Warren Tredrea weighs in on the PAFC history debate

Are you one of those Port fans that stated "12th" was a successful year? What happened to "we exist to win Premierships"? False advertising if you ask me...would rip up my membership card over those comments by the Port hierarchy

I wasen't actually, but if you don't finish first, you might as well finish last.

Tredders66 has already done that. Remember, his 'membership is in flames'.

I was only reflecting your comments on Port Adelaide playing against inferior clubs in the SANFL, that inferred that now that we are in the AFL we'll struggle... and showing that the same applies to Collingwood since the expansion really started in 1987 and you have to play against non-Victorian clubs.

Your record since 1987 demonstrates that you are barely meeting average (1 premiership in 20 years :thumbsdown: , 3 GF's in 20 years, 8 finals series in 20 years ), and in fact struggled a little more than our modest record (1 premiership in 10 years:thumbsu: , 1 GF in 10 years, 6 finals series in 10 years:thumbsu: )

What was that you were saying about logic?

Time will tell.
Well done in 2004 by the way. I my opinion you guys should have won at least 2 flags in the early part of this decade, Port WERE pretty good...ladder leaders 3 years in a row right?

Just goes to show that the flags might be a bit harder to come by in this competition.:thumbsu:

Time will tell.
Well done in 2004 by the way. I my opinion you guys should have won at least 2 flags in the early part of this decade, Port WERE pretty good...ladder leaders 3 years in a row right?

Just goes to show that the flags might be a bit harder to come by in this competition.:thumbsu:

Agreed.

Also, competing with 15 AFL teams instead of 8 SANFL teams makes it naturally harder, just as competing with 15 AFL teams instead of 11 VFL teams is.

Tredrea said: “Whatever it takes, it’s the attitude that is expected by every player since 1870. It’s the attitude that is handed down from generation to generation, to accept, respect and uphold. It’s the attitude that is demanded each time a player wears the guernsey and crosses the white line. It’s the reason why the Port Adelaide Football Club is one of the most successful clubs in the world…Be assured, we are doing whatever it takes to win the next Premiership. After-all, it’s the reason we exist.”

If anyone wanted further proof, here it is. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Spot on Port Adelaide football club is

Lets hope PORT POWER Can be as good

Tredrea said: “Whatever it takes, it’s the attitude that is expected by every player since 1870. It’s the attitude that is handed down from generation to generation, to accept, respect and uphold. It’s the attitude that is demanded each time a player wears the guernsey and crosses the white line. It’s the reason why the Port Adelaide Football Club is one of the most successful clubs in the world…Be assured, we are doing whatever it takes to win the next Premiership. After-all, it’s the reason we exist.”

If anyone wanted further proof, here it is. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

So the last two years didn't count then:(

Agreed.

Also, competing with 15 AFL teams instead of 8 SANFL teams makes it naturally harder, just as competing with 15 AFL teams instead of 11 VFL teams is.

Lets not also forget that Centrals has shown that dynasties can still be created and maintained in the SANFL. There is no chance in the AFL structure for a team to make so many GFs in a row its a whole new ball game with a level playing field where every club is as hungry as the next.

If the SANFL isnt the 2nd best competition then why did Port join the AFL then dumbass !!!!

Because the VFL was becoming a national competition and thus would in fact be the clear numero uno going forward. Football history didn't start in 1987 though (or '91 for all you Crows fans playing at home) so Port won plenty of VFL/AFL equivalent SANFL flags from about 1900-1980. :cool:

Its funny this thread wasn't directed at anyone in particular but who was first to jump on it? Adelaide supporters. Look at it how you will but I think anyone looking from the outside in can put 2 and 2 together :cool:

Ah, but I used to disagree about when the history of the PAFC started, but then I realised that that meant discounting another piece of SANFL history (which the V/AFL love to do - i.e. Ports' heritage guernsey, father/son rule, lack of Hall of Fame Members from both SA and WA and other cases).

So I now agree with the whole history thing, and am prepared to stand up for Port fans in this debate - if not, we as SA fans are just trying to cut out another part of SANFL history.

Fact is we have won one AFL flag, and 35 SANFL flags, no one has ever said they are worth an AFL premiership.

Proud of the past, confident of the future.

Ps, atleast we play our home games at home.

when was the last time the power played a home game at alberton???????

i wouldn't be proud of the fact you kicked the maggies to the curb, made them train at ethelton and took their pokies as well!!!!:D :D

when was the last time the power played a home game at alberton???????

i wouldn't be proud of the fact you kicked the maggies to the curb, made them train at ethelton and took their pokies as well!!!!:D :D
PAMFC were a new entity and it was the rest of the SANFL that insisted they be kept away from Alberton. It's the height of hypocrisy to blame this on PAFC.

wbSPLIFEtredrea_narrowweb__200x270.jpg

"Port Adelaide is a club with proud tradition, and the players should respect that. So as captain of the club i feel as though i should act like a fair dinkum tosser on the footy field and show every 1 what a true power person is like - An imbred halfwit, who rekons they are gods gift to the universe!"

Good on you Warren keep the gems coming mate, coz its really enjoyable makin fun of ya!

ok, I am convinced :rolleyes: ... I didnt think that Tredrea could put together an entire sentence, let alone a whole paragraph. ZZZzzzzz

Warren Tredrea weighs in on the PAFC history debate