Recruiting Trade & Free Agency VIII

What should we do with our first round picks?

• Take 6 & 7 to the draft

Votes: 20 25.3%
  • Trade up the order so we can get Logan McDonald

Votes: 21 26.6%
  • Split 7 to get the other trades done

Votes: 27 34.2%
  • Something else...

Votes: 11 13.9%

ATTENTION OPPOSITION POSTERS: You are on the Essendon board - not the draft board, or the main board or your club board. You are welcome to post here but you will mind your manners or you will be carded. Don't waltz in here telling the locals what's happening/not happening, what's dumb etc. By the same token sealioning will also not be tolerated so be warned. You do not have equal standing here no matter how right you think you are.

Draft Combine
Tuesday October 1 - Friday October 4

AFL Grand Final
Saturday October 24

Free Agency Window
Friday October 30 – Friday November 6

AFL Trade Period (Players and picks)
Wednesday November 4 – 7.30pm Thursday November 12

List Lodgement 1
Wednesday November 25

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
Thursday November 26 - Sunday November 29

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
Monday November 30

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
Monday November 30 - Tuesday December 1

AFL Trade Period (Picks only)
Concludes Thursday December 3

National Draft
7pm Wednesday December 9

Preseason and Rookie Drafts
12pm Thursday December 10

Final List Lodgement
Mid-December (tbc)

Pre-Season Supplemental Selection Period (SSP)
Wednesday January 6, 2021 – will conclude prior to the start of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season
Any issues with it post in this thread:

Draft discussion goes here: Draft Watch

Father/Son & NGA discussion goes here: James Hird Academy (Father/Son and Next Generation)

Poll results: Who should stay? | Which key forward do you want? | What would you give up to get Josh Dunkley?

Our midfield unit as a whole needs improvement in terms of:
- size
- contested ball
- disposal by foot
- speed
- running power

That doesn't read well does it...
Does Caldwell improve any of these? Legit question, I know nothing of him

He’d improve those things when players such as Dylan Clarke, snelling, Guelfi find it harder to cement best 22 spots.

Tigers are full of smaller midfielders. Martin is the only 1 who plays big.

We still need a big A grade extractor.

I agree that there’s serious question marks on Brodie.

but he does do a few things elite for a sub 22 year old. That’s cp, clearances and tackle.

Statistically I reviewed him last year vs other players (due to fantasty footy) he is great statistically. But as you say he hunts and seems to lack transition play which is what we need.

if he is a 3rd rounder. I would say yes. If not well no worries

he is 6ft

I don't reckon Fyfe, Bont, Dusty or Cripps transitional too well defensively. Their role isn't to do that. Others cover for them.

Whether guys like Shiel, Zac can suck that up enough to do it, is the question

I'm not saying to give Brodie a way out straight away but for me the biggest worry for our midfield is winning the CP, clearance stats combo in a final. Our midfield at the moment has bees knees of doing that and they've shown they can get away with it to a certain extent until finals and were great at making up the numbers after being 8 goals down at half time when the Oppo are already thinking about the next week

Also to hold some of those bigger guys in tackles.

I'd hate to think if we played in the wet in a final what would happen at the moment.

He’d improve those things when players such as Dylan Clarke, snelling, Guelfi find it harder to cement best 22 spots.

Tigers are full of smaller midfielders. Martin is the only 1 who plays big.

We still need a big A grade extractor.

Yep I feel of we had two big key fwds Lynch/J.Riewoldt or Daniher/Stewart then a fit Stringer could be utilised in the same role. Take CBAs and move fwd.

Have a Darcy Parish or Shiel coming off the forward flank

Yep I feel of we had two big key fwds Lynch/J.Riewoldt or Daniher/Stewart then a fit Stringer could be utilised in the same role. Take CBAs and move fwd.

Have a Darcy Parish or Shiel coming off the forward flank
Where are the stat links coming from? They're a good addition.

Do EFC go hard for Cameron and Crouch??
If we think we've got a window open with hooker, hurley and heppell in the short term, id put the dollars on the table.

Crouch plus caldwell would be great midfield additions.
Jez covers the loss of daniher

And we use picks to keep building young depth.

My ( probably) unpopular hit list in random : Brodie, Jong, 2MP, Narkle, Caldwell, J.Clark.

And no, I'm not saying we go and try to get all of them.

Backups: Phillips, MacDonald.

Crouch : Definitely in if we get that earlier mentioned deal that has us also getting #2. Otherwise, it depends on what we can give Adelaide.

