Travel USA travel tips and tricks

You reckon about 5k for five weeks is an okay budget?
It's doable but you would have to be very careful with money. Stick to hostels and couch surfing, can save a lot of money. I would've had a similar budget although the exchange rate was better at the time. I never went to restaurants and spent most of my time doing free/cheap things during the day since I wanted to save what little money I had for sporting events/drinking. Although it's a grim experience, catching the bus is a much cheaper option as well.

Depends on what you're trying to do in each city, but it does seem like a tight squeeze time wise. 6k will be a tight squeeze as well, especially since you're going to expensive cities like LA, SF, Vegas and New York.

hopefully can save a bit more as its still awhile away! wont know exactly where we are going till some sports fixtures come out!

Is Denver worth a visit? Best place to stay, any good bar and food/restaurants?

Thanks in advance.

Hoooooooo, boy.

If you're AirBnB-ing it, I'd look for a place to stay in River North, Capital Hill or the Lower Highlands neighborhood. Very walkable neighborhoods with lots of bars/restaurants.

Denver is one of the craft brewing meccas in this country (the others being Portland and San Diego), so if you're in to beer, you're in luck. You can't throw a rock in this city without hitting a brewery. Great Divide is probably the most well known brewery, they have two locations which for some reason are very close to each other. My favorites include River North Brewery, Renegade, Strange, Trve, Bierstadt, Ratio, Crooked Stave and Blackshirt. I'm leaving out a ton, but that just goes to show just how many breweries are here. If you head up to Fort Collins, you could check out Odell and New Belgium, and if you head up to Boulder you could check out Avery (my favorite brewery overall). If you want a bar where you could try a little bit of everything, Falling Rock Tavern on Blake Street is one of the better beer bars in this country. My favorite bars that aren't breweries are Finn's Manor, Bar Fausto (amazing cocktails), Pon Pon (little joint that makes good cocktails and plays great music), Kentucky Inn (A dive. A glorious dive). I'm missing a bunch, but sadly, I don't go out nearly as much as I did when I was single, so I suck at drinking now.

In terms of food, if you tell me the style of food that you like, I can narrow down some great places for you. I have a theory that every city does one meal of the day properly, and Denver is a breakfast/brunch city. Some of my favorites are Jelly, Sassafras, Denver Biscuit Company (You have to go here) and Lucille's. Honorable mentions for Bacon Social House and Snooze (though they always have a line there and there is better breakfast/brunch to be had).

Denver as a city is really coming in to its own, there are tons more things to do here than there were when I first moved here 5 years ago. Three of the four sports stadiums are pretty much downtown (Coors Field deserves a mention here. Beautiful stadium thats right in the middle of one of the bar districts here, so pre and post games are fun affairs), so definitely try and schedule a game at one of them if you can. You should rent a car though and get out of the city, whether it be up to the college towns of Fort Collins and Boulder, or just a drive down I-70W to really see the Rockies. This is one of the most beautiful states in the country, and if you're outdoorsy, this is where you want to be. Oh and legal weed.

Let me know what kind of food you like, and what kind of bar scenes you're in to, and I'll be more specific.

Hoooooooo, boy.

If you're AirBnB-ing it, I'd look for a place to stay in River North, Capital Hill or the Lower Highlands neighborhood. Very walkable neighborhoods with lots of bars/restaurants.

Denver is one of the craft brewing meccas in this country (the others being Portland and San Diego), so if you're in to beer, you're in luck. You can't throw a rock in this city without hitting a brewery. Great Divide is probably the most well known brewery, they have two locations which for some reason are very close to each other. My favorites include River North Brewery, Renegade, Strange, Trve, Bierstadt, Ratio, Crooked Stave and Blackshirt. I'm leaving out a ton, but that just goes to show just how many breweries are here. If you head up to Fort Collins, you could check out Odell and New Belgium, and if you head up to Boulder you could check out Avery (my favorite brewery overall). If you want a bar where you could try a little bit of everything, Falling Rock Tavern on Blake Street is one of the better beer bars in this country. My favorite bars that aren't breweries are Finn's Manor, Bar Fausto (amazing cocktails), Pon Pon (little joint that makes good cocktails and plays great music), Kentucky Inn (A dive. A glorious dive). I'm missing a bunch, but sadly, I don't go out nearly as much as I did when I was single, so I suck at drinking now.

In terms of food, if you tell me the style of food that you like, I can narrow down some great places for you. I have a theory that every city does one meal of the day properly, and Denver is a breakfast/brunch city. Some of my favorites are Jelly, Sassafras, Denver Biscuit Company (You have to go here) and Lucille's. Honorable mentions for Bacon Social House and Snooze (though they always have a line there and there is better breakfast/brunch to be had).

