VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

The big game this week is at Park Orchards with Yarra taking on Parade for 8th spot, with one point in it last time you would expect Yarra to have a home ground advantage should win but it will be close.

TQM

JASON CAVE'S GAME OF THE WEEK

Round 15: Old Mentonians v Oakleigh

First versus second, two points seperating the teams, and a finals 'dress rehearsal' all shapes up for a classic game of footy. I think Oakleigh will win because they are the form side going into this game, while Old Mentonians would probably be affected by what happens at the VAFA investigations hearing this week. The key to this game is which midfield would be able to stand up to the pressure when it really counts- Oakleigh's or Old Mentonians?I tip Oakleigh to win by 5 points, in a game that could affect the way the final four is set.

JASON CAVE'S GAME OF THE WEEK

Round 15: Old Mentonians v Oakleigh

First versus second, two points seperating the teams, and a finals 'dress rehearsal' all shapes up for a classic game of footy. I think Oakleigh will win because they are the form side going into this game, while Old Mentonians would probably be affected by what happens at the VAFA investigations hearing this week. The key to this game is which midfield would be able to stand up to the pressure when it really counts- Oakleigh's or Old Mentonians?I tip Oakleigh to win by 5 points, in a game that could affect the way the final four is set.

Investigation hearings take place in the week after the next game not the week immediately after the game.

OM wont be affected by anything!!

Not so much embarrassed as we just felt there was no need to carry on after the game had finished. He saw a player offer a handshake to our young fella(17 year old) and then use it as a tool to pull him in and belt him. Pretty low act, but stuff happens. It's all said and done now. Got bigger fish to fry next week.

so you saying a BT player belted the 'young fella' after shaking his hand at the end of the game??? think there would've been a bit more retaliation if that had of happened mate.. half the blokes in your team were appologising to us and telling the bloke to p$ss off.. if a 17 year old kid got 'belted' after the game then surely your players would stick up for him?? or do you classify being 'belted' someone shaking your hand too hard or something??
all i was saying it was a ripper game, you took the 4 points, yes our captain teaser gave you a goal but probably saved about 5 throughout the day and just thought the bloke after the game put a sour note on the club which our boys thought were pretty good all day..

U r entitled to your opinion....considering it's your favourite topic!!
Anyone would think you still have nightmares of lining up against BT in the mid 90's in B Grade....Chris Parris, Bomber James, Dean Matthews, Peter George, Skip Driver...etc

Spot on! No easy kicks in those days. Think I still have some lumps on the back of my head from
a guy they called 'N I G G E R'??

so you saying a BT player belted the 'young fella' after shaking his hand at the end of the game??? think there would've been a bit more retaliation if that had of happened mate.. half the blokes in your team were appologising to us and telling the bloke to p$ss off.. if a 17 year old kid got 'belted' after the game then surely your players would stick up for him?? or do you classify being 'belted' someone shaking your hand too hard or something??
all i was saying it was a ripper game, you took the 4 points, yes our captain teaser gave you a goal but probably saved about 5 throughout the day and just thought the bloke after the game put a sour note on the club which our boys thought were pretty good all day..

We could sit here and argue for days champ. Fact is, he gave him one in the ribs after attempting to offer a shake of the hand. An injured player spectating was the only one to see it and the kid confirmed it afterwards. At the time, no one knew what had happened, hence shutting him up, and even after hearing what had happened in the rooms it hardly seemed worth retaliating over. Kid didn't seemed overly phased by it. Wouldn't think there were too many sour grapes from the game. Just a couple of unnecessary indiscretions. Nothing any of us will lose sleep over.

How big is the Oakleigh vs Old Mentone game this weekend?
Is this going to be a Final's preview?
Will Oakleigh try to "bash up" the younger OM's players?
Will McGee go nuts?
How will OM's stop Oakleigh's midfield?
Who are the key players?
What will the key match ups be?
Where will OM's finish if they lose?
Where will Oakleigh finish if they lose?
Is this game bigger then the Hampton/OM's Game?

Just a few things to think about.

I think the Old Mentonians-Oakleigh game take on a huge meaning-and not just because it's first versus second on the ladder. It could have a impact on the way the finals series could be like.

