VFL 2025

I predict the dolphins will play the borough Friday night. Willy to play the bees at Point Gellibrand on Friday Arvo. To have 4 standalones on that day should draw good crowds. Not everyone is interested in the magpies v bombers.
I agree with that and hopefully it will be long term especially when the new VFA re starts again as the AFL will eventually start up AFL reserves down the track and sell out the old VFA clubs.
The only club that I feel sorry for will be Southport guess they go back to the QAFL.

I agree with that and hopefully it will be long term especially when the new VFA re starts again as the AFL will eventually start up AFL reserves down the track and sell out the old VFA clubs.
The only club that I feel sorry for will be Southport guess they go back to the QAFL.
How do you know the new VFA will start again?

I predict the dolphins will play the borough Friday night. Willy to play the bees at Point Gellibrand on Friday Arvo. To have 4 standalones on that day should draw good crowds. Not everyone is interested in the magpies v bombers.
Port are playing at Box Hill

I've banged on about this, if the AFL clubs outside Victoria want a reserves comp then the 8 AFL clubs, Tassie and Southport should be the reserves and the Vic clubs should just play VFL

My prediction is Frankston hosting Bullants on Anzac Eve (Thursday night).

That's why it's not happening

Exactly.
If they were going to fund one competition out of a national reserves and a VFL (and that is what it would come down to as they wouldn't fund both), then it will be the national reserves every time.
Where would that leave the standalone clubs? As the AFL has proven with country football over the last decade, they wouldn't give a toss what happened as long as the Under 18 junior pathways are still there for the draft.

Exactly.
If they were going to fund one competition out of a national reserves and a VFL (and that is what it would come down to as they wouldn't fund both), then it will be the national reserves every time.
Where would that leave the standalone clubs? As the AFL has proven with country football over the last decade, they wouldn't give a toss what happened as long as the Under 18 junior pathways are still there for the draft.
The AFL clubs would love it if they all stand alone clubs just became local clubs

They didn't lose sleep over Aspley deciding to go back to the QAFL.

Nor were they too concerned either when North Ballarat decided to leave the VFL too, but that was also under AFL Vics watch.

The AFL clubs would love it if they all stand alone clubs just became local clubs

They didn't lose sleep over Aspley deciding to go back to the QAFL.

Nor were they too concerned either when North Ballarat decided to leave the VFL too, but that was also under AFL Vics watch.
In that case why even admit Aspley and Southport into the VFL? Was there some legal agreement from the NEAFL that got carried over?

They applied and were accepted, just like every other club who became part of the competition.

Sydney Uni, Canberra and Redland all either decided not to apply or did not have the funds to meet the criteria.

There's no world where there isn't a 2nd tier comp in Victoria. The VFL by far is the 2nd largest producer of talent in the country (behind the 18s pathway)

My gut feeling is that somewhere down the track the AFL will do one of two things:

1. National reserves competition which would effectively be the current VFL with the standalone clubs swapped out for the four AFL clubs not currently in the comp, and have that be the main method of developing talent beyond the u19s. Biggest hurdle toward this would be the cost of flying reserves teams all over the country, plus the burden it'll place on semi-professional footballers. But that's already the reality of the VFL.

2. Keep the status quo and leave the standalone clubs to fend for themselves. If a club folds then the AFL will shrug and say "well they're clearly no value to the competition, so no big loss." The big hurdle I see with this move is that the SA and WA clubs are going to periodically make a fuss over not being on the same playing field as the eastern clubs when it comes to player development, but it's probably the lower cost option compared to a national reserves league.

My gut feeling is that somewhere down the track the AFL will do one of two things:

1. National reserves competition which would effectively be the current VFL with the standalone clubs swapped out for the four AFL clubs not currently in the comp, and have that be the main method of developing talent beyond the u19s. Biggest hurdle toward this would be the cost of flying reserves teams all over the country, plus the burden it'll place on semi-professional footballers. But that's already the reality of the VFL.

2. Keep the status quo and leave the standalone clubs to fend for themselves. If a club folds then the AFL will shrug and say "well they're clearly no value to the competition, so no big loss." The big hurdle I see with this move is that the SA and WA clubs are going to periodically make a fuss over not being on the same playing field as the eastern clubs when it comes to player development, but it's probably the lower cost option compared to a national reserves league.
In option 1 what happens to the give or take 300 players currently on Stand Alone club lists? They aren't going to be absorbed by the roughly 60-100 spots available on the 4 new clubs lists. Also the 15 at each club that are accustomed to being 'best 23' at each club aren't going to put their time and effort into becoming a top up player who's availability is based on the luck of AFL injuries. Also as you mention the cost is prohibitive to the code.
Those players either have to go to WAFL or SANFL or give up on playing at the highest level available. It isn't going to happen.

In option 1 what happens to the give or take 300 players currently on Stand Alone club lists? They aren't going to be absorbed by the roughly 60-100 spots available on the 4 new clubs lists. Also the 15 at each club that are accustomed to being 'best 23' at each club aren't going to put their time and effort into becoming a top up player who's availability is based on the luck of AFL injuries. Also as you mention the cost is prohibitive to the code.
Those players either have to go to WAFL or SANFL or give up on playing at the highest level available. It isn't going to happen.
Well for one thing, I can see a scenario where the SANFL or WAFL survive as purely standalone leagues. I think it's purely the VFL and the six Victorian standalones that would be on the chopping block.

My gut feeling is that the AFL doesn't care that much for the players who wouldn't be able to find spots in the 'streamlined' reserves competition. They'd probably rationalise it as "if they're not good enough to earn a list spot then they won't be good enough to play professionally one day." And I strongly suspect that the AFL would rather someone give up playing altogether than have a semi-pro career in state league or local footy, since the time and money spend on suburban and country football is more time and money that could be going toward AFL ticket sales, TV viewership, memberships, club merch etc.

This topic has been discussed as far back as 20 years such as when Terry Keenan released his trilogy on Port Melbourne history- we may very well be discussing this very same topic in another 20 years (God willing the lord is keeping us on this big rock then). I have a feeling this competition isn’t changing any time soon. What the league should do it split the competition in 2 based on performance and have promotion and relegation between the two. That would ensure less lopsided results, less frustration for the battlers, something for the div 1 battlers to fight for towards seasons end (avoiding relegation) - in a nutshell a more equitable and interesting competition.

As for the Aspley situation, each team in the NEAFL was invited to join the VFL, Aspley played one season and after being unsuccessful they chose to pull out.

This topic has been discussed as far back as 20 years such as when Terry Keenan released his trilogy on Port Melbourne history- we may very well be discussing this very same topic in another 20 years (God willing the lord is keeping us on this big rock then). I have a feeling this competition isn’t changing any time soon. What the league should do it split the competition in 2 based on performance and have promotion and relegation between the two. That would ensure less lopsided results, less frustration for the battlers, something for the div 1 battlers to fight for towards seasons end (avoiding relegation) - in a nutshell a more equitable and interesting competition.

As for the Aspley situation, each team in the NEAFL was invited to join the VFL, Aspley played one season and after being unsuccessful they chose to pull out.

That's good research, MA.
Port Melbourne's history is impressive. Nevertheless, Williamstown seems destined to be Port's runner-up.
Willi has only 16 Senior Premierships in the VFA/VFL and 12 runner-ups, (or is that Runners up?)
Willi needs a few more runner-ups and a couple more No. 1s to surpass our Hobbo Bay rival.
Fortunately, the rivalry exists; however, it’s now quite diluted.
Good luck Port, a proud and successful club.

VFL 2025

Write your reply...