WACA Wallys

Don’t know a whole lot about it but why would cricket want a new ground there? They’ve got their own, it’s well located and caters to their needs.

In fact it’s fast becoming the last genuine major cricket ground in the country. Hope they stick with it.
The MCG and SCG aren't genuine?

What about Adelaide Oval?

The testimonials in this thread show that the WACA isn't up to scratch. The facilities are no better than Subiaco, and that's anything but an endorsement. The pitch itself may be heralded and applauded, but you can keep the pitch and change the stands. An upgrade is definitely needed.

Genuine meaning holds no other sport and has not been changed for the purpose of holding another sport.

The WACA as it is today is designed for cricket and cricket alone.

The testimonials in this thread show that the WACA isn't up to scratch. The facilities are no better than Subiaco, and that's anything but an endorsement. The pitch itself may be heralded and applauded, but you can keep the pitch and change the stands. An upgrade is definitely needed.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/business...e-transformation/story-e6frg2qu-1225898519871

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/cricket/10409797/waca-upgrade-warning/

Do some value their comfort ahead of the sport/game.

I care about the game, drop in pitches are about on ground mediocrity, mediocrity embraced by event followers as compared with sports fans.

I can get specific, perhaps you can identify yourself ...
this:

Do some value their comfort ahead of the sport/game.

I care about the game, drop in pitches are about on ground mediocrity, mediocrity embraced by event followers as compared with sports fans.

I can get specific, perhaps you can identify yourself ...
this:
No, a great game is a great game. The seat you sit in is irrelevant.

But at the same time, would you rather see a Picasso in a back shed, or the Louvre?

The other point worth discussing is "mediocrity". In the cricketing example, a drop-in pitch could be of a lower standard, compared to that of a maintained and 'natural' wicket. If the conditions are better for the athletes, the spectacle will be enhanced. Take away the aesthetics of a nicely manicured footy ground, and look at it from a sporting perspective. Poorer grounds can result in injury.

You say mediocrity is not picked up on by footy fans. I don't know what kind of mediocrity you're talking about. But I will assume the standard of the game. If so, that is so utterly ridiculous. Every footy fan realises when their club is playing badly, when a player doesn't deserve a jumper. And footy fans reserve the right to say to their mate next to them, "Subiaco's a terrible ground, isn't it?".

Are you a politician? Why are so utterly against the idea of a new Perth stadium? You seem to view all my points as "whining". This state is culturally stagnating. Go to Melbourne and look at their sports precinct. It is utterly, utterly enviable. Perth does not need all of that. But we need a little of it. And at the moment, we have none. You're kidding yourself if you think Subiaco is an adequate stadium. Do you really want your West Coast Eagles to be playing there in fifteen years? Of course not.

This state needs to move with the times. And a sports stadium is a part of that.

I will enjoy my football no matter where it's dished up. But why settle for a mediocrity? If I can raise that enjoyment by sitting in a nice ground, why not want a little more?

The MCG and Adelaide aren't genuine because they have/will have drop ins.
They are football grounds where cricket happens to be played.

The current facilities are better than Subi and are going to be upgraded- possibly before the new football stadium is built.

No, a great game is a great game. The seat you sit in is irrelevant.

This state needs to move with the times. And a sports stadium is a part of that.

I will enjoy my football no matter where it's dished up. But why settle for a mediocrity? If I can raise that enjoyment by sitting in a nice ground, why not want a little more?

At least we agree on the game not the venue is paramount.

I have spent most of last 20 years in Melbourne cos thats where I earn a quid & I went happily to Princes Park, to the Whitten Oval ... the venue means very little to me, access via public transport or easy car parking is more important than the seat, as long as my view is not compromised. Happy to stand at the G even when I've paid for a seat.

When you put the venue ahead of the game, e.g drop in pitches I consider you are pursuing mediocrity - fine for you to have a different view, its only me who thinks I'm usually right ;).

& I do support a new venue for WA, but the stadium management rights are very important to funding WA footy, & thats more important to me than the stadium, just my slant.

As for your view of WA, get the hell out of Dodge mate, there is a gate in the rabbit proof fence to keep out the wise men from the east, but you'd get out very easily.
Balance of trade suggests WA is powering the countrys economy, record harvest (WA is the largest wheat grower), the Scorchers did a goods job, 2012 looks promising for both AFL clubs .. its fun being a Sandgroper in Melbourne, come on over & widen your horizon ..

Any reason why they can't drop a pitch into subi?

Major reason it won't be there to drop a pitch into in the future.

Plans to move over to Burswood ( some day ;))

Once Burswood is complete :confused:, selling the WACA off would make sense.

But being a traditionalist venue that will never happen. Always will be the white elephant shithole it is, draining on funds for tradition.

