• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

Would be a toss up for the most disappointing team of the year award?

Oggs or BT? Both have heaps of talent, expected to play finals( in OGGS case actually win it!) and really disappointed when it mattered most.

They both appear stuck in D garde for a long time for mine .

BT flog praran by 10 points a few weeks back then lose to YV?

Just missed for the second year in a row.

Oggs or BT? Both have heaps of talent, expected to play finals( in OGGS case actually win it!) and really disappointed when it mattered most.

Parade. Hello....can we please find a decent coach!

You *******s out at Bundoora offer the king (me) enough money i might come out your way to help that rable you call the raiders out and get this fight back club really in motion.

When is the D1 b&f count? I dont want to double book myself!

I'd have to say OG's were most disappointing, D2. They're the best side we'd played. To think they finished 6th behind BT & Prahran, even to a lesser extent Mentone is very surprising. Oakleigh a close 2nd after Saturday. Far from impressive in the first clash, but definitely proved worthy of a top side on Saturday. Should never have been allowed back in the contest after half time and most certainly shouldn't have been allowed an easy centre clearance with less than a minute to snatch a goal. Spose good sides find a way to win those ones. We'll be better for the experience though.
I believe Mentone are looking to have just about all hands back on deck this week, so should be a crackerjack finals series. They have the wood over Oakleigh too, which makes for an intriguing battle. If a certain individual gets his right whack from the tribunal tonight, Oakleigh will be a man down for the big clash.

Parade. Hello....can we please find a decent coach!

Has to be Parade. Coming down from C to D, you'd expect them to be really competitive and give the flag a real shake.
To do the double drop into D2 is a disaster really.

Oggers were touted as flag favourites by some pre-season. With their talent and experienced players they would have wanted to do better.

BT have gone through a fairly big transition over the last 2 seasons. A lot of senior players have retired (or retiring?) and been replaced by some really good young kids from the Unders. Expect a good showing next season.

Has to be Parade. Coming down from C to D, you'd expect them to be really competitive and give the flag a real shake.
To do the double drop into D2 is a disaster really.

Oggers were touted as flag favourites by some pre-season. With their talent and experienced players they would have wanted to do better.

BT have gone through a fairly big transition over the last 2 seasons. A lot of senior players have retired (or retiring?) and been replaced by some really good young kids from the Unders. Expect a good showing next season.

Parade and Old Geelong would be the disappointments (Although there were rumbling pre season that Parade could be in trouble, so maybe not a total suprise to a few out there). Most thought Yarra would be closer to the four than where they ended up too.

Oakleigh and Mentone the biggest suprises (again, there were rumblings pre season that Mentone could be on the rise, so maybe not a total suprise to some). To a lesser extent, Peninsula were tipped by many to drop straight back down the D2 - so they would be well pleased with consolidating this year.

BT, well I would say they have exceeded expectations with the number of senior players who have left in the last 2 seasons. To beat Mentone, Prahran and Hampton by 10+ goal margins and not make finals is puzzling. By all reports (read the U19 thread) their under 19s are big and very physical (and occassionally quite nasty) so expect a few more inclusions in the coming years. IMO, they (BT) would be disappointed - but have been far from disappointing.

...and Mitcham dropping from Div 1 to Div 3 in the Eastern FL is a massive disappointment too (just for you HBP)...

From expectations prior to the year, maybe so. But what was shown on the park gives a more accurate indication. Hence, I maintain OG's were the disappointment.
Based purely on what was seen in the Hampton Rovers encounters OP & Therry both had a crack, but were way off the mark.
YV were interesting. The side that played at Domeney was a far cry from the Round 3 rabble that appeared disinterested in playing football. No better than the 8th position they finished in though.
Peninsula weren't much worse at home than they were away, but we were a better side 2nd time around. No better than middle of the road.
BT out there I didn't see(which was only 5 goals Conduct), but results have shown they're a far more formidable opponent at home. 2nd time around was a shithouse scrap that probably didn't deserve a winner. 8-10 minutes of footy ended up being enough. Based solely on that game I didn't find them to be any better than a middle of the road side.
Jumped Prahran early in the first encounter and they were thereabouts for the rest of the day. Weren't too far off 2 weeks ago.
Mentone weren't overly flash at home, but again we were ordinary early in the year and they did enough. Not much of an impression made in the return bout, though they've turned over a lot of players throughout the year. 8 wins in a row makes it quite obvious their best side is more than capable.
Oakleigh, weren't much chop at home(neither were we), but that ground made for terrible footy. Seemed to enjoy the space a bit more on the weekend gone. Impressive for 30-40 mins on Saturday, but by no means a class above. Managed to do what all good sides do and find a win when they looked gone.
For mine, neither of the remaining 4 sides have been convincing enough to stake a claim as an outright favourite over the next 3 weeks. Should make for interesting......