Talia: Like it or not I think Rutten also brings him.

Brown: Interesting player but I'm not sure we suit each other actually.

Oliver : My wet dream, but I don't see him moving this year.

All I will say with the draft is Callow, Brand and Eyre with the later picks. Too many scenarios out there for what we might have earlier.

My ( probably) unpopular hit list in random : Brodie, Jong, 2MP, Narkle, Caldwell, J.Clark.

And no, I'm not saying we go and try to get all of them.

Backups: Phillips, MacDonald.

Crouch : Definitely in if we get that earlier mentioned deal that has us also getting #2. Otherwise, it depends on what we can give Adelaide.

Talia: Like it or not I think Rutten also brings him.

Brown: Interesting player but I'm not sure we suit each other actually.

Oliver : My wet dream, but I don't see him moving this year.

All I will say with the draft is Callow, Brand and Eyre with the later picks. Too many scenarios out there for what we might have earlier.
Really like what i see and read in callow.

I could actually see next year as Heppell last even though he is contracted to End of 22.
i hope I am wrong but I think his body is shot to play on ball and pace at half back will be exposed.
could he play 5th mid/ high half forward role?
hasnt got speed for defensive pressure but is smart and ok in the air and can direct troops from this position.

The thing that saves him is that sides can carry players like cooked Birchell and Lewis deep into finals campaigns. I see no reason Heppell couldn't play to that level (including Hodge who was being burned while at Brisbane). I've not been a fan of Heppell from the year he became AA which was probably the moment of my footy red pilling but I doubt he's not on the list come 2023.

Old man's game. Mature sides making the grandfinal. They've matured together.

Geelong got the clean clearances. Dangerfield, Selwood, Guthrie, Duncan, Parfitt, Simpson, Blicavs/Stanley all have that speed away from congestion but also big strong bodies.

I feel like our 2020 list was 2-3 years away from the same age profiles as Port, Geelong Richmond ect

Can Hooker/Hurley do what Henderson/Harry T have done

Also side note: most were very happy to take Mcluggage/Taranto over McGrath 12 months ago and I was one but right now after this year I'm fairly content with McGrath. Taranto was who I wanted I think his big body suited our midfield mix. Mcluggage seemed to shirk plenty of contest tonight and get beaten in the one on ones when the ball was in dispute

Playing off for a premiership is irrelevant at this point.

Regularly playing in and winning finals is a quantum leap from where we are and have been.

It would be nice to get to the level of Brisbane or Port, unsophisticated strong at the coal face and able to exert and withstand high pressure. Start tinkering with the plan and plugging holes with experienced players when we can get the basics right. That's where the flags come from.

Playing off for a premiership is irrelevant at this point.

Regularly playing in and winning finals is a quantum leap from where we are and have been.

Well we played finals last year and we're bullied

The aim has to be to build a brand and side that can play in and win finals. We don't have that. Finals are majority played at night you need to be able to win CP, Clearances and hold tackles.

I understand it seems a long way off right now and I agree it is. I don't see it happening in 2021 but 2022 why not if we get things right, we can play finals.

Is Shiel, Zac M, Heppell, McGrath, Parish capable of matching the best in 2 years time when theyre all a little older, hardened? Or do we need to add something

Well we played finals last year and we're bullied

The aim has to be to build a brand and side that can play in and win finals. We don't have that. Finals are majority played at night you need to be able to win CP, Clearances and hold tackles.

I understand it seems a long way off right now and I agree it is. I don't see it happening in 2021 but 2022 why not if we get things right, we can play finals.

Is Shiel, Zac M, Heppell, McGrath, Parish capable of matching the best in 2 years time when theyre all a little older, hardened? Or do we need to add something

2-4 mids required.

If Heppell and Merrett are playing inside in 2 years time we're still bottom 4.

2-4 mids required.

Agree

If Zac Merrett wasn't holding the club to ransom I'd be telling him we want you to play across half back and distribute. Be our go to guy. He can run and setup play majority of his ball is won across half back anyway. He has some speed and can change angles. I also think a left footer is important down there to go the other direction. Makes teams defend a larger part of the field.

Heppells ideal position going forward is a wing. He's tall and you know he will run all day up and back and drift behind the play

Move Redman up to a wing. That's where I want to see him play. Make others play on the best medium/small forwards. Redman to often the go to guy and didn't have the pace or the agility and his best assets are as an attacking/rebounder.