Denver as a city is really coming in to its own, there are tons more things to do here than there were when I first moved here 5 years ago. Three of the four sports stadiums are pretty much downtown (Coors Field deserves a mention here. Beautiful stadium thats right in the middle of one of the bar districts here, so pre and post games are fun affairs), so definitely try and schedule a game at one of them if you can. You should rent a car though and get out of the city, whether it be up to the college towns of Fort Collins and Boulder, or just a drive down I-70W to really see the Rockies. This is one of the most beautiful states in the country, and if you're outdoorsy, this is where you want to be. Oh and legal weed.

Let me know what kind of food you like, and what kind of bar scenes you're in to, and I'll be more specific.

Many thanks! I love my beer! Really into my BBQ but might be tired of that at the end of my trip. I Like all cuisines. For bars i like good atmosphere where I can sit at the bar and watch sports and mingle with the local. I might stay in Nashville longer and enjoy the weekend there.

The BBQ scene here isn't really strong, sadly. Kitchen Table Cafe and Bony's do some serviceable BBQ, but it's nothing like the stuff you'd get in the South (Check out Martin's BBQ and Peg Leg Porker for the best BBQ in Nashville, also go to Arnold's, which is a classic Meat and Threes place). I'd also suggest going to get some hot chicken at Hattie B's.

Oh right, Denver.

If you like all cuisines, my favorite every day restaurant that you can go to here is Work and Class. http://workandclassdenver.com/Menus/dinner.pdf
Great food, solid prices, and really good cocktails (get the barrel aged old fashioned).

Hop Alley is a great asian inspired restaurant. Great atmosphere, great drinks, and dishes like the steamed eggplant, spicy fried chicken and bone marrow fried rice are just stupid good. https://static1.squarespace.com/sta...215dc9af/1483828687926/WEBSITECURRENTMENU.pdf

If you want a classic bar to mingle at with good drinks (not necessarily a sports bar, but they have a TV that'll usually have a game on, no volume), the Vesper Lounge is where you want to go. Great food there too, not your typical bar fare. Get the Jucy D, trust me on this. http://vesperdenver.com/menus/VesperFoodMenuStandard.pdf

Sports bars, there are a few big ones on Blake Street. You have Blake Street Tavern, Hayter's, Sports Column, The Tavern and Jackson's. I'm missing a few there. They are all pretty interchangeable, but have tons of TVs for games.

Let me know if you need anything else.

heading over in late August/early September for 3 weeks with the Mrs for our honeymoon wanting to go to LA, SF and Las Vegas and New York and Boston and some cites in between maybe New Orleans and Nashville.

couple questions
1) will 3 weeks or about 23 days be enough time
2) will 6K be enough money for both of us!

made her go in September so I could catch a college football and NFL game.

cheers.

I'm budgeting 6k spending money for just myself over 5 weeks... All flights and accommodation booked though.

Go spend a day's worth of money getting way too pissed and then spend the next day too hungover to move. You can save even more money if you sleep in a park!

The BBQ scene here isn't really strong, sadly. Kitchen Table Cafe and Bony's do some serviceable BBQ, but it's nothing like the stuff you'd get in the South (Check out Martin's BBQ and Peg Leg Porker for the best BBQ in Nashville, also go to Arnold's, which is a classic Meat and Threes place). I'd also suggest going to get some hot chicken at Hattie B's.

Oh right, Denver.

If you like all cuisines, my favorite every day restaurant that you can go to here is Work and Class. http://workandclassdenver.com/Menus/dinner.pdf
Great food, solid prices, and really good cocktails (get the barrel aged old fashioned).

Hop Alley is a great asian inspired restaurant. Great atmosphere, great drinks, and dishes like the steamed eggplant, spicy fried chicken and bone marrow fried rice are just stupid good. https://static1.squarespace.com/sta...215dc9af/1483828687926/WEBSITECURRENTMENU.pdf

If you want a classic bar to mingle at with good drinks (not necessarily a sports bar, but they have a TV that'll usually have a game on, no volume), the Vesper Lounge is where you want to go. Great food there too, not your typical bar fare. Get the Jucy D, trust me on this. http://vesperdenver.com/menus/VesperFoodMenuStandard.pdf

Sports bars, there are a few big ones on Blake Street. You have Blake Street Tavern, Hayter's, Sports Column, The Tavern and Jackson's. I'm missing a few there. They are all pretty interchangeable, but have tons of TVs for games.

Let me know if you need anything else.

