boys get a crack at rookie time.

McKenzie, Dobosz, Brown and Musicka would be my picks for rookie spots.

However with a 50% strike rate, I am not that confident!

Many of the Tassie boys performed poorly at Draft testing, were underdone in regards to speed/fitness etc. :thumbsdown:
I think that's a valid comment. The way AFL is these days, if you lack leg speed you are going to struggle. When Mihocek ran a 3.44 at draft combine, he may as well have torn up his nomination form on the spot.

I think the Mariners do a really good job with the kids, but let's be honest some TSL clubs are miles behind when it comes to their role in developing the young talent. Dobosz did exceptionally early in the year and at Mariners level, but looked lost trying to fit into the North Hobart structure, particularly once their new coach took over.

Rookie Draft????

Anyone game to nominate any Tassie boys who may go in the Rookie.

My confidence is shattered after my dismal attempt at the draft picks!!!!

1. Aaron Hall
2. Ben Brown
3. John McKenzie (a huge rap for this guy-please give him a go!!!)
4. Michael Musicka

HALL GOING TO Gold Coast

My mail is the Suns have told him they are going to draft him as a Rookie.

So if anyone else is out there that wants to play AFL all you have to do is send your video clips in to me and I will whack together a video for YouTube and you are away. Two in 2 years Howie and now Hall.

I have footage of Kingpin doing end to end at the TCA a few years back. I reckon he'd be a chance. Any others out there? Oh Yes, Jaimes Wiggins has the best stab pass going round.

Lol.

Re: HALL GOING TO Gold Coast

So if anyone else is out there that wants to play AFL all you have to do is send your video clips in to me and I will whack together a video for YouTube and you are away. Two in 2 years Howie and now Hall.
Nice work Duff!

Jaye Bowden might need your help, I still think he's the best prospect in Tassie not to be given a chance.

Pretty sure that the only three players that made the under 18 all australian and weren't picked up this year were from either Tas or the NT. Not sure what to think of this, did they only make the all-australian because they are the token 2nd division team players? Or were they genuinely in the best 22 in the carnival? Is it simply more risky to recruit lesser known players from obscure states?

Maybe it's time for knob shiners in afl Tas to put more money into state league clubs and cut back on the mariners! 2 drafted for all the time and money they piss into it!

Yes but the Mariner program provides jobs for quite a number of 'experts'.
The only time the elite junior program did any good was when the Mariners originally started, that is they benefited from the the end of the old state wide league. That old league went bankrupt but was a good standard for the best kids to play & learn from.
I agree that they should get this league up to scratch. Double the salary cap & cut it down to 8 clubs. :eek::eek::eek::eek:
Merry Xmas :D

Top Prospects from Tasmania