Vale LIDGE

Actually brother of.

Thanks Pharro

Abi has asked me to thank all for the kind words. She is blown away by the response as I have been. Our relatives in Yarrawonga who are keen Nth Members are now into big footy and had honestly never heard of it.

The Lidge & Nth relationship began when our uncle played for the under 19's in the seventies, this same uncle dismiised Desmond Haynes twice in cricket. Certainly a role model for us as youngsters.

I have a plethora of stories to pass on in time which I look forward to.
Abi and her 4 kids and my family will be there Sunday. Please everyone get there and honour Shane with black armbands and a few beers.

Sticks

Thanks Pharro

Abi has asked me to thank all for the kind words. She is blown away by the response as I have been. Our relatives in Yarrawonga who are keen Nth Members are now into big footy and had honestly never heard of it.

The Lidge & Nth relationship began when our uncle played for the under 19's in the seventies, this same uncle dismiised Desmond Haynes twice in cricket. Certainly a role model for us as youngsters.

Abi and her 4 kids and my family will be there Sunday. Please everyone get there and honour Shane with black armbands and a few beers.

Sticks

My 13 yo son and I will be honoured to pay tribute to Lidge by wearing black armbands. I just informed him of what Lidge had done for our great club and how he was a key element in North Melb in staying. He now considers Lidge a legend and is sad of his passing.

I can't pretend to have known Lidge at all well (even in Bigfooty terms) - I haven't posted much on the footy boards over the past couple of years. However, we Swans fans lost one of our own a few weeks after winning the premiership in 2005 - sadly, also far too young. This news has brought back to me some of the mixed up feelings - of grief for a friend lost and regret that I didn't know him better than I did.

It can be a devastating loss, especially when one reflects that through this online medium, we can feel that we spend so much time with one another without any of the personal encounters and shared moments that are some of the most precious rewards of friendship. We are, in essence, a collection of strangers pulled together by our shared passions yet kept distant from each other by the very same tool that we used to find each other in the first place. But we on this website are no less a community than the local school or Rotary group, and though many on this board never would have met Lidge or even known his proper name, his loss is no less felt. We can only be thankful that, when these things happen, our community has developed enough that we know what has happened and are able to mourn.

Win or lose this week, I will be thinking of you all at the game. Cheers, and RIP Lidge.
Gee that is a quality post. I cannot add anything further.

Thanks Lidge for everything you did for us during our darkest days. I reckon that Roosistence night will live in my memory forever.

Thanks Pharro

Sticks

Don't worry mate, if you need anyone that you need to rely on , this crew here will do the job.:thumbsu:

Whoa, just realised my Super Coach team is due to play Lidge's team this week.

Don't know whether to smile or cry. :(

I'm honestly considering putting in my EMG's that won't play, so the great man will win.
Thats not what lidge would want you to do.

Sitting here next day, still feeling hollow and uninterested in any thread but this one (which would probably not please Lidge), I'd just like to say that I'm thinking of Lidge's really close friends on here and the massive loss they must be feeling. His Roo-sistence brothers and sister-in-arms, such as Kangalicious, Royal Blue, NorthBhoy, pharro and The Other Dean.

Thinking of you, guys.

Thanks Mr R and just want to acknowledge the feelings of some of our brothers and sisters interstate whose best connection with the club was Lidge.

Thanks Pharro

Sticks

And I hope you will also, in time, regale us with the story behind your nick - the legendary lothario Sticks Mckonky!!! :D Maybe after a few more beers. :D:D:D

Please everyone get there and honour Shane with black armbands and a few beers.

Sticks

As you may have gathered reading this thread a fair few of us are from outside Melbourne so rest assured that on Sunday arvo, right across this great brown land of oz there will be North fans glued to the tele, radio and/or computer cheering our beloved club & honouring Shane.

Hope you all gain strength and comfort from Sunday.

Vale Lidge.

I just explained to my 7 year old son what had happened and how instrumental Shane was in our beloved Kanga's staying in Melbourne.

He was visibly upset, 2 minutes later with tears in his eyes, he said "who will make sure North Melbourne is ok now?"

I know he will watch over everything up there in the sky and I know everyone will keep his spirit in the matter alive.

Again, RIP Lidge.

I just explained to my 7 year old son what had happened and how instrumental Shane was in our beloved Kanga's staying in Melbourne.

He was visibly upset, 2 minutes later with tears in his eyes, he said "who will make sure North Melbourne is ok now?"

I know he will watch over everything up there in the sky and I know everyone will keep his spirit in the matter alive.

Again, RIP Lidge.

Thats sad and good to hear at the same time.

We will all make sure North Melbourne is ok.

Like many I never met Lidge in person but feel as though I knew him from reading his posts over many years. He was just quality in his posts, one of the few you would read word for word.

Most of the posters on here like myself are run of the mill, think we know but don't, their are the young nutters like Tashibatts and Giantroo, their are those that know their footy, who you learn from, like Northboy, Carlos (whose posts I miss), Moti, etc, those who post when we loose to vent their spleen, those who support the club despite whatever happens and can never say a bad word about anyone.

And then their was Lidge, just quality, inciteful not only on football but the politics, the goings on, if you wanted to know what was actually happening at the club, his posts would tell you, when all the stuff was going on last year, you'd listen to the radio on the way home from work or read the papers and think it was all over, but log on here, read Lidges posts and it was going from utter despair to hope, that someone had the inititive and the courage to do something and give the rest of us hope.

It makes one realise that Lidge wasn't just someone who posts on a forum but was Shane, a bloke with a wife and young family. And that is just extremely sad what has happened.

To his wife,family and children, I offer my sincerest sympathy & best wishes at this tragic time.

Thanks Mr R and just want to acknowledge the feelings of some of our brothers and sisters interstate whose best connection with the club was Lidge.

Pharro its amazing, being in Adelaide, and not getting much information on North Melbourne, Bigfooty, and in particular people like yourself and Lidge are invaluable in getting information on our club. During the tough times of the summer, when our clubs survival was on a knifes edge, i would stay up till around midnight and wait for lidge to post the news articles of the next day about our club.

As many people have mentioned, my heart goes out to his family, and to those that were really close to him from bigfooty. He will be missed by many.

Thanks Pharro

Sticks

We all look forward to reading some of the story's that you have mate.:thumbsu:

I hope this thread is in some small part a comforting factor for you & the rest of the Lidgerwood family, in this horrible time of loss.

Also don't worry mate, we will all be there for this weeks game honoring Shane, you can bet your bottom dollar on it.

Vale LIDGE