Welcome Welcome to the Hawks Jack Scrimshaw

Hi Ned, Every kid I know who was drafted interstate, all felt homesick to some degree. This is not just missing your family and friends. The lads each day go home totally exhausted and their daily routine takes them way off normal.

Its a huge physical step up into an ultra competitive environment where many of the established players have done 3 or 4 pre seasons and are hardened athletes. Its intimidating for all of them so its really important senior players take them under their wings. This goes against the grain for some senior players as they may feel threatened by the arruval of talked up kids!

Lads that are in Melbourne can get away from the club by hanging out with their non footy mates but those who go interstate really only have footy mates. Its hard to switch off so they are tired as well as missing home.

When we move out if home for the first time its usually with mates you choose or know well but for some they start living with people they have met just a few times.

Suns themselves are aware they dont do a good job of player welfare. I think thats pretty obvious with the players leaving.

As a family our experience with the Suns was a little of a shock quite frankly. Your son is now in a professional workplace and quite different to what you are used to as a footy club voluteering and being social with parents. Suns certainly didnt feel like a family or close social environment for us.

We were certainly not allowed in the rooms before a game at Metricon but could request to stand in an elevated section in a cage basically! After the game we had to stand behind a rope but could not mingle in the rooms, thats if you were able to get tickets. We often didnt bother as we felt we were imposing or getting in the way.

I understand its not like that at all at other clubs or like you see with “roaming Brian” for example.

AFL players all undergoe a fair bit of media training and are told to steer clear of social media as best they can. The Suns players get nowhere near the attention of clubs in Vic SA and WA but Im not aware of any player on Big Footy. I was made aware of the forum by other parents so I think there might be a few of those here.
Really good insights again Gromma. Thanks heaps

Lucky you didn't tell me ,it could of disrupted the whole trade period.What's the news on his injury/discipline then?

Dial back your sarcasm a couple of notches, princess.

Likes his Prog Rock obviously. Finding a few fans of post rock, math rock and prog rock (hugely influential on all of it) on the Hawthorn board.

Even more reason to like youse all. :)
You clearly haven't listened to Animals as leaders if you think it's prog rock :)

But, he's not a real person, is he?
Real yes, person.......maybe

Hi Ned, Every kid I know who was drafted interstate, all felt homesick to some degree. This is not just missing your family and friends. The lads each day go home totally exhausted and their daily routine takes them way off normal.

Its a huge physical step up into an ultra competitive environment where many of the established players have done 3 or 4 pre seasons and are hardened athletes. Its intimidating for all of them so its really important senior players take them under their wings. This goes against the grain for some senior players as they may feel threatened by the arruval of talked up kids!

Lads that are in Melbourne can get away from the club by hanging out with their non footy mates but those who go interstate really only have footy mates. Its hard to switch off so they are tired as well as missing home.

When we move out if home for the first time its usually with mates you choose or know well but for some they start living with people they have met just a few times.

Suns themselves are aware they dont do a good job of player welfare. I think thats pretty obvious with the players leaving.

As a family our experience with the Suns was a little of a shock quite frankly. Your son is now in a professional workplace and quite different to what you are used to as a footy club voluteering and being social with parents. Suns certainly didnt feel like a family or close social environment for us.

We were certainly not allowed in the rooms before a game at Metricon but could request to stand in an elevated section in a cage basically! After the game we had to stand behind a rope but could not mingle in the rooms, thats if you were able to get tickets. We often didnt bother as we felt we were imposing or getting in the way.

I understand its not like that at all at other clubs or like you see with “roaming Brian” for example.

AFL players all undergoe a fair bit of media training and are told to steer clear of social media as best they can. The Suns players get nowhere near the attention of clubs in Vic SA and WA but Im not aware of any player on Big Footy. I was made aware of the forum by other parents so I think there might be a few of those here.

Hey Ian, nothing to do with Jack, can I ask you a couple of things?

I’m about your vintage. You played for us in 1975, a year with one of the greatest Hawthorn teams of all time, players at their peak: Matthews, Knights, Scott, Tuck, Kel Moore, Bomber Hendrie. And the great John Kennedy in charge.
We were top of the ladder and smashing teams every week.

1. How much did Peter Crimmins’ illness affect the team on Grand Final day?
2. Were you a chance to play? We even had Des Meagher on the bench!

I really don’t want to remember 1975, the game was a nightmare, but I’d love to know your inside views.

Thanks again for the insight! It’s great to get a true idea of what it’s like - because for the vast majority of us topics like this are purely guesswork!

All the best for yourself, Jack and the family in 2019!

