Triple J hottest 100 of 2012 Prediction thread.

Can chuck Foals - Inhaler into top 30 reckoning as well. Most played song on the Js last week and has come up at the right time to be in people's minds. Actually is a ripper of a song too, bit of a depature from typical Foals, they seem to have found some guitars and grown a pair
I personally think Inhaler is the worst thing they've ever done, even worse than the pretentiousness of The Edmund Fitzgerald. It's a ****-rocky chorus with some Foals-by-the-numbers guitar work and some embarrassing vocals.

Balloons is still quite comfortably my favourite Foals song, but I kind of like the direction they're going in with this song. The main riff is fantastic and I couldn't disagree more about the vocals but thats the beauty of music I guess!

I jotted down some songs a month or so ago that I would vote for, but after thinking about it a bit more I've decided to vote for (Barring any good late year releases)
Something for Kate - Survival Expert
Grimes - Oblivion
Lupe Fiasco - Around my Way
Tame Impala - Feels Like We Only Go Backwards
Frank Ocean - Lost
Atoms for Peace - Default(token Thom Yorke vote)
Kid Cudi - Just What I Am
Ball Park Music - Surrender
Oh Mercy - My Man

If tame impala jag an aria will guarantee them a top 3 finish.
No way. Pop songs that could cross over to commercial radio always hit the top ten. Kevin Parker said Lonerism is his idea of a sugary, accessible record, but I don't believe it would have wide appeal. It's been getting some huge plaudits: Australia's firs NME album of the year.

Tried to knock together a shortlist tonight - not sure what i think of it just yet.

Elephant – Tame Impala
Take a Walk – Passion Pit
Clique – G.O.O.D Music
Holdin On - Flume
R U Mine – Arctic Monkeys
Sleepless - Flume
Come On, Be a No-one – The Cribs
Cherry Lips – Loon Lake
Warrior – Kimbra, A Trak, Mark Foster
Riot- Velociraptor
Inhaler – Foals
Brother- Thundamentals like a version
Feels Like We Only Go Backwards – Tame Impala
Clouds and Cream – Sticky Fingers
BBBS - Clockwork
Mercy – G.O.O.D Music
Sleep Alone – Two Door Cinema Club
Promises – The Presets
Escape – Asta
Longevity – Yeasayer
Teenage Icon – The Vaccines (If eligible - doubt it will be)
Runaway – Mr Little Jeans
HyperParadise – Hermitude
Love This – Cosmo Jarvis
I Can Make You Love Me – British India
Around My Way – Lupe Fiasco
Family – The Cast of Cheers
212 – Azaelia Banks
Thrift Shop – Macklemore ft. Wanz - Every man and his dog will vote for it though.
Octopus – Bloc Party
Silhouettes – Avicii
Never Let Me Go – Florence + the Machine
Some Nights – Fun.
Not Giving In – Rudimental
Disparate Youth – Santigold
Latch – Disclosure
Lost – Frank Ocean

No way. Pop songs that could cross over to commercial radio always hit the top ten. Kevin Parker said Lonerism is his idea of a sugary, accessible record, but I don't believe it would have wide appeal. It's been getting some huge plaudits: Australia's firs NME album of the year.

I reckon Elephant has potential to finish very very high up. Will be my top vote by some distance. Mind blown from the first time I heard it.

Album of the year voting is out now. Went with these 10 (in alphabetical order):

Alt-J - An Awesome Wave
Ball Park Music - Museum
Bleeding Knees Club - Nothing to Do
Django Django - Django Django
Flume - Flume
Frank Ocean - Channel Orange
GOOD Music - Cruel Summer
Last Dinosaurs - In a Million Years
Tame Impala - Lonerism
The xx - Coexist

Personally i hope that clare de lune by flight facilities rates highly. Have listened to that a lot over the past couple of months and i think every week it gets higher on my favourites list... Alsowouldn't surprse me if its a top 5 smokey because it seems it gets requested a hell of a lot on good nights and timing is probably near perfect.

I don't really like Four. I don't really love post-SA Bloc.

I tend to agree, Silent Alarm is an absolute classic, unfortunately it has set up the rest of their albums to comparison and it does seem it was a one-off fluke. I considered buying a ticket to futures to see them but it just does not excite me that much. I might just hold off for 10 years, wait until they are washed up and go on a "Silent Alarm" classic album tour to squeeze out the last cash they can make.

That would be awesome

I tend to agree, Silent Alarm is an absolute classic, unfortunately it has set up the rest of their albums to comparison and it does seem it was a one-off fluke. I considered buying a ticket to futures to see them but it just does not excite me that much. I might just hold off for 10 years, wait until they are washed up and go on a "Silent Alarm" classic album tour to squeeze out the last cash they can make.

That would be awesome
I could write an essay on why SA worked and nothing else did. It's because it was an original blend of ideas that was honed over two or three years. Every other Bloc Party album was made for the sake of doing something different, rather than wanting and needing to say something different.

Whats your top 10 Silent Alarm? Actually how do you end up on a thread like this if you dont like / listen to jjj?
If it wasn't for your love of Richo I'd have to say your a bit of a flog my man...

