Weight Training: Anything and Everything

Ok so i've been going to the gym for about 6 months now and have had the following increases in lifts.. Would appreciate if someone could let me know if my improvements are too slow or if they are as expected..

I realise my lifts aren't very big but im only 17, 180 cms 70kg and this is my first real program.

Bench from 40kgs to 60kg for 3x10
Lat pull Downs from 38kg to 47kgs.
Seated rows from 16kgs to 23kgs on the machine not sure if you know what im talking about.
Shoulder Press 10kg dumbells to 15 kg almost 17.5kg

Have a groin injury so can't do squats

Obviously i do more exercises then this but i'm just trying to get an indication of how i'm going.

Thanks

Ok so i've been going to the gym for about 6 months now and have had the following increases in lifts.. Would appreciate if someone could let me know if my improvements are too slow or if they are as expected..

I realise my lifts aren't very big but im only 17, 180 cms 70kg and this is my first real program.

Seated rows from 16kgs to 23kgs on the machine not sure if you know what im talking about.

Obviously i do more exercises then this but i'm just trying to get an indication of how i'm going.

Thanks

This is always worth a look..

http://www.exrx.net/Testing/WeightLifting/StrengthStandards.htm

Thanks

Haha crazy. Interesting to see other comparisons.

I started with a bench of 40, yet for a low rep bench would struggle on 55.

At the same time I could easily do a lat pulldown of 12 reps at 55kgs. Could do 6-8 reps of 65 with good form.

Seated rows went from 25 to 55 for 12 reps, from 30-75 for 6-8.

So for your seated rows if you can bench 60 there's no way you couldn't do around 75+++ at least I reckon. Same with upping your lat pulldown.

Could just be you have a naturally strong chest (and tris) but still... interesting to compare :p

Yeah i've probably focused more on my chest so that could be why..

Im interested in your seated row 55 for 12 reps thats pretty good i wouldve thought.

Is this how you do it

http://www.myfit.ca/exercisedatabase/viewanexercise.asp?exercise=Seated+Row&table=exercises&id=5

Or do you do it with two hand things instead of the one like in the pic.

Also is there two sets of weights like 27 kg for one side and 27 for the other or is there just one set of weights. (probably confused you and doesnt make sense)

yeah but I prefer something against my chest as I find otherwise I generally lean back a bit, ruining technique and hurting my back in the process.

It depends how you set it up again. If you want to use the double set you can use the double sided setup, where you'll often find 2 people doing tri exercises. Hard to picture the machine I guess, I'll see what I can do.

But yeah, I always find it interesting as to what other people can do. I can do shoulder press of 20kgs, yet can squat over 100. A mate who can shoulder press 30kg dumbells can only squat around 100 (I only weigh 70-80). And really that's fairly poor, it's just I need to build up some fat on the old spine before I can take any more :p

And my incline is the worst thing everrrrr! :( Oh well, eventually you get there I guess

for the big basic lifts, i opt for nothing over 6 reps for the most part...the less reps you use per set, the more continued progress you can make

oh and you can still deadlift with groin soreness

^Yeah pretty much this. I started by deadlifting and squatting a lot but only on a low weight to perfect technique. There's no point doing sets with a bad technique as it will only make it harder to get right later on and probably put you out for a while :p

For squats I'll generally go 8,6,6,4 with the 8 being pretty light and seeing how that feels, more of a warmup.

