Training Training Thread 2023

Zurhaar, McKay, Larkey, LDU, Simpkin did what you’d expect them to do against VFL opponents.

It’s the others your focusing on to step up with them.
True but it's still probably worth mentioning, especially as Zurhaar traditionally takes about a month to realise that the season has started. Can only be a good sign that he's playing sharply atm

Possibly its irrelevant, but... things don't seem to be escalating in a criminal sense, even though the allegations are growing in number and forming consistency?
The AFL, the club and VicPol knew about all the cases in the original Hun report and still the only criminal charge that's been laid was about the revenge pr0n incident.
It was only when one additional woman came forward with claims that were broadly consistent with the *******tery being alleged in the original report that he was stood down while its being investigated.

Yeah, I was more just bemoaning the general “hopelessness” around the whole debacle. The truth is none of us really know how things will pan out. As a supporter base, we’re hopelessly conflicted as well. We keep bouncing between crucifying Tarryn and making excuses for him. It’s just all very sad, isn’t it - for everybody involved?

Lack of a quality ground level, crumbing forward is a big concern going into the year.

I know PC has the ability to do so, so too Zurhaar, but both like to play taller, and I suspect the Cheez likewise. With Larkey and CHOM down there too, territory retention up forward will again be a struggle when it hits the ground I reckon.

Not saying he’s a lock for the long term as he needs to perform. He’s a moral for round 1.
I'd call him a strategic lock. If fit and vaguely in form they will want him in the team because he fits the long term goals of the forward line and team. He's about as locked in as a fringe player can be.

Lack of a quality ground level, crumbing forward is a big concern going into the year.

I know PC has the ability to do so, so too Zurhaar, but both like to play taller, and I suspect the Cheez likewise. With Larkey and CHOM down there too, territory retention up forward will again be a struggle when it hits the ground I reckon.
I think that "big concern" is overstating it. Maybe if we had top 4 expectations.

Sheezel reads the play as good as any first year player and knows how to crumb. Between Sheezel, Zurhaar and Curtis we will do well enough.

Next year we will draft Watson, who might be the best forward pocket prospect that we have seen in a long, long time.

I think we should not confuse how Scott/Shaw/Nobel coached/developed with how Clarkson has/will because we really haven't played with a front & square structure in a long, long time.

I think we have a number of players capable of roving, but you need to be well drilled in plays as to where and how the ball comes in, who competes to bring the ball to ground, etc. It is hard to rove to slow ball movement up the boundary where the ball gets bombed into a pocket to a congested contest. Where is the player setting up for that, row 10 in the stands?

We've had issues getting half forwards who do not mark it to bring it to ground to our advantage, we are quite often just outmarked, often without a contest. The ball has to move quickly enough so there it isn't too congested and the delivery needs to be somewhere where there is space to rove.

We've often played a style of footy where we play in a manner so we don't get cricket-like scores kicked against us so we go slowly, painfully along the boundary, then we got Noble and we got cricket-like scores kicked against us.

It is fine to have offensive guys who can rove, but if we can't stop the ball going the full length of the ground without any pressure then we just can't play in a manner which is conducive to creating roving opportunities.

His preferred pick, Tsatas, has a meniscus tear in his knee and will be out for months. We knew we'd be doing a lot of pre-hab with Warlord so I'm not alarmed.

Yeah a mate of mine is good family friend, has always said his hammy are 100pct fine. This to me sounds like a Very cautious approach to make sure. kid has 15+ years of elite footy in him, add new game plan, coaching panel, other new recruits and players back from injury, there is plenty to work through now, just need some patience.
patience GIF by Guns N' Roses

Yeah a mate of mine is good family friend, has always said his hammy are 100pct fine. This to me sounds like a Very cautious approach to make sure. kid has 15+ years of elite footy in him, add new game plan, coaching panel, other new recruits and players back from injury, there is plenty to work through now, just need some patience.
patience GIF by Guns N' Roses' Roses
You could rush him to appease the "chicken littles" or be patient now and reap the rewards for the next decade.

As an 18yo contested ball winner, he'd have **** all immediate impact anyway. As a 25yo contested ball winner, he might get us over the line in finals.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

68946aebac0fc23edca145eda7494547.jpg
Fair mark from chom
That photo of Zurhaar is almost textbook example of a free kick at AFL level that would be paid, but probably doesn't really need to be paid.

Pretty amazing that many of our supporter base haven’t learnt anything from Cunnington, LDU, Phillips and now Wardlaw.

Inside bulls take time.

Every kid needs to be ready to go right now if not we should write them off entirely.

LDU is only a game or two away from posters saying he has no defensive side.

Players not being at that point of development is the only thing between this year being our 93. Every year it’s gonna be 93.

Feels like a lot of posters are the dude out of Momento.

Wardlaw's early hamstring issues might be a blessing in disguise.

He was still drafted high and now he is getting a full treatment to lengthen them. I feel like it is better to fix the issue now, compared to the stop start interruptions if his hamstring injuries happened at the AFL level.

With pick 7 of the 2023 draft, North Melbourne selects… Nick Watson from the Eastern Ranges.

I think that "big concern" is overstating it. Maybe if we had top 4 expectations.

Sheezel reads the play as good as any first year player and knows how to crumb. Between Sheezel, Zurhaar and Curtis we will do well enough.

Next year we will draft Watson, who might be the best forward pocket prospect that we have seen in a long, long time.

Reckon Phillips will go alright as a resting small forward.

Well hopefully we aren’t lamenting picking a small inside mid either

That was my other issue with the pick not just the injury issues but the type of player he is
Really, like really ?
literally everybody had wardlaw in the top 4
he is 6ft and 80kg
if we picked some other bloke you would be lamenting that
get a grip

Really, like really ?
literally everybody had wardlaw in the top 4
he is 6ft and 80kg
if we picked some other bloke you would be lamenting that
get a grip
No I wouldn’t
I was very vocal with taking Tsatas over wardlaw or even Humphrey