U18 2009

Better than last years? This year signifies the end of an era at Altona in my opinion.
For the first time they'll be without the dreaded Lawson brothers, Camenzuli, Chip, Crossy, Langham and many others who made them the team they were. Solarino will add something, however Barrett is just a thug and from what i've heard about sunday, blue-ing might be one of Altona's strengths..

Werribee will be the team to beat i reckon.
They retain guys like Taylor, Johnston, Panayi, Harrington, Jerman and McGuiness and have picked up Alex Eade and Luke Klein-Breteler from other clubs. Also heard a rumour that Boomer and Pags and a few others will be playing 18's again but not 100% sure there.

Don't really wanna weigh into the Ethan v Jameel debate but i love the politics at this level and think it really adds to the rivalries and to these threads :thumbsu:

i think that altona will go alright from wat ive heard, but hoppers and willi are ment to be frontrunners aswell. i haven't heard a word about wezza, only that they have lost more players to the jets then any other clubs. all the players you mentioned aren't that good? mabye a few could be stand outs but thats all that werribee will have.
hoppers altona and willi apparently have the best teams in the comp this year.
whats happening with st albans this year, last year they were the only team to beat altona in the season and they did it twice!
who do they have from last years team??

Werribee will be the team to beat i reckon.
have picked up Alex Eade and Luke Klein-Breteler from other clubs. Also heard a rumour that Boomer and Pags and a few others will be playing 18's again but not 100% sure there.
:thumbsu:

Im 1st year 18s so dont know a lot of the names here, but Alex eade is a top bloke and a gun forward, at hoppers scumming 2 years ago they played him at full back and killed the guys confidence.

Have also heard about Altona being a popular destination this year in both 18s and 16s.

Colts mate we should be in B's and be a thereabout side, was talk of a few guys coming from Sydenham 18s but didnt eventuate.

i think every side this year will be decent and there will be no more of this winning by 300 points business.. (port colts vs werribee last year in the under 16's) hahaha unlucky..

this is the only thing that shyts me about wrfl.

we win round 1 in B grade, we are only a 1 team in each grade club, and come up against wezza and get smashed.
the clowns at p cook who had 2 teams get to stay in B, brag about beating us (we only had 15 players) and still get rolled in finals.

yes was unlucky to play wezza 1s, we couldnt beat the 2s last year!

i think that altona will go alright from wat ive heard, but hoppers and willi are ment to be frontrunners aswell. i haven't heard a word about wezza, only that they have lost more players to the jets then any other clubs. all the players you mentioned aren't that good? mabye a few could be stand outs but thats all that werribee will have.
hoppers altona and willi apparently have the best teams in the comp this year.
whats happening with st albans this year, last year they were the only team to beat altona in the season and they did it twice!
who do they have from last years team??
you're the one saying they are the team to beat!!. Posts such as their midfield is better than last years is rubbish. They have lost a lot of gun players and those replacing them are nowhere near as good.
Werribee won the the 18a, 18b and 16b premiership and the 16a lost one game (being the GF). That to me indicates depth, regardless how many are on the jets list and not all of those will play games with the jets anyway imo. The players mentioned by Bachar43 are all very good players and throw in Travis Dean, Mitch Chadwick, Murphy Watt, Andy Maxwell plus Theo Sapounzis from St Albans, Alex Eade from Hoppers, Luke Klein Breteler from Whyndamvale and the 5 or so jets players that will be with them each week -that is a formidable line up.
Altona have kept Vivoda who is good and Healy is as quick as they come and likes a goal plus some of their other overage players from lastyear they will be OK, but dont insult fellow posters by saying their midfield is better than last years ( which by the way lost the GF by 12 goals!!)
Willy are the main challengers with their impressive list of overage and some quality players coming up from the 16s and dont forget Cam DÁltera who takes a good grab, as does Brent Fairley. His brother is likely to play more games at Willy than jets so they will have some very good marking power.

all the players you mentioned aren't that good?

