Jul 26, 2001
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Villa
how is this guys progress going

his progress should be coming along quicker than the other 3 18 year olds (hale,crowe,foote) being a lot smaller

any details

I don't know.. last I heard was that he was a bit like Camporeale.. he's very skinny, even for his size (68kgs according to his profile)

Hope all is going well with him.

Go Roos

I've got a bit of a phobia about this bloke. I reckon he looks severly underfed and kind of moves very "Rawlings" like and weakly.

If he's Camporeale then Clayton Lasscock was Mark Riccuito!

I'd loved to be proved wrong but he looks nowhere near some of the kids running around with other sides.

Yes,just a bit concerned about this selection particularly when you look at some of the players selected after him who have already had an impact at senior level -Rodan,McGough,Armstrong,Medhurst etc-and all had better credentials I believe. Love to be proven wrong!

Well thats only what I heard (read actually) someone said Pagan said it on 927 a while back..

But I am a bit worried to.. even tho I have not seen him.. I think we should have gone with Rodan.. or Shane Harvey.. or even Armstrong.. but Rodan really does look good- I am not willing to say much on Harvey, as Harding also kicked 3 in his first game.. and he has gone down since then..

IMHO I am a bit disappointed we got Watson, as we could have got Rodan or Shane Harvey or McGough.. Rodan would have been the one I would have taken.

Go Roos

He has good pace and skills. Will probably develop slowly like an Adam Simpson type. In fact build wise he is very similar to Simmo when he first came to the club.
Lets wait for a few seasons before we judge if this bloke was a success or failure. Remember you draft a player for hopefully a ten year career. Lets compare the respective merits of Rodan, S Harvey and Watson in a couple of seasons when we see what impact they are having then.

in the herald sun after the draft last year they said Watson had similar heart lung capacity to Brent Harvey

Well he was named as the best for the Muzzas against Tassie on Saturday evening so maybe he's coming along ok. Bit hard when you don't get a chance to see them play. I don't think we've been on the ABC match of the day this year!

Originally posted by Groucho
Rodan

Has been excellent so far. I can't help but think this is as good as it gets for him, and I can't see him being anything more than a forward pocket running off the bench and kicking the odd freak goal.

Mmmmmm, looks a very good player. Can't believe he was drafted in the 30's, there must be the odd question mark on him. I just can't see it though.

Armstrong,Medhurst etc-and all had better credentials I believe. Love to be proven wrong!

I think the club for the past two years has drafted with a view to having a good young team ready to play when Carey, Stevo, Martyn etc retired. This has been fast forwarded a bit with the whole Carey situation but I think we will not start to see the best out of our kids for another years or so. It makes it a bit more of a gamble drafting players a couple of years away rather than ready made and I too hope we have made the right choices.

Moomba

I heard that Armstrong was a Roos supporter too. Regardless, i wanted the Roos to draft either Armstrong, Harvey, McGough or Medhurst and we could have got any of them instead of
Watson. Well it's too late now, so we have no choice but to hope that who we have got will be good.

Have any of you seen Watson?

From my experiance the kid looks to be a natural. He is probably the best kick in the team at the moment, along with Crowe, and has pace to burn. Very good evasive skills too.

He does not have the Camporeale body type, he has a body that will be a little more receptive to weights than him, but he will not be a tank. Like Simmo is a very good call.

Wouldn't be suprised if he does get a go soon, as he has shown some pretty good form.

On the "Now" kids like Rodan, I would expect that Rodan will be very similar to Johnathon Brown. Both players have almost reached their peak in relation to hpysical attributes, not much will change there over the next decade. For instance, while Brown is playing simliar to Wayne at his age, Brown will not have the improvement in him that Wayne did.
Watson is the same. It will take him a couple of years to really grow into an elite player. He can develop his strength and learn to play a certain way. Rodan is about far enough in the body size, and is unlikely to improve his game far beyond where it is.
I am not saying Rodan will not be any good, but his background makes him an instant hit, just wait for Watson.

I've seen him, Moti, and he is built like a twig!
I'd be very suprised if he got a game this year, given how slowly Denis likes to bring on our youngsters. Senior footy would snap him in half at the moment.

That being said, his skills seem fantastic and he is a great runner.

