AFL RDT Trades and injuries discussion 2023

I'm not trading at all this week. Will make 1 next week when Mills will come in for Ward most likely. Now that Kelly is back, Ward's midfield minutes have dried up.

So my strategy of selecting older injury-prone players has been a complete failure…who could have foreseen that? 🤣 Yeo last week, Fyfe this week.

I’m looking at Fyfe to Cuningham for trade 1 because I need mid bench cover. A second trade will depend on Dunks. If he doesn’t play I’ll consider ditching him for a premo mid I think will outscore him through the rest of the season (I have a 7th forward in the mids). Full YOLO! If Dunks plays I’ll probably hold, but I’m so tempted to turn Rowell into Bont.

Last upgrade. S Mitchell to Mills or Cripps?

Or wait for something better? One thing I can see with Mills is he isn't tackling as much as last year. So that maybe limits his scoring. I'm not sure.

1688347876336.png

Held rank at 21st, which I'll take given the Darcy Cam score and giving up points to everyone on the captain. Team pre-trades above, 4 trades/348k to work with.

Day to Doch costs 130k,
Wardlaw to Mills costs 123k

So I could do both of those and be left with 96k in the bank (or 146k if I fire Johnson instead of Wardlaw), but 2 trades. Depends how risky I'm feeling - feel like I've got an edge over most competitive teams with the 4 trades left / cash banked while being full premo, and I'd be giving that up by doing both.

But, having Mills as 23rd man would effectively mean I can cover one injury/suspension after/when I run out of trades (and then Worrell/Johnson/Cuningham after that feels like strong cover anyway?)

Is being down at 2 trades/96k (vs 3 trades/220k) worth the benefit of grabbing the best possible 23rd man at such a cheap price? Also does mean Cameron could technically be the 23rd man and Mills the bloke who gets fielded, but without a forward 0 I couldn't actually loop him on, so seems pointless.

It does mean I wouldn't really be able to justify grabbing Sicily on return or Oliver on return, at least not until the last few weeks if I could even afford them. Clarry doesn't worry me too much but Sic does.

And then I guess the other question is - which of Day/Sheezel is more likely to be worth keeping to see out the season. Unless I forgo mills and both become Doch/Sic in time, I probably need to keep one.

View attachment 1727996

Held rank at 21st, which I'll take given the Darcy Cam score and giving up points to everyone on the captain. Team pre-trades above, 4 trades/348k to work with.

Day to Doch costs 130k,

So I could do both of those and be left with 96k in the bank (or 146k if I fire Johnson instead of Wardlaw), but 2 trades. Depends how risky I'm feeling - feel like I've got an edge over most competitive teams with the 4 trades left / cash banked while being full premo, and I'd be giving that up by doing both.

But, having Mills as 23rd man would effectively mean I can cover one injury/suspension after/when I run out of trades (and then Worrell/Johnson/Cuningham after that feels like strong cover anyway?)

Is being down at 2 trades/96k (vs 3 trades/220k) worth the benefit of grabbing the best possible 23rd man at such a cheap price? Also does mean Cameron could technically be the 23rd man and Mills the bloke who gets fielded, but without a forward 0 I couldn't actually loop him on, so seems pointless.

It does mean I wouldn't really be able to justify grabbing Sicily on return or Oliver on return, at least not until the last few weeks if I could even afford them. Clarry doesn't worry me too much but Sic does.

And then I guess the other question is - which of Day/Sheezel is more likely to be worth keeping to see out the season. Unless I forgo mills and both become Doch/Sic in time, I probably need to keep one.
Warner being out for likely multiple weeks now makes me consider Mills more now. Similar position to you with 4 trades but 150k less bank. Hobbs to Mills makes me another 120k though

I'd do those 2 trades. Doch is a big upgrade and 2 trades is enough with the cover you have. You could probably still get Sicily later with your last 2 trades with Worrell/Johnson down/up. Sheezel D7, Mills M9, Cunningham F7 is very strong

View attachment 1727996

Day to Doch costs 130k,

our teams are so similar.

I have the other North defender and then Green, Steele, Crouch vs Bont, Butters, Ando.

My current situation, have 12 trades (10 once these 2 are done). I play for my money league win rather than rank fyi.

Could just as easily trade Cincotta/Ginbey instead of Angwin. Next week plan would be to get maybe Docherty in?

