• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

VFL Tassie

Benny_ said:
Can anyone tell me how the Devils went and who played well.
TFC Devils 12.7.79 - Williamstown 11.8.74 at Burbank Oval

Best: No Idea.
Goal Kickers: No Idea.

Devils meet Frankston in the first final next week at Bellerive Oval.

How is the Media coverage for the SFL Prem League finals down there, hope it is getting as much air time as the Devils, probably not but we can hope.

WCL said:
How is the Media coverage for the SFL Prem League finals down there, hope it is getting as much air time as the Devils, probably not but we can hope.

Yeh its getting a bit of coverage but there is definietly room for improvement, especially as it is building up to be one of the best finals series in ages, New Norfolk are looking shaky after their first loss, Glenorchy are red hot and clarence and North Hobart are very experienced in finals, anyone can win from here.

That's good to hear, is anyone going to games this weekend. Your right it is shaping up as one of the best finals series since statewide days. Any idea on the crowds on the weekend, just looking at the reserves photo's on the Hobart website, there looked to be a few there, the ryde st stand looked pretty full and there were plenty of people in the outer.

WCL said:
That's good to hear, is anyone going to games this weekend. Your right it is shaping up as one of the best finals series since statewide days. Any idea on the crowds on the weekend, just looking at the reserves photo's on the Hobart website, there looked to be a few there, the ryde st stand looked pretty full and there were plenty of people in the outer.

Yeh i was at the game at North Hobart on the weekend, pretty good crowd for the SFL these days, hard to put a figure on it, maybe 1500-1700.

That's not bad for the 1st week of the finals, I thought there were a few there. It looked as if the Glenorchy game had just as many, if more. Good result for footy so far. Lets hope it continues, I reckon a crowd of around 3,000 will make their way to boyer if the weather is good.

WCL said:
That's not bad for the 1st week of the finals, I thought there were a few there. It looked as if the Glenorchy game had just as many, if more. Good result for footy so far. Lets hope it continues, I reckon a crowd of around 3,000 will make their way to boyer if the weather is good.

Yeh I'll be at the Boyer game just hope its worth going to, anything less than 2000 would be a disappointment up there

WCL said:
Who do you support again bsg7? sould be a good one, with all the pressure on the eagles clarence might have sniff, hope not though.
I'll take a stab in the dark and say he's a Clarence supporter.

WCL said:
Who do you support again bsg7? sould be a good one, with all the pressure on the eagles clarence might have sniff, hope not though.

I support Clarence, lol well i try to be level-headed

bsg7 said:
I support Clarence, lol well i try to be level-headed
My god they were right, I never thought I'd see a Clarence supporter with a brain...lol sorry I had to do it :D

The Majestic said:
My god they were right, I never thought I'd see a Clarence supporter with a brain...lol sorry I had to do it :D

Well, his mob are still there and yours aint, are they?

So who's laughing now?

Looks like Henley and Street won't be dropping back after all!

Mind you, Glenorchy Old Scholars are playing Cygnet in the Regional League Grand Final so maybe they can drop back and play with them, seing as Nathan Henley's Brother (GROSSLY OVERRATED) coaches Kermandie!

I'm going to be there barracking for Cygnet.

A Self-respecting Claremont supporter.

What is happening to the world?

I'm not laughing at Clarence.

Also the Colts are still there, they will be playing off for their 2nd flag in a row,.

Just on the Claremont thing for a second, Simon McSherry, was he sacked? Or did he quit? I don't remember ever reading anything about it. Not having a dig, mate, if that's what you are thinking I was curious.

Back onto Glenorchy, they played crap, and were lucky to score a 20 point loss, I had a feeling North would of won, I had hope the Pies would of won. Even if we won, and the Devils lost, I doubt we'd have them playing.

Tassie will win, well I'd expect them to win.

I believe it was a mutual decision.

He was extremely poor as a coach, which comes as no surprised if you know young Simon - he aint gonna win $1,000,000 off Eddie anytime soon!

He basically found himself in the position as they literally could not find anyone else. Has hurt the club for quite a few years now - the bad reputation of the place makes it extremely difficult to entice a high profile coach to turn the place around.

Having said all that, Danny Barrow, with what he had to work with, did an excellent job this year.

I was surprised to see McSherry coaching, growing up I remember his time with Glenorchy he could never shut his mouth, in the end this would be a major problem for him, he started off a good young player, other then his mouth, I don't know what else happened to him.

Not being a Claremont supporter, how did you guys gain a bad rep? I used to watch a few games when Glenorchy played up North, it was back when the Paul and Peter Barwick was at the club. The very last time I saw Claremont was 2001 Ben Atkin played, Claremonts coach (not sure who at the time) made a remark in the paper which surprised me "We're up the creek without a paddle"

Claremont gave away a goal before the game started, one player dropped Chris Ryan before the bounce. Wasn't a bad day, one of the reserves players took a shot at us supporters saying we'd never get the colours back, and he was pointing at his jumper.

I am not sure what was said to him, he was having a bad game whatever was said.

The Majestic said:
I was surprised to see McSherry coaching, growing up I remember his time with Glenorchy he could never shut his mouth, in the end this would be a major problem for him, he started off a good young player, other then his mouth, I don't know what else happened to him.
Once again, it was a move of desparation, appointing Macca as Coach.

The Majestic said:
Not being a Claremont supporter, how did you guys gain a bad rep?
Basically a small minority over the years, even dating back to the 70-80's, have been out and out idiots and done a few poor things and unfortunately the greater public assumes every single person at the club is like these said rabbits. Even parents whose kids may be interested in playing won't let their sons play there because they remember the rep the place had - even though it may have been 25-30 years ago. 99% of these idiots no longer have any involvement with the club. However, It's a very difficult stigma to wash away.

The Majestic said:
Claremonts coach (not sure who at the time) made a remark in the paper which surprised me "We're up the creek without a paddle"
Bruce Coles was the coach that year. Was a terrible coach from what the boys tell me. I believe that comment however was in relation to playing Clarence, Glenorchy and the likes.

At least he was being honest!

The Majestic said:
Claremont gave away a goal before the game started, one player dropped Chris Ryan before the bounce. Wasn't a bad day, one of the reserves players took a shot at us supporters saying we'd never get the colours back, and he was pointing at his jumper.
Jason Lockley pushed Aaron Hilder to the ground. I remember that game, although the result was never in doubt there was quite an exciting atmosphere at the game.

Dunno who the reserves player was, probably thought he was right at the time.

Ah I thought it was Ryan that got done because he was the one given the ball and kicked the goal. Also I figured it was Ryan as he had a big mouth, and probably mouthed off again.

I wasn't worried about the comments, I believe there was a little crack made towards him, and he snapped back, and started to argue. From memory it was harmless, I feel for him he was having a bad game, and the team was losing.

VFL Tassie