My top 10 as at 10th Dec

Clair de Lune - Flight facilities
Fall in - Cloud Nothings
Idea of happiness - Van She
Stuck in my ID - Reptar
Hurrricane - MSMR
The Keepers - Santigold
Tinderbox - Violent Soho
Xpen$iv $H1T - Die Antwoord
Born to Die - Lana Del Ray
Bangarang - Skrill

Fooled around with my list again. It's probably more indicative of my listening habits now. Plus Museum was my favourite album of the year so I thought it was only fair I chucked two Ball Park songs in there.

Tame Impala - Feels Like We Only Go Backwards
The xx - Chained
The Royal Concept - D-D-Dance
Alt-J - Breezeblocks
Ball Park Music - Coming Down
Bleeding Knees Club - Girls Can Do Anything
Major Lazer - Get Free
Ball Park Music - Fence Sitter
Hermitude - HyperParadise (Flume Remix)
Django Django - Hail Bop

Think my list is gonna stay as this

Grinspoon - Passerby
Something for Kate - Survival Expert
Avicii - Silhouettes
Smashing Pumpkins - Panopticon
Lupe Fiasco - Around My Way
Birds of Tokyo - This Fire
GOOD Music - Clique
Violent Soho - Tinderbox
Ball Park Music - Surrender
Temper Trap - Trembling Hands

It's hard to leave Violent Soho - Neighbour Neighbour, Bloc Party - Kettling, Gaslight Anthem - 45, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis - Thrift Shop (ft. Wanz), GOOD Music - Mercy, Skrillex - Bangarang, Soundgarden - Been Away for Too Long and Nas - Accident Murderers (ft. Rick Ross) off the list.

Think the top 4 is gonna be...

Of Monsters and Men - Little Talks
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis - Thrift Shop
Calvin Harris ft. Florence - Sweet Nothing
Temper Trap - Trembling Hands

Yeah pretty sure "Lonely Boy" will be the only track ineligible off El Camino.

DrummoSolo, kbuck, TheWitness you guys gonna draft up your 100 list predics again like last year? Would be great to see, compare and discuss etc again.

My prediction for top 5
  1. Tame Impala - Elephant
  2. Macklemore & Ryan Lewis feat. Wanz - Thrift Shop
  3. Mumford & Sons - I Will Wait
  4. Calvin Harris feat. Florence Welch - Sweet Nothing
  5. The Rubens - My Gun

and my favourites.
  • Tame Impala - Elephant
  • Parkway Drive - Dark Days
  • San Cisco - Wild Things
  • Abbe May - Karmageddon
  • Jinja Safari - Toothless Grin
  • The Black Keys - Money Maker
  • Of Monsters and Med - Mountain Sound
  • Lana Del Rey - Cola
  • Birds of Tokyo - This Fire

Possibly. Was a lot of effort last year and to be honest I think TheWitness has the prediction game down to a tee. But that said, I do enjoy these countdowns immensely and I could well mock something up depending on how much free time I have!

Haven't sorted out a top 10 by any means but it will come from the following:

Swimming Pools - Kendrick Lamar
The Recipe - Kendrick Lamar
Art of Peer Pressure - Kendrick Lamar
Bitch, Dont Kill My Vibe - Kendrick Lamar
Elephant - Tame Impala
Feels Like We Only Go Backwards - Tame Impala
Lost - Frank Ocean
Pyramids - Frank Ocean
Angels - The xx
Chained - The xx
Home Again - Michael Kiwanuka
Bones - Michael Kiwanuka
I'll Get Along - Michael Kiwanuka
Wildest Moments - Jessie Ware
Lazuli - Beach House
Magnolia - Lushlife
Big Sur - Lushlife
The Keepers - Santigold
Clique - G.O.O.D. Music
The One - G.O.O.D. Music
Mercy - G.O.O.D. Music
Same Love - Macklemore and Ryan Lewis
Take A Walk - Passion Pit
Sister Song - Perfume Genius
Normal Song - Perfume Genius
Dark Parts - Perfume Genius
Terms and Conditions - Chet Faker
Love and Feeling - Chet Faker
I'm Into You - Chet Faker
God Help This Divorce - Miike Snow
Bavarian #1 (Say You Will) - Miike Snow
Valtari - Sigur Ros
DoYaThing - Gorillaz, James Murphy, Andre 3000
Warrior - Kimbra, A-Trak, Mark Foster
****in' Problem - ASAP Rocky, Kendrick Lamar, Drake

A lot to pick from for me this year.

Albums are easier (in kind of an order):

Frank Ocean - Channel Orange
Kendrick Lamar - Good Kid, M.A.A.D City
The xx - Coexist
Michael Kiwanuka - Home Again
Perfume Genius - Put Your Back N 2 It
Lushlife - Plateau Vision
Beach House - Bloom
G.O.O.D. Music - Cruel Summer
Chet Faker - Thinking in Textures
Miike Snow - Happy to You
Sigur Ros - Valtari

Top 10 albums as voted by JJJ listeners, which usually gives you a loose correlation to how the Hottest 100 will run.

1. TAME IMPALA - Lonerism
2. THE BLACK KEYS - El Camino
3. THE RUBENS - The Rubens
4. MUMFORD & SONS - Babel
5. BALL PARK MUSIC - Museum
6. alt-J - An Awesome Wave
7. FLUME - Flume
8. THE xx - Coexist
9. FRANK OCEAN - channelORANGE
10. SAN CISCO - San Cisco

In short, if you're a punting man, probably time to jump off Presets, Something for Kate, and Kendrick Lamar.

Triple J hottest 100 of 2012 Prediction thread.