Mar 7, 2008
Imagineland
Everton, WDCC, Force
Hi all,

Me and a mate are heading over to Melbourne in the uni break to get ****ed up, have some fun and watch some football. We've both never been so I am in the dark about a few things. We are looking to do this cheap but if that doesn't happen its not too much of a problem. I have a few questions that maybe someone on here could help me out with.

1.) Places to stay? Anywhere thats good value and in the CBD. We are thinking maybe one of those nicer back packer places where you get your own room. Any bargains out there you've heard of?

2.) Is it worth going skiing for a couple of days? How hard is it to get to the mountains from Melbourne without hiring a car and is it expensive? Will probably give this a miss but interested to know?

3.) Tickets to the footy show? Is it even possible to get them or are they all for sponsors and whatnot?

4.) Tickets to the football? Its just a matter of rocking up and buying them right? (Lol not used to that with Subi being our home ground) We are going for Round 14 which happens to be just about the greatest weekend of football Melbourne has ever seen :p. Games include...
Col vs Dons
Melb vs WCE
Hawks vs WBD
StK vs Gee
Obviously if the last game isn't moved to the 'G I will have to buy tickets through the general public sale on ticketmaster but what about the replay of the ANZAC day match? Is that usually a sell out when not on ANZAC day?

5.) Pubs, Clubs, and places to go/see?

6.) Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to it.

Hi all,

Me and a mate are heading over to Melbourne in the uni break to get ****ed up, have some fun and watch some football. We've both never been so I am in the dark about a few things. We are looking to do this cheap but if that doesn't happen its not too much of a problem. I have a few questions that maybe someone on here could help me out with.

1.) Places to stay? Anywhere thats good value and in the CBD. We are thinking maybe one of those nicer back packer places where you get your own room. Any bargains out there you've heard of?

Don't bother with the CBD then. It isn't a great place for young tourists from interstate who are out to party on the cheap. The only places you'll get into in the CBD will be the kind of places where you're more likely to get stabbed than have fun.

Stay in St Kilda or Prahran, both suburbs have top-class backpackers hostels (so I've heard, having never actually stayed in them on account of living too close) and good nightlife/daylife and are only a few minutes tram ride from the CBD anyway. Generally when people from interstate are saying they like melbourne, they are referring to St Kilda and Prahran and surrounding areas. You could try fitzroy/brunswick as well, both good suburbs.

In the CBD there is the Joint on Elizabeth St, which has an overpriced bar on teh second level, which is good for getting thrown off or watching the mayhem unfold below.

St Kilda, there is one right next to the elephant and wheelbarrow pub and in Prahran there is one just off Chapel St.

2.) Is it worth going skiing for a couple of days? How hard is it to get to the mountains from Melbourne without hiring a car and is it expensive? Will probably give this a miss but interested to know?

Without a car it won't be cheap. You'll firstly need to find a Volvo with a small Melbournefc sticker on the number plate...

3.) Tickets to the footy show? Is it even possible to get them or are they all for sponsors and whatnot?

Wouldn't bother, that show sucks.

4.) Tickets to the football? Its just a matter of rocking up and buying them right? (Lol not used to that with Subi being our home ground) We are going for Round 14 which happens to be just about the greatest weekend of football Melbourne has ever seen :p. Games include...
Col vs Dons
Melb vs WCE
Hawks vs WBD
StK vs Gee
Obviously if the last game isn't moved to the 'G I will have to buy tickets through the general public sale on ticketmaster but what about the replay of the ANZAC day match? Is that usually a sell out when not on ANZAC day?

You won't have a problem getting in to any of those games (as long as St Kilda vs Gellong moves to the G) - you will get crappy seats at Pies vs Dons, Saints vs Cats and maybe at Hawks vs Dogs. If you want the freedom of just rocking up whenever and sitting where you want, go to Melbourne vs West Coast. There will only be about 25k there.

Pies vs Dons would be an eye opener for any interstate fan I imagine. Probably not as animosity filled as Pies vs Carlton, Carlton vs Richmond or Pies vs Melbourne, but you will love the banter.

5.) Pubs, Clubs, and places to go/see?

6.) Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to it.

Heaps of pubs and cluibs around St Kilda and Prahran. Heaps everywhere in Melbourne's inner suburbs really. Have always enjoyed a few beers at the Mountain View on bridge road (Ron Barrassi used to own it) prior to the game at the G, its a nice walk through Richmond or East Melbourne to the G imo.

Be careful on Hoddle St and King St late at night. Don't mouth off to the locals. Don't travel to any of the outer suburbs of Melbourne, they're a bogan wasteland.

Have always enjoyed a few beers at the Mountain View on bridge road (Ron Barrassi used to own it) prior to the game at the G, its a nice walk through Richmond or East Melbourne to the G imo.

My favourite place to go before and after the footy, sitting up on the rooftop bar downing a few lagers and if Ive had enough a cigarette with a fantastic view. Good food there as well.

Yep that little rooftop view is fantastic on a clear summer night. Would be a great spot for a tourist to see Melbourne imo.

Appreciate the input KP will take it on board but is there anyone out there with perhaps a less cynical view and also anyone who actually doesn't live in Melbourne but has done the tourist thing there a few times and knows what the go is?

The CBD isnt dangerous at all, KP is full of shit. Why would you go to melbourne and "give the CBD a miss"? StKilda, Prahran chapel street etc are good but so are many places in the CBD.

