Western Border Football League - 2021

BIGANT - There are alot of millicent locals playing in the mid se. Have you guys considered getting the top players in the region at the saints for a season or you guys more interested in developing your kids?

They do look at those millicent locals, but it's much of muchness that they want to come in and have a crack at the highest level in the region...or sit out there and bludge in a lesser league with there mates with less travel.

At the moment outside of the juniors already in the mix that have had a taste or played senior footy w the saints over the past 18 months to two years, the next group is still a few yrs away from developing. On the positive one of our juniors atm who is committing to glenelg & u16 state trials for the first five games of this season, looks like playing senior footy when he comes back but we may lose him after this season to the sanfl & beyond.
Personally you should always split your recruitment to developing within juniors/ recruiting locally/ 1-2(that number depends on the other two points) fly-ins or adl based players. It also comes down to how much the football department have to spend also.

Perhaps a passionate game between portland and west tomorrow - pity I cant be there!!
On a lighter note whos thoughts on the best side/players of the last decade.

Team of the decade -
Best midfielder/s -
Best fullforward -
Best small forward -
Best ruckman -
Best backman -

Perhaps a passionate game between portland and west tomorrow - pity I cant be there!!
On a lighter note whos thoughts on the best side/players of the last decade.

For a bit of fun, I'll throw a few names out there -- taking into account I was only in the WBFL from 2001-2006

Team of the decade - South
Best midfielder/s - Heath Sims (courageous ball winner), Patrick O'Donnell (big tank, hard at it, gets under opposition skin, skills), Jason Dunn (all heart, fierce tacker, bottom of the pack all day), Josh Ransom (pure silk on that left foot), Andrew Nitschke (excellent reader of the play, always found plenty of it)
Best fullforward - Ryan Larcombe (great lead/mark, reliable left foot, capable of big bags of goals), Leigh Capewell (brute strength, good user of the body, strong grab)
Best small forward - Lithgow (awesome around the packs/fall of the ball but could also fly and take a hanger), Liam Picken (class above and now doing well at AFL level)
Best ruckman - ruck duels between Scott Flett/David Nulty vs Mick Ryan, or Flett/Nulty vs Sammy Clark were always a good battle.
Best backman - Steve Duldig, Tom O'Connor, Peter Harten, Vaughn Hockley (all these guys really disciplined defenders, can destroy the contest with a big fist, long penetrating kicks, strong marks when required)
Best running backman - Ciaran Buckley (huge tank and highly competitive), Jamie Croker (stood out during tough years at West, good foot skills)
Best grab: Kelvin Cook, Fletty.
:)

I thought it was for the last decade, not century. :) lithgow really?

Team of decade - portland (last 10 years portland has 4 premierships, south has 3)
best midfield - england (two league medals and a runner up enough said), ransom (everything you want in a footballer), sims (love the way he goes about his footy and does the little things)
full forward - capewell or larcombe (very different players but both effective) - other key forward would be cammarano
small forward - jarrod ryan (so much talent and he does the freakish things, kicks big bags and makes it easier for the other forwards)
ruckman - flett or lancaster (flett has the runs on the board and lancaster had his career cut short, but was so dominant for a number of years)
backman - duldig, harten and hockley (great defenders and rarely get beaten)
running backman - buckley (runs in straight lines and wins his own ball), jimmy o'neal - (quick and long kick and can play on talls and smalls)
Best grab: flett and easilly.

I thought it was for the last decade, not century. :) lithgow really?

Team of decade - portland (last 10 years portland has 4 premierships, south has 3)
best midfield - england (two league medals and a runner up enough said), ransom (everything you want in a footballer), sims (love the way he goes about his footy and does the little things)
full forward - capewell or larcombe (very different players but both effective) - other key forward would be cammarano
small forward - jarrod ryan (so much talent and he does the freakish things, kicks big bags and makes it easier for the other forwards)
ruckman - flett or lancaster (flett has the runs on the board and lancaster had his career cut short, but was so dominant for a number of years)
backman - duldig, harten and hockley (great defenders and rarely get beaten)
running backman - buckley (runs in straight lines and wins his own ball), jimmy o'neal - (quick and long kick and can play on talls and smalls)
Best grab: flett and easilly.

Looks like most of our selections are quite similar.... I know Lithgow was a throwback but he could seriously play and my cut-off was really 2005 as I've not been to a game of footy in the Mount since.

