VAFA forum

The Big Pineapple said:
Another huge day in the Nursery yesterday with many VAFA rumours floating around again...

Jono Bixon was in fine form as was Woodrow and the Big Cat...

Good to see the big cat is in fine form on his weekends back from Sydney

Friars_kid said:
Good to see the big cat is in fine form on his weekends back from Sydney

The Big Cat, The OC, Knight Rider and the Big Pineapple will be having a VAFA players AGM (AKA massive drinking session) in Sydney on Saturday 26th November with the venue yet to be decided.

Other VAFA representatives more than welcome to attend.

The Big Pineapple said:
The Big Cat, The OC, Knight Rider and the Big Pineapple will be having a VAFA players AGM (AKA massive drinking session) in Sydney on Saturday 26th November with the venue yet to be decided.

Other VAFA representatives more than welcome to attend.

Sounds like an intra club love in, Trinity, Collegians, Caulfield and OEG. Bit surprised Benny MOF was not invited to get a rep from the Coastal Clubs to round it all out. Looking forward to seeing the Agenda.

I attended the meeting up there at Easter, very productive for all who attended.

Alphonse said:
Sounds like an intra club love in, Trinity, Collegians, Caulfield and OEG. Bit surprised Benny MOF was not invited to get a rep from the Coastal Clubs to round it all out. Looking forward to seeing the Agenda.

I attended the meeting up there at Easter, very productive for all who attended.

Speaking of Caulfield, rumours abound that Mark Chaffey will be "lining up" there next year.

Can you confirm Knight Rider....?

Alphonse said:

I've seen a draft of the Agenda from the Big Cat, and the first point of business is which of those present will be joining him at Bulleen in season 2006. I heard Friars Kid has also been invited, but may be on the Gold Coast at Schoolies instead.

:p

Alphonse said:

A sub-commitee will be meeting at the Bratwurst & Hotdog Hotel in Barwon Heads late December/early January if you are keen to attend Alphonse. No papparazzi this time though.

Slitherin Snake has put his hand up to host this event.

Scott MacFlaherty has been invited but not sure if he will attend.

Benny MOF said:
Speaking of Caulfield, rumours abound that Mark Chaffey will be "lining up" there next year.

Can you confirm Knight Rider....?

Sorry B MOF but I've been out of the loop for a few weeks. I had the footy trip a few weeks back, and then had a few benders with my mate Chris Judd at the Cup Carnival.

It was great to get him out and about without Bec tagging along!

I'll check the rumour and get back to you.

Knight Rider said:
Sorry B MOF but I've been out of the loop for a few weeks. I had the footy trip a few weeks back, and then had a few benders with my mate Chris Judd at the Cup Carnival.

It was great to get him out and about without Bec tagging along!

I'll check the rumour and get back to you.

Scribe 2.

Do you know about Chaffey at Caulfield?

Benny MOF said:
Scribe 2.

Do you know about Chaffey at Caulfield?

Chaffey?
Chaffey!?!?!

I'd have thought there was a better chance of Nick Daffy, Michael Laffy or maybe even Tom Hafey playing with the Fields in '06.

At least they're all ex-Tigers, rather than Chaffey - who's actually still contracted for 2006.

The Big Pineapple said:
A sub-commitee will be meeting at the Bratwurst & Hotdog Hotel in Barwon Heads late December/early January if you are keen to attend Alphonse. No papparazzi this time though.

I imagine Alphonse will be there with bells on. As we all know he is a great advocate of the Sausage Fest!

As a fellow schoolmate of Mark Chaffey, I can say that yes, he is looking to play at the Old Boys at some stage, possibly with fellow CGS student and Richmond player Andy Kellaway. Both have good mates who still play there.

However, as Scribe mentioned, combining B Grade Amateur and AFL duties is a bit difficult these days.

Scribe2 said:
As a fellow schoolmate of Mark Chaffey, I can say that yes, he is looking to play at the Old Boys at some stage, possibly with fellow CGS student and Richmond player Andy Kellaway. Both have good mates who still play there.

However, as Scribe mentioned, combining B Grade Amateur and AFL duties is a bit difficult these days.

My sources tell me that he's retired from the AFL, no joke.

News just to hand, 2005 StBernard's reserves coach Darren Handley to be announced Old Essendon coach within minutes....

Old Essendon Appoint New Coach

Old Essendon Amateur Football Club are pleased to announce the appointment of Darren Handley as the senior coach for the season 2006.