With the bench, I'm still torn between the plethora of options that people throw up. 5x5 seems pretty popular though, just time consuming when you go with more than one person sometimes. Just have to rotate someone out each week :(, let them do it without a spotter :p

And with deads, every time I always get straight into it and every time I regret not stretching properly. For some reason nothing changes...

for bench just work up to a 3 or 5 rep max over 6 - 8 sets (plan it out to whereabouts you predict you'll finish)

so if you usually max out at 50kgs for 5 reps do this:

5 reps x 20kgs (fast)
5 x 25
5 x 30
5 x 35
5 x 40
5 x 45
5 x 50

all sets especially he first few are to be done as fast as you can for each rep (lower under control but explode up) and try this for each set...if there's 2 or 3 of you just go one after the other (this shouldn't produce much fatigue) and i bet you end up lifting more then normal

after a long (several seasons) lay off due to serious injury, Ive been back in training for american football up here in Sydney. focus has been on developing the core which has been a revelation for me. there are many movements, which frankly, are completely shunned in the average health & fitness gym where the focus is on lifting like a body builder for a good 90% of the guys who weight train - and they're really not lifting. the training emphasis i try to keep in mind these days whenever im in the weight room is to build a strong body, not simply throw around big weights. i still do the latter, but if im ever time poor and cant fit all my sessions in - and this is all-encompassing including onfield conditioning and speed drills - the one i will never forego is the core strength session. i will postpone one of the others (usually the lifting) to fit this in. and i feel it's worked wonders for my athletic ability and injury mgmt overall.

the primary focus of training for american football is different to what you'd find in Aussie rules, as it's predominantly speed, agility, power based over short-distances and time-frames so there's no real endurance focus, but more a repetitve one. my weight training consists very much of intense sets of compound movements while on the feet - where possible. lots of sets are between 3-5 reps of heavy weight for strength, bit lighter for speed. regardless, with any movement with heavy weight, there is a focus on explosive power no matter how fast the weight is moving. the main factor isnt weight, but technique. i will always lower the weight in a controlled manner with a slight pause at the bottom, then lifted with an explosive action - a desired tempo of 3-1-0 (lower-bottom-lift).

in terms of my warm-up i ensure that none of these sets are taxing on the body - they are simply meant to warmup and gradually get the body use to the weight. i will use a 10-6-3-1 rep system in my warm-ups. so hypothetically, if im attempting to squat around 140kg for 3-5 reps in my work sets, my warm up will consist of 1 x 10 x 20kg (basically just an olympic bar); 1 x 6 x 60kg; 1 x 3 x 100kg; 1 x 1 x 120kg.

i dont do this for every exercise, just the 1st of a bodypart.

and Syphoncom, static stretching isnt going to prepare your body for exercise............it's best to leave this for the end. getting the ligaments tendons, and nervous system to gradually acclimatise to the weight in the pyramid fashion ive found is the best way to go. i picked it up from a training philosophy years ago, but cant remember it for the life of me. but it's one of the best things have embraced. it gets the body ready for the real lifting and the work sets are then all the same weight. when these are completed properly you'll never end up being able to punch out the same number of reps for each set. if you're really 'working' on each work set, then it's impossible to complete the same number of reps on the 3rd set as the 1st set, with a given weight. that's why i believe these 3 x 10s and 5 x 5s are bit of BS - if you're lifting the same weight on every set, and lifting for 5 reps on the 1st right thru to the 5th, then you're not really working on the early sets and the entire workout is less effective.

Hey guys,

Been training for about 6 weeks now and am going to try something new, because I'm still experimenting and learning what works best for me.

I'm going to change from a 4 day split, that looked like this:
Mon: Chest/Tris
Tues: Legs
Wed: Rest
Thurs:Back/Bis
Fri: Shoulders
Sat: Rest
Sun: Rest

(About twice a week I would also do a few ab exercises, usually on fridays and tuesdays)

to a 3 day full body routine on Mon/Wed/Fri.

What I would like to know, is it better to do 3 full bodies that look something like this:

Monday:
Pullups
Bench Press
Squats
Military press
Standing barbell curls
Dips
Seated calf raises
Crunches/Leg raises

Wednesday:
Deadlift
incline dumbell press
lat pulldown
seated row
shoulder press
leg press
alternate dumbell curls
tricep exercise with dumbells (don't know what it's called)

Friday:
Squat
Benchpress
Pullups
Shoulder side lateral raises
Dips
Standing calf raises
Crunches/leg raises

OR

3 full bodies with one week being Upper A, Lower A, Upper B,
And the next week being Lower B , Upper A, Lower A and so forth.

