• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League - 2021

It's alot too ask of the saints youngsters above, outside of two of them & Jack i reckon the rest of them are still fairly green. Unfortunate too see young Thwaites go down w a serious shoulder/collar bone injury but it was good too see young Hutchesson show some poise when given the opportunity.
Too hard to say where the saints will finish, should be top 5 but there lack of depth in the two's this year will mean will test there back-up if injuries occur. The new boy Fenney does show he'll be good for the saints and whilst doing his best too impress his team mates and saints supporters, he did come ire of hatherleigh onlookers there to watch the game.

Which makes me laugh because it's well known that the mid se is known for more physical & spiteful football....yet there supporters were whinging over fenney's physical approach to the contest.

Get over it Hatherleigh.....stop being precious !!!!

Yeah still pretty Green. But hopefully during the year they will be able to contribute.. if only for a handful of games when needed if injuries etc hit.

Yeah shame about Thwaites, he was comng of just as I go there. Fortgot about Hutchy thought he looked good as did big Gasy at times.

Was impressed with Fenney and his hardness. Would make a good trio with Rehn and Hosking if they can convince Hosking to keep playing. Nothing wrong with his bump that laid out the Hatherleigh lad either.

Depth will be key to the Saints. If they have a few injuries they dont really have the depth to plug holes like some of the other teams. Apparently they may have one more recruit. He has signed but they are unsure exactly whats happenieng with him.

Is this meant to be English?

All im trying to say is that its sad to see these yung lads who have put there all on the line each week to build a platform and then you get the likes of russel come along and buys a team in and tells the kids there not needed,
I just hope these kids get a fair go again .

All im trying to say is that its sad to see these yung lads who have put there all on the line each week to build a platform and then you get the likes of russel come along and buys a team in and tells the kids there not needed,
I just hope these kids get a fair go again .

Yeah not a massive fan of clubs trying to straight out buy success, especially at the expense of the younger players which are the future of any club.

Teams havent had lot of success buying players for a tilt at the flag, and IMO its better to try and build a team over a few years, perhaos each year briniging in a couple of recruits.

But sadly that is Russel's MO.

Have heard rumour Justin McConnell may need a knee reco from the outcome of Friday nights trial match. Heard they are waiting on scans to confirm

Have heard McConnell knee injury isn't as bad as first thought. Maybe up to 2 months off though. Pretty sure injury is at the back of knee. Has anyone else heard the outcome or anything.

lets all find our facts out about hamilton and wat there paying first guys..... im not a supporter of the buying premierships but ill think ull find that hamilton would 3 guys over 500 a game,,,, look at a few team from the mount west i know have atleast 5 on that money and north would have similair if not more..... west gambiers kids didnt leave league footy sides for nothing....also g.russell yes he has a certain way of doing things but the bloke has also won plenty of flags and has the guts to take struggling teams and try and help them... would be easy to accept a north or south job and get success straight away... he lets the kids play his first year the same as what he did at west and then sees what he needs extra and no time burning kids off..... he was replacing kids with recruits id understand but the sides are no good and having recruits there with the kids will only help them.......think ull find brad wilson and tom holmes played there first seniors inder grant and wouldnt have stepped up to the players they are now if he didnt put people around them when he did........ alot more to things guys than just what the outside supporters see... good luk to all teams this year:)

bidda i think you have had to much boom, russel was and will always ruin footy clubs by buying players. he brought in 10 players at west, they didnt train together and all they did was take the money, as for Tom holmes i am sure he was at Glenelg when russel was there. he lost west a final against east by not using his bench, only 1 player out of 4 was used on that day, and his policy of playing kids is bullshite, reason they left west is they could not get a game, where as last yeras final will tell you hooker played the kids

lets all find our facts out about hamilton and wat there paying first guys..... im not a supporter of the buying premierships but ill think ull find that hamilton would 3 guys over 500 a game,,,, look at a few team from the mount west i know have atleast 5 on that money and north would have similair if not more..... west gambiers kids didnt leave league footy sides for nothing....also g.russell yes he has a certain way of doing things but the bloke has also won plenty of flags and has the guts to take struggling teams and try and help them... would be easy to accept a north or south job and get success straight away... he lets the kids play his first year the same as what he did at west and then sees what he needs extra and no time burning kids off..... he was replacing kids with recruits id understand but the sides are no good and having recruits there with the kids will only help them.......think ull find brad wilson and tom holmes played there first seniors inder grant and wouldnt have stepped up to the players they are now if he didnt put people around them when he did........ alot more to things guys than just what theoutside supporters see... good luk to all teams this year:)[/QUOT

I'd have to agree with wonder on this one. Plus I'm sure that you'll find that the west gambier kids returned from the city was because they were over it or quiet simple they weren't good enough. But from the experience they have definitely become better footballers from it. I think if Russell tried to recruit locally instead from the city's were the club has to pay for airfares and accommodation they would be better of financially and probably ladder wise.

agree with some of ya points guys,,,,,, but just remember when russell took over from west they had won a game in 27 games and he wouldve recruited locally but nobody would go there,,,, trust me, nobody would........ and that is fact...... williwonker u have prooven urself to be someone who has no idea of the facts...... trust me u have no idea wat went on,,,,maybe u wouldve if ur ego wasnt in the road.... and also god its easy to jump on the wagon when there winning guys..... go you roo boys.....the real roo boys

I agree he picked the club up when in his 2nd year, and the club saw a little bit of success and good atmosphere, but i also look at how it ended as a club point of view. $100k in the red, and what players stuck around after. 4 people off the top of my head, which are all still playing at the club. He may have coached a few flags back in his days, but for the last 7 or 8 years, West, Berri & Hamilton, he has struggled! Is this due because he went to successful clubs, and now is only coaching low teams because of money and because he cant get a gig anywhere else. Was interesting Hamilton appointed him coach last year, as he also applied for the West and Heywood job first.