Gidday Mojo,

This is something I was asked to do a short while ago, its probably a bit more than you asked for but simple to give you so please forgive the mostly cut and paste stuff with updates edited in...hope you find it a good read.

Ill try to keep this unbiased! :)

He is reserved if not quiet in unknown company but a very likeable, mess around kid with those he knows well. He has a tight group of mates he has had grown up with at school and through footy, some of them did OK in the draft, Polson, Florent, Setterfield, McGrath, Gallucci and Taranto amoungst others!! All very similar kids, love and are dedicated to their footy.

Jack was average at school, smart if he focused but always totally consumed with his footy and basketball. From a parents perspective, always banging my head against the wall to get him to put his footy down and open up his books! He also played rep BBall with the Sabres in Sandringham until forced to choose. Could also have been a good cricketer. Very hard in year 12 when you are in the AFL academy, playing state footy, school footy, TAC cup and trying to study!

When it comes to his footy, he never makes excuses but I can say the truth, that is he has had some frustrating set backs just prior to his draft leading up to mid last season when he finally started getting his body and mind right.

In early 2015, his U17 year, he had come off a stand out U16 national carnival (in 2014) for Vic Metro and was selected in the AFL academy (basically the all Australian side) and worked in that program until he was drafted. Kids without character dont come close to getting into this program BTW. He was one of only two Vic Metro players chosen. (the other was Jordan Gallucci. now at Adelaide). Anyway, early 2015 after just after being selected to play for Vic Metro at bottom age, he had a routine check up and the Metro doc noticed some inflexibility in his left hip and requested a scan. They found a small impingement, part of the hip bone that was larger. It wasnt stopping him playing but the docs thought it would be a restriction at professional level and recommended to have an op to basically scrape the bone away and free him up. The aim was to have him ready for his draft year.

The op was a success but the recovery was more than 15 weeks so he missed most of his bottom age year. When you hear Matthew Lloyd talk, this is when he knew him at Haileybury (school) and it no doubt frustrated Llloydy that he wasnt playing. For school he was told by the Metro docs to go easy and I think this is where Lloydy saw him as needing to do more work, when actually he wasnt allowed to! Haileybury footy is now headed up by Matthew Lloyd and before him, Stewart Loewe, whos son was in the lower year to Jack. Both Lloydy and Stewie have told me Jack was the best junior player they ever saw but I reckon Gunna would hold that mantle atm.

Jack Gunstan played junior footy at Beaumaris, then Sandringham Dragons and went to school at Haileybury, same as Jack Scrimshaw!

His first game back after his op was an incredible day for all of us! He played in the AFL Academy team vs the U18 All Stars on the G as the curtain raiser to the Hawks 2015 flag! What a day!

He played for just 20mins and from memory he kicked three goals and did well. Next he was flown off to Tampa with the academy where he attempted to do too much and sustained a stress fracture in his heel from poor boots/shoes. That put him out for the back half of that pre-season and the docs conservatively put him in a moon boot for another 6 weeks! Jack returned to play school footy from around the May 2016 of his draft year, way behind his teamates with his fitness and ability to run out a game. Prior to his op he was running 14.3 beeps, elite for a kid his height. This indicates hard work done earlier to get there.

He played very well at school then went straight into the Nationals representing Vic Metro in May/June 2016. He played a stand out game considering v SA which basically secured them the title. He played his first game in the TAC cup in approx round 15 2016 and I think was the first player to represent Australia and Vic Metro without ever playing a TAC Cup game. Theres some trivia for you!

His season ended with 23 possessions and a great game in the Sandringham Dragons flag. Of course he ended up going pick 7 in the 2016 draft and off to the Gold Coast!

I wont say too much about his time at the Suns other than his frustrating minor set backs like a hip flexor, bone spur in his foot, fractured cheek and a KO added to his homesickness. This lack of match fitness frustrated him, effected his confidence and got him down and probably a lack of maturity and experience made it tough for him. He was drafted by Rocket Eade and Scott Clayton who were sacked the next season. He played his 4 games at the back end of 2017 at AFL level and a total of 17 for the year. His body was cooked by his 4th senior game after a gruelling year trying to get his body right.

Some not close to him, viewed this training and effort on field as being lazy or having an attitude problem, which is not the case at all. It was mostly fitness and frustration from not being able to get a good run at playing seniors. Mid season he mentioned he wouldnt mind coming home and thats where his agent took over and I believe the Hawks became interested.

The Suns have announced a large investment in player welfare for the coming years as part of their retention plans. Unfortunately this was coming too late for Jack. In a short window of time (March to May '18) when his head was not where it needs to be it would have been good to have the right level of mentoring, leadership and support around him.