Oakleigh have been a standout clearly coming from D2, there was a bit of talk about them early on from memory and they have delivered so far. 1 win from c grade. full credit. - Are they the new Zeppelin?

Mentone were Spruked up preseason and they have done well too after a few midddle of the road d1 years. - Beach Boys with Henry Rollins as the Coach

Prahan have done pretty well too, Remember they were in big trouble at the half way mark of last year when they hadn't won a game. I think it was St leos last year who let them off the hook. Got some good players back. Bevan can play!! - Van Halen (solid!)

Bulleen Temp are the clearly a top 4 side,except for the minor fact that they are not in the top 4. lost a few weird games and belted a few top sides along the way. 5th again. Will be pushing 4 next year. Didn't everyone write them off preseason from memory. - Metallica

Also, what ever happened to Jason Trianides, Ricardo Powell, Layne Beachley and all those other so called recruits for D1clubs this year???

Peninsula and Yarra were never in the hunt and in the end didn't look like getting relegated after both had a couple of important wins. They will look to consolidate next year. The guy in the yellow boots can play!
- Powderfinger

OGGs seemed to disappoint again, a lot of preseason talk about them, but they didn't deliver when it counted. - Very much llike Silverchairs much anticipated flop of an album.

Hampton have been pretty good in the second half - My tip to play Oakleigh in the GF, no 1 sure can play. back to C grade they go
- Kenny Loggins (everybody get footloose)

Parade, - errr seemed to be the whipping boys of this forum. Unfortanately a double drop. Must bounce back next year- Delta Goodrem

Therry - undermanned side this year and weren't up to it. Had a great win late in the year, and they have beer on tap in their rooms - See you back in D1 soon- Springsteen (glory days)

if your driving to the finals at Sandy on Sunday I recommend some Killers, Beach boys and Zeppelin..... give the Rollins Band a wide birth.

will it be

Oakleigh have been a standout clearly coming from D2, there was a bit of talk about them early on from memory and they have delivered so far. 1 win from c grade. full credit. - Are they the new Zeppelin?

Mentone were Spruked up preseason and they have done well too after a few midddle of the road d1 years. - Beach Boys with Henry Rollins as the Coach

Prahan have done pretty well too, Remember they were in big trouble at the half way mark of last year when they hadn't won a game. I think it was St leos last year who let them off the hook. Got some good players back. Bevan can play!! - Van Halen (solid!)

Bulleen Temp are the clearly a top 4 side,except for the minor fact that they are not in the top 4. lost a few weird games and belted a few top sides along the way. 5th again. Will be pushing 4 next year. Didn't everyone write them off preseason from memory. - Metallica

Also, what ever happened to Jason Trianides, Ricardo Powell, Layne Beachley and all those other so called recruits for D1clubs this year???

Peninsula and Yarra were never in the hunt and in the end didn't look like getting relegated after both had a couple of important wins. They will look to consolidate next year. The guy in the yellow boots can play!
- Powderfinger

OGGs seemed to disappoint again, a lot of preseason talk about them, but they didn't deliver when it counted. - Very much llike Silverchairs much anticipated flop of an album.

Hampton have been pretty good in the second half - My tip to play Oakleigh in the GF, no 1 sure can play. back to C grade they go

Parade, - errr seemed to be the whipping boys of this forum. Unfortanately a double drop. Must bounce back next year- Delta Goodrem

Therry - undermanned side this year and weren't up to it. Had a great win late in the year, and they have beer on tap in their rooms - See you back in D1 soon- Springsteen (glory days)

will it be the tunes of the Beach Boys or Led Zeppelin on the way home from Sandy on Sunday?

Me thinks The Zep!!