Taylor - Proven 3rd year player, very good in the finals last year.
Johnston - Fresh out of jets and keen to prove a few people wrong.
Panayi - Dangerous goalsneak in a good side (over 50 gls in 06 and 07?).
Harrington - Determined like johnston...bags of 18 and 8 (in the 18's) last year)
Boomer - If you think he's no good your kidding yourself.
Pags - Similar to boomer.

BUSTAPAKS is talking a lot of sense...there's every chance the likes of McLellan, Morton, Sleep, Shibeci, K-B and a few others could play regular games for werribee.
Meaning they only lose Fortune, Sherlock, Morris and Huxtable to the jets...and they haven't had 3 of those guys for 2 years!

A few people are underestimating Wyndham Vale, plently of 3rd year boys down there and we were 3rd in 16 A's 2007.
Might be the team to keep an eye on...

well there is alot of bitching going on.. but i guess all the talking will be after the game when the results are up. healy is a good player and will dominate this year with his quick pace.. williamstown will be good but need to harden up.. werribee for the premiship (ON PAPER)

Taylor - Proven 3rd year player, very good in the finals last year.
Johnston - Fresh out of jets and keen to prove a few people wrong.
Panayi - Dangerous goalsneak in a good side (over 50 gls in 06 and 07?).
Harrington - Determined like johnston...bags of 18 and 8 (in the 18's) last year)
Boomer - If you think he's no good your kidding yourself.
Pags - Similar to boomer.

BUSTAPAKS is talking a lot of sense...there's every chance the likes of McLellan, Morton, Sleep, Shibeci, K-B and a few others could play regular games for werribee.
Meaning they only lose Fortune, Sherlock, Morris and Huxtable to the jets...and they haven't had 3 of those guys for 2 years!

A few people are underestimating Wyndham Vale, plently of 3rd year boys down there and we were 3rd in 16 A's 2007.

wezza is good on paper... but so is altona,, even if there midfield isn't better then last years. i'm just going on what i've been told!
i thought boomer was to old for the 18s??
and pags isn't similar to boomer! i wouldn't put him anywere near boomer..

altona bet wezza 4 times last year with a better team, but in the gf wezza handed it to them and came of by 12 goals!

so im with legend5, its all gona come down to the actuall game day, regardless on how good the team is on paper.

:thumbsu: thats true, altona will be the team to beat this year. Werribee is losing to many players to jets, while Altona is getting players from other clubs, while on losing two to jets! Wezza will struggle with what they have to compete against altonas outfit, their midfield is meant to be one of the bst they have had, even better then last years!
this is the roumors that i have heard, can anyone comfirm or tell me the actuall truth about ALtona team and midfield this year???

even so.. it couldnt be better than the '07 altona midfield..
also how could it be better than altonas last year..
at one stage the altona midfield was:
S.Tighe- who was borderline of getting drafted last year.
C.Lawson- Won the League and Altona BnF
D.Lawson- Finished in the top 10 of the league only playing 10 games.
D.Barnaby- Best tagger in the WRFL full stop.

Then you could add the lights of:
J.Raftery: Finishd 2nd in the league BnF and Club BnF respectively..
A.Camenzuli: Was team of the year and interleague represtentitive.

Have to agree with Bachar43 vales do look like a team that could be up there come finals time if they can hold it together...

And as one of the posts above me said.. u can look as good as you want on paper it all comes down to results.. Altona had a very goood list on paper last year and didnt perform in the big one..

i thought boomer was to old for the 18s??
and pags isn't similar to boomer! i wouldn't put him anywere near boomer..

Been told by heaps of the werribee boys that boomer is playing.

Pags isn't as good as boomer but i was saying he is similar, in that if you think he's no good your kidding yourself...if you get what i mean?

Pags isn't as good as boomer but i was he is similar, in that if you think he's no good your kidding yourself...if you get what i mean?

