Opinion Vent & Offtopic

When it comes to GCFC Andrew Hamilton is the only journalist worth listening to.
Mike Whiting isn't bad.
Probably an unpopular opinion because he does waffle on a bit but I've always thought Dermie has been realistic and fair when calling our games. Seems like the only caller that can be bothered learning our players and actually does his research around injuries and so on before the game

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Mike Whiting isn't bad.
Probably an unpopular opinion because he does waffle on a bit but I've always thought Dermie has been realistic and fair when calling our games. Seems like the only caller that can be bothered learning our players and actually does his research around injuries and so on before the game

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
I hate to agree with you because dermie is such a knob to listen to, but he does seem to have a better understanding of what we're doing, alastair lynch also

Yeah if Derm and Lynch are commentating our games, at least I feel comfortable they'll get our players names right.
Derm gets a lot of criticism, but he's a colour commentator and it isn't his job to objectively lead the broadcast. He was one of my favourite players pre-Bears, and Lynch was a player I closely followed and admired through his career. Hard to fault either and I agree that they are pretty impartial during Suns calls. Derm always corrects his colleagues when they call the wrong name or screw up the pronunciation - it might seem to be nitpicking but you want to hear players' names called properly.

I don't think its nitpicking, this is their job, they draw a paycheck for knowing their shit. they should know it.

I think that's part of why a lot of people think Derm's a flog. He does come across a bit superior and has strong opinions, but I reckon he's entitled to be forthright because he obviously knows a lot more about the game than half the morons they have on the telecast. I'd go as far as to say that he's not just across the Suns but actually exhibits the most insight into what Dew's gameplan is and how the new style is emerging. Lethal is a great commentator in the big games, but the palaver he's been going on and on about lately visa vis the Suns going to Tasmania isn't winning him any fans. Don't mind good old Sandy Roberts in full stride either.

Lethal is a great commentator in the big games, but the palaver he's been going on and on about lately visa vis the Suns going to Tasmania isn't winning him any fans.

Malthouse also suggesting we fold and become the Tasmania Suns is a classic. No disrespect to Tasmanians but when did they last see the sun???
Some bozo in the Herald Sun said that Florini would be pushing for selection this week... all guess work and clickbait to stir up the Vic fans.

Malthouse also suggesting we fold and become the Tasmania Suns is a classic. No disrespect to Tasmanians but when did they last see the sun???
Some bozo in the Herald Sun said that Florini would be pushing for selection this week... all guess work and clickbait to stir up the Vic fans.
Last time I visited Tassie, I chatted to a lot of locals in Hobart about having an AFL team. Not one person was for it because they knew there weren't enough people living there to support a full time team. All they really wanted was to have a regular team like Launceston have with the Hawks.

It's lack of Vitamin D. I'm telling you it turns you loopy. Last week in my 48 hour trip to Melbourne l didn't see one person who looked remotely happy.

Hell yeah it does. I made the move from the city to country victory a few years ago and it was the best desicion of my life. Open skies and actual backyards make a huge difference

I’m basically in Melbourne pretty much every year for the two weeks of the Oz Open Tennis. Admittedly it’s a time where I’m staying in a Hotel and spending my time either at the tennis or enjoying restaurants and bars and Mrs Bods is in a good mood 24/7.
It must have given me a really warped view of the day to day reality of the joint.

I’m basically in Melbourne pretty much every year for the two weeks of the Oz Open Tennis. Admittedly it’s a time where I’m staying in a Hotel and spending my time either at the tennis or enjoying restaurants and bars and Mrs Bods is in a good mood 24/7.
It must have given me a really warped view of the day to day reality of the joint.
It's a rat race. I lived in South Melbourne and then St Kilda and traveled in to the city for work every day. I've since moved out to Bendigo and took a lot less stressful job and have never looked back

Ehh I liked living in Melbourne for 2 years. I lived in Brusnwick and commuted out to Keilor, so I never really had to get into the city.

Melbourne > Sydney everyday of the week IMO.
As someone that lives in Shitney and grew up in Melbourne I have to agree with you. Currently on the GC for work and can’t wait to get back here full time where the Sun shines, the traffic moves and eye candy warms the soul

Mods where are you? It's posts like this that blah, blah, blah. C'mon mate tell me you miss it.

Opinion Vent & Offtopic