Mick, it's not like in A section, where two sides in Old Xaverians & Old Brighton have been heads & shoulders above everyone else this year. I think Old Paradians for me are the disappointment of the season, considering all the talk about how good they were going to be at the start of the year. I'm surprised to see Old Geelong not make the finals. I'm still wondering how a team that has one of the top D1 goalkickers in Mark Vickers-Wills and be the only side to beat the Rovers twice not play finals. I reckon this is probably in my memory the hardest finals series to predict a premiership winner mainly because there has been no standout favourites for the D1 premiership. And with both finals on Sunday makes it almost impossible to pick a premiership favourite. In fact, you could say the D1 finals series is like predicting the winner of a very close horse race: a photo finish.

- Powderfinger

will it be the tunes of the Beach Boys or Led Zeppelin on the way home from Sandy on Sunday?

Me thinks The Zep!!

Comprehensive, metaphorical and well written. Bravo Orange Whip, that was great. Fantastic.

You would hope BT make the 4 next year. I agree that they had alot of player turnover and were a different side when Chivers and Florance came back in. Cherbakof and Waters are very good young players for BT.

But with that said is there a crop of 19's coming through? they did finsh with only 6 wins in section 3. So where will this improvement come from?

Good to see Richard Schloeffel in the best after his chest injury and it will be a bonus for the Mentone when his best mate Trent W makes a return. Two blokes who love their footy alot

white from peninisula was reported for striking Fairbanks

Hey Milkman,

Gary had me watch you boys train tonight,who is that Fleming bloke,is it the same one from Sandy ? Why is Basile training ? No truth to Dermott Cleary's rumor that they are both going to play this week,McGee must be getting desperate.........

This reminds me of when I coached the 19's to a flag over MHSOB in '98 at The Gerry Green,they played two blokes from the clouds,it failed.............

It will be interesting to see if these names will be playing this week for Old Mentone.

Wiltshire, Biggs, Cochrane, B. Carroll will they be playing as they have missed the last few games?

Four pretty handy players if they play.

What ever happened to that Kibby kid, he was a gun hasnt played in ages?

You would hope BT make the 4 next year. I agree that they had alot of player turnover and were a different side when Chivers and Florance came back in. Cherbakof and Waters are very good young players for BT.

But with that said is there a crop of 19's coming through? they did finsh with only 6 wins in section 3. So where will this improvement come from?

Think you will find there were 3 or 4 u19s regularly playing seniors this year already plus there are 2 or 3 standouts still in the side ready to push through. Yes they were physical - as a district club should be. Club also has a huge junior club with 2 x under17s sides. The trick (as always) will be to keep the guys who for one reason or another don't get a regular gig with Oakleigh Chargers.

Club18 side also made the prelim (with an average age of about 20 years) and can tell you from first hand experience there were a couple who should have been playing seniors but for the agereement reached at the start of the year that they would be left alone. There was one kid there who was a younger Greg Chivers (no exaggeration) who will go close to the comp B&F.yes there may be some retirements but still many good things ahead. Now if only the council would get to work on the surface of the oval......

Good luck to the sides still alive - you know its finals time when the weather turns good! I am jealous of all of you...

It will be interesting to see if these names will be playing this week for Old Mentone.

Wiltshire, Biggs, Cochrane, B. Carroll will they be playing as they have missed the last few games?

Four pretty handy players if they play.

What ever happened to that Kibby kid, he was a gun hasnt played in ages?

They had 58 on the track last night Kibby trained,when they split,the senior squad had 32 players,the reserves 26,all players were on the track who have played this year except Cleve who played against us the first time at Keysborough.

They use tackle bags,ruck bags heavily,alot of set play work,the only bloke in the senior squad who I don't think will play in the seniors was Speers who played against us in the reserves at the David St..........

I have never seen a white board on wheels in the middle of the ground during training,not a bad idea by McGee.............

thank god someone got this thred back on track. Ugly was losing interest.

2007 will end up something like this:

Prahran 14/4 156.23%
BT 14/4 156.22%
hampton 12/6 122.33
oakleigh 10/8 111.21
Old ment 10/8 111.20 (missed finals by .01%)
Old Geelong 9/9
Peninsula 6/12
Therry 6/12
parade 3/13 and 2 draws
yarra 0/16 and 2 draws

Reasons - Love the Bullants and things shoud be ok there after a reasonable year last season (including beating all teams).
prahran, bloody lucky not to drop a grade WILL restock their list and with some handy players due back from OS will make for a powerful team. (and as much as I hate to admit it - a decent group of blokes both on and off the field)
hampton - havent seen since 2001 when they smashed us on the way to winning the C grade flag - 6 years is not enough time to have passed for them not to be a force in D1
Oakliegh - know nothing - but premier team generally has some momentum (Rupo)
Old mentone - get feel - will depend on VFL blokes. could make a run
Old Geelong - 50/50 here. could dominate or could struggle. depends on the snow
Peninsula - know nothing
Therry - if they win the close ones this year they will be in the ball game. seem to drop off a lot beyond best dozen of so
parade - no nothing - but hated them when I played against them in the early '90's in B grage- so why change now. (Bundy would be a very ordinary bloke to depart under these circumstances)
Yarra - rely very heavily on too few. depth a huge problem that I can't see being rectified. hope I am proved wrong here.

