We need to lift our game!!

Yippyio

Mar 18, 2001
Australia
Brisbane Lions
A 17pt loss in the first round of Fantasy footy!

I will put my hand up and admit that i didnt play well enough, kicking just 1 goal on the day from full forward, we needed more, although i was impressed about taking 9 marks at the end of the day.

Coach, i will do more, ill get to training early this week, so we can work on the positives and hope for a better performance in round 2.

Don't be so hard on yourself, you actually ended up playing at CHF, MSB Roys was at FF. You did quite well.

Here's my after-match words :

Well, we gave it a good show, but it seems that we ran out of legs.

If it wasn't for Fat Pizza's relentless repelling of Wonders attacks, the margin may have been much greater. Shaz also did well to take dangerous forward Hmmmm out of the game.

MSB Roys and Yippyio were both handy contributors, and gregtri showed he'll be a handful for opposing defenders to contain.

In the centre, cjwalkley kept up a high workrate against the odds, and Stocka was full of run all day. FitzroyRamone, in the unlikely position of ruckman, battled hard all day.

I myself got a heap of kicks but was unable to use them effectively.

Kudos to the Wonders team, they withstood the challenge all day and ran out winners, the better team ... this time.

Details are at http://www.footypedia.com/roys

(go to 'Fixtures/Results'. Click on the round number for more info)

I just noticed that our chosen team was not the one to take the field.

Basically, EKA (who was running the game) has hit exams time, and can't do it. So I asked him to zip it all up and send it to me.

he did so, but I thought he'd already made the respective changes according to every selection committee's selections.

It seems he hadn't, so we got a completely different team to that which we selected.

This is the team we selected :
B: MSB_ROYS Mr_Ripper* fitzmantle*
HB: Blackers* Mobbenfuhrer Broken
C: Paul_D Rabs adey*
HF: FitzroyRamone Roylion Kooka
F: Sbagman Yippyio Shiva25
Foll: Fat Pizza Stocka cjwalkley
Int: Slax Phil_Doyle
Supp: Wayde_Petersen gregtri* Shaz* accubass* FattyLumpkin*.

Those marked * actually did take the field, despite their not originally being selected.

Those marked * actually did not take the field, despite their originally being selected.

This is unfortunate, but we can continue on normally from here, make selections as per normal. Its just the first round that threw us. The opposition suffered the same ignominy.

If anyone wants to comment on who should be dropped/picked for next week's match, feel free to say so. Mr Ripper has the final say, and Roylion and I share the second-to-final say. (If you want in on the selection committee, again, just say so).

Here's the stats from Round 1 :

Code:
Roys SENIORS Vs WONDERS SENIORS
Roys              5    6        9    10       12   14       15   17   107      
WONDERS           6    1        10   5        13   10       18   16   124      
Roys       HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B  WONDERS     HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B  
RABS        0  6  8  7  0  3  1  0  0  HOGGY        0  8  5  7  0  4  0  0  0  
FAT PIZZA   0  2  2  5  0  2  0  0  0  |D_J^B_J|    0  8  5  2  1  2  1  3  0  
ACCUBASS    0  7  2  2  0  2  0  0  0  MS STORM     15 7  0  2  1  0  0  0  0  
KOOKA       0  5  6  4  0  4  1  0  0  AGGELS       0  5  4  5  0  3  0  0  0  
BROKEN      0  0  1  6  0  1  0  0  0  ARNOLD SCH   0  2  3  7  0  2  1  0  0  
SHAZ        0  8  7  8  1  3  3  0  0  CJ           0  6  5  3  0  3  1  0  0  
STOCKA      0  9  4  6  0  0  4  0  1  CHEZ         0  8  6  1  0  5  2  0  2  
CJWALKEY    0  11 8  9  0  2  4  1  1  LIONS FORE   0  11 9  9  0  4  2  1  0  
ROYLION     0  10 4  2  0  4  7  1  1  CATMAN       0  6  7  5  0  3  2  0  0  
PHIL_DOYLE  0  5  5  4  0  1  3  1  2  HMMMMM       0  10 10 8  0  3  3  2  0  
YIPPYIO     0  6  9  8  0  2  2  1  1  LAZER        0  12 8  9  1  1  3  1  2  
SLAX        0  4  7  6  0  2  5  0  1  LETHAL       0  8  6  5  0  1  4  0  2  
PAUL_D      0  1  0  1  0  0  0  0  1  LIONESS      0  2  2  0  0  0  2  1  1  
MSB_ROYS    0  4  3  4  0  0  3  3  1  TYLER DURD   0  5  7  4  0  0  2  2  3  
GREGTRI     0  2  1  2  0  0  1  2  0  SATAY MAT    0  5  2  1  0  0  2  4  0  
FITZROYRAM  19 12 0  0  1  0  0  0  1  BIGCAT1      3  5  0  4  1  0  0  0  1  
MOBBENFUHR  0  14 0  0  2  0  0  2  3  PHATANDPHR   0  14 0  0  0  0  0  1  2  
SHIVA25     0  13 0  0  2  0  0  4  2  SANTZ        0  13 0  0  0  0  0  3  0  
SBAGMAN     0  3  0  1  0  0  0  0  0  MAGPIEGAL1   0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  
FATTYLUMPK  0  4  2  2  0  2  0  0  0  CRYSTAL BA   0  6  5  11 0  3  3  0  0

For those who didn't notice the link above :
http://www.footypedia.com/roys

Includes this action shot :
round01.jpg

Will i go back to full-forward this week? I thought Shiva25's game from the forward pocket was pretty good, we found ourselves a goal sneak ;)

Originally posted by Yippyio
Will i go back to full-forward this week?

We'll see ... will be suggesting this to the selection committee :)

Originally posted by Yippyio
I thought Shiva25's game from the forward pocket was pretty good, we found ourselves a goal sneak ;)

He was roving, actually, but yep, he chipped in handily.

Fellas

Apologies for not being around much for the past week or so, buut the good people at Telstra are having troubles with my phone line at the moment.

Hopefully all will be rectified in a week or so.

GO ROYS!!!!!!

Originally posted by rabs68
Fellas

Apologies for not being around much for the past week or so, buut the good people at Telstra are having troubles with my phone line at the moment.

Hopefully all will be rectified in a week or so.

GO ROYS!!!!!!

We'll live, mate, You're just the quiet achiever, that's all :)

Originally posted by Roylion
Are we having a best and fairest? Perhaps selected by the match committee or perhaps a general vote?

I'd love to, but I'm not sure how keen people are to catch up with every result.

There is the league Vote Count, and then I will choose MY best players for the Roys website, but ... how about, just like you do with the Fitzroy matches, anyone else can submit votes IF THEY WANT, and don't have to submit them every week if they can't get around to it.

Perhaps PM them to me? Or just do it out here, I dunno.

Originally posted by Slax
I'll go with the vote system. I reckon the selctors should pick 7 or 8 players and we all vote on it.

Ok but I don't see the point in the selectors picking 7 or 8 players ... why not have ALL players available for voting?