Jack has barracked for the Hawks all his life, idolized Crawf and Willo in the 2000s and then later Buddy, Roughy, Cyril and Birch. If you look closely at the 2013 flag when Hilly runs into the open goal in the last, he runs to the fence and high fives Jack and his mate! He's wearing a yellow raincoat from memory!!!

Ive got no doubt this trade by the Hawks was a clever decision by Clarko and Wrighty. In just the first meeting with Clarko it has had a tremendous impact on him. He is really up and about! Fingers crossed if he can do a full pre-season, the Hawks fans will be delighted with him Im sure.

Next step, Kokoda which will be fantastic for him!

We are all very much looking forward to 2019! It cant come quick enough!
Source?

Was one of my favorite kids from the 2016 draft, looks laconic but time seems to slow down abit with the ball in his hands and works his way through traffic really well, abit pendelbury like. Had a great tac cup grand final but if you look at his afl highlights package on the hawthorn website that’s what really impresses me, has some great intercept marks, good movement and pinpoint kicking, and that’s just from four games. Definitely think we have a player on our hands and I can’t wait to see him get a decent run at it next year

I couldn't find it (and I had a good look). If you see it again would you mind posting a link? Thanks in anticipation ;-)

Hi Davo, Im David, Ian is my brother. I dont recall Ian being a chance for the 75 GF or how Crimmos illness effected them but Ill ask him next time we chat. I have to clarify but I recall something about Ian being in the showers when Crimmo was flicked with a towel which was rumoured to be the start of it...dont quote me on that.

I read/heard something similar as well regarding the towel flick.
Also read that not even Crimmo knew how it happened. I read also that he went for a check up after a game, where he was knocked in the groin area. Truthfully it could be a number of things that contributed to it. If anything it should make us all realise, the importance of getting regular check ups.

Anyway, pleased for your son and the rest of your family, in joining this great club. Your postings have been awesome and interesting reading. He sounds like a well adjusted young man, that had to deal with his frustrations, in a place that offered little support to him. With a bit of luck on the injury front, being back around his mates and family, I hope he has a bright and promising future with us.

Thanks again for your unbiased and resonable responses, in discussing how it has been for him. At times us supporters get a little bit too emotional and unfairly make harsh comments. Hopefully it may make us think before we type, with the knowledge that the players families ect are reading what is being written.

Hi Davo, Im David, Ian is my brother. I dont recall Ian being a chance for the 75 GF or how Crimmos illness effected them but Ill ask him next time we chat. I have to clarify but I recall something about Ian being in the showers when Crimmo was flicked with a towel which was rumoured to be the start of it...dont quote me on that.
Thank goodness. I thought I was going mad.

I had known for a long time that Ian was Jack's uncle. And then people calling you Ian in this thread had me second guessing myself. Grew up in Tonga in the 70's and listened intently to Hawthorn games that my grandparents would tape off the radio and send to us by sea. We'd get them a month or so after the game. Was too young to take in the sport before we went to Tonga, so I tried to picture what the game looked like in my head. Heard your brother's name, (as I did all the players) and he was one of the few that I actually had pictured in my head almost exactly as he looked when I saw him a few years later. Knights and Matthews as well. For some reason though, growing up in Tonga I pictured most the afl players as tall scrawny and very very blonde.

There really should be no question about his professionalism. He has had some frustrating set backs that has resulted in his fitness lacking and probably just a month or two where the frustration was getting to him but that you can say was a lot to do with the way he was handled by the Suns. He has shown incredible persistence to do his rehab and get back on the track. Second half of last season he hit the required level, fitness good and body 100%...Hawks get him primed and ready to go.

I hope he impresses in the pre-season and is ready to go and work that potential. I remember the TAC Cup GF being on TV and watching it out of interest, as well as a few other games that year - your lad has a huge amount of confidence in his ability and his kicking. Clarko will absolutely love that.

The next 10 years of Sicily and Scrimshaw using their boot out of d50 is a tantalising prospect.

Gidday Mojo,

This is something I was asked to do a short while ago, its probably a bit more than you asked for but simple to give you so please forgive the mostly cut and paste stuff with updates edited in...hope you find it a good read.

Ill try to keep this unbiased! :)

He is reserved if not quiet in unknown company but a very likeable, mess around kid with those he knows well. He has a tight group of mates he has had grown up with at school and through footy, some of them did OK in the draft, Polson, Florent, Setterfield, McGrath, Gallucci and Taranto amoungst others!! All very similar kids, love and are dedicated to their footy.

Jack was average at school, smart if he focused but always totally consumed with his footy and basketball. From a parents perspective, always banging my head against the wall to get him to put his footy down and open up his books! He also played rep BBall with the Sabres in Sandringham until forced to choose. Could also have been a good cricketer. Very hard in year 12 when you are in the AFL academy, playing state footy, school footy, TAC cup and trying to study!

