Roast We need to talk about Lachie

I'm angry at the development and coaches more than I am Lachie Jones.

He has all the fundamental physical characteristics to make a very good AFL footballer.

Cleanliness with hands is something that can absolutely be taught. I'd argue it is one of the easiest things that you can get better at with effective coaching, instruction and practice - not training - but practice. Repetition, repetition, let's do it again.

Yes confidence plays a part and everyone makes mistakes, no one is expecting him to be prime Darren Jarman, but the simple basic first take, body behind the line of the ball, thumbs back, keep your eye on the pill at all times type stuff is understood by most U15s.

It's an utter indictment on everyone involved in the last few years of player development that we have a regular player that is this bad at... catching and picking up the ball.

He has all the fundamental physical characteristics to make a very good AFL footballer.

Cleanliness with hands is something that can absolutely be taught. I'd argue in it is one of the easiest things that you can get better at with effective coaching, instruction and practice - not training - but practice. Repetition, repetition, let's do it again.

Yes confidence plays a part and everyone makes mistakes, no one is expecting him to be prime Darren Jarman, but the simple basic first take, body behind the line of the ball, thumbs back, keep your eye on the pill at all times type stuff is understood by most U15s.

It's an utter indictment on everyone involved in the last few years of player development that we have a regular player that is this bad at... catching and picking up the ball.

I’ve never seen someone get better at handling once in the professional system.

Thats kinda what I'm saying - it's almost like we've just assumed he can do it because it's so fundamental.

Needs a lower division amateurs coach to do some out the front run throughs.

Again I don't think we need him to be elite below his knees or be able to pluck them from nowhere. Just to be able to pick the ball up first time and take simple uncontested marks. The rest of his game is solid to good.

Hmmm.

That was putrid.

So what’s wrong?

The guy gets to the right spots, so can read play.

He is super fit and quick. He is physical.

He was dominant at the lower level.

So what’s going wrong for Lachie?
It's mental now. When you start dropping sitter chest marks after all the overheads you're cooked. He needs to go back to SANFL level and get some confidence back. Everytime he's under a ball from now, until he gets that confidence back, he is going to have demons in his head. Add to that 40k fans and you've got a real issue.

We would be immensely better off if jones made it to LESS contests lol

If the opposition ever laid a block on him our fans would probably cheer
You’ve watched more junior footy and are a better judge than most, has there been many better junior in their role than Lachie Jones? Legitimate question

And surely his role translates well from SANFL to AFL?

So why isn’t Lachie making the grade?

Cleanliness with hands is something that can absolutely be taught. I'd argue it is one of the easiest things that you can get better at with effective coaching, instruction and practice - not training - but practice. Repetition, repetition, let's do it again.

Only Mythbusters can polish a turd, literally.

Thats kinda what I'm saying - it's almost like we've just assumed he can do it because it's so fundamental.

Needs a lower division amateurs coach to do some out the front run throughs.

Again I don't think we need him to be elite below his knees or be able to pluck them from nowhere. Just to be able to pick the ball up first time and take simple uncontested marks. The rest of his game is solid to good.

If years of training with a football the player cannot handle a football, there’s no amount of specialised skill coaching that is going to change that.

We will be lucky if he improves 5%, and that would take him to still below drunk toddler with baby oil on their hands level.

Hes so far back. Like a massive improvement is needed just for him to eke out some semblance of a career as a fringe player. If he was a rookie pick with a clean haircut i reckon he’s playing magpies and not even close to selection

It's mental now. When you start dropping sitter chest marks after all the overheads you're cooked. He needs to go back to SANFL level and get some confidence back. Everytime he's under a ball from now, until he gets that confidence back, he is going to have demons in his head. Add to that 40k fans and you've got a real issue.
He got the Bronx cheer from his own fans when he finally marked one. Not a good sign when the fan base has lost faith.

The worst part about Jones Is that his supposed strengths are never on display..

His speed?.. when..

His size?... when...

All you're left with is a slow, dumb medium sized defender who can't take uncontested marks, never chases down opponents and never breaks tackles

You’ve watched more junior footy and are a better judge than most, has there been many better junior in their role than Lachie Jones? Legitimate question

And surely his role translates well from SANFL to AFL?

So why isn’t Lachie making the grade?

There’s been a tonne of better juniors than Lachie.

No, his role isn’t guaranteed to translate from sanfl.

It’s obviously why he’s failing.

He has the worst handling skills of a player I’ve ever seen.

He has zero composure, like he makes wines and spp look like prime Robbie gray.

He’s all brash energy.

He’s a poor kick, can hoof it but the combination of average to poor touch and lack of composure are a killer combination. In a bad way. I would argue he’s the player I least want the ball in the hands of when he’s running, and yes I’m counting wines in that.

