Video Request: The day Fitzroy were robbed.

Aug 6, 2008
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy
Over the years I've seen many horrible displays of umpiring (too many this year, I'll leave that for the Brisbane board :mad:) but everytime it comes up in conversation, my old man compares it to the game against Adelaide in the early 90's where the game was practically stripped from us. I would've been about 3 or 4 at the time so I have no memory at all and was wondering if anybody had footage of the last few minutes? I've seen it mentioned on the board many times and it seems to be one of the most talked about moments in the late history of our club. If someone could upload the footage to youtube that would be great :).

Would just like to say thanks to the people who have uploaded so many videos the last couple of months. Great to see some footage of games that I can't recall as well as the likes of Conlan and Quinlan doing their thing well before my time :).

i remember that game vividly. it was my birthday. june 9. a sunday night queens birthday game.1991 is the game you are referring to. i was playing scrabble with my friends in front of the tele. i was screaming at the screen as adelaide come from behind to win. my friends who didnt follow footy were laughing at my cries of anguish. i was so upset i went downstairs and found a fellow royboy working in a pizza shop who had also watched the game. we spent the next ten minutes whinging about the umpires as customers came and went. even when we lose i have great memories. we were definitely robbed by some very bad umpiring that night.

Sorry for leaping onto your board, but this game has always fascinated me. I remember watching it and feeling sick at the time.

My memories are:

1. Very wet - so low scores.
2. Last 3 kicks of the game were free kicks - to Adelaide. Two goals were kicked in the last three kicks (Free kick in front of goal, back to the centre, free kick in centre, kick to half-forward, free kick (after siren).
3. Commentator Peter McKenna complaining about the free kicks and that Adelaide were 'pinching' the game.
4. There were only 2 goals kicked in the last quarter - both Adelaide frees in the last 1-2 minutes.
5. The Adelaide crowd started chanting 'Cheat, Cheat' after the siren. Not just the Fitzroy supporters.
6. AFL House was graffiti-ed the next day.

If anyone finds the video - you only need the last 2 minutes.

Rod Jameson kicked the winning goal after getting a dodgy holding the ball free-kick inside the 50. I did see some video of it many years ago on one of our old season in review tapes, you might be able to find it that way?

Also, back then the clock kept running when the ball went out of play and the AFL changed the rule in part due to the stink kicked up after this game finished about how much time was lost in the last quarter.

Terrible memories of that match. From memory we had a few injuries, sitting around the bottom , Roos was out after a broken jaw in the state game, Osborne was captain playing halfback. Pretty sure the Roys were over $9.00 the win. Cannot remember ever feeling so sick in the guts and totally p!!ssed off because of an umpiring performance. Without doubt, the perfromace of the umpires actually affected th eresult of the match. A real epic! and tragedy in one.

A couple of further observations if I may:
- The Mickan kick was the second on a series of four dodgy free kicks that handed Adelaide victory.
- That brown nosing nugget umpire McKernan (number 33) attempted to replicate his insipid performance in round one, 1993 v Carlton. Peter McKenna was similarly the commentator for this match and stuck up for the good guys, concurrently baking McKernan. Fortunately the tenacious Roys pulled out the win on this second occasion. I do have this match (and numerous others) on VHS, however, am yet to convert these to DVD.

I must say, having seen it again after all these years, my thought is:
Being biased, I reckon my team has had some pretty bad calls go against them. But that is the worst I've ever seen.

All jokes aside, I don't believe the AFL is fixed - but that's the closest I've ever seen. You could see the ump was just looking for any excuse to give Adelaide a free. I hope his kids got a good education out of the winnings.

A couple of further observations if I may:

- That brown nosing nugget umpire McKernan (number 33) attempted to replicate his insipid performance in round one, 1993 v Carlton. Peter McKenna was similarly the commentator for this match and stuck up for the good guys, concurrently baking McKernan. Fortunately the tenacious Roys pulled out the win on this second occasion. I do have this match (and numerous others) on VHS, however, am yet to convert these to DVD.

I reckon it was Umpire Vernon who was the villain in the Carlton game. He paid a stupid free kick against Morrish between wing and half forward for Carlton and then compounded his idiocy by giving a completey unwarranted 50 metre penalty against us. The goal to Carlton put them 6 points up. Roos, Baldwin, Dundas, Morrish all gave the umpire a spray as he ran back to the centre for the bounce, with Roos in particular getting right in his face and the commentators agreed that Roos was right to be angry. All looked lost at this stage, but like a true skipper, Roos goaled shortly thereafter and Dunstan kicked the sealer. We were 4 goals down at 3/4 time and got up by 6 points.

We beat Carlton AND the umpires that day.

I rate that win in the top ten during my time.

P.S. Thanks to Mr. Ripper here are the match details:

1. Round 1, 1993
CARLTON... 4. 2... 9. 6...15. 8...17.10 (112)
FITZROY... 5. 4... 6.10...10.14...17.16 (118)
GOALS: Carl- S.Kernahan 4, Heaver 4, Welsh 4, Gleeson, E.Spalding, Williams, Bradley, Koutoufides.
Fitz- Wheildon 3, Dunstan 3, Sartori 2, Broderick 2, Roos, Seecamp, Wynd, Lynch, Armstrong, Zanotti, Stephens.
BEST: Carl- Williams, Welsh, S.Kernahan, Heaver, Bradley, Silvagni.
Fitz- Armstrong, Dundas, Lynch, Wynd, Wheildon, Roos.
UMPIRES: Callaghan, Vernon. CROWD: 24,823 @ Princes Park

He also rates it as one of our greatest wins, ranking it as our best between 1986 - 1996 and I would agree.

For Mr. Rippers Top Ten go to:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-8098.html

There's some great reminicing to be had there. These results also show that if the AFL had not been actively involved in trying to screw us, but rather extended the sort of assistance that they have subsequently made available to other Victorian clubs, we would not only still be part of that competition, but as Robert Shaw has said, in 1992 / 1993, we had a side that could have developed into serious premiership contenders.

It was nearly 10 years ago and it is still a great post!

Just goes to show though, once something is on the internet, it tends to stay on the internet.

3KZ, I stand corrected.

Nonetheless there were about five Barry Crocker's from the umps that resulted in the two Carlton final quarter goals.

Coming back to the Adelaide game how did Rod Jameson receive the final free kick as opposed to Eddie Hocking, who initially laid the awarded tackle? With a heavy ball there was no way Hocking would have made the fifty metre distance.

Cheers Mr. Ripper, fantastic effort on finding the video! What a disgrace! Never seen a robbery like this! I'm looking foward to showing this my old man tomorrow morning just to see his reaction when he remembers what game it is I'm showing him!

Video Request: The day Fitzroy were robbed.