I forgot about Jimmy O'Neill he was a gun. Actually, his mate Grubbsy Mullen was also an awesome running backman for the Demons too.

Just a theoretical question for the portland players/supporters/members - how do you think you guys would go in the hampden league, ladder position?
Which by the way I hope never happens as you guys are a major asset to the league
Just putting it out there!!!!

Good question , bulldogsbark. I am very familiar with both the Hampden Football League and the Portland Football Netball Cricket Club. Portland with the list they presently have would certainly be a top 5 senior side and a top 4 under 18 side. They would currently beat Port Fairy and North Warrnanbool Eagles by approx 6 goals , be a bit better than Cobden and Terang / Mortlake and Camperdown and be about even with Koroit. But they are a fair way behind South and Warrnambool for depth and professionalism. Portland,s facilities are better than everybody except Warrnambool.

Just as a matter of interest - are there any clubs out there that could be stronger enough to join the wbfl in the future. Ive ruled out penola and coleraine rejoining the league. Naracoorte are stronger enough and have the depth and talent but are 2 hrs from portland and hamilton. Anyone on the victorian side?
Putting aside the other factors that are involved in joining a league

Port Fairy
Just as a matter of interest - are there any clubs out there that could be stronger enough to join the wbfl in the future. Ive ruled out penola and coleraine rejoining the league. Naracoorte are stronger enough and have the depth and talent but are 2 hrs from portland and hamilton. Anyone on the victorian side?
Putting aside the other factors that are involved in joining a league

very good point slash. millicent would defnitly be right up there if they got in some of these mse players who all live in the town. you basically have 4 reasonably even teams coming from a town of 6000 people. tough to compete with our mount sides n portland when u put it like that. adds a bit to the debate of league changes and borders and the future

Typical redneck victorians having a swipe at a SA team. You come over here you whinge and complain you carry on like a bunch of bogans, you uneducated inbred idiots have no class - you will be seeing alot of class when we come over the border this weekend. Hope the hamilton supporters enjoyed the unveilment of our premiership flag because thats the closest you will get to one. We should take it over to portland and show it to them cos they wont be seeing one either. Any suggestions that portland is in the same class as west is an insult and a joke. Sacktapper - stick your ugly feral head against your screen and read this - YOU'RE AN IDIOT. Portland not playing for money? BULLSHIT? You guys take away your paid players and youve got nothing - you'll be pulling guys out of the pub to make up numbers. After we play - you wont have a sack left so I suggest you change your name to Ball-less or Gutless because thats how you guys play your footy. I suggest you portland boys bring your mummies to the game (If they haven't abandoned you) cos you'll be needing them after the game. You wont just be beaten - you'll be humiliated - in both grades!!!! And what about winis poor poor winis crying because his player had his head taken off - want to join another league hey - good luck with that!! You boys need to harden the **** up footys a tough game if you dont like it - go play soccer. Lets face it Vic teams are the arse end of this comp and you'll be shown why this weekend... w***ers!!!!
Hahaha!! I hope you get get home safely and you're not choking on your words too much!!

The game lived up to everyones expectations and was a cracker! I guess Portland can class themselves in the same league as West after all. Interesting to hear Ryan running back out after half time saying "come on boys lets play our game blah blah blah"....He's a handy player most of the time, but should concentrate on actually playing rather than sledging all the time trying to provoke the opposition because it certainly didn't win West the game!

I don't want to get down to your level WhatThe Funk but hahahahahaha!! See ya next time boys!!

Was a cracker of a game. West got off to a good start and Portland pegged them back. Close game for most of the rest of the game. Clearly two very good sides. Not going to get carried away like WTF as this will likely not be the last close encounter between the two sides.
Hahaha!! I hope you get get home safely and you're not choking on your words too much!!

The game lived up to everyones expectations and was a cracker! I guess Portland can class themselves in the same league as West after all. Interesting to hear Ryan running back out after half time saying "come on boys lets play our game blah blah blah"....He's a handy player most of the time, but should concentrate on actually playing rather than sledging all the time trying to provoke the opposition because it certainly didn't win West the game!