He’s an athlete, who fooled people into thinking he’s a footballer by having a bogan haircut. Those things might pass in a scrubber sanfl league but not afl.

It’s going to take a massive turnaround from here for him to be something more than he is.

One of the most frustrating players on the list. Improved so much last year to become quite a reliable player but has just regressed straight back into being a fumble merchant who overruns the ball and who you just cringe anytime he's near it. Needs a spell, give Williams his spot for now.

Do you think he is the kind of player that needs games to build into a season?

He got the Bronx cheer from his own fans when he finally marked one. Not a good sign when the fan base has lost faith.
I don't think it was a Bronx cheer as much as a cheer of encouragement and trying to get him back on track, but yes, the man needs to go back to the twos and build up his confidence again. Absolutely killed our momentum a bunch of times with some real fundamental skill errors

100% mental.

It's the yips, no different to any of the other players who seem to have forgotten a basic skill in the Hinkley era. Usually we notice it more with goalkicking but here it is rearing it's ugly head with another sort of player.

We are so incredibly mentally weak, it's insane. Watch this ruin his career for no reason apart from Ken Hinkley doesn't know how to coach mental acuity.

I don't think it was a Bronx cheer as much as a cheer of encouragement and trying to get him back on track, but yes, the man needs to go back to the twos and build up his confidence again. Absolutely killed our momentum a bunch of times with some real fundamental skill errors

Nah it was pretty bronx. Bronx cheering your own player that hard usually only happens when you've got a supporter base who has stopped giving a shit because they've got a coach who is now into his 7th year past his used by date.

There’s been a tonne of better juniors than Lachie.

No, his role isn’t guaranteed to translate from sanfl.

It’s obviously why he’s failing.

He has the worst handling skills of a player I’ve ever seen.

He has zero composure, like he makes wines and spp look like prime Robbie gray.

He’s all brash energy.

He’s a poor kick, can hoof it but the combination of average to poor touch and lack of composure are a killer combination. In a bad way. I would argue he’s the player I least want the ball in the hands of when he’s running, and yes I’m counting wines in that.

He’s an athlete, who fooled people into thinking he’s a footballer by having a bogan haircut. Those things might pass in a scrubber sanfl league but not afl.

It’s going to take a massive turnaround from here for him to be something more than he is.
Fair enough. Seemed like a good medium defender as a junior.

He seems too good for the SANFL. And he built into last season.

The promise and potential are so high. But the turd performance hurt tonight.

Still, he is only 21, less than 50 games, needs time.

If years of training with a football the player cannot handle a football, there’s no amount of specialised skill coaching that is going to change that.

We will be lucky if he improves 5%, and that would take him to still below drunk toddler with baby oil on their hands level.

Hes so far back. Like a massive improvement is needed just for him to eke out some semblance of a career as a fringe player. If he was a rookie pick with a clean haircut i reckon he’s playing magpies and not even close to selection
I hear what you're saying and it's definitely way harder now than if he was younger, but it's just biomechanics and it can be learnt. It would be easier than fixing kicking action flaws.

Other than the issues I mentioned above the other big mistake he makes is decisiveness with choosing between chest marks and in the hands. That can be worked on too with decision making drills.

If all of the above has been identified worked on and drilled, and he's still like this, then I'm afraid you're right and his career will be very short.

Yea it may be it. Some players need to be stuck with, grind the form out. Time at the higher intensity gets them there. Like we did with Marshall. But some do need to drop back to the lower level to build form.

I don't think his ball handling is salvageable at all. It's been the one theme all the way through from his debut season to now. Snatches at the ball, has to double/triple take all the time before being able to pick the ball up, consistently drops the simplest of marks.

Other parts of his game are alright. This part though is an absolute career killer. You can't play the way he played tonight and have an AFL career.

100% mental.

It's the yips, no different to any of the other players who seem to have forgotten a basic skill in the Hinkley era. Usually we notice it more with goalkicking but here it is rearing it's ugly head with another sort of player.

We are so incredibly mentally weak, it's insane. Watch this ruin his career for no reason apart from Ken Hinkley doesn't know how to coach mental acuity.
It’s odd. I reckon Hinkley does his best work with young players who respond to his motivation style. Seems he maxes out once players need to find another level ie Impey, Wingard, Amon, etc

I don't think his ball handling is salvageable at all. It's been the one theme all the way through from his debut season to now. Snatches at the ball, has to double/triple take all the time before being able to pick the ball up, consistently drops the simplest of marks.

Other parts of his game are alright. This part though is an absolute career killer. You can't play the way he played tonight and have an AFL career.
Yea that’s fair.

Was he like this as a junior? Or is it an issue with the step up from the SANFL?

Roast We need to talk about Lachie

Write your reply...