Physical-development wise, have a look at Brady Rawlings this year. He is still skinny, but it is now a wiry/tough skinny rather than the skin and bone figure of two years ago. It wouldn't suprise me if Ash fills out the same way... which is fine for an outside runner (eg. Michael Tuck)

you absolutely cannot judge a player against a player until they have played 50 games all this talk about who we should have got is irrelevant until then. some of these kids have the body to play afl now but obviously they are not rated as highly as some others that are still developing every club has full time recruiters and I doubt that with all the information they get from watching games and the draft camp and everything that ash watson will be a dud give him time in acouple of years you will probably be saying how good a choice he was.
p.s. I dont know that mcgough is that good its all collingwood hype i reckon in the first quarter on saturday he had 10 possies and 7 of them were turnovers of which 5 brisbane goals came about.

Certainly far too early to even contemplate comparisons. Other sides have rushed their younger players in for all sorts of reasons, some have worked some haven't.

(BTW, don't want to undermine McGough, but he reminds me so much of Chad Liddell at the same stage - adult body, thick thighs - hope for all our sakes he is a better long-term project)

Jason Cloke didn't play a game last season, but looks to be the goods for the Pies.

St Kilda already worrying that they might have pushed Koschitzke a little hard in early development.

Shouldn't worry that a player takes time. Harvey, Simpson, Pickett all went down the path of a long apprenticeship in the magoos.

Rarely does a player not make it because he has been held back too much. If they are good enough, they will come through.

I think from what I've seen and heard, Watson, Crowe and Hale will be good senior players for a long, long time.

Be patient Roos fans.

I was watching him at the Drew Petrie dinner a few weeks back.

He has a determined almost pyscotic expression about him. Especially in in his eyes, a 'dont mess with me' type look. I reckon he will be a real nutcase on the field.

He came across as a well rounded individual and I have no doubt he will make it.

Glad we picked Watson instead of a short little fat bloke like Rodan. One dimensional goal sneaks like him are a dime a dozen and he will get found out and return to the place where short fat little goal sneaks end up.

We have needed a running player in the Campo, Ramanskus, type mould and Watson is the one.

i haven't seen watson play, but to say that rodan is a fat one dimensional player is just crazy....on his debut he put the tigers into the attacking 50 more times than every other tiger midfielder did, the fact that he's also mecurial around goals is just an added plus....he will be quality if he hasn't already proven that already in what is now, his 8th game? he'll be around for years to come, simply through durability and talent

Ashley Watson

I am confident to say that Ash Watson will be terrific for us in the future, which is why we drafted him, FOR THE FUTURE.

Neville Stibbard is a great judge of young footballers. He's done very well for us in the past, without having too many early picks to work with until recently. This is a hard caper (selecting future 200 game players), Neville is very highly respected amongst the football community, believe you me.

After having had dinner with Ashley on a couple of occasions, I can also vouch for his character. He's a good guy, with a level head for an 18 year old. He's committed and determined and will show his skills and talent in the not too distant future.

He is close to having the ability to play at the top level now, but needs to put on a bit of weight, which he is progressively doing already.

I havent' missed a VFL game this year, apart from Tassie (I was in Canberra). This kid can play................watch this space!!!!

GO ROOS!

Originally posted by NeoBlaze
i haven't seen watson play, but to say that rodan is a fat one dimensional player is just crazy....on his debut he put the tigers into the attacking 50 more times than every other tiger midfielder did, the fact that he's also mecurial around goals is just an added plus....he will be quality if he hasn't already proven that already in what is now, his 8th game? he'll be around for years to come, simply through durability and talent

Have seen his ilk come and go. On his debut being the operative word. Wait until he starts getting some attention. That fat arse will only get fatter, those short legs shorter.

I was watching the Richmond & West Coast game at Eastlake Football Club in Canberra on Saturday. Geoff Walsh was there having a beer and a bet. After Roden kicked that goal over his head he commented to me ' he is a very good footballer that kid, isn't he ?'
Our draft choices must have been looked at as long term as none of our 2000 or 2001 draft choices have been able to cement a place in the side. If that is not the case then questions need to be posed about our drafting.

No doubt that both of those drafts were aimed at a long-term product. 2001 particularly with some 17 year olds in Hale, Watson.

I think that 2000 was also long term but there would be a hint of concern about their progress, especially the top 3. Dylan Smith doesn't seem to be in contention at all and would be a major worry. harris is around the mark but we can't judge until he has had a consisitent run in the seniors. Unfortunate to get injured early on Sunday when he had a start.

Motlop looks very promising but the string of injuries on a light frame is a concern.

Jones has looked OK from 2000, but Pratt and Petrie seem to be slipping away.

As for Rodan, he can, and will continue to play good footy. Like most other Clubs, his size and shape scared off the recruiters. Big mistake.

watson