For example:

Upper A:
Pull ups
seated row
Bench press
incline dumbell press
Military press
side lateral raises
standing barbell curls
dips

Upper B:
Lat pulldowns
pull ups
bench press
incline dumbell press
shoulder press (machine)
overhead dumbell press
alternate dumbel curls
tricep dumbells

Lower A:
Squats
Deadlifts
seated calf raises
Quad Extensions (dont know propper name, it's that machine where you lift them to paralell)

Lower B:
Leg press
lunges
seated calf raises
hamstring extensions (the machine lying face down)

I have made gains so far, but would like to keep trying new things to see what works for me.

Any advice would be great.

Hey dude. I'd do a bit of investigation and find out what you actually would prefer to be doing and try that.

I prefer splitting it myself into areas of the body (legs, shoulders, chest/tris etc). I just find I personally feel as though I'm killing it because I know that when I leave I couldn't have given any more.

Now a lot of people would probably disagree, but that's how I feel from having tried quite a few different things.

You can still change up your routine into push/pull, upper/lower, full body etc.

Here's some basic advice I'll have to reference, but something that I feel would be interesting to be critiqued by other members here and probably offer you some food for thought as well.

A simple 3 day routine. Each bodypart once per week. Each exercise 2-4 sets, reps 5-8.

Back/Bis

Deadlifts
A Row
Chins or Pulldows
Bicep Curl

Chest/Tris

Bench
DB or Inc Bench
Chest Dips
Triceps Isolation

Legs/Shoulders

Squat
GHR (Glute Ham Raise)
Military Press
Calf Work

A rotation that hits each bodypart once every 4-5 days.

Squat 2-3 x 5, 1 x 10
Ham Work 3 x 8
BB Row 4 x 6
Bicep Iso 2 x 10

Bench Press 3 x 5
Dips 3 x 8
Side Laterals 3 x 10
Tricep Iso 2 x 10

Deadlift 3 x 5
Leg Press 2 x 10 or 1 x 20
Pullups 20-40 reps
Bicep Iso 2 x 10

DB or Incline Bench 3 x 5
Flyes 3 x 8-12
OH Press 3 x 6-8
Tricep Iso 2 x 10

Workout on Mon/Wed/Fri/Mon and alternate workouts 1/2/3/4 etc...

Another rotation that hits each bodypart once every 4-5 days but using a little more volume.

Squats 3 x 5, 1 x 10
Ham Work 3 x 8-10
Pullups 20-40 reps
BB Rows 4 x 6
Curls 2 x 10

DB or Incline Bench 2 x 5, 2 x 8
Dips 2 x 8
DB OH Press 3 x 8
Side Laterals 2 x 10
Skulls 2 x 10

Deadlifts 2-3 x 5
Chins 20-40 reps
DB Rows 3 x 8
Curls 2 x 10

Bench Press 2 x 5, 2 x 8
DB Flyes 2 x 8-12
Military Press 3 x 8
Side Laterals 2 x 10
Skulls 2 x 10

Workout on Mon/Wed/Fri/Mon and alternate workouts 1/2/3/4 etc...

A favorite of mine that hits each bodypart twice per week.

Day 1

4x Squats: 5 reps
3x Ham Work: 8 reps
3x BB or DB Row: 8 reps
2x Bicep Curls: 10 reps

Day 2

4x Bench Press: 5 reps
3x Military Press: 8 reps
3x Tricep Isolation: 8 reps
2x Ab/Calf Work: 15 reps

Day 3

4x Deadlifts: 5 reps
3x Pullups: 8 reps
3x Leg Press: 8 reps
2x Biceps Curls: 10 reps

Day 4

4x DB or Incline Press: 5 reps
3x Chest Dips: 8 reps
3x Side Lateral Raise: 8 reps

Day 1: On
Day 2: On
Day 3: Off
Day 4: On
Day 5: Off
Day 6: On
Day 7: Off

A simple 4 day upper/lower.