When it comes to his footy, he never makes excuses but I can say the truth, that is he has had some frustrating set backs just prior to his draft leading up to mid last season when he finally started getting his body and mind right.

In early 2015, his U17 year, he had come off a stand out U16 national carnival (in 2014) for Vic Metro and was selected in the AFL academy (basically the all Australian side) and worked in that program until he was drafted. Kids without character dont come close to getting into this program BTW. He was one of only two Vic Metro players chosen. (the other was Jordan Gallucci. now at Adelaide). Anyway, early 2015 after just after being selected to play for Vic Metro at bottom age, he had a routine check up and the Metro doc noticed some inflexibility in his left hip and requested a scan. They found a small impingement, part of the hip bone that was larger. It wasnt stopping him playing but the docs thought it would be a restriction at professional level and recommended to have an op to basically scrape the bone away and free him up. The aim was to have him ready for his draft year.

The op was a success but the recovery was more than 15 weeks so he missed most of his bottom age year. When you hear Matthew Lloyd talk, this is when he knew him at Haileybury (school) and it no doubt frustrated Llloydy that he wasnt playing. For school he was told by the Metro docs to go easy and I think this is where Lloydy saw him as needing to do more work, when actually he wasnt allowed to! Haileybury footy is now headed up by Matthew Lloyd and before him, Stewart Loewe, whos son was in the lower year to Jack. Both Lloydy and Stewie have told me Jack was the best junior player they ever saw but I reckon Gunna would hold that mantle atm.

Jack Gunstan played junior footy at Beaumaris, then Sandringham Dragons and went to school at Haileybury, same as Jack Scrimshaw!

His first game back after his op was an incredible day for all of us! He played in the AFL Academy team vs the U18 All Stars on the G as the curtain raiser to the Hawks 2015 flag! What a day!

He played for just 20mins and from memory he kicked three goals and did well. Next he was flown off to Tampa with the academy where he attempted to do too much and sustained a stress fracture in his heel from poor boots/shoes. That put him out for the back half of that pre-season and the docs conservatively put him in a moon boot for another 6 weeks! Jack returned to play school footy from around the May 2016 of his draft year, way behind his teamates with his fitness and ability to run out a game. Prior to his op he was running 14.3 beeps, elite for a kid his height. This indicates hard work done earlier to get there.

He played very well at school then went straight into the Nationals representing Vic Metro in May/June 2016. He played a stand out game considering v SA which basically secured them the title. He played his first game in the TAC cup in approx round 15 2016 and I think was the first player to represent Australia and Vic Metro without ever playing a TAC Cup game. Theres some trivia for you!

His season ended with 23 possessions and a great game in the Sandringham Dragons flag. Of course he ended up going pick 7 in the 2016 draft and off to the Gold Coast!

I wont say too much about his time at the Suns other than his frustrating minor set backs like a hip flexor, bone spur in his foot, fractured cheek and a KO added to his homesickness. This lack of match fitness frustrated him, effected his confidence and got him down and probably a lack of maturity and experience made it tough for him. He was drafted by Rocket Eade and Scott Clayton who were sacked the next season. He played his 4 games at the back end of 2017 at AFL level and a total of 17 for the year. His body was cooked by his 4th senior game after a gruelling year trying to get his body right.

Some not close to him, viewed this training and effort on field as being lazy or having an attitude problem, which is not the case at all. It was mostly fitness and frustration from not being able to get a good run at playing seniors. Mid season he mentioned he wouldnt mind coming home and thats where his agent took over and I believe the Hawks became interested.

The Suns have announced a large investment in player welfare for the coming years as part of their retention plans. Unfortunately this was coming too late for Jack. In a short window of time (March to May '18) when his head was not where it needs to be it would have been good to have the right level of mentoring, leadership and support around him.

Jack has barracked for the Hawks all his life, idolized Crawf and Willo in the 2000s and then later Buddy, Roughy, Cyril and Birch. If you look closely at the 2013 flag when Hilly runs into the open goal in the last, he runs to the fence and high fives Jack and his mate! He's wearing a yellow raincoat from memory!!!

Ive got no doubt this trade by the Hawks was a clever decision by Clarko and Wrighty. In just the first meeting with Clarko it has had a tremendous impact on him. He is really up and about! Fingers crossed if he can do a full pre-season, the Hawks fans will be delighted with him Im sure.

Next step, Kokoda which will be fantastic for him!

We are all very much looking forward to 2019! It cant come quick enough!
Damn, getting all misty eyed over here...

Welcome Welcome to the Hawks Jack Scrimshaw