Was tonight's game the tip of the iceberg?

It's like everyone expects every single game to be Haw/Geel Easter Monday or St.K/Geel 2009. It's sport, it's not "sports-entertainment".

Surely we can expect that in the game of Aussie Rules Football, that each team tries to beat the other team but trying to outscore them, not just focus on stopping the other team from scoring?

Tonights game was an example of both teams focusing solely on restricting the other team from scoring, thus adopting the strategy of soccer teams.

Isn't the phrase you are looking for 'tipping point' or something like that? You mean the point where people who previously would put up with the AFL's crap will now rise up on the side of revolution

Tip of the iceberg would be like if there were crap games being hidden every week, played in a secret locaton untelevised, and this game was going to lead their discovery

We really do need a megathread at this rate... how many of these threads do we need each weekend?

Simple, don't like the football played right now, don't watch, don't attend and ignore it. If the people on these boards are right when you all do that maybe the ratings and attendances will be down enough for them to do something to make it more attractive.

We've had 2 quality contests in 2 days, a nailbiting win for North in Perth and ANZAC Day and the one shit game is the one that is picked on?

Face it, Melbourne-Sydney was always going to be prime time because Roos. Shit happens. It was a shit game. You know what? Melbourne have been playing 16+ shit games for most of a decade and that was closer than they had been to a lot of sides for most of them.

And I like watching these games. There's other things you watch for, other skills. You know what I noticed about Sydney's midfielders tonight? Incredibly, they seem to trap the ball to advantage. Like, not just trap it, but in a body position where they will quickly get it off to a running teammate. I got drawn into the stoppage work. I was breaking down their differing spread, and how Melbourne couldn't keep up with their second options.

It was a really interesting, really good night. Better than watching them get blown apart by 15 goals.

Surely we can expect that in the game of Aussie Rules Football, that each team tries to beat the other team but trying to outscore them, not just focus on stopping the other team from scoring?

Tonights game was an example of both teams focusing solely on restricting the other team from scoring, thus adopting the strategy of soccer teams.

If you genuinely believe that then there's no point continuing this conversation.

Wasn't the most rivetting spectacle, but I've seen far worse many times in my 40 years of watch footy. Get some perspective.

It's not about just this game. It's about how it looks compared to way too many this year which is another low scoring, uninspiring pile of shit of a match. I don't like knee jerk rule changes but feel like something may need to happen if we go through a season of this drivel.

Get a grip OP. There have been much worse games to watch.

Was probably Melbourne's best game this year.
I thought it was ok to watch.

If Melbourne were as bad as ppl make out - Sydney of blown them away.
Sydney are still a top 4 side.

There's been a heavy amount of talk this season on the deteriorating spectacle of Australian Rules Football. Kevin Bartlett and Kevin Sheedy have been the main activists, insisting that we need rule changes to counteract the extremely negative tactics of the coaches. They have a lot of support, however there are still many out there who feel the game should be left alone.

I've seen some putrid games so far this season, however tonight was the first time that I simply turned the TV off. There was almost no entertainment value on offer. Both teams were too scared to attack, every time they looked forward there were 30+ jumpers in their forward line. There were rugby scrums, inconsistent umpiring, chipping back and forth.....it was painful. I'm not looking forward to any games anymore that don't involve my own team, because they're not worth watching. If the AFL think they can sit back and allow this tripe to be dished up, they should be ashamed of themselves. I'd be asking for my money back if I paid to watch tonight's game live, I don't even know how the Sydney fans could be happy with that performance.

I would compare current AFL games to watching a recent Adam Sandler movie - you're shocked at how something that was so great has turned into such a train wreck.

It was very boring. Everything was amateurish, both teams sucked and the officiating was terrible.

I take it you have only ever seen Chelsea or Western Sydney Wanderers games because you have clearly never watched Melbourne Victory, Brisbane Roar, Liverpool, Real Madrid, Barcelona or Bayern Munich - teams who are comically awful at defending so generally don't bother.

OP, stop being an over-dramatic flog.

Every season dating back to the start of the VFL had games that were unwatchable, funnily enough they tend to involve teams that were battling.

In the old days these games weren't televised in prime time, they weren't televised at all, lucky to get any vision of them at all really.

People are now spoilt.

I wrote this in another thread. Not sure if I'd back such a radical idea but I reckon it would change coaching philosophies;

Perhaps, if the winning team is incapable of kicking 12 goals (3per qtr) then they don't deserve the full 4 pts... 3 pts instead. Gives the incentive for coaches to get a score on the board from the get go. This way the rules on the ground aren't tinkered with for the zillionth time. I don't mind a low scoring, tough tight contest but tonight's game was eye-ball scratching stuff for the neutral viewer

I honestly think that it takes a lot more skill to play today's game, but generally the players don't have the skills to play it. Coaches have convoluted the game to such a degree that most players don't have the skill levels to carry out complicated game plans. Sometimes the players look as confused as the fans are.

The way the game is played now, we cannot hope for a good game involving at least one bottom 8 team. Years ago, because the game was easier to play, some of the best games I've seen involved two lowly ranked teams having a good old fashioned crack.

As a poster pointed out, it's incredible how many times a flag has been won in the past 7-8 years by a team playing attacking football, and yet most coaches persist with a crappy, uneventful and unsuccessful game plan. Totally mystifying.

I wrote this in another thread. Not sure if I'd back such a radical idea but I reckon it would change coaching philosophies;

Perhaps, if the winning team is incapable of kicking 12 goals (3per qtr) then they don't deserve the full 4 pts... 3 pts instead. Gives the incentive for coaches to get a score on the board from the get go. This way the rules on the ground aren't tinkered with for the zillionth time. I don't mind a low scoring, tough tight contest but tonight's game was eye-ball scratching stuff for the neutral viewer
Out of all the ideas on bigfooty this would have to be the one worst I have ever heard

Punishing a team for wining!!!

And also the losing team go even more defensive trying to stop the opposition getting a full 4 points

Mate, we've been saying that about every second game this season. Last week it was the Brisbane-Richmond game, the Collingwood-North game and Melbourne-Gold Coast game; the week before it was just about every game!!.

There are just so many games these days where you come away thinking 'what a waste of time that was'. I rarely used to think that. So many one-sided games, so many low scores, teams going through ten minute patches where they don't even look like they want to score....I don't know why I watch anymore.

Maybe it is more these days that every second person is an individualistic narcissist that thinks their opinion about a match they don't like needs to be broadcast to the world. The commentators lead the way with this too. Then we have this ridiculous situation where all the whingers back each other up on social media and the like and, presto, we have a "problem" with the game! The internet and social media have a lot to answer for, especially with giving people the idea that every little opinion they have is important and needs to be heard.

Was tonight's game the tip of the iceberg?