• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

***Turtles***

The boys are organising sponsors and a social calendar now ready for the membership drive in o-week. I would think training will start back either be week 1 or 2.

Any new fresh faces coming to Ballarat for Uni this year??
If so get on down to Turtles training and let the turtle swim.
A great club, with great times, only play twice a year, which is also the 2 footy trips for the year. Get on board....
If your going to be new to UoB and want some info just post on this thread....

A great club, with great times, only play twice a year, which is also the 2 footy trips for the year. Get on board....

i already go to UoB but have not jumped on the turtles back so to speak...

what can this organisation offer me that is worth getting on board for?

i already go to UoB but have not jumped on the turtles back so to speak...

what can this organisation offer me that is worth getting on board for?

A number of things, i.e.

* Training in Ballarat once a week (Wednesday nights) so u can tell ur home club ur training in ballarat. Wed night training is usually followed by 20-odd pots in town, with wed being Uni Night here.
* The team plays 2 week long carnivals, 1 in july holidays (southern uni games), the other september holidays (australian uni games). The AUG's r on the gold coast this year. The comp is always good, a mixture of country 2's players right thru to the odd VFL player (last year turtles had 4 Roosters). With good fundraising and sponsorship work thru the year, each trip should be pretty heavily subsidised too.
* AUG participants get to keep their kit, which is a different design every year, but the green jumpers and shorts are definite momentos and are awesome training jumpers.
* Meet great blokes from uni to have fun with. There are functions all thru the year, and its a good way of sussing out blokes to try to recruit, or just get on the piss with at uni outside ur course.

Sign-ups will be on Monday of O-Week so check out the Turtles table for more details.

where are the SUG's and AUG's held this year?

cant wait to get on the turtle bandwagon this year, after missing the SUG's last year through injury, should be massive and im sure provide many valuable memories!!!!!!, some im sure i would hope to forget.

A number of things, i.e.

* Training in Ballarat once a week (Wednesday nights) so u can tell ur home club ur training in ballarat. Wed night training is usually followed by 20-odd pots in town, with wed being Uni Night here.
* The team plays 2 week long carnivals, 1 in july holidays (southern uni games), the other september holidays (australian uni games). The AUG's r on the gold coast this year. The comp is always good, a mixture of country 2's players right thru to the odd VFL player (last year turtles had 4 Roosters). With good fundraising and sponsorship work thru the year, each trip should be pretty heavily subsidised too.
* AUG participants get to keep their kit, which is a different design every year, but the green jumpers and shorts are definite momentos and are awesome training jumpers.
* Meet great blokes from uni to have fun with. There are functions all thru the year, and its a good way of sussing out blokes to try to recruit, or just get on the piss with at uni outside ur course.

Sign-ups will be on Monday of O-Week so check out the Turtles table for more details.
And for those interested in playing in the BFL, give ballarat a go... Cuthberts Road Alfredton.

SUG's are fast approaching, so all those intesrested get down to uni oval next wednesday 5:30 for training... no training 2moz due to anzac day, bless their souls....

come along, have a kick and get amongst it

I believe the Gold Coast will expect an invasion of little Green Turtles in the coming weeks. Well good luck to all the boys and i'm sure there will be some good initiations. Just wondering if it was possible to get a bit of a look at the jumper that the boys will be wearing with pride? I'm looking at you Gouiney.

As the veteran turtle player back in '97 i need to clarify the following as it appears to have been lost in the annuls of history:
1997 inaugral year of the turtles
manager: the 'late' robbo (rumoured to have died of chronic fatigue syndrome)
coach: dale hemley
captain: shaun mcguiness
SUG result: lost final to VUT in shepparton by a plethora
AUG result: lost final to VUT by 4 pts at Victoria Park
all australians: gerard "chopper" seagrave and peter hexter (David Parkin selected side and presented medals)
honorable mentions: brock baker (and the 97 redan boys who experienced winning for a change, ie Tugga, Jay etc)
origin of the name: 'the turtle' was the sexual position of the month in playboy jul 97 as read on the bus to the SUG in Shep. this position was to be performed as a goal celebration by the goal kicker for every goal. evidently the name caught on, as well as the sexual position, as evidenced in the nightclubs for the remainder of the year.

anyway, it is good to see that macguiness's idea to start a team over a few beers at 21 arms has kicked on and is alive and well.

As the veteran turtle player back in '97 i need to clarify the following as it appears to have been lost in the annuls of history:
all australians: gerard "chopper" seagrave and peter hexter (David Parkin selected side and presented medals)
honorable mentions: brock baker (and the 97 redan boys who experienced winning for a change, ie Tugga, Jay etc)
origin of the name: 'the turtle' was the sexual position of the month in playboy jul 97 as read on the bus to the SUG in Shep. this position was to be performed as a goal celebration by the goal kicker for every goal. evidently the name caught on, as well as the sexual position, as evidenced in the nightclubs for the remainder of the year.

anyway, it is good to see that macguiness's idea to start a team over a few beers at 21 arms has kicked on and is alive and well.

How's the weed over there in Malawi?

Have to correct you on this one- that was a semi
RMIT played VUT in grand final and lost by 17 pts- 6 goals to Nathan Brown the difference

i am pretty sure the inaugural year was 97, and right after the grand final at Vic Park we had our medal presentation, of i which i have a silver medal somewhere for proof.
nathan brown played for VUT in 98. RMIT beat VUT to finish top of their group, so that put VUT up against the turtles, with brown playing, and we got done. Then VUT went on to flog RMIT in the final by about 100 pts. I quizzed heffernan (ex-bomber/demon) who played for RMIT, and got the impression something dodgy went on, as why the big turn around in two days. Anyhow, those games were played on f**ked albert park ovals.
Do i need to clarify anything else, apart from the excellent weed in malawi?

i am pretty sure the inaugural year was 97, and right after the grand final at Vic Park we had our medal presentation, of i which i have a silver medal somewhere for proof.
nathan brown played for VUT in 98. RMIT beat VUT to finish top of their group, so that put VUT up against the turtles, with brown playing, and we got done. Then VUT went on to flog RMIT in the final by about 100 pts. I quizzed heffernan (ex-bomber/demon) who played for RMIT, and got the impression something dodgy went on, as why the big turn around in two days. Anyhow, those games were played on f**ked albert park ovals.
Do i need to clarify anything else, apart from the excellent weed in malawi?
Mate too many brain cells destroyed by five uni games and five regionals- i think you are right about 98 though was a lot less than 100pts- about 6 goals, and i think the dodgy thing was that the RMIT boys were all out until 6 in the morning and VUT had a no drinking policy. Did we have Melbourne two years in a row did we??i remember one year- thought canberra was the year before Melbourne but maybe Canberra was 96. That's boring.

***Turtles***