Jan 26, 2007
Mt Waverly
Box Hill Hawks
Hey Guys, ;)

As the Mighty Hawks have first crack at these guys, like to know how they are performing this yr. Have heard big wraps on both players, and we all know how good Will's old man was for the hawks!

Yeah, so if you can update us on there progress and give us a wrap on what type of players they, that would be great!

Thanks guys:thumbsu:

Hey Guys, ;)

As the Mighty Hawks have first crack at these guys, like to know how they are performing this yr. Have heard big wraps on both players, and we all know how good Will's old man was for the hawks!

Yeah, so if you can update us on there progress and give us a wrap on what type of players they, that would be great!

Thanks guys:thumbsu:

Hawkes Should have at least one fully supperstar in their mate,.

Seen them both playe acople of times each:

Stubbs - aka Stubbsie is an awsome rock solid back pocklet. can provide a heap of run out of backline qand has a maasive kick to boot. can fill in at full forward. didnt see it but heard he kicked 12.8 in an u/16 stat carnival againts vic metro.

Langford -aka Lang Dogg is a 6ft weapon. was at a talent camp last saeson whith him and he ran a 16.5 beep test and still had a heaps in the tank (tape player they was using chewed the tape at that point so he didnt get tyo finnish. Never got to know his true potential at that camp. Kinda pisssed me off too cause i got to 16.1 and dropped ouit:thumbsdown:. )

The Langdogg will definately give Croad and bateman a run for ther moeny for season in cause hes got a big frame thats weell developed considering his age

Hawkes Should have at least one fully supperstar in their mate,.

Seen them both playe acople of times each:

Stubbs - aka Stubbsie is an awsome rock solid back pocklet. can provide a heap of run out of backline qand has a maasive kick to boot. can fill in at full forward. didnt see it but heard he kicked 12.8 in an u/16 stat carnival againts vic metro.

Langford -aka Lang Dogg is a 6ft weapon. was at a talent camp last saeson whith him and he ran a 16.5 beep test and still had a heaps in the tank (tape player they was using chewed the tape at that point so he didnt get tyo finnish. Never got to know his true potential at that camp. Kinda pisssed me off too cause i got to 16.1 and dropped ouit:thumbsdown:. )

The Langdogg will definately give Croad and bateman a run for ther moeny for season in cause hes got a big frame thats weell developed considering his age

This is up there with the worst responses I have ever seen on this site :thumbsdown: Does anyone have a genuine analysis on how these two are going, I am one person that is very interested in the NSW scholarship scheme (im assuming Stubbs is on a scholarship, Langfor father/son). Would like to hear if anyone out there can rate them against non-scholarship NSW/ACT players.

You idot! Thats about as close to thr mark as your going to get matye. Like isaid. ive trained with them and have some very influenshal people knwon connected to their respective clubs. so take it all leave it pal.

and becareful who you judge buddy

can only give you a good outline on stubbsie mate
trent started the year well with a solid preseason before taking up responsiblitites with rep squads and ect
upon return trent was picked to play firstgrade for east coast eagles against unsw-es in th sfl and was a bit shy of the big bodies that the dogs had running around the park however worked into the game and had a solid game
trent was then picked for the game against wests and wests got off to a flyer and where up at half time by about 60 points
in the second half the eagles began the fight back, this fight back was lead by trent, playing against blokes 10 years older than him and half as big trent performed well with plenty of touches and kicked a few rippers playing down forward he was the spark that got ece over the line
trent was best on ground and judged by his team mates player player

hi can some one give us an update on all scholarship players, did they play 1st, how many games, how did they go.

I seen brain a bit thought he was good, stubbs not much but good when playin, cole solid, murphy hardley seen, langford apparently good for rams does he play club footy? ferguson? what i seen o' youhg looked good.potter have seen a bit over the years goes pretty well

Stevebull, profile I have since realised that you have very little knowledge of Sydney Footy or its players coming thru. There is more to Sydney footy than just playing in 1st grade in Premiership at 16 or 17. The schalors have restrictions and the clubs have requirements. If you were following the performance of these guys you would know three had outstanding performances 2009 two are now with their clubs in Melbourne, Two were injured most of the season, one doesn't play club footy or reps but gets selected as a RAM and the other tries hard if you saw him at the 2009 carnival also a RAM for the record Willy made B&F and Murf made Runner up. thats

Thanks for that looseman, charming stuff

I was hoping for something a little more constructive but hey I'll take anything it's all part o' the fun.

I know young & stubbs have gone to melbourne early along with michael johnson who came off the bench for ece in the GF, as stated in previous post seen some others but not all so was hoping for a bit of detail re each with a name if anyone seen them play I regularly get asked by mates interstate & os whether I have seen the kids signed to the clubs they support running around.

No doubt there is more to sydney footy than scholarship players playin prem 1st but surely most clubs would want their players challenging themselves at the highest level as often as possible. I don't believe ece,unsw or wests seasons were down to scholo players but believe they contributed.

My point about challenge is that it appeared at the 09 carnival that paine thought he could take players on like he did in challenge but obviously couldn't & so turned it over or gave it to a mate under pressure, I think the guy has some ability but needs to get out of his comfort zone to progress, loyalty to your club is great but not at the cost of your development if you want to progress either to AFL, state rep, state leagues etc.

I seen some prem 18's & very little challenge 18's but was told that hurst played in the finals, was also told that a young bloke from ece who played about half the games in challenge finished 3rd in challenge bnf but got a promotion to prem can't think o' the name at mo he didn't make pioneers either.

Agree that both paine & hurst even with last years efforts ( I seen games live as a mate had kid in the rebels & i knew some heat kids also watched the dvd) were unlucky to miss out t some o' the blokes that got selected, I didn't make it this year but have heard from others that dimech, nolan & stibbard struggled & that others were a little of the pace, the discription I got for 1 sounded very like paine o' 09 will wait t see the dvd though.

would be interested to hear your thoughts each sides best scholo's or not will keep an eye out when I borrow the dvd.

Also heard bray played well for pigeons

Anyone else who would like to give us their thoughts on how the scholarship boys went during the season would be appreciated, just tryin to get a line on how they may play for gws for though I support the blue boys am interested in footy in Sydney

Stevebull, Bray played a good carnival considering the break from club footy with injury even as a junior he had a good marking ability. Dimery was consistant and his senior develpment was evident his clearances were good. Brown tried. The others mentioned in the other post were also top performers.

I agree with you 100% that it is in the interest of players that they are developed in senior football I also see it in the interest of senior club development.

The game dvds from coffs are poor and don't really give a true picture unfortunately of the full match, well they have'nt in the past. Its is only where the ball is.

The hard work is not in it, the bumps, leads and creating the space sheppards and the argybargie. We seem to pick at minor fault and dont really see the best stuff.

Its good to know you do have an interest in Sydney
Cheers

The comments made by looseman are totally in correct. If looseman actully knew the stories behind some of the players. Monagham broke his nose in first game. These players all did a better job than Hurst, who rightly didnt make the team