Strength Weight Training: Anything and Everything II

I had an exercise lab at uni yesterday where they taught us the technique for the clean and jerk. First time I've ever tried it and holy crap my traps are sore this morning.

I'm barely going to be able to lift my hands to boo properly this arvo.

I had an exercise lab at uni yesterday where they taught us the technique for the clean and jerk. First time I've ever tried it and holy crap my traps are sore this morning.

I'm barely going to be able to lift my hands to boo properly this arvo.
All oly lifters and overhead athletes have huge traps and upperbacks

IMO overhead movements are the most underrated trap builder

Been doing wide grip behind the neck push presses from the high bar squat position

Hits the traps insanely good

Has anyone tried a high frequency benching routine like this to increase bench numbers rather quickly? http://www.higher-faster-sports.com/highfrequencybenching.html

Thinking about doing that for 2 months or so and seeing how much I can add to my bench

I wonder if this works for overhead pressing as well?

4 weeks should be plenty as it's pretty high intensity too...i think i might have done this at some point? it'll work for overhead press too and you should actually do that first then as that will increase your bench on its own but not vice versa

How would you structure it for overhead pressing?

Also assuming I did do it for overhead pressing for a month or so, how much pec volume would you recommend seeing as I wouldn't be benching or doing much if any pressing movements outside of the OHP work? It could probably smack on a lot of pec work volume in there?

How would you structure it for overhead pressing?

Also assuming I did do it for overhead pressing for a month or so, how much pec volume would you recommend seeing as I wouldn't be benching or doing much if any pressing movements outside of the OHP work? It could probably smack on a lot of pec work volume in there?

It would be the same for overhead

For bench id suggest you do it on the last overhead day for maintenance so low volume and high intensity

cptkirk

Mate I've been doing some research as I've got a client who has a problem I've never seen before. I haven't come up with much so I might be looking in the wrong places.

Essentially, when squatting to depth (ie during the lower half of the movement) his feet pivot. the heels role in and internally rotate, his toes externally rotate and the squat pattern is horrible. I've tried a bunch of things and it is slowly getting better but at a snails pace. Any tips or suggestions to the cause of it ?

Cheers

1 - never squat with load further then a butt wink...only squat to where there is no butt wink

2 - you don't have to squat with feet straight and not many people will be able to so if they need some toe/foot out then no big deal

3 - everyone has different hip sockets so to get squat depth we are predisposed to different angles in regards to knees, ankles and feet

4 - if they're squatting with a bar doing back squats then I'd replace with front squats or even better goblet squats...none of my clients do back squats and I rarely do them anymore too focusing I front squats

5 - with goblet squats make sure they are sitting right back and keeping the shin as vertical as they can (this will vary)...also maybe try wrapping a band around their knees and instruct them to push their knees out the entire time...also try some isometric holds at the bottom position (prior to butt wink if it is prevent) with and without band

cptkirk

Mate I've been doing some research as I've got a client who has a problem I've never seen before. I haven't come up with much so I might be looking in the wrong places.

Essentially, when squatting to depth (ie during the lower half of the movement) his feet pivot. the heels role in and internally rotate, his toes externally rotate and the squat pattern is horrible. I've tried a bunch of things and it is slowly getting better but at a snails pace. Any tips or suggestions to the cause of it ?

Cheers
Ive had someone do this aswell. A couple of things that I found helped...

1) Get them to squat barefeet. Theyll be able to 'feel' the ground better and what the issue is. Also sometimes the shoes will increase the issue.

2) Get them to focus on 'screwing in' the feet before they squat.

3) A mini band around the knees. While its usually used to help people who tend to have valgus collapse when squatting, it tends to help with this issue aswell.

I am a complete noob when it comes to everything fitness. But I have been going to the gym for about 5 or so months now. Is it bad that I do this?

Day 1: Leg press, leg curl, leg extensions, calf raises, vertical chest press
Day 2: Bicep curl, overhead press, core, lower back, lat pulldown
Day 3: break
Day 4: Same as day 1
Day 5: Same as day 2
Day 6: break
Day 7: Same as day 1

Like is this a normal thing? No idea why I do it this way but yeah.
I don't do bench or squats yet but eventually want to do it. Not comfortable enough with my strength to do them.

Atm the weights I pull/push/pulley/whatever it is on the machine are:
Leg press: 184kg - 7 for 3
Leg curl: 81.5kg - 7 for 3
Leg Extensions: 60-70kg 7 for 3 (depending on my mood), only started doing these due to previous knee issues
Calf raises: 50kg - 7 for 3
Vertical chest: 64kg - 7 for 3, but should move it up to 68.5kg on Thursday
Bicep curl - 15kg - 7 for 3
Overhead press - 57kg - 7 for 3
Core is just planks, sit ups, etc. You know, the usual.
Lower back - holding a 20kg weight and doing those "backward sit up thingys", as i said I am a noob and have no idea what they are called.
Lat pulldown - 60kg, only recently added this to my workout.

I am at about 183cm and 70kg (so not much of me), but my body fat is heaps low (thanks genes).

Any recommendations or anything gents?

EDIT: I'm also 19 years of age if it helps, a bit of a late bloomer on the development front if it means I can't do certain exercises etc

Anyone had problems with their ears when weight training. Right ear keeps getting blocked and Ive read its to do with breathing technique.