Appreciate the input KP will take it on board but is there anyone out there with perhaps a less cynical view and also anyone who actually doesn't live in Melbourne but has done the tourist thing there a few times and knows what the go is?

KP wasnt really being cynical, Melbourne is a great place but most of the stuff he says rings true.

You will have a much better night out in St Kilda great bars and restaurants. Richmond is great for the pub side of things (instead of clubs), The London, aforementioned Mountain View a slew of bars along bridge rd and hubcaps. The city is great during the day for shopping but at night its pretty ordinary.

Skiing is expensive with a car so without one would be very pricey.

Ive only been to the footy show once, back in the day Eddie was on it and it was a GF edition and it seemed all tickets were corporate, im not sure where to buy them for the general public, ring channel 9.

For the footy games you have listed I only see Pies vs Dons being hard to get a ticket for on the day the rest you should be able to stroll up and get in.

While docklands seems pretty empty it has some great restaraunts and as no one is around you wont have to get a reservation. If you have a big night and its a nice day the next day go and recover in the botanic gardens even grab a couple of "hair of the dogs" and a rug and take it all in to prepare for another night on the gas.

KP wasnt really being cynical, Melbourne is a great place but most of the stuff he says rings true.

You will have a much better night out in St Kilda great bars and restaurants. Richmond is great for the pub side of things (instead of clubs), The London, aforementioned Mountain View a slew of bars along bridge rd and hubcaps. The city is great during the day for shopping but at night its pretty ordinary.

Pretty much. CBD is good to see during the day, Fed Square is actually pretty cool imo for interstate travellers, there really isn't an equivalent precinct in Australia.

but at night, as bigburger said he wanted to party, I'd give the CBD a miss.

Yeah stay in Prahran/South Yarra. Heaps of clubs/pubs on Chapel St and Greville St - Q-Bar, Bridie O'reilly's, Revolver etc.

Revolver opens Friday closes Monday, so you wont need accomodation.

If going to the MCG, the Royal Hotel accross the road is a must.

Bev & Mick's in Sth Melbourne is cheap and a 5 min walk from the city. (Accross the road from Sth Melb market which is a bonus)

Revolver opens Friday closes Monday, so you wont need accomodation.

If going to the MCG, the Royal Hotel accross the road is a must.

Bev & Mick's in Sth Melbourne is cheap and a 5 min walk from the city. (Accross the road from Sth Melb market which is a bonus)

hahaha The Royal.

Yeah stay in Prahran/South Yarra. Heaps of clubs/pubs on Chapel St and Greville St - Q-Bar, Bridie O'reilly's, Revolver etc.
Revolver is dirty, easy slappers everywhere. Q-bar is the complete opposite, people who think their shit dont stink and Bridie O'Reillys is probably in the middle of those two places. Q-Bar being the best with the hottest chicks and Revolver if you're into your drugs.

Revolver is open for so long which makes it good but I agree with you on the people there I don't like them much either.

Urban Central backpackers on Clarendon Street just near the back of Crown is a good, cheap backpacker. Nice and clean, got a bar downstairs, plenty of internationals, and plenty of nightlife nearby.

i stayed at causeway 353 on little collins street in may. was our first time in melbourne and it was close to everything. paid 145 a night and the hotel is only about 6 mths old

Hey, I'm the other traveller in this lil' expidition of ours.

Any tips for the best places to go before a game for a pint or 7 ? Heard there are some pretty decent places for that in Melbourne.

Also, can someone give us a guide on which places are good to go to on which nights ? You know how every place will have there best night on a certain night, whilst other nights a quieter.

Cheers,

i just went to melbourne myself same time you were there for 5 days, was awesome. kicks ass over perth was hoping to get to eagles game on friday as well. got plastered at crown casino for 3 nights straight :)

Yeah sweet ! Did you go to any others places in Melbourne ?

There are lots of bars/pubs, on and around Brunswick street Fitzroy. The best pub there would probably be the Labour in Vain (corner Brunswick and Moor streets). Johnson street which crosses Brunswick street has some nice little bars on it.
If you want to drink girls beer then you could try the little creatures beer hall across the road (although being Perth boys you probably can go to the real one) and there is a nice little bar called the Black Cat just further down. Avoid the Perseverance Hotel at all costs!!!!!
The back streets of Fitzroy and Collingwood have a few good pubs in them try the Standard (just behind the Labour, on Fitzroy street) for a good bar meal, or the Union, which is somewhere in between Brunswick street and Smith Street.
In that general area you could also try Smith street Collingwood and maybe Gertrude street. Both of them have a few good bars.

There are lots of bars/pubs, on and around Brunswick street Fitzroy. The best pub there would probably be the Labour in Vain (corner Brunswick and Moor streets). Johnson street which crosses Brunswick street has some nice little bars on it.
If you want to drink girls beer then you could try the little creatures beer hall across the road (although being Perth boys you probably can go to the real one) and there is a nice little bar called the Black Cat just further down. Avoid the Perseverance Hotel at all costs!!!!!
The back streets of Fitzroy and Collingwood have a few good pubs in them try the Standard (just behind the Labour, on Fitzroy street) for a good bar meal, or the Union, which is somewhere in between Brunswick street and Smith Street.
In that general area you could also try Smith street Collingwood and maybe Gertrude street. Both of them have a few good bars.
Why? I think it's a good pub. Night Cat? Only if you're into jazz.

Trip to Melbourne