Mon.

Squat 2-3 x 5
Ham Work 3 x 10
Calves 3 x 15
Abs 2 x 10

Wed.

Bench Press 3 x 5
BB or DB Row 3 x 6, 1 x 15
OH Press 3 x 8
Arms -Tri/Bi - each 3 x 8-10

Fri.

Deadlift Variant 2-3 x 5
Calves 3 x 15
Abs 2 x 10

Sun.

Incline bench 3 x 10-15
Pullups 20-40 reps
Dips 2 x 8-12
Lateral Raise 3 x 8-10

A couple of examples of 2 day per week training.

Each bodypart 1x a week.

Chest, Shoulders, Triceps.

Bench or Dips
Incline Bench (optional)
OH Press
Side Laterals
Tricep Isolation

Legs, Back, Biceps.

Squat or Deadlifts
Leg Press (optional)
Pullups
Rowing Lift
Bicep Curl

Hitting each major bodypart 2x per week.

Workout 1.

Squats
BB or DB Row
Bench
Incline Bench
Bicep Curl

Workout 2.

Deadlifts
Pullups
Dips
OH Press
Tricep Isolation

A 10 day strength/hypertrophy rotation.

Day 1: Heavy Upper
Day 2:
Day 3: Heavy Lower
Day 4:
Day 5: Chest, Shoulders, Triceps
Day 6: Back, Biceps
Day 7:
Day 8: Legs
Day 9:
Day 10:
Repeat, or Repeat on Day 10

Day 1 - Heavy Upper.

Bench 3 x 3 or 3 x 5 or work up to a 1RM
Row 3 x 5
OH Press 3 x 5

Day 3 - Heavy Lower.

Squats 3 x 3 or 3 x 5 or work up to a 1RM
GHR 3 x 5
Calves 3 x 6

Days 5-8 All exercises are 2-4 sets of 8-15 reps.

Day 5 - Chest, Shoulders, Triceps.

Bench or Dips
DB Flyes
Side Lateral Raises
Front Lateral Raises
Tricep Isolation

Day 6 - Back, Biceps.

Wide Grip Chins
Rows
Pulldowns
Shrugs
Curls

Day 8 - Legs.

Squat Variant
GHR
Leg Press
Ham Work
Calf Work

NOTE: The above routine can also be condensed into the 7 day week for those that can tolerate the workload. Monday and Tuesday would be heavy upper and heavy lower, Wednesday would be off followed by the higher rep work on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Sunday off and repeat. This is based on the training style of Layne Norton. Before you try this however be sure that you can tolerate training 5 days per week, this would be suited to more advanced lifters.

Source: N@tural1, <http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=115643271> :D

if i had to choose i'd go either this one:

Monday:
Pullups
Bench Press
Squats
Military press
Standing barbell curls
Dips
Seated calf raises
Crunches/Leg raises

Wednesday:
Deadlift
incline dumbell press
lat pulldown
seated row
shoulder press
leg press
alternate dumbell curls
tricep exercise with dumbells (don't know what it's called)

Friday:
Squat
Benchpress
Pullups
Shoulder side lateral raises
Dips
Standing calf raises
Crunches/leg raises

but without any machine (replacing with free wt variations), arm (might keep 2 exercise for bi and tri/week in but probably not) or calf exercises

or from the bodybuilding.com thing (the whole site is shit if you ask me):

A favorite of mine that hits each bodypart twice per week.

