Welcome Welcome to the SUNS, Brandon Ellis.

Shows the state of this club when a new player arrives and the welcome thread has one Gold Coast fan comment in nearly 2 hours...

Mate, sunny 22 degree Saturday arvo on the GC, last weekend of school holidays in the off-season - plenty of reason for there to be tumbleweeds at this stage besides the state of the club...

As a long-term (former) resident of the Goldie and long-term Richmond member, for me this is a solid move for all three (Suns, Tiges and BEllis).

I'm sure some of the more ardent Suns fans will voice their opinions soon enough too - I'm assuming they'll mostly be positive.

Mate, sunny 22 degree Saturday arvo on the GC, last weekend of school holidays in the off-season - plenty of reason for there to be tumbleweeds at this stage besides the state of the club...

As a long-term (former) resident of the Goldie and long-term Richmond member, for me this is a solid move for all three (Suns, Tiges and BEllis).

I'm sure some of the more ardent Suns fans will voice their opinions soon enough too - I'm assuming they'll mostly be positive.
Now this guy knows what he's talking about.

It's also a long weekend up here.

On ONEPLUS A6013 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Shows the state of this club when a new player arrives and the welcome thread has one Gold Coast fan comment in nearly 2 hours...
I was out running a 21km spartan race in the beautiful gold coast hinterland on a sunny 27 degree day - you know - outside, you should try it sometimes. Thats generally what the GC is about. We count ourselves lucky to live in a great part of Australia.

It's also another mature body in the midfield. Help out the kids running through there.

No matter what he is being paid, the sheer fact he can provide more to these young kids, the experience in the midfield and skills on the ground that's worth so much more than any salary.

I really hope things go well for him up there. Great bloke. Solid contributor. Could bring a lot and evolve into a bit of a leader up there I reckon.

I'd be happy to see him add to his premiership tally too. Maybe just not at the expense of the Tiges 😛

Good signing though GC. I think you've made a smart move.

Jesus christ! The melts on the Richmond board are hilarious! It has gone from poster actually saying how crap he is, how they will laugh at the saltyness of opposition fans when they get round one compo and how we are paying him overs.

Now they get pick 39, he is a two time premiership superstar, needed player, AFL out to get them. It is brilliant.

i'd like to see the AFL's free agency compensation calculator integrated with where the two club's finished on the ladder, along with the whole salary part. that would give it more transparency and we'd get less sooks.
The idea that the compensation should be based on the offer given by the club that the player is leaving makes much more sense to me.

If Richmond didn't offer Ellis a contract - no compensation
If Richmond offered him 3 year 250k - pick 50
If Richmond offered him 3 year 400k - pick 35

etc.. etc..

Why should it be based on what the opposition offers

Welcome Welcome to the SUNS, Brandon Ellis.