• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League - 2021

awesome, so you believe me now. you can also let your mate snitzel know that i wasnt lieing. i think james is injured but was going to stay at glenelg. i dont really know too much about there situations but id say any one of ty allen, luke panozzo, michael bennett, matt duldig (sturt), pat contin (now richmond). heres a bit of trivia ben mules told me one day - at one stage there was 6 guys from the same school class from the millicent high school playing in the same sanfl game - mules, duldig, allen, panozzo, kaney bell, tom hateley. plus ryan gamble was 2 years below. thats a fair school footy side.

You definitely have your ear to the ground rusty - perhaps a few contacts down the saints way. Since your a man of great knowledge what are your thoughts regarding the talk about heywood dropping back a league and the wbfl not surviving. They had massive numbers last year then lost a heap. They know they can get the players just cant keep them, personally I think they' ll will be around for a while. Portland are probably the only club strong enough to join the: hampen league, what about the other clubs mount/millicent teams to join the mid se - I doubted. Personally I think the league isn safe - what are your thoughts?

awesome, so you believe me now. you can also let your mate snitzel know that i wasnt lieing. i think james is injured but was going to stay at glenelg. i dont really know too much about there situations but id say any one of ty allen, luke panozzo, michael bennett, matt duldig (sturt), pat contin (now richmond). heres a bit of trivia ben mules told me one day - at one stage there was 6 guys from the same school class from the millicent high school playing in the same sanfl game - mules, duldig, allen, panozzo, kaney bell, tom hateley. plus ryan gamble was 2 years below. thats a fair school footy side.

As you say any one of them would help Millicent but really it is pie in the sky. Why would they go back when they have established careers? Millicent recruiters appear to have been asleep, sure they got a couple but maybe not enough. We’ll see.

You definitely have your ear to the ground rusty - perhaps a few contacts down the saints way. Since your a man of great knowledge what are your thoughts regarding the talk about heywood dropping back a league and the wbfl not surviving. They had massive numbers last year then lost a heap. They know they can get the players just cant keep them, personally I think they' ll will be around for a while. Portland are probably the only club strong enough to join the: hampen league, what about the other clubs mount/millicent teams to join the mid se - I doubted. Personally I think the league isn safe - what are your thoughts?

Yeh bully i do have work contacts from there, not sure what way the league will go. Its not just a matter of slicing and dicing a few teams. Itd be a huge decision.

Yeh i realise these stars wont come back go4it, it was tongue in cheek stuff mate, theyve certainly produced alot in the last few years though, they just dont keep them for the same reasons as heywood and casterton cant keep players.

Just on that, who would be the last afl listed player from mt gambier or portland. Heywood has lovett-murray, casterton jarrad rooke, millicent pat contin, hamilton liam picken. Maybe its a coincidence that the 2 bigger towns havent produced the guns.

Akermanis is just a ridiculous publicity stunt if its true. They wouldnt want to be paying him any more than a few grand, and theyd want to hope they make all that back through the gate. But just before i get attacked, it may be a load of crap too

Yeh bully i do have work contacts from there, not sure what way the league will go. Its not just a matter of slicing and dicing a few teams. Itd be a huge decision.

Yeh i realise these stars wont come back go4it, it was tongue in cheek stuff mate, theyve certainly produced alot in the last few years though, they just dont keep them for the same reasons as heywood and casterton cant keep players.

Just on that, who would be the last afl listed player from mt gambier or portland. Heywood has lovett-murray, casterton jarrad rooke, millicent pat contin, hamilton liam picken. Maybe its a coincidence that the 2 bigger towns havent produced the guns.

Akermanis is just a ridiculous publicity stunt if its true. They wouldnt want to be paying him any more than a few grand, and theyd want to hope they make all that back through the gate. But just before i get attacked, it may be a load of crap too
Rusty stop talking rubbish, abusing the mount district for not producing an afl player.Have you played afl you clown?. stop abusing people ifyou have not stepped foot on the big stage yourself.You seem to know a great deal about the well been of alot of clubs in the district.You must have alot of time on your hands to dribble shit all day on these forums.Can you remember a bloke called nick daffy that played for richmond i am sure he played in the wbfl.Get your facts right or atleast study your home work before you open your big trap you loser.End of the matter.

snitzel u are an idiot. read before u open your mouth. where did i abuse the mount or portland, i said it is strange that the little towns have produced more guns than us lately. of course i havent played afl. stop getting so defensive, its a forum, which is where people go when they have spare time to discuss football issues/topics.

nick daffy, yes, that is my point its 20 years ago fool.