1688406894271.png

My current situation, have 12 trades (10 once these 2 are done). I play for my money league win rather than rank fyi.

Could just as easily trade Cincotta/Ginbey instead of Angwin. Next week plan would be to get maybe Docherty in?

View attachment 1728583
Hey mate, looks good to me. In your position I’d probably hold Cincotta if he plays because it’s another warm body on the bench, even if he loses a bit of cash.

Doch is a great option. 👌

Edit: I meant to ask…Fogarty vs Cuningham, any reason you’ve gone for Fog? I’ll be getting one of them this week but figured Cunny has better JS, although more injury prone.

Hey mate, looks good to me. In your position I’d probably hold Cincotta if he plays because it’s another warm body on the bench, even if he loses a bit of cash.

Doch is a great option. 👌

Edit: I meant to ask…Fogarty vs Cuningham, any reason you’ve gone for Fog? I’ll be getting one of them this week but figured Cunny has better JS, although more injury prone.

Wouldn't mind Cincotta going back to those 70s.

And I’m hoping fog keeps the tackles up and had the lower BE. Wasn’t confident on eithers JS. Looks like hes debuting for me with Dunks out.

View attachment 1727996

Day to Doch costs 130k,

Was initially leaning towards Day to Doch only, and then next week going Sicily in for an underperformer (Darcy Cam, Cogs, Sheezel, Stewart). But the Dunkley news kind of forces my hand, especially with Dunkley playing first game Sat, Constable Saturday night, and Ford, Cuningham, Wardlaw, Johnson all Sunday - so don't have a loop option to cover his score.

Think it probably means I do go for the 23rd man option now - go Wardlaw to Mills only and use a Mills/Johnson loop to cover Dunkley this week. Figure the value in the 23rd man is now much higher given they're already doing a job in covering Dunkley. Would leave me with 3 trades, 225k left next week. But means I'm not going to be able to get both Doch and Sicily from Sheezel/Day unless I burn a third (and last) trade on a downgrade, especially with Sicily's first up breakeven being very low. A worthwhile sacrifice, do you guys reckon? Guess the positive is it gives me another week to look at Doch in the wing role (although at Optus I imagine he scores very well) and decide which of Day/Sheezel (or even Darcy Cam/Neale/Cogs) aren't in the best 22 to move on for one of Sicily/Doch

It’s sounding like Clarry might miss again. What a cluster* of mismanagement and/or misinformation that’s been.
Must have hired our fitness bloke. Tomy Lynch is 7-12 weeks 12 weeks after being 7-12 weeks. Clarry is 1 week hammy that feels like has been 6 months.

My Eliminator oppo has Clarry and Dunks, but with good bench cover in Sheldrick and Johnno. Unfortunately I don’t have either of those bench players. I’ll probably take a punt on trading Dunks to Bont, backing Bont in to outscore Dunks from here. Fyfe to Fog/Cunny as my other trade will leave me with $270k.

Rowell tends to post a decent score every 4 or 5 games, so he’s due. 😬

I've just traded Dunkley & Matt Kennedy to Docherty & Mills.

Don't want to trade Dunkley, but it's great to see the back of Kennedy. Mind you, could trade Simpkin rather than Kennedy, but at least I know Simpkin has a secure role in the midfield......even if he can't touch the footy.

Only 4 trades left though. Risky business.

Clarry out for another 3-4 weeks. At least owners now have clarryty. Oof. Sorry. 😬
Go Away GIF

no trades this week

next week was supposed to be Hobbs > Mills but I seriously have doubts about Mills being a worthwhile M8 even. Before the byes I had this trade locked if I had to spend ~50k. Now looks like I will make 100k from this trade and still not sure it's worth it...
I caved and got Mills...the cash grab from Hobbs was too hard to resist ffs. Mills is a spud, another sub ton coming up

1688901017048.png

Only rose one spot to 20th, thought I'd go up more given not having Green & covering Dunkley with Mills.

But I guess with Bont Captain I gave up a few points, and then Sheezel/Darcy Cam are semi unique.

Pictured above is the team post trades. Sheezel out for Sicily. 15k & 2 trades leftover. Means I'll have to one down, one up if I want to move Day or Darcy Cam on, but fingers crossed any other injury I can sideways without needing to burn 2 trades.

AFL RDT Trades and injuries discussion 2023