Start with ‘common’ sense first. Then go crazy with your comman sense. You bag squiggle and yet are half pie illiterate.I will go with comman sense when predicting the Eagles game results
Star with ‘common’ sense first. Then go crazy with your comman sense. You bag squiggle and yet are half pie illiterate.
They already are the Best Coast. No competition coming from the Suns.Name change to Best Coast could be on the cards
Altered for prosperity and to save face. Oldest trick in the book.The term star is regularly misused in footy circles.
I guess everyone is illiterate?
Incorrect, not one first rounder was offered in 2018 for him, & never forget he sat under the W.A clubs noses for years & you never wanted him until you saw what he did for us.....Anyway onto the actual topic, I think the Eagles have the right to be seen as a top two prospect, the concern for me would be Barrass, his drop in form at the end of the year really seemed to inhibit McGovern’s output & the overall strength of the back half, if he can return to the 2018 version I think you’re right up to the Tigers level.True as
Do you mean posterity? lolAltered for prosperity and to save face. Oldest trick in the book.
No, for being prosperous. For peace.Do you mean posterity? lol
Incorrect, not one first rounder was offered in 2018 for him, & never forget he sat under the W.A clubs noses for years & you never wanted him until you saw what he did for us.....Anyway onto the actual topic, I think the Eagles have the right to be seen as a top two prospect, the concern for me would be Barrass, his drop in form at the end of the year really seemed to inhibit McGovern’s output & the overall strength of the back half, if he can return to the 2018 version I think you’re right up to the Tigers level.
Sorry.........To late.Altered for prosperity and to save face. Oldest trick in the book.
Yeh yeh. Murphy’s law...Sorry.........To late.
Yeh yeh. Murphy’s law...
Your remarks about the 2018 trade conversations are only true if you take what Chris Scott says at face value. I think you may be the only person willing to do that.
Reality is, Kelly was in contract and Geelong wanted another 12 months to try and convince him to stay (which failed). Geelong was not trading Kelly in 2018, and they were within their right to hold him to his contract.
I think you are right about Barrass. Word is he had a hand injury. To me, I think the injury affected his decision making. It looked as though the was in two minds a lot of the time around whether to mark/punch to incoming ball and that had an impact across the entire back six.
I think the Eagles have more unanswered questions than just Barrass' form. West Coast has everything they need to win the flag this year, but like all teams they need things to go their way. A few questions that I think will determine if they can win their 2nd flag in 3 years and become the most successful club of the AFL era:
1) Kennedy's output - Can he rebound after tailing off in the last part on 2019. First pre-season in a number of years put him in good stead, but he is 33 this year.
2a) Can NicNat stay on the park for the entire season? Without Lycett and Vardy's recent form, I don't think they can win in 2020 without him.
2b) If Nic is in the ruck, who comes in as 2nd ruck option? This person needs to be able to play 40% ruck time (rules out Allen).
3) How does Kelly adjust to new team and structure and new set of expectations/pressure.
4) How does Barrass rebound from a disappointing end to 2019?
I would argue that Hurn is more important to the flag push than Naitanui. Without him, and without the assumption that Barrass returns to his best, it could leave the defence vulnerable, whereas it was arguably the strongest part of your flag side.Pretty much an accurate summary of where we are at.
Yes, the window is wide open, and should be wide open until at least 2022, but like all teams in the window need a lot of things to go right and for the 'oldies' to at least maintain their form while the younger ones step up.
If Naitanui is a shadow of his former self, Kennedy declines more and Kelly takes until 2021 to adjust I think we're not going to win it this year. I think those are our three most critical pieces for a flag push.
I would argue that Hurn is more important to the flag push than Naitanui. Without him, and without the assumption that Barrass returns to his best, it could leave the defence vulnerable, whereas it was arguably the strongest part of your flag side.
You don't need an elite ruckman to win a premiership, but you do need a rock solid defence.
He'll have a ripper year!!Incorrect, not one first rounder was offered in 2018 for him, & never forget he sat under the W.A clubs noses for years & you never wanted him until you saw what he did for us.....Anyway onto the actual topic, I think the Eagles have the right to be seen as a top two prospect, the concern for me would be Barrass, his drop in form at the end of the year really seemed to inhibit McGovern’s output & the overall strength of the back half, if he can return to the 2018 version I think you’re right up to the Tigers level.
Didn't have to be in a row!! Just end in 0!!What about 1998, 2000 and 2010?
2040 more realisticDidn't have to be in a row!! Just end in 0!!
2030!!
I see that happening too.Didn't have to be in a row!! Just end in 0!!
2030!!
Except they have screwed their rebuild. 4 years out of finals and they only have 2 x top 10 picks on their list. They won’t win the spoon in 25 but still need to replace 15 players in drafts with an expansion team coming.I see that happening too.
Take away 1992, eagles for some reason win a flag every 12 years....
So 2030 sounds about right. And it's likely to be a non Victorian side they will meet too.
And if you think of certain years....
2006, 2012, 2018 and 2024. All those years are won by non Victorian sides
Judging WCE by your club's methods isn't the greatest way to predict future success.Except they have screwed their rebuild. 4 years out of finals and they only have 2 x top 10 picks on their list. They won’t win the spoon in 25 but still need to replace 15 players in drafts with an expansion team coming.
How can they possibly get the youth actually winning a flag in 6 seasons if the bulk of them aren’t on the list yet? Even if their recruiting and development massively improve in 2025, they will need a miracle for the build to not be impacted by Tassie and maybe cost them the few extra pieces they will need.
It was both, Geelong, followed by Collingwood. They seemed to also be the only two teams who manage to attract decent mature age recruits regularly.Judging WCE by your club's methods isn't the greatest way to predict future success.
More than half the list has been turned over already and significant effort has been put into improving the off-field stuff.
Youth isn't the be all and end all, Collingwood won a flag 2 years ago with the oldest list ever(or was it Geelong the year before? I forget).
Youth gets massively overrated on BF, the only thing that matters is the quality of your list overall.
How a club gets there is the interesting part.
It was both, Geelong, followed by Collingwood. They seemed to also be the only two teams who manage to attract decent mature age recruits regularly.
WC have been getting scraps, Baker is a good player but is a role player. No one else is more than serviceable and is not opening the window.
Warner would be an A grade prospect but will cost the equivalent of quality youth so there will be a price if you land him. I think it’s worth paying should the opportunity arise as your drafting and development has been poor since the rebuild started with a few exceptions. I just can’t see that flipping around instantly as your WAFL team still has massive issues.
It was both, Geelong, followed by Collingwood. They seemed to also be the only two teams who manage to attract decent mature age recruits regularly.
WC have been getting scraps, Baker is a good player but is a role player. No one else is more than serviceable and is not opening the window.
Warner would be an A grade prospect but will cost the equivalent of quality youth so there will be a price if you land him.
I think it’s worth paying should the opportunity arise as your drafting and development has been poor since the rebuild started with a few exceptions. I just can’t see that flipping around instantly as your WAFL team still has massive issues.
And 1 or 2 leaving WA.There's one or two WA bound go home players most years.