Makes too much sense to intergrate the 2 sports into one venue but it won't happen.

Major reason it won't be there to drop a pitch into in the future.

Plans to move over to Burswood ( some day ;))

Once Burswood is complete :confused:, selling the WACA off would make sense.

But being a traditionalist venue that will never happen. Always will be the white elephant shithole it is, draining on funds for tradition.

Makes too much sense to intergrate the 2 sports into one venue but it won't happen.

Why does it make sense for the owner of the WACA to sell it off & put itself in the hands of a landlord?
You might end up like the Melbourne situation where the landlords stadium manager calls the tune & those putting on the spectacle are 2nd class viewers.Compare the preference given at the Hawks last GF appearance with MCC members getting preference, AFL Mrembers getting preference, even Medallion Club members - fair dinkum, this lot should never get a seat ahead of the members of the competing clubs.

PS Subi had cricket pitches but they were pulled out 50 years back & the cricket club set up its own facility.

Suggestion the Eagles might move to the WACA when Pattos@Subi are no longer in the main game.
Can see win/win for both the footy club & the WACA sharing both social clubrooms & fitness facilities, just a short walk over the footbridge from the proposed new stadium.

:thumbsu: long time since I had a beer in the WACA facilities, what are they like these days?

Suggestion the Eagles might move to the WACA when Pattos@Subi are no longer in the main game.
Can see win/win for both the footy club & the WACA sharing both social clubrooms & fitness facilities, just a short walk over the footbridge from the proposed new stadium.

:thumbsu: long time since I had a beer in the WACA facilities, what are they like these days?

Where would they train though? Would make more sense to have it all together in the one place, not split over several venues?

The WACA is too small for footy these days, if they were actually allowed on it. There used to be all sorts of problems between the WACA and the AFL clubs regards training access with the centre wicket area being roped off.

Where would they train though? Would make more sense to have it all together in the one place, not split over several venues?

The WACA is too small for footy these days, if they were actually allowed on it. There used to be all sorts of problems between the WACA and the AFL clubs regards training access with the centre wicket area being roped off.

The new stadium?

Crap - Lillee/Marsh stand for the members isn't too bad the rest of the ground is rubbish. Go there for a big game and wait all day for a beer and then go to the dunny.

The WACA is always going to be problem, from the point of view of the correct capacity etc.

I have seen every test match at the WACA since the late 70s so seen a few changes there.

I remember going to a one day game v the West Indies in the early 80s where queues went around every corner. People were climbing the fence, climbing trees within the ground to get a view. I do not know what the capacity was back then, but it was always a struggle to find a spot. Test matches were generally well attended also, no matter who was playing.

Then, as cricket's popularity faded, the Eagles came in and games of footy were played at the WACA. They changed the feel of the ground to make it a "winter" stadium, all grass banks disappeared and it became a concrete block. This meant that in summer when the cricket was on, it was unbearable to sit anywhere because of the heat.

When footy moved back to Subi, changes were made to make it a more traditional cricket ground, with grass banks re introduced, but capacity was not a real problem because only tests against England sold out. Now the Big Bash has started, there are a few more days a year that would be sell outs, but it will still primarily be over half empty for many days of Shield cricket.

The development of East Perth with the towers overlooking the ground are an excellent idea, but I do believe that the capacity should not be reduced to 18 000 as the plans for that suggest. Management needs to ensure that it is still a suitable venue to play test match cricket.

For what it is worth, do not mess with the pitch either. Footy almost destroyed the pitch and it is now back to what it should be.

The WACA redevelopment was announced four years ago, it's pretty pathetic.
What's worse is the that the MRA's vision for the WACA is amazing, full of cool spaces, relaxed atmosphere. The ground surrounded by a closely knitted urban framework.

Is the WACA used for footy or does it just sit dormant during the winter?

The ground is too small for footy these days, since the redevelopment. The grass banks took up about 10-15m each side of what used to be the long axis. The ground is now not long enough to have 2 50m arcs plus a 50m centre square - it is shorter than SCG even.

EDIT: here's a pitcher
WACA2.jpg

Crap - Lillee/Marsh stand for the members isn't too bad the rest of the ground is rubbish. Go there for a big game and wait all day for a beer and then go to the dunny.

My interest its whether Eagles could use WACA facilities for socialising post match, given the suggestion admin facilities could be established there.

Why when they will have far superior facilities across the river.

I'd say that the Eagles first option would be staying at a suburban Subiaco ground alongside the Lions.

I noticed recently that 8 WAFL Grand Finals were played at the WACA between 1906 and 1926. The Showgrounds had a final and Fremantle Oval did. But in between, Subiaco Oval was used.

Does anybody have any idea why they were moved around so much?

WACA Wallys