Our midfield unit as a whole needs improvement in terms of:
- size
- contested ball
- disposal by foot
- speed
- running power

That doesn't read well does it...
Does Caldwell improve any of these? Legit question, I know nothing of him

other than size he improves them all. he’s not small but not the massive bodied bull.

Agree

If Zac Merrett wasn't holding the club to ransom I'd be telling him we want you to play across half back and distribute. Be our go to guy. He can run and setup play majority of his ball is won across half back anyway. He has some speed and can change angles. I also think a left footer is important down there to go the other direction. Makes teams defend a larger part of the field.

Heppells ideal position going forward is a wing. He's tall and you know he will run all day up and back and drift behind the play

Move Redman up to a wing. That's where I want to see him play. Make others play on the best medium/small forwards. Redman to often the go to guy and didn't have the pace or the agility and his best assets are as an attacking/rebounder.
Don’t mind Heppell on a wing, would like him to work out a bit more penetration on his kicking though. Him on one and Longfark on the other gives us length (if not size), overhead marking ability and work rate (if not pace).

2-4 mids required.

3 min for me. 4th would be nice
My dream scenario is we get caldwell and either o'halloran or crouch from existing afl lists
Add at the very least o'driscoll or poulter but would also like bruhn/perkins as a bit of an xfactor option

Build the future of the engine room.
Let them start developing together
Then sort the bookends out

Top 4 this year showed what a quality and experienced deep misfield unit can achieve.

Yeah, he is. The average height of midfielders in week 1 of finals this year was 185.6 cm.

Surely not -185.6 cm. I trust you’ve done your research but that had to be selective data.

Mvp two best players were neil and boak - both 183cm and below. Widen that to top twenty mids and the average is probably 183.

yes there are big units like cripps macrae bont. But there are more tom Mitchell’s, Kelly’s Etc which balances it out.

He is fine for size.

Don’t get me wrong we still need taller mids but that’s doesn’t excluding getting him.

My delisional offseason request would be

Out daniher - Pick 19ish rade bris
Saad - pick 13ish via calton (they trade with the dogs)
Fantasia - pick 36ish Via port Or Adelaide

in

b.crouch via free agency
Ben brown for future second
Saad pick 13 for Caldwell & ohallan
Will Brodie or Constable for a 3rd rounder + absorb contract of Brodie’s for discount

Go to The draft with Our first and 30ish aim to get a key back

basically stacks our midfield. Gives us a elite target for 4 years And time for us to develop another key fwd.

Upgrades our picks to look for our other gaps.

edit: I may have blown our 2m cap space :D

My delisional offseason request would be

Out daniher - Pick 19ish rade bris
Saad - pick 13ish via calton (they trade with the dogs)
Fantasia - pick 36ish Via port Or Adelaide

in

b.crouch via free agency
Ben brown for future second
Saad pick 13 for Caldwell & ohallan
Will Brodie or Constable for a 3rd rounder + absorb contract of Brodie’s for discount

Go to The draft with Our first and 30ish aim to get a key back

basically stacks our midfield. Gives us a elite target for 4 years And time for us to develop another key fwd.

Upgrades our picks to look for our other gaps.

edit: I may have blown our 2m cap space :D
Our 1st could bring DBG, Reid or Chapman in as key back

Also, Brissy now hold 16 and 17 now.

Surely not -185.6 cm. I trust you’ve done your research but that had to be selective data.

Mvp two best players were neil and boak - both 183cm and below. Widen that to top twenty mids and the average is probably 183.

yes there are big units like cripps macrae bont. But there are more tom Mitchell’s, Kelly’s Etc which balances it out.

He is fine for size.

Don’t get me wrong we still need taller mids but that’s doesn’t excluding getting him.
Nope, I made a point of looking at that specifically when teams were named week one. I even included players that somewhat evenly split their time between forward and midfield like Kane Lambert to make sure it was relatively clean.

I'm not saying small midfielders can't be good. At this point in time it's absolutely a reason to exclude him.

Nope, I made a point of looking at that specifically when teams were named week one. I even included players that somewhat evenly split their time between forward and midfield like Kane Lambert to make sure it was relatively clean.

I'm not saying small midfielders can't be good. At this point in time it's absolutely a reason to exclude him.

heighist :p

I see where your coming from but obviously disagree. If you only target 190+ mids then it’s a very small list of good ones that are gettable.

Are you pro Brodie or constable?