Opinion Vent & Offtopic

Davies definitely has the desire. Doesn't have the athleticism of Owens
Just not sure what Alex is REALLY good at-other than being a good bloke-not that that's not important
Not quick, not good overhead, not particularly evasive,shankerama kick
What am I missing
At least we know Mac Andrew will be a player one day-but Alex.....hmmmmmmm

Just not sure what Alex is REALLY good at-other than being a good bloke-not that that's not important
What am I missing
He is massive for a kid his age. Jacked.

Pretty good bomb for goal running outside of 50 I guess.

But yeah, we just have too many inside players for him to be a walk up start at this stage.

What am I missing
He's a solid player, can play on the cripps type (or will be there in a year or 2) I think he's a potential B grader, good but not great at most things, plays a disciplined role. I'm still excited to see what he can do.

What am I missing
I actually think he has a good short burst of speed. He just hasn’t learned how to use it properly and the coaches for some bizarre reason keep encouraging him to take on and try to break tacklers?

Davies is very much an inside bull who hasn’t had the chance to show off with Rowell going strong in there.

Like others have said, needs to learn when to get his hands clear and give off the handball, and when to take the tackler on, but it’s hard to say exactly how good he is without proper exposure. Definitely above VFL level as a ball winner and tackler though.

we've heard the coaches telling Davies that he is the biggest midfielder out there and he needs to play like it.
I think that's why he tries to break tackles on occasion.
I don't mind it.

Davies is big but might need a couple of years to have the strength to match the size, I'd look at Langford and Laverde as examples, 2 players we were rumoured to be interested in at the draft

Last week our midfield rotations of Rowell, Anderson, Miller got bashed up by fans and media.

Freo had an article released on Afl.com.au about having the worst midfield in the comp which has Darcy (AA Form), Serong (Gun), Brayshaw, Brodie, O'Meara.

A nothing post but just wanna know why we are always getting bashed up by the media? Freo have beaten an injury prone eagles who only fell off a cliff in the last quarter due to no bench, and us who shat the bed with no Witts. They play Brisbane at the GABBA this weekend...

Don't hear a word about Freo about anything at all, even tho they been in the comp since 1995, 0 flags, made finals last year and basically equal rock bottom 6 rounds later. Sold the farm for Jackson and the depth players they let go are doing well at their new club.

Just annoying, even when we won this weekend Jordan Lewis is questioning Ben King's drive, "Does he want to win flags, make money or stay loyal to his mates" Bloke has just kicked 5.0 in his 6th game back from an ACL reconstruction and he's copping this shit? Now Collingwood fans are dreaming of Daicos & King because Jay Clark had a dream about it and trying to manifest it. Tom Browne has nfi and reported there may or may not be a few clubs interested in Ben King. No shit mate, who wouldn't be interested in King, but who wants to cough up 3 first rounders and $800k ?

Screen Shot 2023-04-26 at 11.32.57 am.png Screen Shot 2023-04-26 at 11.33.18 am.png

At least if garbage Tasmania gets their team, people can't tell us to relocate to Tasmania :thumbsu:
How long will it take until people start suggesting we should move to Darwin?

Bittersweet for North Melbourne though. They won't be told to move to Tasmania anymore and that's a positive but they will lose their NGA access to Tassie draft prospects as well as money they receive to play home games in Hobart. Can they survive long term without being propped up by the Tasmanian government? They can't play games in Canberra (GWS), can't play games in Darwin (GC), can't play games in Ballarat (WB), can't play games in Alice Springs (MD)... where else can they play games for extra cash?

Aubrey.

Feels a bit weird to see someone else cop it other than us. I know Eddie added one line about us but the conversation was squarely aimed at Tasmania and why a team there can't work. I'm so used to hearing these types of lines being rolled out about us that it's strange hearing to hear it not directed at us. Perhaps we're going to cop less heat going forward because the journos now have a new shiny non-Victorian team to attack for every little move they make.

I would expect the support for a Tasmanian team would grow much faster than our experience but we have a much greater growth potential. They will have larger crowds and a brand new stadium in a primo location. Tassie is beautiful, it's a really exciting team, I'll be keen as to get down for a gc v tassie game.

Yes they’ll get 20k and people will point and say look they’re more successful than gc/gws whilst completely failing to grasp the concept of expansion.

I wonder what Stoody is up to…

Okay so firstly... Who?

At least if garbage Tasmania gets their team, people can't tell us to relocate to Tasmania :thumbsu:

Assume he meant Albury
I'm grouping all these together because as someone who's actually spent a few weeks in most of these locations, I do have a bit of insight and comparisons to make in regards to these markets that get a game or two a year.

I will say, As much as I'd kill to be free of the "herr durr move snus to tassie!!" From the Facey flogs, it would just be replaced with "herr durr fold the franchise" :rolleyes:

Hobart - Was nice in March, Expecting it to be bitterly fridgid when I go back in June and August, Can't imagine being a kid from anywhere else and getting drafted down there. Plenty for the geriatics but next to nothing to do for the youth.

Darwin - Comes with it's own set of unique issues, I'm not remotely qualified to speak on them but it would have to be very well set up by the AFL to give the blokes that get drafted up there enough support for it to work and considering how sideways we saw it go with our first crop I have my doubts, Not to mention the fking humidity is disgusting year round... Would certainly be a hell of home ground advantage.

Albury - I didn't mind Albury, It was alright; but felt to me like pretty much a big country town. I have my doubts of if the local economy could prop up something like an AFL team (Same could be said for Darwin but even more so here) It definitely feels like this is a location for a one off game or two but couldn't be big enough for a full time team. Maybe if North was alreay based there I could see an agument to keep it but not to actually move it there.

Ballarat/Bendigo - Haven't been to the former, Spent lots of time in the latter and can proably paint them with the same brush as two more "big country towns" that as good for a one off but never a full time team.

Alice Springs - Actually never been but far too remote and as far as I've seen online actually having trouble holding onto the one off games they've got

Canberra - Be hard to boot GWS out of the Captial now that they've got a foothold, I think the current situation for GWS splitting time between Sydney and Canberra works for what they're going for. Definitely one of the better options for having a full time team but again, Tis now Giants country.

Which leaves one option that hasn't been floated yet and it'll sound a bit bias and crazy but hear me out

Wollongong - 90mins out of Sydney, So close enough without being balls deep in Swans/Giants territory. Population similar to Geelong and outside of Newcastle/Central Coast is the biggest population in the country that doesn't get a game. The biggest selling point outside of it being "Gold Coast of the South" is that while Newcastle/Central Coast has an NRL and two A-League teams in addition to banging on the door for the NRL to bring back the Bears.

Wollongong currently has half an NRL team - With St. George trying to get rid of Illawarra ties behind the scenes. It's a region rich in sporting history and if I was North i'd be wanting to get games into "The Gong" before Sydney or GWS swallow it up.

Because the way I see it - If the Dragons do end up absconding full time to Sydney, You've got prime real estate on Sydney's doorstep that'll only have an NBL side and the feeble hope that the A-League might finally let the Wolves in to really compete with for hearts that would have just been shattered with St. George taking the Dragons away.

Long term could actually end up flipping the entire region from Rugby to Footy.

Keeping in mind this is mostly anecdotal evidence but surveying the lay of the land as it currently stands. If North wants to survive losing Tassie, They need to swallow their pride and head to the region that's home to "Kangaroo Valley"

This unit from last year…

403jdu.jpg

Opinion Vent & Offtopic