Here's why:

IF OAKLEIGH WINS:

* Oakleigh could stay where they were, but the big movers might be Hampton Rovers who could go from third to second on percentage should Old Mentonians lose by a big margin, and the Rovers beat Peninsula. Prahran stays where they are (fourth)

IF OLD MENTONIANS WIN:

Panthers get top spot, Oakleigh drops to second, no changes to the bottom two ladder spots in the final four.

How big is the Oakleigh vs Old Mentone game this weekend? Huge.
Is this going to be a Final's preview? Yes.
Will Oakleigh try to "bash up" the younger OM's players? Good luck if they do. Obviously means we're in front.
Will McGee go nuts? Lay off him.
How will OM's stop Oakleigh's midfield? How will they stop ours.
Who are the key players? Snow, Wilton, Biggs, Costello
What will the key match ups be? Snow on Cleary, whoever gets Banksy(6 last week).
Where will OM's finish if they lose? We won't.
Where will Oakleigh finish if they lose? 2nd.
Is this game bigger then the Hampton/OM's Game? Yes. 2 better sides that will be in C next year

Just a few things to think about.

get over yourselves. you will lose the Oakleigh game and i reckon one more before then. enjoy D1 in 2008 Jascave and your Hampton friends.

I reckon any one of the teams so far in the final four at this stage can still win the premiership: Oakleigh, Old Mentonians, Hampton Rovers and Prahran. But, however, it could end up being a race in three. The first week of the finals would tell us a lot about the premiership potential of these teams. Hampton Rovers are the form team at this stage, and may be one of the two teams to be there on grand final day. Oakleigh are a very experienced finals team and could pose problems in this finals series, while Old Mentonians and Prahran have gone hot-and-cold throughout the year so far. I think the D1 grand finalists are to come from these teams: Oakleigh, Old Mentonians, Hampton Rovers.

Here the markets are for this week:
Old Geel ($2.00) v Prahran ($1.85) : Line OG (+3.5) Prahran (-3.5)
Yarra V ($1.95) v OParade ($1.95) : No Line
O'Ment ($2.30) v Oakleigh ($1.60) : O'M's (+12.5) Oakleigh (-12.5)
Penn ($2.45) v Hampton ($1.55): Penn (+14.5) Hampton (-14.5)
BulleenT ($1.04) v Therry ($12.00): BT (-55.5) Therry (+55.5)

Tips:
Old Geel 3 points
Old Parad. 9 points
Oakleigh 40 points
Hampton 55 points
Bull.Temp 88 points

I think the Grand Finalist will come from the teams who finish in the top 4 at the end of the year.

Here the markets are for this week:
Old Geel ($2.00) v Prahran ($1.85) : Line OG (+3.5) Prahran (-3.5)
Yarra V ($1.95) v OParade ($1.95) : No Line
O'Ment ($2.30) v Oakleigh ($1.60) : O'M's (+12.5) Oakleigh (-12.5)
Penn ($2.45) v Hampton ($1.55): Penn (+14.5) Hampton (-14.5)
BulleenT ($1.04) v Therry ($12.00): BT (-55.5) Therry (+55.5)

Tips:
Old Geel 3 points
Old Parad. 9 points
Oakleigh 40 points
Hampton 55 points
Bull.Temp 88 points

Tips:

OGS
YV
Oak
Pen
BT

Here's my tips for Round 15:

Prahran by 32pts
Old Paradians by 23pts
Hampton Rovers by 40pts
Oakleigh by 5pts
Bullen Templestowe by 110 pts (but you never know what can happen in VAFA thanks to the relegation system...Therry might pull off the upset of the year!)

Oggers - 2 goals (Wishful thinking?)
YV - 5 points
Hampton - 35 points
Oakleigh - 15 points
BT - plenty

Not at all. Still a chance to get their season back on track with a win. Will have to beat Hampton the following week to be a chance though.
Surprised many are tipping a close game betweem OP and YV. YV are a far better outfit from what I've seen in recent weeks - especially at home. I think they'll give OP a touch up to the tune of 6+ goals.

Hampton
Geelong - 31 points
Yarra - 39 points
Bulleen - 81 points
Mentone - 5 points. Lose here and the BT game becomes massive in terms of finals.

Rumour is that YV have up to 9 senior players out due to a wedding.

Such a shame that they may let OP off the hook since they are a much better team than the rabble from Bundoora