Mass Weight Training: Building Muscle - A Tribute to Kong

I get this too, preacher up right curls kill it for me. Almost feels like shin splints in the forearm, i stop doing the exercise. I however dont feel it when doing the bicep dumbbell curls. I know i have very weak forearms, so i need to somehow strengthen it. I do plenty of stretching so that isnt an issue (hard to stretch a forearm).

Ensure proper form (for most it means dropping the weight significantly) to reduce the pain in the forearms.

I've never once done work on my forearms, the only workout they get is by carrying weights around the gym and putting my weights away when I'm finished with them.

How tight you're gripping the weight can be a factor as it places more stress on the forearms.

EZbar should help, although pain can obviously still occur.

Deadlifting is good for it too, so if anyone isn't deadlifting, I find that (personally) the best exercise for strengthening the forearms and it's without any direct work.

EZbar should help, although pain can obviously still occur.

Deadlifting is good for it too, so if anyone isn't deadlifting, I find that (personally) the best exercise for strengthening the forearms and it's without any direct work.

If you're not deadlifting you're not serious.

Lol, so ironic, I just checked the other thread:

8 weeks post op. I had a full scrape on my pelvis and also had my adductors cut and loosened. He said it would be okay to start cycling after 6 weeks, so i have just started in the past week, nothing too intense.

I have also started doing bridges over the past week and leg raises hanging from the chin up bar without swinging. I may start doing some deadlifts although this kills my hammies and back. I was aiming to start doing some light leg work in 4 weeks time.

Some people may be injured or just new to lifting in general and avoiding deadlifts.

:)

But in general yeah, I'd put deads with bench, ohp and squats. Should be doing them.

Is it ok to lift weights first thing in the morning? Had been doing it around 7pm after work but there are days where I am way too tired and end up missing workouts. I thought I may as well try a 6am session (which is literally as soon as I wake up) so I know I've got the workout out of the way first thing. Yay or nay?

Best not to load the spine early in the morning - see "20. Exercise Timing" in the article below:

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online...nce_repair/28_synergistic_factors_for_success

Interesting read with that spine stuff. I'll have something to eat, wait half an hour, lift between 6:30 to whenever. Have a proper breakfast straight after that. We'll see how that goes.

I'm finding it a lot harder to maintain consistency since working though. Easy during uni to find time.

i'm down with the spinal loading thing in the morning but i have clients who can only train at 6am so i'll do it but they're training 1 - 2 week

the point is if you have train as son as you get up then training is better then not training

I've trained shortly after i wake up for 20 odd months now. For the last 5 of those i haven't eaten before training.

I've had no issues gaining strength/muscle over that time.

Don't worry about the small details and just train!

Finally got my new dip belt today :D

Pity it was legs and not back or arms, but still in a state of excitement, took it along anyway.

Did some weighted pullups, and managed to finish with 2 at bw+17kgs, which I was pretty surprised at really. Got 2 sets at 4 with +12, should be interesting to see what progress this makes.

I rotate between weight/reps, so I'm keen to see the impact this has on my plateau on bw pull-ups (and dips). Really should start to drop some weight too, bf% creeping up, but yeah. Thought I'd just put that out there :p

i have a q about steroids. not that i am/have/thinking about using or am judging anyone that has. just want to try get my head around the biology/chemistry of them.

when people go on a cycle tey inevitably get stronger/larger all depending on goals, and they can hold more lean mass yeah? but when they go off a cycle they shrink and get all weak again. is this because the the hormone levels drop so they cant hold as much muscle?

i have a q about steroids. not that i am/have/thinking about using or am judging anyone that has. just want to try get my head around the biology/chemistry of them.

when people go on a cycle tey inevitably get stronger/larger all depending on goals, and they can hold more lean mass yeah? but when they go off a cycle they shrink and get all weak again. is this because the the hormone levels drop so they cant hold as much muscle?
When you start injecting it usually takes a few weeks for your body to realise there's an abundance of testosterone. Your brain tells your teste's to stop producing test, so they shrink and effectively 'shut up shop' while you're on the juice.

You ride the cycle and afterwards, during your post cycle therapy, your balls take a while to start producing testosterone again. It's in this time frame that you lose a lot of the mass you put on. There's other drugs for it apparently that either help with speeding up your natural test production or reduce estrogen or something but I don't know much about them. I just know that guys tend to get really big, hold lots of water and look bloated in their 12 weeks or so, then afterwards lose the water and some of the muscle mass.

They also tend to experience depression about 3 weeks after their cycle ends. A good mate of mine did it and, well, he's not got the best job in the world and it all compounded. His future looked very bleak to him and he wasn't happy with anything that was going on. He just kept saying to me, 'where am I going with my life? Shit job, no education past school, no girlfriend, and I'm now a gym rat who pumps roids? Where did I go wrong?'

It's pretty scary stuff being involved in that but he got over it in about a week and was back to his usual bubbly self.

Anyway, there's a bit of biology/history for you.

Have you been offered some juice?

iv been doing starting strength for the past couple of months but now i have started running again for footy i cant handle squating 3 times a week + 2 times a week of running. just wondering if anyone has a simple afl specific workout plan that doesnt involve leg work 2-3 times a week.
thanks.

When you start injecting it usually takes a few weeks for your body to realise there's an abundance of testosterone. Your brain tells your teste's to stop producing test, so they shrink and effectively 'shut up shop' while you're on the juice.

You ride the cycle and afterwards, during your post cycle therapy, your balls take a while to start producing testosterone again. It's in this time frame that you lose a lot of the mass you put on. There's other drugs for it apparently that either help with speeding up your natural test production or reduce estrogen or something but I don't know much about them. I just know that guys tend to get really big, hold lots of water and look bloated in their 12 weeks or so, then afterwards lose the water and some of the muscle mass.

They also tend to experience depression about 3 weeks after their cycle ends. A good mate of mine did it and, well, he's not got the best job in the world and it all compounded. His future looked very bleak to him and he wasn't happy with anything that was going on. He just kept saying to me, 'where am I going with my life? Shit job, no education past school, no girlfriend, and I'm now a gym rat who pumps roids? Where did I go wrong?'

It's pretty scary stuff being involved in that but he got over it in about a week and was back to his usual bubbly self.

Anyway, there's a bit of biology/history for you.

Have you been offered some juice?

cheers for that. havent been offered. just interested in the topic.

iv been doing starting strength for the past couple of months but now i have started running again for footy i cant handle squating 3 times a week + 2 times a week of running. just wondering if anyone has a simple afl specific workout plan that doesnt involve leg work 2-3 times a week.
thanks.

can't remember the exact program right now but for lower body try 2 x squats and 1 x deadlifts or vice versa

i think deads are in there already but just take squats off that day

there might be something for you if you check the melbourne members thread

What are peoples' opinion on dips? I mean this type:

images

I think I might have read somebody on here years ago saying that you shouldn't do them because they are meant to be bad for your shoulders or something.

Anyway I (relatively) recently threw them into my routine to see how they went and I love them. My entire upper body has gone up another notch in the past month or two and, among other things (better diet, increased training volumes, decreased alcohol consumption) I reckon the dips have played a big part.

Anybody else here a fan? Or quite the opposite? Interested to hear.

:thumbsu:

Love dips. For me they're easily the best compound lift for triceps. I had a left shoulder reco a couple of years ago, so it took a while for me to get confidence in them, and I had to hold the ROM back a ways or I got a little 'edge of range' pain. But I'm back to a pretty full ROM now with no problems.

As always, listen to your body. Some people have loose shoulders, push too deep with too much weight and develop issues.

Mass Weight Training: Building Muscle - A Tribute to Kong