Skippa...good to hear from you again ;)

just a word from the grapevine..
boomer and taylor are possibly playing amo's this year..
when not required there will i would assume play at werribee..

pags will be one to watch this season.. very good skills and football brain..
can play either forward or mid

heard abit of a rumor down at st.albans 18s. there was abit of a punch on between team mates at training or something??? any truth to this ?

even so.. it couldnt be better than the '07 altona midfield..
also how could it be better than altonas last year..
at one stage the altona midfield was:
S.Tighe- who was borderline of getting drafted last year.
C.Lawson- Won the League and Altona BnF
D.Lawson- Finished in the top 10 of the league only playing 10 games.
D.Barnaby- Best tagger in the WRFL full stop.

Then you could add the lights of:
J.Raftery: Finishd 2nd in the league BnF and Club BnF respectively..
A.Camenzuli: Was team of the year and interleague represtentitive.QUOTE]

Sean Tighe and Dion Lawson will cement their spots at the Jets so we wont see much of them and, I am positive Corey Lawson has been given a contract at Werribee VFL and will definitely play Altona seniors if he is not getting a game in the VFL.

yeah it sounds like there is alot of good wraps for alot of teams including wez altona willi hoppers and vales..

wat do u reccon the standings will be
this is mine

1.werribee
2.altona
3.williamstown
4.hoppers
5.vales

Pags isn't as good as boomer but i was saying he is similar, in that if you think he's no good your kidding yourself...if you get what i mean?

Kid you have got to be kidding yourself!
pags aint no boomer, he aint really that good either.
if ya thinking he is like boomer ya thinking he is one of the best on the team.
but pags next to langham tedesco resic vivoda fogarty healy mutton J.Allen all from altona
then how good is he?

but pags next to langham tedesco resic vivoda fogarty healy mutton J.Allen all from altona
then how good is he?

I think you are missing my point.
anywho i would comfortably put pags next to those blokes...any of them get an invite to a VFL pre-season?

then how good is he?
Dancer you need to get a bigger tutu cos the one you are wearing must be too tight and effecting the supply of oxygen to your brain:D

Windies are a bit of unkown and may surprise. Should have played A grade last year imo. Fitzy wont play with Windies and I doubt Joey ,who I regard very highly, will either. LKB has left, majak will play some games at jets. Molivas is a good player, who are their 3rd year players Bachar? I hope they do well:thumbsu:

aahahhaha... everyone is overating "pags" yes a good player but not a superstar.. anyone can get a pre season invite for vfl if he makes it which counts

When did i ever say he was a superstar?
and if 'anyone' can get a gig at werribee, why didn't the boys that dancer mentioned get a run?

Windies are a bit of unkown and may surprise. Should have played A grade last year imo. Fitzy wont play with Windies and I doubt Joey ,who I regard very highly, will either. LKB has left, majak will play some games at jets. Molivas is a good player, who are their 3rd year players Bachar? I hope they do well:thumbsu:

Your a good bloke bustapaks...
3rd years include 08 co-captains Aaron Fleming and Corey Mackey, Kaine Clark, Russel Rich and Jim Tessari among others.
Fitzy and Joey are vice captians down at the jets so i doubt we'll be seeing them, Maj will rarely play as well and yeah K-B was a bit of a loss.
They are the main guys missing from our 16 a's team a few years back, but i think the 3rd years will be able to make up for their absences...

First praccy this saturday vs Moonee Valley.

Your a good bloke bustapaks...
3rd years include 08 co-captains Aaron Fleming and Corey Mackey, Kaine Clark, Russel Rich and Jim Tessari among others.
Fitzy and Joey are vice captians down at the jets so i doubt we'll be seeing them, Maj will rarely play as well and yeah K-B was a bit of a loss.
They are the main guys missing from our 16 a's team a few years back, but i think the 3rd years will be able to make up for their absences...

First praccy this saturday vs Moonee Valley.

so wydhamvale have got praccy his weekned vs money valley
and werribee has a praccy vs north footscray
i know hoppers had a praccy last weekend vs st. bernards
what about willi and spotty?
if anyone gets to see them how are the teams shaping up?