Darren has vast experience having played at AFL level under both Leigh Matthews and David Parkin at Collingwood and Fitzroy respectively. He has played at VFL level for Box Hill and coached St Bernard’s Reserves to a premiership.

The Club welcomes Darren on board and we look forward to a successful 2006 season after competing in finals in 2005.

Practice matches are set against Old Ivanhoe March 25, MHSOB April 1 and Whitefriars April 18. Training dates will be advised shortly.

The Club thanks David Calthorpe for his efforts in 2005 and wish him success with his roles at both the Essendon Football Club and Bendigo Bombers.

Benny MOF said:
Once again, Benny MOF is on the pulse in all things VAFA. Scribe 2, I really should have your job.

This again reverts back to a previous discussion in which we asked for a weekly column in the Amateur Footballer.

I hope it can take place!

Knight Rider said:
This again reverts back to a previous discussion in which we asked for a weekly column in the Amateur Footballer.

I hope it can take place!

The one difficulty with a Pulse/Eye type column is that the AF goes to the printers on Tuesday each week, so this column will have to be compiled on a Monday (5 days ) before it hits the clubs.

Having said that, the FTLOG centrespread could be vamped up with sufficient input from those who have already indicated (on this forum) a willingness to contribute.

I agree, I hope it takes place as well - but it will only be as good as we make it ourselves.

On another matter - Darren Handley's appointment at Old Essendon will bring plenty to Keilor Hill. He's a pretty aggressive type who is known for generating some old-fashioned fire & brimstone both behind close doors and from the sidelines. I certainly copped my fair share of sideline abuse from him in the last few years (must've been doing something right I guess!! :thumbsu: )

He certainly indicated in his interview with us he was capable of attracting several St Bernies players away from West Essendon - but that remains to be seen I guess. We thought it could be disruptive, but who knows?

I think the inaugural coach of NOBSPC, Tim Killworth is a superior appointment to Handley. He has won two senior Premierships in the VAFA and presents better than Handley both on paper and in my limited dealings with both.

Speaking NOBSPC don’t be surprised to see them bounce back to B Section quickly, there is a real Buzz at the Gillon and the St Pats connection is bringing many players. There may even be a couple of BIG NAMES signing to join the new club.

While it is very early days this combination could one day be in the upper echelons of the VAFA, with St Pats potentially proving a powerful feed. I am predicting a Premiership in our debut year.

Scribe said:
The one difficulty with a Pulse/Eye type column is that the AF goes to the printers on Tuesday each week, so this column will have to be compiled on a Monday (5 days ) before it hits the clubs.

Having said that, the FTLOG centrespread could be vamped up with sufficient input from those who have already indicated (on this forum) a willingness to contribute.

I agree, I hope it takes place as well - but it will only be as good as we make it ourselves.

How should we express our interest?

Benny MOF said:
How should we express our interest?

Brett Connell used to ask for any FTLOG contributions via e-mail (social notes, club happenings, etc.) during the previous week.

Not sure if the same process would apply to a Pulse/Eye type column - depends on whether it's written by someone at HQ, or compiled by a separate scribe.

I'll raise the concept tomorrow and get back to you with an further progress.

Alphonse said:
I think the inaugural coach of NOBSPC, Tim Killworth is a superior appointment to Handley. He has won two senior Premierships in the VAFA and presents better than Handley both on paper and in my limited dealings with both.

Speaking NOBSPC don’t be surprised to see them bounce back to B Section quickly, there is a real Buzz at the Gillon and the St Pats connection is bringing many players. There may even be a couple of BIG NAMES signing to join the new club.

While it is very early days this combination could one day be in the upper echelons of the VAFA, with St Pats potentially proving a powerful feed. I am predicting a Premiership in our debut year.

Well Alphonse my old friend, if NOBSPC is as strong as you claim it looks like you might have to set your sights on been the deputy vice skipper of the inaugural NOBSPC Club 18. That is if you are not too busy with all your horse racing syndicates.

I like NOBS. Used to go there as a kid to watch my brother play and listen to Dennis Fogerty's speeches. One day he made this comment about how much he hates St Bernard's (can't be repeated) that floored the assembled throng.

There was one guy in particular whose name I won't mention. He came to my brother's 21st and had a red hot crack at my sister (who was about 15) saying things like "do you know how many kicks in had in the Grand Final?

Never forget NOBS losing the '91 GF. They were so easily the best team that year and came storming home to just miss out. Still reckon that's the best amateur team i've ever seen.

Hope things can pick up for club