Awesome - thanks mate

might be taking advantage of flight centres cheapish flights and head over in November / December.

for those who havent heard of the offer:

LA / Vegas / NYC / Hawaii return from $1,890 i think it was. i know the key word is from.

but i was thinking of just booking the flights through flight centre and doing everything else (hotels, transfers, activities) ourselves as i know it will save us a heap of $$$

hotels and activities im going ok with, im just wanting to know who or what people have used in the way of transfers, mainly for when we are wanting to get to an attraction.

e.g when staying in LA needing to get transport to Universal, 6 flags magic mountain and Warner brothers. i thought about just using a taxi but i just worry if none are in the area when we need to come home. an actual transfer service would at least assure us of times.

Vegas can be done mostly via foot. they have the bus and monorail so thats ok, NY can be done via foot and using hop on hop off + taxis where needed.

You guys reckon LA or Seattle/Portland for a few days to round out a trip? I mean it kind of seems like you have to see LA but is that better kept for another trip if I'm already knocking over New York? I love the idea of the northern parts of Cali too but I don't think that'll be happening this jaunt. Just curious as to what it's like to backpack in LA, how worth it it is, generally the hostel vibe?

might be taking advantage of flight centres cheapish flights and head over in November / December.

for those who havent heard of the offer:

LA / Vegas / NYC / Hawaii return from $1,890 i think it was. i know the key word is from.

but i was thinking of just booking the flights through flight centre and doing everything else (hotels, transfers, activities) ourselves as i know it will save us a heap of $$$

hotels and activities im going ok with, im just wanting to know who or what people have used in the way of transfers, mainly for when we are wanting to get to an attraction.

e.g when staying in LA needing to get transport to Universal, 6 flags magic mountain and Warner brothers. i thought about just using a taxi but i just worry if none are in the area when we need to come home. an actual transfer service would at least assure us of times.

Vegas can be done mostly via foot. they have the bus and monorail so thats ok, NY can be done via foot and using hop on hop off + taxis where needed.
That isn't that cheap; I reckon you could sort out of those flights for around that price any time of the year. I'm just having a search now and generally it looks about $180 from LA to TX and then about 20 or 30 bucks more to get up to New York. I'm looking at going via Europe for a month too and even on Emirates or Qatar it's like 1700 bucks.

You guys reckon LA or Seattle/Portland for a few days to round out a trip? I mean it kind of seems like you have to see LA but is that better kept for another trip if I'm already knocking over New York? I love the idea of the northern parts of Cali too but I don't think that'll be happening this jaunt. Just curious as to what it's like to backpack in LA, how worth it it is, generally the hostel vibe?
Havent been to the Pacific Northwest but its an area im desperate to visit. I don't think LA is a must see city, even on your first visit. I think its a bit of a dump although i liked Santa Monica. The hostel there was clean but the atmosphere was dead. Also stayed at the USA hostel in hollywood and its probably my favourite one ive stayed in the States. Easy to meet people, good location and a good party hostel especially if you're ridin solo.

That isn't that cheap; I reckon you could sort out of those flights for around that price any time of the year. I'm just having a search now and generally it looks about $180 from LA to TX and then about 20 or 30 bucks more to get up to New York. I'm looking at going via Europe for a month too and even on Emirates or Qatar it's like 1700 bucks.
I've done it all myself and have gone through a travel agency. There are pros and cons of doing both. When I did it myself I booked my return flights and filled the rest in. Took heaps of time though but was really flexible as I could take time to work out where to go. Got sick of accomodation websites though.

When I booked through the travel agency the entire trip flights and accommodation was booked within 2 hours but it was locked in and I couldn't change it. Everything ran so smoothly though.

Flying to LA on April 27th. Going to Stagecoach Festival. Dates I am looking at for Denver are May 14th - 18th.

If you get here early enough on the 14th, the Rockies have a game against the Dodgers, they start a road trip after. Not sure if Coors Field was something you wanted to see while you were here, but it is a beautiful stadium with a nice atmosphere.

Leaving on Saturday! 10 nights in Los Angeles & 7 in Chicago. Already planning my next trip, heh.

in october i'm going to LA & Vegas. this will be my first time OS, flying with United from Melb to LA. I've never done a flight longer than 2 hours. Apart from boredom, what should i expect?

Also, we're hiring a car while there, do i need any special license to drive over there? (that may sound like a silly question)

in october i'm going to LA & Vegas. this will be my first time OS, flying with United from Melb to LA. I've never done a flight longer than 2 hours. Apart from boredom, what should i expect?

Also, we're hiring a car while there, do i need any special license to drive over there? (that may sound like a silly question)
free alcohol and plenty of movies/tv shows/music to keep you entertained. I usually get a few hours sleep but each person is different and also try to walk around and keep your body moving.

You don't need a special licence over there

Travel USA travel tips and tricks