Not a bad call on the 20th January. Had the final 4 in top five & the sides regulated in the botom 3.
Well done Ugly

Ugky wasn't far off with the win-loss ratio of the teams either, when you think about it. To predict the top 5 clubs (not in order of where they actually finished) and the bottom 3 clubs (proved correct) is very good, considering it was on 20th January.

They had 58 on the track last night Kibby trained,when they split,the senior squad had 32 players,the reserves 26,all players were on the track who have played this year except Cleve who played against us the first time at Keysborough.

They use tackle bags,ruck bags heavily,alot of set play work,the only bloke in the senior squad who I don't think will play in the seniors was Speers who played against us in the reserves at the David St..........

I have never seen a white board on wheels in the middle of the ground during training,not a bad idea by McGee.............

Cleeve plays for Chelsea. That was his one and only game for OM's .

i know its a big call early, but BT will be a much better side next year.. With the return of some boys from other clubs..
however with the oakleigh chargers boys from this year that will not be going to VFL clubs will help the ranks.. Also a bunch of oakleigh boys from last year may head down..and having florence all year will eb handy as well.. Also heard on the grape vine that r.bain is getting fit and will be ready to play.. but that was suppose to happen this year.. All in all the future is looking ok at BT land.. very dissapointing this year with the Darwin experiment going wrong and players that were coming down from NT fell through.. But you never know, they may be tee'd up for next year :cool: i guess time will tell... good luck to all in the finals!!!

Oakleigh are the team to beat.. no offence to any of the other teams competing but i think that both times we played Oakleigh it seemed like they were even in all areas of the ground.. and hard at the footy which gives a lot more in the finals race...

P.s Ugly will be playing next year.. signed on the dotted lines already i heard.. The snag with onions on a thursday night has lured him in apparently..

i know its a big call early, but BT will be a much better side next year.. With the return of some boys from other clubs..
however with the oakleigh chargers boys from this year that will not be going to VFL clubs will help the ranks.. Also a bunch of oakleigh boys from last year may head down..and having florence all year will eb handy as well.. Also heard on the grape vine that r.bain is getting fit and will be ready to play.. but that was suppose to happen this year.. All in all the future is looking ok at BT land.. very dissapointing this year with the Darwin experiment going wrong and players that were coming down from NT fell through.. But you never know, they may be tee'd up for next year :cool: i guess time will tell... good luck to all in the finals!!!

Oakleigh are the team to beat.. no offence to any of the other teams competing but i think that both times we played Oakleigh it seemed like they were even in all areas of the ground.. and hard at the footy which gives a lot more in the finals race...

P.s Ugly will be playing next year.. signed on the dotted lines already i heard.. The snag with onions on a thursday night has lured him in apparently..

Firstly who gives a f@ck about BT. They couldn't make the four in D1 so I'm guessing they aren't much chop. Yes they did win a few games towards the end but the 4 was already decided before there run of wins so you can't read into there wins. BT will be good next year, so how many players have they recruited or lost, dumbest thing I read all year.

Secondly Oakliegh are team to beat. Sorry how many times did they OM this year? Zero I think the answer will be three for mentone. Also a shame they one of there better backman is having a two week holiday (lose to mentone - win the next he plays GF- win against mentone - no GF) such a shame, I heard it was a cheap pussy punch anyway. Mentone will shit all over Oakliegh, I've heard that they have permission to train at Barker oval.

Reynolds... What can I say. The softest CHF in the comp. I can't recall him doing anthing productive when it has been crunch time. Great player to have when 10 goals up though. (it would be good to him run in a straight line through a contest.)

ps,

we love Mcgee at panther land

winners piss all the way

PPS. HAMPTON ARE TOSSERS

I hope Parade have learnt their lesson about appointing coaches.

Going for an untried, green coach this year was a disaster and I think they should revert back to experienced Parade people, like their previous coach who did a great job.