More than every second morning I walk out with my ears blocked - straining must have something to do with it

Yep but I went to the doctor today about it. He seems to think I have an ear infection. Thought it was more then just weight training breathing problems because I was breathing right, exhale when straining. It was getting block a few times when I wasn't training aswell. Feels better now though since using ear drops. First time in a while ear hasn't got block when training.

Took some video footage of me squatting and realised I wasn't getting anywhere near deep enough. Today was my first session where I dialed the weight back 10kg to 100kg and took it quite a bit deeper, only managed 3 reps but I was kidding myself with my previous efforts.

150kg deadlift for 3 reps though, felt good

Took some video footage of me squatting and realised I wasn't getting anywhere near deep enough. Today was my first session where I dialed the weight back 10kg to 100kg and took it quite a bit deeper, only managed 3 reps but I was kidding myself with my previous efforts.
No shame in that - I spent a good 18 months not really adding much weight but adding depth.

Was quite funny squatting to depth recently in front of a half-squatter/ego lifter who barely gets to 45 degrees just after taking 5kgs off the side of his bar when taking over the squat rack after he'd finished

I am a complete noob when it comes to everything fitness. But I have been going to the gym for about 5 or so months now. Is it bad that I do this?

Day 1: Leg press, leg curl, leg extensions, calf raises, vertical chest press
Day 2: Bicep curl, overhead press, core, lower back, lat pulldown
Day 3: break
Day 4: Same as day 1
Day 5: Same as day 2
Day 6: break
Day 7: Same as day 1

Like is this a normal thing? No idea why I do it this way but yeah.
I don't do bench or squats yet but eventually want to do it. Not comfortable enough with my strength to do them.

Atm the weights I pull/push/pulley/whatever it is on the machine are:
Leg press: 184kg - 7 for 3
Leg curl: 81.5kg - 7 for 3
Leg Extensions: 60-70kg 7 for 3 (depending on my mood), only started doing these due to previous knee issues
Calf raises: 50kg - 7 for 3
Vertical chest: 64kg - 7 for 3, but should move it up to 68.5kg on Thursday
Bicep curl - 15kg - 7 for 3
Overhead press - 57kg - 7 for 3
Core is just planks, sit ups, etc. You know, the usual.
Lower back - holding a 20kg weight and doing those "backward sit up thingys", as i said I am a noob and have no idea what they are called.
Lat pulldown - 60kg, only recently added this to my workout.

I am at about 183cm and 70kg (so not much of me), but my body fat is heaps low (thanks genes).

Any recommendations or anything gents?

EDIT: I'm also 19 years of age if it helps, a bit of a late bloomer on the development front if it means I can't do certain exercises etc

What are you trying to achieve? Put on mass, get lean etc?

To be honest I don't know. Like I don't want to only put on mass, want to have significant strength gains for footy/life etc. Is there an overall option? :D

Sorry, did not see your reply. Probably get one of the other guys to help out then as I more strength/mass based. But I think lower weights, more reps, shorter rest periods is what you are after.

I am old school (old guy) as my trainer is old school. He would never have me working legs and then doing chest. He tends to either isolate and work on one area eg chest for a session or do related body parts, ie triceps and shoulders.

Dead lifts, squats, lunges, bent over rows, leg press would all be good for building up the glutes, you don't see many athletes without a big arse these days. But make sure you get the technique right or you can do some damage.

Sorry, did not see your reply. Probably get one of the other guys to help out then as I more strength/mass based. But I think lower weights, more reps, shorter rest periods is what you are after.

I am old school (old guy) as my trainer is old school. He would never have me working legs and then doing chest. He tends to either isolate and work on one area eg chest for a session or do related body parts, ie triceps and shoulders.

Dead lifts, squats, lunges, bent over rows, leg press would all be good for building up the glutes, you don't see many athletes without a big arse these days. But make sure you get the technique right or you can do some damage.
So what do you think I should pair together? Like I could go to the gym more and isolate muscle groups, but I enjoy having a bit of flexibility in my program ya know

Number one is you have to enjoy your work-out. As I said I am mass based, a good site to go to is bodybuilding.com, lots of ads and typical US crap but some really good program tips and videos re technique etc. Working out what works, what you enjoy etc is part of the journey.

How many days a week are you gyming? If its 3 just go with whole body workouts. If its more Id go an upper/lower split, or at most push/pull/legs. Thats if you're doing it for football, not bodybuilding

I do my workout split to avoid muscle synergists clashing with target muscles during the same workout. I believe tiring triceps with bench press is counter productive to building strength in tricep exercises (eg Dips or Cable Pushdown).

Therefore my split is

Back and Triceps
Legs and Delts
Pecs and Biceps

I do my workout split to avoid muscle synergists clashing with target muscles during the same workout. I believe tiring triceps with bench press is counter productive to building strength in tricep exercises (eg Dips or Cable Pushdown).

Therefore my split is

Back and Triceps
Legs and Delts
Pecs and Biceps

but you're indirectly training tri's and delts each session so how do they recover and thus get those strength/mass gains?

I do 3 on 1 off
So I train about 4-6 times a week depending on where the rest day lands.

My work out is.
Chest/ Triceps
Shoulder/ Traps
Bicep/Forarms/ Back
Legs/ Cardio

Rotating.

Strength Weight Training: Anything and Everything II