• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League - 2021

Good reporting from the Border Watch as normal. Saying Millicent are trying to pick up Aaron Sims.... too bad he played there last year.

Interesting you say that requestingtalent that Millicent may have got the best of out of there gf list last year !? explain please....what makes West too come out king pins and the saint's not !! They'v plateaued basically....lost a couple, gained a couple and still a few uncertainties.

The way i and probably all you know it all's see it, top 5 from last yr will stay the same with competition for that last spot up for grabs !?

Interesting you say that requestingtalent that Millicent may have got the best of out of there gf list last year !? explain please....what makes West too come out king pins and the saint's not !! They'v plateaued basically....lost a couple, gained a couple and still a few uncertainties.

The way i and probably all you know it all's see it, top 5 from last yr will stay the same with competition for that last spot up for grabs !?

West will definately be stronger then last year in my opinion. They have lost definately 1 player Matt Scanlon, with apposability of Ollie O'donovan travelling each week to play from Adelaide, and have heard Allan Kennedy is moving back from Adelaide in march as things have not worked out.
What A graders have they recruited??

Tyson Ploenges, Brett Sutherland, Tory Weaver, Jamie Croker, Matt Nielson, Brody Sharom, Todd McPhartlan who has had a stellar Pre Season.

Add to that a list of players that played minimal last year

Daron Mcelroy - 3 games due to shoulder
Rowan Fox - 5 games, due to 2nd knee reco
Clinton Cowell - 8 games due to broken ankle and hamstring

Look at Millicent, not all that much movement there, another year on all there bodies, i'm guessing a lot of people are saying they got the best out of themselves for season 2010!

West will definately be stronger then last year in my opinion. They have lost definately 1 player Matt Scanlon, with apposability of Ollie O'donovan travelling each week to play from Adelaide, and have heard Allan Kennedy is moving back from Adelaide in march as things have not worked out.

Tyson Ploenges, Brett Sutherland, Tory Weaver, Jamie Croker, Matt Nielson, Brody Sharom, Todd McPhartlan who has had a stellar Pre Season.

Look at Millicent, not all that much movement there, another year on all there bodies, i'm guessing a lot of people are saying they got the best out of themselves for season 2010!

West are looking better than last year and haven't been to chirpy like North. Plus thing for West is there young and fast, with a few bigger bodies it will definately help there chances in back to back. Don't think they were the best team last season, but come finals they were definately on there game. Everyone thinks Millicent will drop a little with the likes of North, Portland and Hamilton looking not to bad, but they still will be around the mark, and up the right end of the ladder.

Rig the only good thing about malseed park is the race leading out onto the ground and the best change rooms in the league.You blokes must feel like kings lacing up your puma legends and putting the red and blue on each week.If its all true about all these names you have just named i am coming out of retirement and going to grace the turf like all the other has beens that are coming back.Tell hooker to keep a forward spot available for me and if i get real fit i might even take crockers wing off him if he is not careful.i am looking forward to also having a quite one with bumbla beyer the reserves coach after the game.roos 2011 and snitzel will be on board.

Yeah I agree. I, along with most of the South East was captivated by the article informing me that John Egan from the Millicent reserves team has decided to move on. Millicent must be distraught. I played 6 games for East Gambier reserves last year and have now decided to hang up the boots, where is my quarter page spread.

Well in fairness John did play a slab of games in the A Grade but had little to no influence on the majority of them.

I think his article was mainly for his off field actions. Also laughed when Rod Morris said it was Egan and Murray... when it wasnt.

Loooking forward to Rod writing about your 6 games Freak.

Have you heard who the Saints have picked up Ant? Was told they have a couple of recruits but when I asked for names none were forthcoming.

Is Hosking playing? One person told me he was retiring another that he was ready to go for another year. If so will be like a new recruit... barely played last year exccept the finals. Also get B Tilley back to a team that lost the GF by less than a kick.

Rig, your opinion does not count because your blood bleeds Red and Blue. Can you be serious. If West are paying O'Donovan to come back from Adelaide each week, they may as well be donating his match fees to the Queensland flood appeal. Allan Kennedy should concentrate on his circus career because his backflips make him, and his club look like clowns. Did you mean Terry or Tyson Ploenges cause I get the two of them confused? And honestly Rig, Jamie Croker, a bloke who has played in 199 losing games should just be happy with that and call it quits.

Who said anything about paying for o'donovan to come down. Pretty sure he has a lady friend in the mount. All the has beens coming back, well add all them to last years team and the depth for west seniors is looking alright. Your team sure wasn't good enough to get over us last year! You sound like the Hamilton waterboy to me, have fun on the sidelines filling those bottles up FREAK

Have you heard who the Saints have picked up Ant? Was told they have a couple of recruits but when I asked for names none were forthcoming.

Is Hosking playing? One person told me he was retiring another that he was ready to go for another year. If so will be like a new recruit... barely played last year exccept the finals. Also get B Tilley back to a team that lost the GF by less than a kick.
I agree with you there they lost the big one by a kick with another 5 minutes they would of got up but they didnt, so we cant keep grumbling.Brad tilley is a smart operator, and there reserves have some depth there.I hope the saints get up this year under the messiah and the party rolls down at millicent land.The last thing we want is west or the yellow bellies carrying on again.End of the matter.