Day 1

4x Squats: 5 reps
3x Ham Work: 8 reps
3x BB or DB Row: 8 reps
2x Bicep Curls: 10 reps

Day 2

4x Bench Press: 5 reps
3x Military Press: 8 reps
3x Tricep Isolation: 8 reps

Day 3

4x Deadlifts: 5 reps
3x Pullups: 8 reps
3x Leg Press: 8 reps
2x Biceps Curls: 10 reps

Day 4

4x DB or Incline Press: 5 reps
3x Chest Dips: 8 reps
3x Side Lateral Raise: 8 reps

Day 1: On
Day 2: On
Day 3: Off
Day 4: On
Day 5: Off
Day 6: On
Day 7: Off

but again without calf, arm and isolation exercises

easy set up for mine:

lower body 1 - max effort squat or dead, single leg exercise, secondary posterior chain exercise paired with core
upper body 1 - max effort bench, pull up paired with shoulder press, row paired with tri paired with core
lower body 2 - dynamic effort squat/dead or jump, single leg exercise, secondary posterior chain paired with core
upper body 2 - push up rep method, chin up paired with shoulder press, row paired with core, secondary upper back paired with bi

train mon/wed/fri/sat or in that same pattern

max effort - work up to a 3 - 5 rep max
dynamic effort - 8 x 3 @ 30 - 60%
rep method - mechanical drop set push ups
the rest i'd stay for 5 - 8 reps for the most with arm and secondary upper back being 8 - 15 reps

far too easy

I reckon throw your split workout in the bin and start training like an athlete instead of a bodybuilder.

+ 1,000,000!!

Guys don't need to go to the gym 4-5 times a week to see improvements. If anything, it's fast way to overtraining, unless you've got some artificial help in your gearbag. it'll also get repetitive and boring very quickly too. 2-3 whole body sessions of compound movements per week are more than enough. I do 2 a week, plus a 3rd session focusing on core strength movements (which really isn't lifting as such). I'll also do 2 onfield drills sessions, and finally intense ride or swim day. The weights components is more than enough for me. My body actually recovers and responds better with the lower lifting volume.

I'd include cleans, snatches (learn to do them) lunge varieties, box step ups, rdls, pendlay rows, etc.

Get on yer feet more and challenge yer body!

Hey guys, just got myself a bench press set with a barbell (footy season finished, wanna bulk up for next year).. just a beginner and Im pretty much a twig, so yer gotta start off slow (10-20kg :eek: hey everyone starts off as a skinny teen!)

Looked on the internet and found bucket loads of info so quite overloaded with all these routines/workouts to follow.. Basically asking you guys for any tips or even a simple workout plan to follow for the week?

Would it be fine to just stick with the basics (bench presses, curls, military) and just keep doing sets of them? As long as I work out my shoulders, triceps, biceps and forearms right?
Focusing on just the upper body.

Any particular order I should do them in? Like go through all the exercises (10sets each) then repeat, or say curls 3x10 then move on to the next exercise?

Im aware its important to have days off to let your muscles recover, so I only do these 2-3 times a week..
Also have regular access to a typical home gym, if you guys reckon it will benefit and should be incorporated with the routine...

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

Hey guys, just got myself a bench press set with a barbell (footy season finished, wanna bulk up for next year).. just a beginner and Im pretty much a twig, so yer gotta start off slow (10-20kg :eek: hey everyone starts off as a skinny teen!)

Looked on the internet and found bucket loads of info so quite overloaded with all these routines/workouts to follow.. Basically asking you guys for any tips or even a simple workout plan to follow for the week?

Would it be fine to just stick with the basics (bench presses, curls, military) and just keep doing sets of them? As long as I work out my shoulders, triceps, biceps and forearms right?
Focusing on just the upper body.

Any particular order I should do them in? Like go through all the exercises (10sets each) then repeat, or say curls 3x10 then move on to the next exercise?

Im aware its important to have days off to let your muscles recover, so I only do these 2-3 times a week..
Also have regular access to a typical home gym, if you guys reckon it will benefit and should be incorporated with the routine...

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

why not lower body? do your forearms really need to get bigger?

Weight Training: Anything and Everything