Anyone could improve the wins/losses given a santa sack full of money. Haven't Hamilton been in nearly every U18 grandfinal in the last 20 years, surely that indicates the talent is there. The difference is quite obvious. Hooker makes a difference with his coaching, Russell does it with cash

I agree he picked the club up when in his 2nd year, and the club saw a little bit of success and good atmosphere, but i also look at how it ended as a club point of view. $100k in the red, and what players stuck around after. 4 people off the top of my head, which are all still playing at the club. He may have coached a few flags back in his days, but for the last 7 or 8 years, West, Berri & Hamilton, he has struggled! Is this due because he went to successful clubs, and now is only coaching low teams because of money and because he cant get a gig anywhere else. Was interesting Hamilton appointed him coach last year, as he also applied for the West and Heywood job first.
The rig where does it stop with you.Your now a full time coaching advisor.Have you coached any footy at all or just a big footy no all.Do us all a favour and tear up your big footy membership as all this rubbish come from your cranium is a load of crap.End of the matter.

Snitz read your last few comments and all u do is run the rig down. He actually talks footy and has a few valued points. Stop wasting all of our time reading your shit

Warhog that cold air down in dartmoor must be playing with your head as well.Those overnight stays at the rig house after the west home games will not do anything for your credability either.I will start to comment on football as this forum is designed to do when one eyed invalids stop abusing people as in rigs previous quotes early on.And you doing other peoples dirty work for them wont do you any favours either.

everybody is making valid points,,,, but 100,000 in the red is abit of a stretch mate,,,, i know this for a fact.... and of all the recruits they all stayed more than a year they only left wen he did.............will giv credit to ransom,, good coach,,, but was pretty blessed wen all thes guys came back this year.... but he did do a good job....... just think u can all have ur opinion but verbually bashing someone who is doing nothing but coaching footy and trying to bring clubs success no matter how he does it is a bit harsh....... and as with berri,,, they were the youngeest side in the league and known for being a young exciting team that he was grooming... please get facts right first guys

lets all find our facts out about hamilton and wat there paying first guys..... im not a supporter of the buying premierships but ill think ull find that hamilton would 3 guys over 500 a game,,,, look at a few team from the mount west i know have atleast 5 on that money and north would have similair if not more..... west gambiers kids didnt leave league footy sides for nothing....also g.russell yes he has a certain way of doing things but the bloke has also won plenty of flags and has the guts to take struggling teams and try and help them... would be easy to accept a north or south job and get success straight away... he lets the kids play his first year the same as what he did at west and then sees what he needs extra and no time burning kids off..... he was replacing kids with recruits id understand but the sides are no good and having recruits there with the kids will only help them.......think ull find brad wilson and tom holmes played there first seniors inder grant and wouldnt have stepped up to the players they are now if he didnt put people around them when he did........ alot more to things guys than just what the outside supporters see... good luk to all teams this year:)
mate it doesn't matter what the coaches are doing. at the end of the day it's up to the club and committe are willing to pay the players that are that are paying. Look at Portland 2008, every player was a born and bread local except for Lancaster who was there from 2003 and Hockley who was there from at least 1999. South and Portland have bulit a successful HISTORY from locals. Hamilton will not last just like Heywood.

boom you smart arse, you dont know how further from the truth you are, i am closer to the facts than you reliase, if you know the facts why dont you reveal your self.

more abuse guys,,,, its a footy forum not a chance for you to attack people.......a coach does watever the club lets him,,, so maybe its not just the coach u look at....... by the willwonker how many flags u been apart of??????? coached or played?????? didnt think so..... all i waas doing was telling facts coz as you said about urself i was also very close to the action........im getting off this forum coz all that is spokena bout is west gambier and how much u hate everyother team and then u abuse people when they say something,,, have fun guys... too everyone else good luck for 2011 all teams,,, in the end it is a great game and we all support,, no need for some of you guys power and ego trip....

It will be good when the footy starts so we can talk football. Way to much trash going on here. Anyone care to talk about who the new stars will be in the league this year.

Well said Sam this is a forum to talk football not for expert wannabe coaches who couldnt coach to save their lives to bag out the likes of Grant Russell. Grant is like every other person in this world. He isnt 100% perfect but no one is. At least he is out there having a go and participating in the game he loves. He has recruited a number of players into the club and this is required as in recent years the locals have got money hungry and gone out to the minor leagues. The majority of these players who have done this have seen their football ability drop due to the lower standard they are playing. Sam as for the new stars to watch in the league their are a few guys from Ballarat at North that should go well and of course their is Aaron Fiora at Hamilton. The first few rounds should be interesting as the race for the top 5 should be fairly close. Be good to see the likes of Hamilton and Imperials climb the ladder again.

hey boom or should we say "MR hansen". i never played football for the money and never will, because i loved the game. as for you all you care about is taking the money at any cost, and you fly in and out with no regards to the club you play for.

Boom Boom very ordinary way to exit this forum.Your saga is a bit like the ricky nixon saga at the minute.I have heard the rig has some photo footage on his phone of you and grant russell on a bed in the commodore on the park motel.If you cant take a bit of friendly banter i would of hated to see you grace the turf in your playing days, a bit of sledging out in the middle would of seen the old hamstring tightness creep in and off to the bench you would of went.You probably wont read this any way as you have retired from big footy but if you do take a little on board what i just said and it might put you in good stead for your next forum what ever that may be.RIP big boy.

North recruits should be handy coming from ballarat league. Caloan Buckley can be a good footballer but doesn't look fit at the moment due to injuries. Vassal from the cats should go alright as well. Think Fiora will find it hard as he will get close attention.

Western Border Football League - 2021