Who said anything about paying for o'donovan to come down. Pretty sure he has a lady friend in the mount. All the has beens coming back, well add all them to last years team and the depth for west seniors is looking alright. Your team sure wasn't good enough to get over us last year! You sound like the Hamilton waterboy to me, have fun on the sidelines filling those bottles up FREAK
The rig i am no oxford scholar but didnt the freak just state he played for east gambier last year in the reserves.What is all the piffle about been a hamilton waterboy.Stupid statements like this all those fumes from the local factory up the road from malssed park must be playing on that small brain of yours.I am positive i know who you are.Your that bloke that hangs around the roos each week and no one talks to you.You eat a cup of soup each sat from the canteen as you cant handle your beer and you know if you have one the missus will smell it on your breath when you get home and give you a flogging.you hang around until the boys walk off the ground and dish out a few bum slaps on there way off. you then jump into your rig and venture off home via mcdonalds for a feed.you then get home and read through the old budgets that have your name in them, and count your reserves games on 1 hand.you then retire burnt out to the fart sack at 7pm.shame on you mate.

Who cares who he is, and what he's done, lets talk football, not foolball like you pork chops are carrying on like. You sure know a hell of a lot, and have your fair say in everything for a bloke from so called torquay. You all sound a bit jealous that the yellow bellies or the festers are going to win it. Let's just hope it's a 10 team comp and the five is tight like last year, and we will be set for some good finals footy.

lol. Great burn! :D

not entirely sure, but I reckon it could well have to do with the amount of spending done last year with no finals action.

Also don't want to divulge in too much but are a majority of Heywood leavers aboriginal? Could be whispers of a few racial issues in the off season in the Lion camp...

not entirely sure, but I reckon it could well have to do with the amount of spending done last year with no finals action.

Also don't want to divulge in too much but are a majority of Heywood leavers aboriginal? Could be whispers of a few racial issues in the off season in the Lion camp...

Showtime.. there are 7 aboriginals applied for a clearence and double that of non aboriginals so let's not go jumping on that, but in bringing this up with the new president being a very well respected aboriginal in Michael bell wouldn't you think that the aboriginal boys would stay around and help or is there some trouble there? I just think heywood has just been keeping its head above water for a while now and took its last big gasp of air last year

that is part of my reason for asking, even with Bell being appointed they still chose to leave. Be good to see what the committee and Michael can do about turning around the direction of this team.
Heard numbers of less than 15 on monday night...
What does everyone think of Darryl White possibly heading to the Woods??

that is part of my reason for asking, even with Bell being appointed they still chose to leave. Be good to see what the committee and Michael can do about turning around the direction of this team.
Heard numbers of less than 15 on monday night...
What does everyone think of Darryl White possibly heading to the Woods??

waste of time a side like heywood spending money on a bloke like white. not nowing off the top of my head but he would be pushin 40?

they are very poor numbers showtime. you have to feel for the club after struggling for so long, took a risk and failed and now for all the locals to jump ship.
be interesting to see wat happens round 1 if we get 10 sides and looking even further forward to 2012 if the western boarder will become extinct???

yeah have to be late 30's at the least...

I wonder how many leavin this year stuck around the last few years though. Could mean that last year was the last straw for em..? Not sure how much say the playing group had in recruitment last year, or any year for Heywood (or any club for that matter).

But yes I think depending on Heywood this year, could spell the end or continuation for the league, in my opinion..

I wonder how many leavin this year stuck around the last few years though. Could mean that last year was the last straw for em..? Not sure how much say the playing group had in recruitment last year, or any year for Heywood (or any club for that matter).

But yes I think depending on Heywood this year, could spell the end or continuation for the league, in my opinion..

that is a good point showtime i remember watchin a young side come over the boarder while hooker was coaching and getting flogged week in week out, if it were me and my club was in the same position i dunno if i could stand goin back to old ways with no numbers and looking like getting flogged again .

it is inevitible that the wbfl will split, it is just a matter of time
the sad thing for Heywood is they had to try and but some success, west tried when russel coached and it does not work

Make no mistake boys - If Heywood drop back it will be the end of the WBFL.

Hampden League WILL take Portland and 1 Hamilton side it could be either or a merged side but there will only be 1.

Casterton are the side with most to lose, Footy will go back to a state border comp, the Mid South East will be revamped, Heywood drop into South West, Casterton amy have to pair up with Sanford and do the same.

Make no mistake boys - If Heywood drop back it will be the end of the WBFL.

Hampden League WILL take Portland and 1 Hamilton side it could be either or a merged side but there will only be 1.

Casterton are the side with most to lose, Footy will go back to a state border comp, the Mid South East will be revamped, Heywood drop into South West, Casterton amy have to pair up with Sanford and do the same.

Dont think Casterton and Sandford could survive by themselves?

No chance of Casteron staying in an SA league??

Western Border Football League - 2021