I don't want to get down to your level WhatThe Funk but hahahahahaha!! See ya next time boys!!

very good point slash. millicent would defnitly be right up there if they got in some of these mse players who all live in the town. you basically have 4 reasonably even teams coming from a town of 6000 people. tough to compete with our mount sides n portland when u put it like that. adds a bit to the debate of league changes and borders and the future

Despite yesterday's performance Millicent are streets ahead of Hatherleigh, Mt Burr or Tant. That is not to say their star players wouldn't be handy and the resultant team is the occaisional source of shed speculation. However back in the real world with the KCA closures and the possible hit from the sale of forests resulting in the loss of jobs and money the medium term say out to ten years is not at all clear. If KCA did shut the whole show (and they just might) the town definitely couldn't sustain four Clubs. Then you might see league changes if there is anyone of footy playing age left in the district.

Despite yesterday's performance Millicent are streets ahead of Hatherleigh, Mt Burr or Tant. That is not to say their star players wouldn't be handy and the resultant team is the occaisional source of shed speculation. However back in the real world with the KCA closures and the possible hit from the sale of forests resulting in the loss of jobs and money the medium term itd say out to ten years is not at all clear. If KCA did shut the whole show (and they just might) the tow definiely couldn't sustain four Clubs. Then you might see league changes if there is anyone of footy playing age left in the district.

The future of the league/clubs is a subject that has came up alot of late. A big factor in sustaining the league is employment. If KCA closed it will have a huge impact on mt gambier as well. Hopefully we've seen the worst. Good news for millicent is that there could be jobs on the way. N.F. Mcdonnel's have bought the factory across from KCA and will eventually will relocate and hopefully the government makes good on this manufacturing grant. There are a few clubs that are in need of success if anything for they flows on effects of success - such as attracting players. West gambier has a strong B grade in how many years?

Typical redneck victorians having a swipe at a SA team. You come over here you whinge and complain you carry on like a bunch of bogans, you uneducated inbred idiots have no class - you will be seeing alot of class when we come over the border this weekend. Hope the hamilton supporters enjoyed the unveilment of our premiership flag because thats the closest you will get to one. We should take it over to portland and show it to them cos they wont be seeing one either. Any suggestions that portland is in the same class as west is an insult and a joke. Sacktapper - stick your ugly feral head against your screen and read this - YOU'RE AN IDIOT. Portland not playing for money? BULLSHIT? You guys take away your paid players and youve got nothing - you'll be pulling guys out of the pub to make up numbers. After we play - you wont have a sack left so I suggest you change your name to Ball-less or Gutless because thats how you guys play your footy. I suggest you portland boys bring your mummies to the game (If they haven't abandoned you) cos you'll be needing them after the game. You wont just be beaten - you'll be humiliated - in both grades!!!! And what about winis poor poor winis crying because his player had his head taken off - want to join another league hey - good luck with that!! You boys need to harden the **** up footys a tough game if you dont like it - go play soccer. Lets face it Vic teams are the arse end of this comp and you'll be shown why this weekend... w***ers!!!!

Bahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah
I was actually hopin west would get up, till I read this

A good win I admit - but hardly convincing. Fortunately for us we've got a week off to regroup then we're playing darren deans easy beats

gday gentlemen

as i am involved in another league, i went and watched the portland v west game, very entertaining as a football game, but i came away diappointed that the umpiring was and is no better than in our league. and with that some one is going to get hurt badly as there are no consequences for players action. and when it 35 free for and 15 against for the home side geez.

time for a shark shuffle

A good win I admit - but hardly convincing. Fortunately for us we've got a week off to regroup then we're playing darren deans easy beats

Haha, a tigers victory couldn't have been sweeter on Saturday.funny to see when things aren't going wests way how big of a bunch of sooks they really are, davey, Wilson, some big blonde dude with tatts who didn't get a kick, all had their fair share of a whinge to the umps, was a great game to watch and hopefully have plenty of more like that during the yr!

...you will be seeing alot of class when we come over the border this weekend.... Any suggestions that portland is in the same class as west is an insult and a joke.

Class is having your Senior non playing coach entering the field to get involved in a little scuffle with other players at the half time break. Must say was disappointed to see that on the weekend.

gday gentlemen

as i am involved in another league, i went and watched the portland v west game, very entertaining as a football game, but i came away diappointed that the umpiring was and is no better than in our league. and with that some one is going to get hurt badly as there are no consequences for players action. and when it 35 free for and 15 against for the home side geez.

time for a shark shuffle

Will admit here, not to the free kick ratio, but to how unprotected the players are in this league as opposed to others. The umpirings standards are a little behind par, but while there is/and always will be a high demand for umpires for country football, i'll appreciate what we've got to keep the game going. Shark Shuffle; a Deakin University reference?

Western Border Football League - 2021