end of the matter

snitzel u are an idiot. read before u open your mouth. where did i abuse the mount or portland, i said it is strange that the little towns have produced more guns than us lately. of course i havent played afl. stop getting so defensive, its a forum, which is where people go when they have spare time to discuss football issues/topics.

nick daffy, yes, that is my point its 20 years ago fool.

end of the matter

I'll throw in matthew clarkes name as well. But you are right rusty small towns in the region have been producing afl talent of late such as gamble at the burr, redden at keith, trengrove at kyby and a couple from naracoorte I believe

yeh it seems strange. wonder if its something to do with our junior coaching or just a coincidence. lets hope the next star is just around the corner

Okay, so who are these players you suggest millicent bring back from glenelg. You also mention james weir isnt playing - is he injured I thought he was travelling back from adelaide to play
Weir may make an appearance in the second half of the season !? had groin or string surgery late in the pre-season.

As you say any one of them would help Millicent but really it is pie in the sky. Why would they go back when they have established careers? Millicent recruiters appear to have been asleep, sure they got a couple but maybe not enough. We’ll see.
It also could say that the WBfl is in a awkward position logistically, just a lil to far out of the comfort zone for players to relocate permanently for a couple of years.
Outside of Panozza who was originally recruited to the saint's from tant, deep down there would be processes for millicent to have the likes of 'homegrown' boys also from glenelg & sturt in ty allen & matt duldig finish there careers back at maclaughlin pk.

It also could say that the WBfl is in a awkward position logistically, just a lil to far out of the comfort zone for players to relocate permanently for a couple of years.
Outside of Panozza who was originally recruited to the saint's from tant, deep down there would be processes for millicent to have the likes of 'homegrown' boys also from glenelg & sturt in ty allen & matt duldig finish there careers back at maclaughlin pk.

Whatever happened to the mclaughlin park upgrade they were talking about a couple of years ago

Did'nt get the govt funding they were asking for, so they've gone about it differently since. I think more of a one for one projects out look.
Thats why the football department had somewhat less monies this yr to do the selective recruiting they wanted, and had to go about it a different way.
Personally i think making Maclaughlin Pk a community sports centre ala BLSP won't work because soccer, softball/baseball and the football club have never worked well togethor and never will !!!! I'm not the only one that feels that way in millicent, there are alot more.
The saints are better off going it alone in the development of the facilities re new changerooms, clubrooms and better facilities for the footballers, bloody new netball courts can wait.

Haha yeah right!!! Hes contracted to glenorchy in the tassie league. Far as I know he was at heywood as a one off to take training

Aker will be playing for heywood this season.
it will be a one game thing just like he is doing for a fair few country football teams. there was a story on afl website about him playing on the weekend wnere he copped a knock.
it said that he will play for heywood and 2-3 other country teams still this season as well as play for glenorchy.
i wouldnt know how much he is getting paid but someone mentioned around 100k for 12 games in tassie. and each time he has played there has been a big gate. on the weekend they said it was triple what they normally get.

Read the same article. Imagine it will be a Heywood home game. Regardless of anything else it will create a lot of interest and produce a big gate for Heywood. Might be their only highlight for the year so let them enjoy it.
Aker will be playing for heywood this season.
it will be a one game thing just like he is doing for a fair few country football teams. there was a story on afl website about him playing on the weekend wnere he copped a knock.
it said that he will play for heywood and 2-3 other country teams still this season as well as play for glenorchy.
i wouldnt know how much he is getting paid but someone mentioned around 100k for 12 games in tassie. and each time he has played there has been a big gate. on the weekend they said it was triple what they normally get.

Read the same article. Imagine it will be a Heywood home game. Regardless of anything else it will create a lot of interest and produce a big gate for Heywood. Might be their only highlight for the year so let them enjoy it.

I am not a fan of this sort of thing. Yes the gate will be huge but does the competition need it? Say Akers plays a blinder and is the difference between Heywood winning and losing. Say then that the loser misses out on finals is that fair? In my view these blokes whoring it around undesirably skew our competition.

Fair enough comment but look at it a another way, opposition plays their best young talent on the guy, and the experience they get from running with him will be invaluable..

Are you seriously suggesting having former Brownlow medal winners playing in a country footy league is bad for the competition? Come on. And in terms of making or not making finals, plenty of sides have had players, sometimes past players, come back for one or two games in a season to help a side out. Just because he is, or at least was, better why should he not be allowed to do the same? He's just helping out a club that is down. Tom Gordon came back round one to help Heywood out, I know he is no Aker, but the principle is the same.

Western Border Football League - 2021